??!
3 photos
Toyota Kluger GSU50R

Toyota Kluger GSU50R (2014-2020) (page 2 of 4)

Also referred to as: Toyota Kluger GSU50R 2019 and Toyota Kluger GSU50R 2021. GX, GXL, Grande
4.4 from 73 reviews

Reviews

4.4

73 reviews
5
(44)
4
(21)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (10)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (10)
  • Noise Level
    4.9 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (10)
  • Handling
    4.5 (10)
  • Braking
    4.9 (10)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (10)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.9 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (10)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (10)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (10)
  • Features
    3.9 (9)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (10)
Previous
Next
AYam

AYamNSW, 2125

  • 15 reviews

Best Car I ever owned

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Michael

MichaelBrisbane

  • 7 reviews

Beautiful car

published

I bought this card in March 2018 and it drives like a treat, it doesn't sit ridiculously high like some SUVs so my wife can easily move our baby in and out of the back seat. It has grunt when needed but if you're happy to drive gently the economy is very good (around 10L/100km on avg).

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Rhiannon

RhiannonBenalla

  • 5 reviews

I love this car, highly recommend

published

I love driving my car now, I brought a new car for a family car, it is perfect for car seat installation with isofix, beautiful car to drive and it’s a big car but doesn’t feel big to drive, my parter is 6ft 4 and there is plenty of leg room even with a car seat behind the passenger seat, love the leather interior

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger GSU50R compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Erin

ErinCessnock

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I’ve ever owned!

published

Outstanding driving performance. Smooth, quiet but power when you need it. A very sleek and well appointed dash with all the extras drivers and families need. Comfort features are second to none, with more than enough space to comfortably seat 5 adults and 2 children. The extra 2 seats in the back fold away flush to reveal a huge boot space. You have the versatility of using only one of the rear seats if needed and those seats are as comfortable as the main seats. Kluge is the perfect family car, I couldn’t imagine anything else better suiting our needs.

BadgeCV
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Tom

TomMelbourne

A lemon car and bad luck

published
BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Tom
Tom

Got update from Nunawading Toyota Service that car has been trasfered to Waverley Toyota, as there got transmassion specialist. Parts is on the way but no loan car available. Frustrating!

Claude

ClaudeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Family car!

published

Great all round SUV with plenty of room for passengers and/or storage.
Powerful enough for towing light caravan or full trailers.
Responsive especially at the higher range and been totally reliable.
The only downside has been its lack of functional GPS in my mid range model and no diesel option

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Steven

StevenCairns

OK, Could be better

published

Front wheel drive with power, not good, hang on tight accelerating on rough road. Speed o out by 7km. Radio loses stations when battery disconnected. I would prefer the ride a bit softer, gets annoying on bad roads and we have plenty. Head rests are terrible, bent forward, hitting the back of your head on bad roads. A boy racer must have designed it. The rest good.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
The Truth

The TruthIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Love it

published

If you have a family of over 6 footers like me its perfect! Bought 2018 model 6 months ago and seriously could not be happier. Well appointed interior and great to drive. Heaps of room in the back with adjustable 2nd row as well as the boot even with 3rd row up. Love it!!!

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Great car

published

Bought my burgundy GX new 18 months ago. One of the most versatile, quiet cars I have ever owned. Lots of power for safe overtaking. Likes a drink though - 14L/100 km in town, but good on open road - best ever was 7.4L/100 on highway. Much nicer to drive than the Camry it's based on.

CL

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger GSU50R compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Awesome car love it

published

I bought 4x2 GX and loved it. Got plenty of torque and runs smooth. Plenty of space in the back row. Last row seat only good for short distance if occupied by adults. Huge boot and once you lay the seat down there is ton of space. Bit thirsty on fuel in city 14l/100kms but quiet good n long drives8-9l/100kms

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
jose

jose

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Works awesome

published

Drive very smoothly, style is superb , very spacious and torque is strong , safety is great . Price is reasonable. Dashboard is stylish . Cap service is additional bonus . Fuel consumption to the best . Suspension is smooth . Steering wheel is to the max . Love the car !

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Froggobollies

FroggobolliesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Top chariot apart from the FWD

published

We have 3 very active kids, who jump all over the car, and the mighty Kluger soaks up the rough and tumble with ease. Wife likes driving it, engine has plenty of grunt, A/C works great on hot days, only problem we have found is the FWD option gives lots of torque steer with a 200kw engine, so hang onto the wheel when tromping it.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Lisa

LisaMandurah

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

LOVE it

published

Great car - we bought the Grande. Love all the creature comforts, sun roof, Blueray DVD player, Seat warmers, so much more...Take off speed is great.
There is so much leg room in the back for the kids and I have 2 very tall children...15 year old son is 6'2"
Boot space is great too - we don't use the additional 2 back seats often but they seem to be fairly roomy too. Only criticism I would have is it is very thirsty in fuel when we tow something.
Really happy with it overall.

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Darren

DarrenSYDNEY

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Toyota Kluger Amazing

published

Purchased new Toyota Kluger from James at Castle hill Toyota in 2017, car is great in relation to the room of the 7 seven seating and the leather interior with heated front seats works great, finish in the cabin/ exterior is good for the price with satellite navigation, alloys and leather standard on the GXL model.

Fuel economy is reasonable in city cycle, but on long trips fuel economy is amazing, just had first service at Castle Hill Toyota, fixed price service was great along with the service given to me.

Car has has exceed my expectations in relation to quality and performance for the price and has made the family trips enjoyable.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Roneil Prasad

Roneil PrasadAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great SUV

published

Purchased a Grande in Dec 2015. Love the car to bits. The drive is luxurious with a lot of grunt. The fuel economy is great being a 3.5l engine.
cons: being the top of line I expect it to have folding mirrors, rain sensing wipers and gas strutted bonnets which other competitors normally have.

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Review collected in partnership with Toyota

Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger GSU50R compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SarahJ

SarahJMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Family Friendly

published

We purchased the KX-R new April last year. It's very spacious, smooth to drive , powerful motor, looks good! It's a little thirsty at the bowser though but I am not a heavy driver so it's not a problem. we love all the extra room for the Kids and shopping.

BadgeKX-R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Green11

Green11Brisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very comfortable family car

published

Great to drive. Lots of space. Lots of power when needed especially on the highway. We have gone on long trips as well as around town. Able to take 7 people with reasonable leg room in the rear extra seats. Very small fuel tank for the amount of fuel it chews through. I had a problem at the first service but Toyota have been excellent with their warranty. Normal Toyota infotainment system - TERRIBLE but aware going in!! Bluetooth works well. Overall very happy.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Chips

ChipsSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews

Perfect car its a dream to drive

published

Love our latest buy, its so quite and so comfortable and big for our growing family (7 seater). Its so reliable uses a bit more gas because Its a V6. The inside is so good only problem is it didn't come with mats and the carpet is a bit harder to clean but all in all its a gorgeous family car.

BadgeAltitude
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Patrick

PatrickSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews

Great car

published

Toyota Kluger Grande 2016
Driving experience is good, no issues, handles well and pretty quiet.. Would have liked little bit more power (Kw).
Interior is great but defiantly dislike the dvd on roof and head unit would be much better if it had Apple play.. very hard for kids to each dvd from middle row, strains their necks.. Position of dvd on roof could have been closer to the front.
Reliability and running cost is good, petrol to fill up full about $90 for 400km.

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
azzy

azzyperth

Excellent 2yrs review so a liittle bit long

published
BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Page 2 of 4
See all Toyota Kluger GSU50R reviews

Questions & Answers

Joseph E.

Joseph E.asked

Kluger GSU50R (2014-2020)

Kluger Highlander alarm keeps going off at all times

No answers
Joseph S.

Joseph S.asked

GSU50R Grande 2WD (2014-2020)

I just had my battery replaced in my Toyota Kluger.
The radio/reverse camera screen are blacked out & reads No DVD, Please insert map DVD.
How can j get this operating again

1 answer
Pedro L.
Pedro L.

I just changed my battery and didn’t have any issues. It sounds like yours has a faulty wire or frayed connection. You might need to take it to an auto electrician or if your vehicle is under warranty take it to the dealership to repair. Good luck.

Raheem A.

Raheem A.asked

GSU50R GX AWD (2014-2020)

Hi, I just bought Kluger GX AWD 2018 model. I want to install navigation system in it and want to change the Ac panel and want to install climate control panel in it. Is it possible? If yes then how and where can I do it?

1 answer
Dianne T.
Dianne T.

Hi, I don't own one but am looking at buying one. I am confused as it says the GX doesn't come with sat nav. However looing at Carsales.com, I have come across 3 2018 model GX's that do. So either there is an option to upgrade the panel or some come with it. Don't know if this helps.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.