?
? !
3 photos
Toyota Kluger

Toyota Kluger (2014-2021) (page 2 of 4)

Also referred to as: Toyota Kluger 2020 and Toyota Kluger 2022. GX, GXL, Grande
4.4 from 74 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.4

74 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (11)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (11)
  • Braking
    4.6 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (10)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (11)
  • Handling
    4.2 (11)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (11)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (11)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (11)
  • Features
    3.6 (10)
Previous
Next
Tiff1971

Tiff1971South East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great spacious, reliable family car

published
BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AYam

AYamNSW, 2125

  • 15 reviews
  • 12 likes

Best Car I ever owned

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michael

MichaelBrisbane

  • 7 reviews

Beautiful car

published

I bought this card in March 2018 and it drives like a treat, it doesn't sit ridiculously high like some SUVs so my wife can easily move our baby in and out of the back seat. It has grunt when needed but if you're happy to drive gently the economy is very good (around 10L/100km on avg).

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rhiannon

RhiannonBenalla

  • 5 reviews

I love this car, highly recommend

published

I love driving my car now, I brought a new car for a family car, it is perfect for car seat installation with isofix, beautiful car to drive and it’s a big car but doesn’t feel big to drive, my parter is 6ft 4 and there is plenty of leg room even with a car seat behind the passenger seat, love the leather interior

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Erin

ErinCessnock

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I’ve ever owned!

published

Outstanding driving performance. Smooth, quiet but power when you need it. A very sleek and well appointed dash with all the extras drivers and families need. Comfort features are second to none, with more than enough space to comfortably seat 5 adults and 2 children. The extra 2 seats in the back fold away flush to reveal a huge boot space. You have the versatility of using only one of the rear seats if needed and those seats are as comfortable as the main seats. Kluge is the perfect family car, I couldn’t imagine anything else better suiting our needs.

BadgeCV
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tom

TomMelbourne

A lemon car and bad luck

published
BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Tom
Tom

Got update from Nunawading Toyota Service that car has been trasfered to Waverley Toyota, as there got transmassion specialist. Parts is on the way but no loan car available. Frustrating!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Claude

ClaudeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Family car!

published

Great all round SUV with plenty of room for passengers and/or storage.
Powerful enough for towing light caravan or full trailers.
Responsive especially at the higher range and been totally reliable.
The only downside has been its lack of functional GPS in my mid range model and no diesel option

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steven

StevenCairns

OK, Could be better

published

Front wheel drive with power, not good, hang on tight accelerating on rough road. Speed o out by 7km. Radio loses stations when battery disconnected. I would prefer the ride a bit softer, gets annoying on bad roads and we have plenty. Head rests are terrible, bent forward, hitting the back of your head on bad roads. A boy racer must have designed it. The rest good.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
The Truth

The TruthIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it

published

If you have a family of over 6 footers like me its perfect! Bought 2018 model 6 months ago and seriously could not be happier. Well appointed interior and great to drive. Heaps of room in the back with adjustable 2nd row as well as the boot even with 3rd row up. Love it!!!

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great car

published

Bought my burgundy GX new 18 months ago. One of the most versatile, quiet cars I have ever owned. Lots of power for safe overtaking. Likes a drink though - 14L/100 km in town, but good on open road - best ever was 7.4L/100 on highway. Much nicer to drive than the Camry it's based on.

CL

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Amar

AmarMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Awesome car love it

published

I bought 4x2 GX and loved it. Got plenty of torque and runs smooth. Plenty of space in the back row. Last row seat only good for short distance if occupied by adults. Huge boot and once you lay the seat down there is ton of space. Bit thirsty on fuel in city 14l/100kms but quiet good n long drives8-9l/100kms

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jose

jose

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Works awesome

published

Drive very smoothly, style is superb , very spacious and torque is strong , safety is great . Price is reasonable. Dashboard is stylish . Cap service is additional bonus . Fuel consumption to the best . Suspension is smooth . Steering wheel is to the max . Love the car !

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Froggobollies

FroggobolliesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Top chariot apart from the FWD

published

We have 3 very active kids, who jump all over the car, and the mighty Kluger soaks up the rough and tumble with ease. Wife likes driving it, engine has plenty of grunt, A/C works great on hot days, only problem we have found is the FWD option gives lots of torque steer with a 200kw engine, so hang onto the wheel when tromping it.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lisa

LisaMandurah

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

LOVE it

published

Great car - we bought the Grande. Love all the creature comforts, sun roof, Blueray DVD player, Seat warmers, so much more...Take off speed is great.
There is so much leg room in the back for the kids and I have 2 very tall children...15 year old son is 6'2"
Boot space is great too - we don't use the additional 2 back seats often but they seem to be fairly roomy too. Only criticism I would have is it is very thirsty in fuel when we tow something.
Really happy with it overall.

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Darren

DarrenSYDNEY

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Toyota Kluger Amazing

published

Purchased new Toyota Kluger from James at Castle hill Toyota in 2017, car is great in relation to the room of the 7 seven seating and the leather interior with heated front seats works great, finish in the cabin/ exterior is good for the price with satellite navigation, alloys and leather standard on the GXL model.

Fuel economy is reasonable in city cycle, but on long trips fuel economy is amazing, just had first service at Castle Hill Toyota, fixed price service was great along with the service given to me.

Car has has exceed my expectations in relation to quality and performance for the price and has made the family trips enjoyable.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roneil Prasad

Roneil PrasadAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great SUV

published

Purchased a Grande in Dec 2015. Love the car to bits. The drive is luxurious with a lot of grunt. The fuel economy is great being a 3.5l engine.
cons: being the top of line I expect it to have folding mirrors, rain sensing wipers and gas strutted bonnets which other competitors normally have.

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Toyota

SarahJ

SarahJMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Family Friendly

published

We purchased the KX-R new April last year. It's very spacious, smooth to drive , powerful motor, looks good! It's a little thirsty at the bowser though but I am not a heavy driver so it's not a problem. we love all the extra room for the Kids and shopping.

BadgeKX-R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Green11

Green11Brisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very comfortable family car

published

Great to drive. Lots of space. Lots of power when needed especially on the highway. We have gone on long trips as well as around town. Able to take 7 people with reasonable leg room in the rear extra seats. Very small fuel tank for the amount of fuel it chews through. I had a problem at the first service but Toyota have been excellent with their warranty. Normal Toyota infotainment system - TERRIBLE but aware going in!! Bluetooth works well. Overall very happy.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chips

ChipsSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect car its a dream to drive

published

Love our latest buy, its so quite and so comfortable and big for our growing family (7 seater). Its so reliable uses a bit more gas because Its a V6. The inside is so good only problem is it didn't come with mats and the carpet is a bit harder to clean but all in all its a gorgeous family car.

BadgeAltitude
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Patrick

PatrickSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews

Great car

published

Toyota Kluger Grande 2016
Driving experience is good, no issues, handles well and pretty quiet.. Would have liked little bit more power (Kw).
Interior is great but defiantly dislike the dvd on roof and head unit would be much better if it had Apple play.. very hard for kids to each dvd from middle row, strains their necks.. Position of dvd on roof could have been closer to the front.
Reliability and running cost is good, petrol to fill up full about $90 for 400km.

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 2 of 4
See all Toyota Kluger reviews

Questions & Answers

Prue

Prueasked

Kluger (2014-2021)

Has anyone had a Kluger that’s dash began squeaking? This is a new kluger 11000km. Two squeaks in different spots along the dash. I can not stand it to the point I feel like returning it to Toyota for a refund.
If the dealership looks for the squeaks how will they do it?
If it involves pulling the dash apart I think it will just cause more noise.
Also there is a slight rattle in the drivers door. I swear I need ear plugs to drive it so it doesn’t irritate me

No answers
Bryce

Bryceasked

Kluger (2014-2021)

Do the new Toyota Kluger's have the same oil clogging problems as the previous models

No answers
Palladium B.

Palladium B.asked

Kluger (2014-2021)

Bought a new 2018 Kluger and have never been able to park it straight in a shopping carpark. I have never had a problem parking any car I have owned until the Kluger. What am I doing wrong? I feel like I am straight but when I exist the car I am practically sideways. Very irriating.

1 answer
Garyrandall
Garyrandall

I have the same problem sometimes. Also own a Camry and Aurion and I don’t seem to have this problem with them. Maybe it’s the shape/contour of the bonnet when using that for a reference when reversing. I was going to try placing something on the bonnet in the middle at the front (same as the older cars with a vertical bonnet emblem) in order to give me a better reference. Cheers.

See all Toyota Kluger (2014-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Kluger (2014-2021)

Details

Compare all 6 Toyota Kluger (2014-2021)
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $71,317$75,488$49,273$53,473
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels19" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 72 L72 L72 L72 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L
Max Power218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm
Country of ManufactureUSAUSAUSAUSA
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)700 kg700 kg700 kg700 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all 6 Toyota Kluger (2014-2021)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.