3 photos
Toyota Landcruiser 80

Toyota Landcruiser 80 (1989-1997)

4.8 from 20 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

4.8
20 reviews
5
(19)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (1)
  • Handling
    4.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)
  • Features
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Adam G.
Adam G.South-Eastern Region, NSW

I own Audi 3.0 Q5 and had BMW 4 series 435i but still prefer driving the old 80 series Cruiser.

published

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dan
DanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Toyota Legend

published

Have had my 1995 HZJ80 with after market Safari Turbo for 18 years, it's a beast and the best vehicle I have owned.Look after them and they are bullet proof and will keep on going with service every 5,000k. It's a daily driver, tourer & weekend warrior - best in it's class.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2000
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
steve S
steve SCentral Queensland, QLD

This has been an EXCELLENT Vehicle Recommend highly!!!

published

I have a 1996 gel 80 series with a 1 hz Diesel engine 5 speed manual trans, This IS one of the BEST vehicles i have ever owned, The full time 4x4 inst a great idea, (which will be soon changed to free wheel) But other than that it is an EXCELLENT tow vehicle, had reasonable power, and is very well built, Had NO issues at all, vehicle has now 400 + ks on it and the engine is STILL strong and runs like a clock, Quiet, burns NILL oil and gets fair fuel economy. This was the last model before the 100 series i think, I know many people that updated then, realised the 80 series was Much better!!!

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
dave
dave
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

waste of money

published

my dad has a 94 land cruiser diesel factory turbo while it might tow heavy his one has had problem after problem after problem worst vehicle Toyota made he is on a pension and its a money pit to him currently its got gear shift problem's large engine leaks only driven on roads he doesn't even take it of road which I find rediculas why have that type of vehicle if you only drive bitumen I'd rather a Nissan GQ any day and there built tough real tough

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 1998
Drive4WD
dave
dave
dave
dave

also get a hilux if you wish to stick with Toyota as hilux models have always been made extremely well the land cruiser was let down by Toyota if you want a 90s model

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Landcruiser 80 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Oh what a feeling !

published

Best 4wd out there ! I have a 92 factory turbo diesel 262kms and been offered numerous times to sell it . I won’t part with this car . Towed up to 3.5 tonne boats and she never gives up towing . Do urself a favour and get one if you haven’t already. These vehicles are sort after and increasing in value . I wonder why .... best 4wd Toyota have built and going strong

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Grego
GregoRangiora, Canterbury, New Zealand

Can't go wrong, Bullet Proof!!

published
BadgeVX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 1999
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

king of the road

published

These things are just great the best landcruiser ever built by Toyota in my opinion they do everything so well there is nothing else like it in its class. Turbo diesel engines are the way forward especially the 1hdft unit. pity they didn't make them new now. have 3 myself and as long as I can get oil and diesel will never part with them. Why cant Toyota build motors like this anymore.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Dizzletree
DizzletreeMurwillumbah
  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Absolute Brilliance

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
IDKB
IDKBPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

1993 1hdt

published

Factory turbo diesel I've been looking for a good one for a while now. Shipped over from Queensland service history 250 k on the clock. Absolute gem of a car nothing touched on the engine I drop the oil every 5000, oil tested at a lab and no trace of any materials. If you find a factory turbo that's been looked after pay the money and hold onto it. Easy to maintain, economical for something 20+ years old 13-14 L /100 around town 12 on the free way. There's not a lot getting around now a people have not realised until now how good they really are. Find a 24 valve even better again and if you have one bloody keep it !!!... They are holding value really well and for good reason. Keep the maintenance up and you will get a great 4x4 in return.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Landcruiser 80 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AGRADEMECHANIC
AGRADEMECHANICGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 19 reviews
  • 37 likes

TOYOTA'S NAME IS SYNONYMOUS WITH "AS PERFECT AS POSSIBLE"

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stephen
StephenCamden via Sydney

1996 Chopped Ute - Dual Fuel Auto

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Stephen
Stephen
Stephen
Stephen

Update on Dark Debbie - recently installed rear eLocker - should have done it ages ago. Now I can just crawl up rock steps instead of giving it a red hot go using momentum (410,000km May 2017)

Stephen
Stephen

Update on the Beast - now sporting rock sliders (banged a door sill once - never again) and raised the LPG tank snuggling up under the tray (banged the LPG tank once - never again) - never let's me down (455,000km June 2018)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adam
AdamMelbourne

They use these cars in the mines to cut diamonds

published

In terms of ride and fun to drive it far surpasses my wifes Mercedes Benz C200 and every single one of the 5 mercedes I've owned before this car. They use these cars in the mines to cut diamonds {joke}. Its seriously bullet proof. I got the povo pack which looks less dated than other models (it has no extras). The car just wants to be driven even when its stationary it screams "drive me across the Nullarbor".

BadgeStandard
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Landcruiser 80 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bleplast
bleplastGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

A superb 4WD vehicle.

published
BadgeRV
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

ITS A 80 THING..

published

had a few, never had issues, all 1HZ Diesels, these are the true unstoppable engines if serviced well you wont have any dramas, they literally will go just about anywhere you can fit your tires, have fun to because parts are pretty cheap also. perfect for Families big or small or just for a play toy.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michael
MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 16 reviews
  • 17 likes

Mighty 80

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeDX
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Felice Z.
Felice Z.asked

Abs light comes on car bakes straight.when light is off car pulls bad to left side some times hard to pull up

No answers
Sean
Seanasked

hi what temperature does the AT light come on at in a 1989 Toyota Land Cruiser 60 series

No answers
Brian
Brianasked

Hello I have a 1990 80 series LandCruiser fj80r with the 3fe petrol motor, it has a dodgy MAF sensor and are very hard to source one ,can the MAF sensor be comparable with something else or bypassed altogether or any other solutions ,thanks Brian

No answers
See all Toyota Landcruiser 80 (1989-1997) questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Release dateJan 1989
Discontinuation dateDec 1997
Replaced byToyota LandCruiser 100

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.