??!
3 photos
Toyota Kluger GSU50R

Toyota Kluger GSU50R (2014-2019) (page 2 of 4)

Also referred to as: Toyota Kluger GSU50R 2018 and Toyota Kluger GSU50R 2020. GXL (2014-2019), GX (2014-2019) and Grande (2014-2019)
4.5 from 70 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
43
4 star
20
3 star
5
2 star
0
1 star
2

Erin

ErinCessnock

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I’ve ever owned!

published

Outstanding driving performance. Smooth, quiet but power when you need it. A very sleek and well appointed dash with all the extras drivers and families need. Comfort features are second to none, with more than enough space to comfortably seat 5 adults and 2 children. The extra 2 seats in the back fold away flush to reveal a huge boot space. You have the versatility of using only one of the rear seats if needed and those seats are as comfortable as the main seats. Kluge is the perfect family car, I couldn’t imagine anything else better suiting our needs.

BadgeCV
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Tom

TomMelbourne

A lemon car and bad luck

published
BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Tom
Tom

Got update from Nunawading Toyota Service that car has been trasfered to Waverley Toyota, as there got transmassion specialist. Parts is on the way but no loan car available. Frustrating!

Claude

ClaudeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Family car!

published

Great all round SUV with plenty of room for passengers and/or storage.
Powerful enough for towing light caravan or full trailers.
Responsive especially at the higher range and been totally reliable.
The only downside has been its lack of functional GPS in my mid range model and no diesel option

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Steven

StevenCairns

OK, Could be better

published

Front wheel drive with power, not good, hang on tight accelerating on rough road. Speed o out by 7km. Radio loses stations when battery disconnected. I would prefer the ride a bit softer, gets annoying on bad roads and we have plenty. Head rests are terrible, bent forward, hitting the back of your head on bad roads. A boy racer must have designed it. The rest good.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

The Truth

The TruthWoonona

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it

published

If you have a family of over 6 footers like me its perfect! Bought 2018 model 6 months ago and seriously could not be happier. Well appointed interior and great to drive. Heaps of room in the back with adjustable 2nd row as well as the boot even with 3rd row up. Love it!!!

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Great car

published

Bought my burgundy GX new 18 months ago. One of the most versatile, quiet cars I have ever owned. Lots of power for safe overtaking. Likes a drink though - 14L/100 km in town, but good on open road - best ever was 7.4L/100 on highway. Much nicer to drive than the Camry it's based on.

CL

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Awesome car love it

published

I bought 4x2 GX and loved it. Got plenty of torque and runs smooth. Plenty of space in the back row. Last row seat only good for short distance if occupied by adults. Huge boot and once you lay the seat down there is ton of space. Bit thirsty on fuel in city 14l/100kms but quiet good n long drives8-9l/100kms

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

jose

jose

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Works awesome

published

Drive very smoothly, style is superb , very spacious and torque is strong , safety is great . Price is reasonable. Dashboard is stylish . Cap service is additional bonus . Fuel consumption to the best . Suspension is smooth . Steering wheel is to the max . Love the car !

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Froggobollies

FroggobolliesMelton

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Top chariot apart from the FWD

published

We have 3 very active kids, who jump all over the car, and the mighty Kluger soaks up the rough and tumble with ease. Wife likes driving it, engine has plenty of grunt, A/C works great on hot days, only problem we have found is the FWD option gives lots of torque steer with a 200kw engine, so hang onto the wheel when tromping it.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Lisa

LisaMandurah

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

LOVE it

published

Great car - we bought the Grande. Love all the creature comforts, sun roof, Blueray DVD player, Seat warmers, so much more...Take off speed is great.
There is so much leg room in the back for the kids and I have 2 very tall children...15 year old son is 6'2"
Boot space is great too - we don't use the additional 2 back seats often but they seem to be fairly roomy too. Only criticism I would have is it is very thirsty in fuel when we tow something.
Really happy with it overall.

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Darren

DarrenSYDNEY

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Toyota Kluger Amazing

published

Purchased new Toyota Kluger from James at Castle hill Toyota in 2017, car is great in relation to the room of the 7 seven seating and the leather interior with heated front seats works great, finish in the cabin/ exterior is good for the price with satellite navigation, alloys and leather standard on the GXL model.

Fuel economy is reasonable in city cycle, but on long trips fuel economy is amazing, just had first service at Castle Hill Toyota, fixed price service was great along with the service given to me.

Car has has exceed my expectations in relation to quality and performance for the price and has made the family trips enjoyable.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Roneil Prasad

Roneil PrasadAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great SUV

published

Purchased a Grande in Dec 2015. Love the car to bits. The drive is luxurious with a lot of grunt. The fuel economy is great being a 3.5l engine.
cons: being the top of line I expect it to have folding mirrors, rain sensing wipers and gas strutted bonnets which other competitors normally have.

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Review collected in partnership with Toyota


SarahJ

SarahJMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Family Friendly

published

We purchased the KX-R new April last year. It's very spacious, smooth to drive , powerful motor, looks good! It's a little thirsty at the bowser though but I am not a heavy driver so it's not a problem. we love all the extra room for the Kids and shopping.

BadgeKX-R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Green11

Green11Brisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very comfortable family car

published

Great to drive. Lots of space. Lots of power when needed especially on the highway. We have gone on long trips as well as around town. Able to take 7 people with reasonable leg room in the rear extra seats. Very small fuel tank for the amount of fuel it chews through. I had a problem at the first service but Toyota have been excellent with their warranty. Normal Toyota infotainment system - TERRIBLE but aware going in!! Bluetooth works well. Overall very happy.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Chips

ChipsSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Perfect car its a dream to drive

published

Love our latest buy, its so quite and so comfortable and big for our growing family (7 seater). Its so reliable uses a bit more gas because Its a V6. The inside is so good only problem is it didn't come with mats and the carpet is a bit harder to clean but all in all its a gorgeous family car.

BadgeAltitude
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Patrick

PatrickSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews

Great car

published

Toyota Kluger Grande 2016
Driving experience is good, no issues, handles well and pretty quiet.. Would have liked little bit more power (Kw).
Interior is great but defiantly dislike the dvd on roof and head unit would be much better if it had Apple play.. very hard for kids to each dvd from middle row, strains their necks.. Position of dvd on roof could have been closer to the front.
Reliability and running cost is good, petrol to fill up full about $90 for 400km.

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

azzy

azzyperth

Excellent 2yrs review so a liittle bit long

published
BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

karthi

karthitamil.selvi11@gmail.com

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Big size family car

published

Very good car, from the day we got this we haven't had any issues and never felt like of chose the wrong one. Adjustable seats is very comfortable specially when you travel for long distance. Rear seats are not so bad compare with others in the market around same pricing. Only bit of trouble we always have is parking when we go to shopping centre with narrow parking spaces.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

yuqi

yuqimelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Affordable family car

published

I had Holden commodore before, compared with Klugar. I think Klugar steeling wheel is more easy to maneuver, better visuability, more seats (also the third row is hardly can fitted in anyone), good for long distance drive. I had base model of Klugar which similar price with Holden and less features. Sound effects, temperature control and fuel is a big concern.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Ben S

Ben SAustralia

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good car

published

My 2012 7 Seat 2WD model Kluger is very nice. It has a lot of legroom, is very comfortable and the interior is nice. The car is not noisy at all but isn't very fuel efficent (around 12L/100km) but driving on a motorway or highway is pretty good because uses around 8L/100km.

BadgeKX-R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013

Page 2 of 4

Questions & Answers

Rajab M.

Rajab M.asked

I bought a brand-new Toyota Kluger GSU55R Grande AWD 2019 from a very reputable Toyota dealer in Sydney in May 2019. Taken for its first service in June 2019 (03/06/2019) with no dramas. Come OCT 2019 took it in for its 6 month service, only done 5000k's, on 25/10/2019, after picking up we heard a ticking/clicking sound emanating from the engine bay area while the engine is on. We took it back immediately the same morning and told them about the sound. Toyota kept it there for the remainder of the day and was told it was fine and there was no issue and it was due to it being a fresh oil change and we were advised to take it home and if the noise is persisting, bring it back. My wife had to walk to and from the dealership 6 times that day for the same problem (as we are within walking distance from the service centre). The noise persisted and I rang them immediately that afternoon, I spoke to a Toyota Rep he noted to me that it was crank slap a term he used to explain away the sound we are hearing, in his words It is when the crank shaft slaps the oil in the sump causing a sound to be heard. I exclaimed that this explanation was not good enough and this is a brand-new car and have never encountered a problem such as this with new cars. When I speak to them further about the problem, He then said that he will rebook for a new oil change the next day with a loan car replacement for the day (which was a crappy little outdated Yaris btw) Toyota kept our Kluger there for the entire day from 08:30am till 03:00pm They produce good constructive explanatory statements for customers. The Toyota Rep told me that a case has been put through to Toyota Australia and that it was the hydraulic valve lifter on cylinder number 3 that was noisy and that they will need the Kluger for 2-3 days to replace the faulty hydraulic lifter, pending warranty case approval from Toyota. We were told that it was safe to drive by the Toyota Rep. Now Toyota Australia is involved. Why this problem? Is it because of the incompetent technicians who cant troubleshoot, is it a factory defect or is it purely lack of care? It is not a cheap model! We paid to drive and enjoy the car, not sitting at workshop for technicians to learn or do trial & error work or come up with elusive answers to explain away a serious problem.

Anyone encounter similar problems would love to hear about it...? I have this feeling its going to be a long road and would love some insights of people who've dealt with Toyota with warranty issues.

No answers

Michael P.

Michael P.asked

My2008 kluger rear door willnot open.Not auto lift.when I unlock the car, all other doors can be opened.I can hear a clicking sound in the door,but won't open.Have opened the access panel but can see no lever to open door from inside.Any ideas welcome

1 answer
Garry H.
Garry H.

there is a button in the glove box which turns the tailgate door on/off. sounds like you have accidentally pressed it


KUMUDU

KUMUDUasked

GSU50R GXL 2WD

I bought a brand-new Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL 2WD - 2019 from a very reputed Toyota dealer in July 2019. Couple of days after the delivery the Air conditioner went faulty. When I speak to them, they tell you things like to a 5y old child expecting us to believe. Normally any service reps from any dealer ships from any manufacturers are very bad. They produced good constructive explanatory statements for customers. They just don’t tell you the truth. I have been in to this dealership 4 times for the same problem. Still not working. Now Toyota Australia is involved. Why this problem keeps coming like this? Is this because of the incompetent technicians of the dealer who can’t trouble shoot this or is it a factory defect? It is not a cheap model! We paid to drive, not sitting at workshop for technicians to learn or do trial & error work. Its my money & my car.
What Lemon Car! What an Unbreakable Toyota!

2 answers
Jamie
Jamie

Can you explain exactly whats wrong with the aircon? (tell me as if I'm a technician you need to help point where to look)

KUMUDU
KUMUDU

when turn on the Air conditioner no cold air. Inside the car is fogging up if you use the heater. first time they said it was a human error at the factory. Drove home next day no Air conditioner working again (no cold air) . Took it back to the dealer that time they kept the car for two days & use some dye to see where the gas leak is. After a day or so they said found the problem & it is the compressor int going faulty. I knew it was a load of garbage. In a brand new car ? what a joke. Then it took them nearly a week to get the compressor from Japan. Fitted in after 1.5 months later no air con again. Took it back again then they said the gas was too much last time when they regassed. So they I think they patched up again & so far its ok. waiting to pass 1.5 months to see what happens next. Thanks


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Toyota Kluger GSU50R Grande 2WD

Toyota Kluger GSU50R Grande 2WD (2014-2019)

0.0
(0)
Toyota Kluger GSU50R Grande AWD

Toyota Kluger GSU50R Grande AWD (2014-2019)

5.0
(1)
Toyota Kluger GSU50R GX 2WD

Toyota Kluger GSU50R GX 2WD (2014-2019)

3.8
(4)
Toyota Kluger GSU50R GX AWD

Toyota Kluger GSU50R GX AWD (2014-2019)

0.0
(0)
Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL 2WD

Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL 2WD (2014-2019)

0.0
(0)
Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL AWD

Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL AWD (2014-2019)

0.0
(0)
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $71,317$75,488$49,273$53,473$59,878$64,078
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD) and Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels19" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors555555
Seats777777
Fuel Consumption9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 72 L72 L72 L72 L72 L72 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L
Max Power218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm
Country of ManufactureUSAUSAUSAUSAUSAUSA
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)700 kg700 kg700 kg700 kg700 kg700 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.