??!
5 photos
Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R

Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R (2008-2020)

Also referred to as: Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R 2019 and Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R 2021. GX, Altitude, VX, etc...
3.9 from 104 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(50)
(26)
(10)
(6)
(12)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (13)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (13)

Tom

TomIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

What a fantastic beast. Tows like you would not believe. Leaves everything else in the rear vision. Mirror.

published

Have the current 200 series GXL. Expensive but worth every cent. Tows our 2.8 ton van with ease. Have not had any problems or warranty claims in 4 years and over 60,000 kilometres. It is a dream to drive and perfect in comfort and performance. We hummed and harred about the cost but they hold their resale value better than anything else in the market.

Purchased in November 2015 at Bega Valley Motors.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Best landcruiser ever

published

Ive owned a 40, 45, 55, 60, 75, 80, 100 and now a 200 series. Every model was legendary and every model was better than the one before it. They arent cheap but they outlast the rest. Great tow car, awesome offroad.

Purchased in June 2015 at Motorama Toyota for $82,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Parth Sharma

Parth SharmaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

I would like to aim the Toyota Land Cruiser 200 VDJ200R VX8 Cylinder

published

I use my car very often almost 2-300 kms a day. Everyday, every time i get my car serviced when its due, there are no issues with the car its amazing.

Purchased in August 2017 for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

comfortable highway cruiser and excellent tow vehicle BUT

published

comfortable highway cruiser and excellent tow vehicle. have to pay way too much for way too little. basic inclusions - no seat heaters, accessory plug in rear ,lumber support adjustment, stereo controls steering wheel and poor standard insulation. high depreciation
I would rather go off road in my old 75 troopy

Purchased in May 2015 for $44,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

mtreister

mtreisterNew South Wales

The leather seats are falling apart and the service from Toyota and Toyota Sutherland has been atrocious

published

These photos tell it all the car is only 4 years old and Toyota has just walked away I will never buy another Toyota or one from Toyota Sutherland they are happy to take your money not have no interest in fixing there products

Purchased for $115,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Darryl  Hill

Darryl HillMelb

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent 200 Sahara 2018

published

Have done 24 ks in 12mths with not one ounce of worry other than still showing 12.1 lts per 100ks and not 9.5 as Toyota states which all makes of cars claim

Purchased in July 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

DukeMG

DukeMGSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Extremely high quality - best car I have owned.

published

Use the 200 for commuting, family transport & towing a 3700KG boat. (I had a second stage mfg increase the BTC to 4T). The vehicle is more solid than anything else I have seen designed & built today. Comfortable for long trips, large car that is easy to handle. I will have a very hard time letting go of this one when the time comes.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

ROLLA

ROLLACentral Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

You really pay for what you get with these cars. Fairly expensive so you get the best possible ride with it. Very comfortable even with standard suspension. Great car straight of the factory floor.

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
TanRod

TanRodHervey Bay

New Batteries - No navigation

published

We recently replaced our batteries in our Landcruiser, and now the factory fitted navigation system is not picking up GPS signal, and has gone to a default map of Canberra. Is there a anyway that we can fix this ourselves, or is this a trip to our local dealer?
Thanks in advance, Tania

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2014
Mick cameron

Mick cameronBairnsdale Victgoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great vehicle great staff

published

I search for two years before I found a vehicle I wanted to buy, it had to have accessories, low is and be able to do what was required in a four wheel drive. Towing etc. I selected a GX 200 series landcruiser 2013. This vehicle is to tow my off road van for extended trips outback as well as a daily drive.

BadgeGX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Drive4WD

Emma

Emma

  • 2 reviews

Happy So Far

published

We've had our LandCruiser 200 series since June, and don't think we'll ever turn back. Has a spacious interior, fits 3 car seats along the middle row nicely, drives well a perfect family car from school runs to off-roading. Has only been taken for one service (which was complimentary) the local dealer offers a complimentary detail along with the service. The dealer was extremely busy on the day our car was booked in - so could not complete the detail - although offered for us to bring the vehicle back at a later date for the detail.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Sleepy

SleepyWoodgate Beach

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

King of the Road

published
BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
1 comment
Sleepy
Sleepy

Ben

Ben

  • 2 reviews

The best family 4x4 vehicle

published

Toyota landcruiser 200 vx very comfortable vehicle my kids loves it in every trip. Quite cabin and torquey engine. The stock suspension is amazing. Drive it off road and it will just take it easy with the help of its traction control you don't need differential locker in my opinion.

BadgeVX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Naidon

NaidonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

Comfortable car

published

This is a really comfortable 4wd to drive around. Lots of really good things about it. Some frustrations with the navigation unit being poor, as is toyota form it seems, and some of the alarms and bells can't be turned off, which is annoying. Good long distance tourer. Second major issue is the payload capacity. Toyota need to look at this and address it. Considering so many buy the car as a tourer, tow vehicle, the 650kg capacity is no-where near enough.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Nick18

Nick18mackay

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Happy enough

published

The car is a great drive and tows well, the kids have grown up now so its the cook and I, you could argue its an overstated vehicle for two people which it is but is bought for towing and long trips into central and western Queensland etc
I am a little disappointed in the lack of features for the driver: reversing sensor, fuel management, retracting mirrors etc. all of this was standard with my previous Prado GXL
considering the significant cost its disappointing, I wish I had of bought the VX
never the less a great vehicle.
The dealer is excellent to deal with and would recommend talking to them before purchasing elsewhere.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
ptr

ptrbrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Power and the glory

published

Had my 2013 Sahara since new, 100,000km of trouble free luxury and hauling tools for work. A great machine to cover large distances easily and comfortably. Economical diesel albeit a twin turbo V8 powerhouse. Love the chiller box and dvd for children in the rear. Plenty of room for the larger framed folk! Reliability is first class.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2013

Andy Merrill

Andy MerrillMelbourne

Good car except for a very annoying vibration from 1800 to 2100 rpm through steering wheel, feels li

published
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

good bloke

good bloke

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

awesome

published

Awsome driving experience, quiter than I thought, great steering, excellent on and off road, plenty of space inside, there is nothing to dislike about the interior, easy to clean, and very comfortable for the whole family, it fits everything we need for everyday life or when we go for trips and very affordable running costs, i wish I bought it earlier.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

RonnieB

RonnieBPort Macquarie

  • 4 reviews

Great Tow Vehicle

published
BadgeGX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

rick cammans

rick cammansbrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 22 likes

New toyota 200 series under warranty with a painting claim defect denied

published
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
1 comment
rick cammans
rick cammans

I had the same problem. Toyota standards are dropping fast for such $X$ at more than $ 84,000 GXL. Look for another car cheaper but as good.


Page 1 of 6

See all Toyota LandCruiser 200 reviews

Questions & Answers

Andrew M.

Andrew M.asked

I have a 2011 gx, and got it remapped recently after buying it about 8 months ago, and the readout said that it only has 165kw after the remap and 140 before, I thought 200kw was standard

2 answers

Ask an Agent or look in tbe manual ,usually available on line

Stewart P.
Stewart P.

200kw is at the engine. When you allow for drive-line losses you get 140kw as measured at the tyres

165kw is measured at the tyres.

Dont feel bad, The Y62 Patrol is 297kw at the engine and yet was 163kw at the tyres AFTER a tune.


Nick B

Nick Basked

I have a 2008 model V8 diesel auto. It battles to reverse. It does not move when I hook a trailer to the nose towbar and try to reverse.
Even over a slight bump and definitely uphill. Even if I rev the motor a bit.
The gearbox oil was changed by Toyota but there is no improvement. Please advise?

2 answers
Tom
Tom

Why are you hooking the trailer/van to the front end and then reversing? I have a 2015 Cruiser and when hooked to the rear tow ball have no trouble driving forward or reversing our 2.9 ton carvan. Every time we come home I reverse it back onto the driveway with no problem. I have never tried to hook the van on the front and reverse it. Maybe reverse is not meant to pull 3 ton.

Stewart P.
Stewart P.

Check the handbrake. Ive seen mechanic's over adjust them and it almost locks up the wheels in reverse. The other issue is the brake distribution, with heavy weight on the front the brakes will be doing some weird stuff. They arent designed to be used like this. Reversing with the van correctly hooked up to the rear will be very different


Richard P.

Richard P.asked

I don't have rear guidelines displayed on my reverse camera how to I set them up Help required

1 answer
Tom
Tom

I am not sure if the lines are even there. Certainly not on my current 200 series GXL. Camera is off set but you get use to the angle when backing onto the caravan.


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.