??!
3 photos
Toyota Landcruiser 80

Toyota Landcruiser 80 (1989-1997)

4.8 from 20 reviews

Reviews

(19)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(1)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (1)
  • Handling
    4.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (1)
  • Features
    4.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)


Adam G.

Adam G.South-Eastern Region, NSW

I own Audi 3.0 Q5 and had BMW 4 series 435i but still prefer driving the old 80 series Cruiser.

published

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year1993
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Dan

DanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Toyota Legend

published

Have had my 1995 HZJ80 with after market Safari Turbo for 18 years, it's a beast and the best vehicle I have owned.Look after them and they are bullet proof and will keep on going with service every 5,000k. It's a daily driver, tourer & weekend warrior - best in it's class.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2000
steve S

steve SCentral Queensland, QLD

This has been an EXCELLENT Vehicle Recommend highly!!!

published

I have a 1996 gel 80 series with a 1 hz Diesel engine 5 speed manual trans, This IS one of the BEST vehicles i have ever owned, The full time 4x4 inst a great idea, (which will be soon changed to free wheel) But other than that it is an EXCELLENT tow vehicle, had reasonable power, and is very well built, Had NO issues at all, vehicle has now 400 + ks on it and the engine is STILL strong and runs like a clock, Quiet, burns NILL oil and gets fair fuel economy. This was the last model before the 100 series i think, I know many people that updated then, realised the 80 series was Much better!!!

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Drive4WD
dave

dave

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

waste of money

published

my dad has a 94 land cruiser diesel factory turbo while it might tow heavy his one has had problem after problem after problem worst vehicle Toyota made he is on a pension and its a money pit to him currently its got gear shift problem's large engine leaks only driven on roads he doesn't even take it of road which I find rediculas why have that type of vehicle if you only drive bitumen I'd rather a Nissan GQ any day and there built tough real tough

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 1998
Drive4WD
2 comments
dave
dave
dave
dave

also get a hilux if you wish to stick with Toyota as hilux models have always been made extremely well the land cruiser was let down by Toyota if you want a 90s model


Oh what a feeling !

published

Best 4wd out there ! I have a 92 factory turbo diesel 262kms and been offered numerous times to sell it . I won’t part with this car . Towed up to 3.5 tonne boats and she never gives up towing . Do urself a favour and get one if you haven’t already. These vehicles are sort after and increasing in value . I wonder why .... best 4wd Toyota have built and going strong

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2007

Grego

GregoRangiora, Canterbury, New Zealand

Can't go wrong, Bullet Proof!!

published
BadgeVX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 1999
Drive4WD

king of the road

published

These things are just great the best landcruiser ever built by Toyota in my opinion they do everything so well there is nothing else like it in its class. Turbo diesel engines are the way forward especially the 1hdft unit. pity they didn't make them new now. have 3 myself and as long as I can get oil and diesel will never part with them. Why cant Toyota build motors like this anymore.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2007

Dizzletree

DizzletreeMurwillumbah

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Absolute Brilliance

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
IDKB

IDKBDarwin

1993 1hdt

published

Factory turbo diesel I've been looking for a good one for a while now. Shipped over from Queensland service history 250 k on the clock. Absolute gem of a car nothing touched on the engine I drop the oil every 5000, oil tested at a lab and no trace of any materials. If you find a factory turbo that's been looked after pay the money and hold onto it. Easy to maintain, economical for something 20+ years old 13-14 L /100 around town 12 on the free way. There's not a lot getting around now a people have not realised until now how good they really are. Find a 24 valve even better again and if you have one bloody keep it !!!... They are holding value really well and for good reason. Keep the maintenance up and you will get a great 4x4 in return.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
AGRADEMECHANIC

AGRADEMECHANICAU

  • 14 reviews
  • 22 likes

TOYOTA'S NAME IS SYNONYMOUS WITH "AS PERFECT AS POSSIBLE"

published

Stephen

StephenCamden via Sydney

1996 Chopped Ute - Dual Fuel Auto

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
4 comments
Stephen
Stephen
Stephen
Stephen

Update on Dark Debbie - recently installed rear eLocker - should have done it ages ago. Now I can just crawl up rock steps instead of giving it a red hot go using momentum (410,000km May 2017)

Stephen
Stephen

Update on the Beast - now sporting rock sliders (banged a door sill once - never again) and raised the LPG tank snuggling up under the tray (banged the LPG tank once - never again) - never let's me down (455,000km June 2018)


Adam

AdamMelbourne

They use these cars in the mines to cut diamonds

published

In terms of ride and fun to drive it far surpasses my wifes Mercedes Benz C200 and every single one of the 5 mercedes I've owned before this car. They use these cars in the mines to cut diamonds {joke}. Its seriously bullet proof. I got the povo pack which looks less dated than other models (it has no extras). The car just wants to be driven even when its stationary it screams "drive me across the Nullarbor".

BadgeStandard
TransmissionManual

bleplast

bleplastGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

A superb 4WD vehicle.

published
BadgeRV
TransmissionManual

ITS A 80 THING..

published

had a few, never had issues, all 1HZ Diesels, these are the true unstoppable engines if serviced well you wont have any dramas, they literally will go just about anywhere you can fit your tires, have fun to because parts are pretty cheap also. perfect for Families big or small or just for a play toy.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Michael

MichaelDaisy Hill

  • 16 reviews
  • 17 likes

Mighty 80

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeDX
Doug09

Doug09BUENOS AIRES

  • 2 reviews
  • 22 likes

Best 4WD ever made - a true icon of the genre !!

published
Badge40th Anniversary
TransmissionManual

Mighty SUV

published

Bryce.C

Bryce.CBrisbane

STILL LOVING IT

published
BadgeGXL

TwoTees

TwoTeesHome

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Toyota Tough

published

Lanwah

LanwahAU

  • 6 reviews

The greatest 4x4 ever built

published
1 comment
pop52
pop52

Questions & Answers

Steve

Steveasked

No compression on any cylinder after a rebuild on my 4.5 ltre DOHC landcruiser motor any suggestions for a check list please

No answers

Richo N.

Richo N.asked

Gear box - just washed car and this morning went to take it out & it won’t go into gear, any gear ....
GSXL 1995 Landcruiser

No answers

Pieter

Pieterasked

What is a reasonable price for a1989 Straight six cruiser ls station wagon 4.2 petrol in running condition

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.