??!
1 photo
Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R Sahara 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo

Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R Sahara 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo (2008-2020)

Also referred to as: Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R Sahara 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo 2019 and Toyota LandCruiser 200 VDJ200R Sahara 8 Cylinder, 4.5 L Twin Turbo 2021.
4.4 from 28 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(18)
(4)
(5)
(0)
(1)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (5)

DukeMG

DukeMGSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Extremely high quality - best car I have owned.

published

Use the 200 for commuting, family transport & towing a 3700KG boat. (I had a second stage mfg increase the BTC to 4T). The vehicle is more solid than anything else I have seen designed & built today. Comfortable for long trips, large car that is easy to handle. I will have a very hard time letting go of this one when the time comes.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Sleepy

SleepyWoodgate Beach

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

King of the Road

published
BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
1 comment
Sleepy
Sleepy
Naidon

NaidonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

Comfortable car

published

This is a really comfortable 4wd to drive around. Lots of really good things about it. Some frustrations with the navigation unit being poor, as is toyota form it seems, and some of the alarms and bells can't be turned off, which is annoying. Good long distance tourer. Second major issue is the payload capacity. Toyota need to look at this and address it. Considering so many buy the car as a tourer, tow vehicle, the 650kg capacity is no-where near enough.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
ptr

ptrbrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Power and the glory

published

Had my 2013 Sahara since new, 100,000km of trouble free luxury and hauling tools for work. A great machine to cover large distances easily and comfortably. Economical diesel albeit a twin turbo V8 powerhouse. Love the chiller box and dvd for children in the rear. Plenty of room for the larger framed folk! Reliability is first class.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2013

Speed Alert

published

I have just purchased my new cruiser does the 200 series Sahara have Speed Alert and if so how do i set it.
I have tried looking in the operations manual but can not find any thing. Also the voice recognition in not good at all it is really bad.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Rob

RobMount Gambier

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nice car but transmission not the best.

published

Really like the Sahara. Fridge is good, nice comfy seats, seat warmers are nice and warm. Transmission hunts gears too much and dropping in to 6th over 110 is just crazy. Why don’t Toyota fix this? Needs transmission software change. Silky smooth engine. No rattles. High beam should be HID. Overall very happy with purchase.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

For flagship model I expected much more

published
BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

king

kingbrisbane

  • 6 reviews

Great car

published

such a nice car to drive, you forget you are in a large 4wd. Then when we get off road the performance is still all there. We have multiple heavy trailers to tow and the twin turbo v8 just eats it up! Interior wise it has all the bells and whistles and is super comfy for our family of 6. The only thing I would recommend to people with small kids is, dont let them kick the TV's! Ours cracked one and the quote from repair at toyota was over 5k!

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Oldfella

OldfellaHunter Region, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

What a rippa

published

Purchased in November 2015 for $120,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Brian Alcock

Brian AlcockMullaloo

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Love the power

published

Purchased in September 2013 for $115,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Porch

PorchSmeaton

  • 2 reviews

Toyota always

published

Super easy to drive and from inside very quiet and smooth
Would like more cubby holes to stash those necessary bits and pieces
Totally reliable, but it is almost new so should be. Running costs acceptable uses a little extra fuel when towing a caravan. Very pleased with the overall performance of this car I am sure this one will give us the same amazing service that all out past ones have.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Nev W

Nev WDiddillibah

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

What a great vehicle

published

Fitted a Tunit and just drove over 100 kms on cruise control and average 7.7 liters per 100 kms. Around town average 12l
Drives as if sitting in a comfortable armchair
Has so many driving aids that it practically drives itself
I loved my 80 series and 100 series but I don't miss them after driving the new one
Cannot fault it.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

ScreenX

ScreenXMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it! Sahara forever!

published
BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Robert

Robert

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

GPS is disappointing

published

Picked up car last Tues and went for a quick run around Southern WA, great car to drive but very disappointed in the factory GPS. Maps don't show a lot of the streets, etc. in country towns, even minor sealed roads in country areas are not shown, Routes and Points of interest on GPS cannot be accessed whilst vehicle is moving, causing a lot of grief for my navigator, hence i had to stop every time she wanted to make changes, etc. No visual display on current speed limits or other info. Now looking for a 3rd party system that will work, shouldn't have to do this on a vehicle that is close to $120k. Also can't access the music that's on my mobile phone, both my Jeep and Mazda win hands down in this and GPS.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Cruiser LP

Cruiser LPWinston hills

LandCruiser Sahara 200 series

published
BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Naomi

NaomiPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect vehicle - pure luxury

published

Bought a 2016 Sahara twin turbo diesel. By far the most superior Landcruiser we have owned. Exceptionally comfortable on long trips. Very happy with the power and performance on road and off road. Touch screen is easy to navigate. Warns you of school zones/ red light cameras etc. Highly recommend this vehicle. Pure luxury.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

2016 Sahara Vibration

published
BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Messages

published

I have a 2016 Sahara and my old iPhone 6 use to connect perfectly and incoming text messages would pop up on my screen but now have the iPhone 6 Plus and my text messages won't show up on the screen like it use to. I don't have message settings on the screen (can't remember if it previously did)

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Peter

PeterGisborne

2016 Sahara - somewhat disappointed

published

Purchased in June 2016 for $119,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

ACE

ACEPort Macquarie

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fuel economy

published

I found fuel usage of my 2008 Sahara around 12L/100km. That's with BFG types, ARB bull bar, Longrange tank and drawers, 3 inch exhaust.
I would expect the new model to be be better. I'd be interested to hear from others. The new model has a .5 improvement on fuel.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Page 1 of 2

See all Toyota LandCruiser 200 reviews

Questions & Answers

Gerry

Gerryasked

power tail gate will not open manually

No answers

Trev

Trevasked

How do you get the voice activation on the navigation to work?

4 answers
Darryl  Hill
Darryl Hill

It,s in the book read it!!!!

Trev
Trev

I have read it !!!!!! It does not work!!!!!!
Toyota admit it is a fault but refuse to fix the problem.
So, Darryl, you try and get it to work and then tell Toyota and all their owners how to do it!!!!!

Darryl  Hill
Darryl Hill

Rubbish read the book again


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.