??!
1 photo
Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL

Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL (2014-2019)

Also referred to as: Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL 2018 and Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL 2020. AWD (2014-2019) and 2WD (2014-2019)
4.6 from 19 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
11
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Ian

IanPalmerston, NT

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great family wagon

published

Car gets used every day and is comfortable and reliable. It is used around town and on the freeway. It fits our family of seven with ease and I recommend it over other family rigs.

Purchased in May 2015 at Peter Kittle Motor for $70,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

pjw304

pjw304Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

LOVE this beautiful vehicle!

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
DriveAWD
Jane S

Jane SAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good Car, solid engine, but missing key features

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
DriveAWD
nic f

nic fmelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Amazing!

published

Smooth drive and very well thought of interior! The purchasing process was made extremely easy through Patterson Cheney Dandenong. The Kluger is very spacious and great for long drives. I would highly recommend the Kluger to anyone who has a large family or owns dogs. The middle console is my favourite due to the large space it provides.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD

AYam

AYamNSW, 2125

  • 15 reviews
  • 12 likes

Best Car I ever owned

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Rhiannon

RhiannonBenalla

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

I love this car, highly recommend

published

I love driving my car now, I brought a new car for a family car, it is perfect for car seat installation with isofix, beautiful car to drive and it’s a big car but doesn’t feel big to drive, my parter is 6ft 4 and there is plenty of leg room even with a car seat behind the passenger seat, love the leather interior

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Claude

ClaudeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Family car!

published

Great all round SUV with plenty of room for passengers and/or storage.
Powerful enough for towing light caravan or full trailers.
Responsive especially at the higher range and been totally reliable.
The only downside has been its lack of functional GPS in my mid range model and no diesel option

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

The Truth

The TruthWoonona

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it

published

If you have a family of over 6 footers like me its perfect! Bought 2018 model 6 months ago and seriously could not be happier. Well appointed interior and great to drive. Heaps of room in the back with adjustable 2nd row as well as the boot even with 3rd row up. Love it!!!

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Froggobollies

FroggobolliesMelton

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Top chariot apart from the FWD

published

We have 3 very active kids, who jump all over the car, and the mighty Kluger soaks up the rough and tumble with ease. Wife likes driving it, engine has plenty of grunt, A/C works great on hot days, only problem we have found is the FWD option gives lots of torque steer with a 200kw engine, so hang onto the wheel when tromping it.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Darren

DarrenSYDNEY

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Toyota Kluger Amazing

published

Purchased new Toyota Kluger from James at Castle hill Toyota in 2017, car is great in relation to the room of the 7 seven seating and the leather interior with heated front seats works great, finish in the cabin/ exterior is good for the price with satellite navigation, alloys and leather standard on the GXL model.

Fuel economy is reasonable in city cycle, but on long trips fuel economy is amazing, just had first service at Castle Hill Toyota, fixed price service was great along with the service given to me.

Car has has exceed my expectations in relation to quality and performance for the price and has made the family trips enjoyable.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Green11

Green11Brisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very comfortable family car

published

Great to drive. Lots of space. Lots of power when needed especially on the highway. We have gone on long trips as well as around town. Able to take 7 people with reasonable leg room in the rear extra seats. Very small fuel tank for the amount of fuel it chews through. I had a problem at the first service but Toyota have been excellent with their warranty. Normal Toyota infotainment system - TERRIBLE but aware going in!! Bluetooth works well. Overall very happy.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

yuqi

yuqimelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Affordable family car

published

I had Holden commodore before, compared with Klugar. I think Klugar steeling wheel is more easy to maneuver, better visuability, more seats (also the third row is hardly can fitted in anyone), good for long distance drive. I had base model of Klugar which similar price with Holden and less features. Sound effects, temperature control and fuel is a big concern.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

GEP

GEPMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Always been our dream car! Has lived up to our expectation...

published

When we purchased the Kluger 2WD we knew that we didn't go wrong with our choice in the first place, to be honest even if its a big machine it is the easiest car that I have driven so far. Driving experience wise, it felt so light, quiet and secured. The interior looks classy and the accessories are pretty straightforward. Petrol wise, its more economical compared to other 7 seaters in the market since its a 2WD and we couldn't feel any much difference since our previous car was a sedan V6 and the fuel cost is more or less the same.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

BendyinPerth

BendyinPerthAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Fantastic car.

published

Love our car. So comfy, big and roomy and the seven seats are worth their weight in gold. Superb ride and Toyota reliability.
Qualityeather seats and so much variable load space but drives like a luxury sedan.
Excellent in car entertainment and computer and pretty good economy for such a big lump.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
HayleyN

HayleyNAdelaide

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

In love

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Paul

PaulCastaways beach

  • 2 reviews

Best 7 seater

published

The best drive available under $100K. Amazing on long journeys with enough Technology to keep the driver and passengers happy. Great visibility makes town driving and parking very easy. I also use the boot area for work and can fit more tools and equipment in than any other SUV I've owned.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

CROCO29

CROCO29AU

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

My pride and joy

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Minor Issues - Still a good car

published

Pros - Great family car, great to drive, good performance and not sluggish at all, so far very reliable, air conditioning in the cabin everywhere which is essential where we live, good looks.

Cons - We brought a 2WD but should of brought the AWD I find the 2WD a little light in the steering at times (not sure why Toyota just doesn't drop the 2WD versions and just make them all AWD they are SUV's after all) our cruise control stick lights are flickering (Toyota is replacing the part though), we find the trip/fuel computer a little strange but according to the last refuel we are getting 605kms to a tank but has said as low as 405km even though our everyday driving habits had not changed (Toyota is looking into this also).

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic

Doggone

DoggoneGeelong

  • 11 reviews
  • 20 likes

Fantastic family car in every respect , except fuel economy.

published
BadgeGXL

See all Toyota Kluger GSU50R reviews

Questions & Answers

KUMUDU

KUMUDUasked

GSU50R GXL 2WD

I bought a brand-new Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL 2WD - 2019 from a very reputed Toyota dealer in July 2019. Couple of days after the delivery the Air conditioner went faulty. When I speak to them, they tell you things like to a 5y old child expecting us to believe. Normally any service reps from any dealer ships from any manufacturers are very bad. They produced good constructive explanatory statements for customers. They just don’t tell you the truth. I have been in to this dealership 4 times for the same problem. Still not working. Now Toyota Australia is involved. Why this problem keeps coming like this? Is this because of the incompetent technicians of the dealer who can’t trouble shoot this or is it a factory defect? It is not a cheap model! We paid to drive, not sitting at workshop for technicians to learn or do trial & error work. Its my money & my car.
What Lemon Car! What an Unbreakable Toyota!

2 answers
Jamie
Jamie

Can you explain exactly whats wrong with the aircon? (tell me as if I'm a technician you need to help point where to look)

KUMUDU
KUMUDU

when turn on the Air conditioner no cold air. Inside the car is fogging up if you use the heater. first time they said it was a human error at the factory. Drove home next day no Air conditioner working again (no cold air) . Took it back to the dealer that time they kept the car for two days & use some dye to see where the gas leak is. After a day or so they said found the problem & it is the compressor int going faulty. I knew it was a load of garbage. In a brand new car ? what a joke. Then it took them nearly a week to get the compressor from Japan. Fitted in after 1.5 months later no air con again. Took it back again then they said the gas was too much last time when they regassed. So they I think they patched up again & so far its ok. waiting to pass 1.5 months to see what happens next. Thanks


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL 2WD

Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL 2WD (2014-2019)

0.0
(0)
Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL AWD

Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL AWD (2014-2019)

0.0
(0)
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $59,878$64,078
TransmissionAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars
Doors55
Seats77
Fuel Consumption9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 72 L72 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L
Max Power218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm
Country of ManufactureUSAUSA
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)700 kg700 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all Toyota Kluger GSU50R

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.