7 photos
Toyota LandCruiser 200

Toyota LandCruiser 200 (page 4 of 9)

Mark I, Mark II
3.9 from 201 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (33)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (33)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (32)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (31)
  • Braking
    4.5 (32)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (32)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (30)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (32)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.4 (31)
  • Handling
    4.2 (31)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (33)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (33)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (33)
  • Features
    4.0 (32)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Picked up brand new Prado in December 2016 being a 10/16 build but so disappointed with GPS. Travelling along the Pacific Highway thru the Kempsy by pass the GPS cancel s the route as it is not on the map. You have to reset your route most GPS systems just keep recalulating till it picks up a road. Doesnt have the road speeds displayed on screen either. It often tells you to turn when there is no road and never ever had a road. Very disappointing by Toyota and absolutely no help from Toyota to amend the issues. Shame on you, Toyota

BadgeGXL
Engine Size6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Janice
JaniceKurrimine Beach

We've waited a long time for this luxury

published

We have just bought a Toyota VX 200 series, we cannot express the joy we feel about the luxury. We thought it would have been heavier on diesel, but to our surprise it's the same as our old 80 series. We look forward to doing road trips now, so comfortable, with all the extras. Electric everything. We are planning to purchase a caravan in the next year or so - can't wait so we can tow it with our new VX around Australia

BadgeVX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
BazB
BazBAdelaide, SA

Beware poor quality control

published

I bought a new current model Landcruiser 200 series in late 2016. Within 6 months, the vehicle has extensive rust underneath, due to inadequate paint finish on the underbody of the vehicle. The factory paint job underneath was totally inadequate, and Toyota and the dealer refused to accept responsibility. They said the vehicle had been taken off-road. I thought that was the idea of buying a 4WD. The vehicle has not been in harsh conditions, merely driven on dirt roads and one visit to the beach, driving on dry sand. Very disappointed with the factory quality control and the company's response.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
ScreenX
ScreenXMelbourne
  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

Love it! Sahara forever!

published
BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota LandCruiser 200 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AJEaster
AJEasterPort Macquarie
  • 2 reviews
  • 14 likes

Does what it should

published
BadgeVX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Tony Duncan
Tony DuncanCapalaba
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Hi
Just purchased a 2012/200 series land cruiser from Barton's in Capalaba. What a rig!!! Brilliant on the road, magic on the beach and bush. Wife finds it easy to park,tonnes of room and storage. Best car I have ever bought, and also very happy with Barton's for all of there help..

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016

This was a Christmas present from my husband. 1st ever 4WD. Great to drive on & off road. Love it.

published

Great to drive with easy steering and surprisingly very quiet. Heaps of leg room in front and middle seats. Love how middle seats can be adjusted. Air con great throughout car and gives you air con vent options from front to back. One annoying thing is the navigation/stereo system is behind the times but you can always upgrade yourself. In my opinion, very enjoyable to drive. Love it.

BadgeVX
Engine SizeUZ 4.7L V8 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Purchased landcruiser primarily for its towing and safety capabilities. This is our fourth landcruiser and we have always found them reliable and felt safe driving them and comfortable at the same time. The interior is spacious and the driver and passengers have plenty of room with regards to comfort. Although the dashboard is well laid out we feel that the hands free phone controls should be more easily accessed while driving ei oln the steering wheel. For the size of the vehicle and the motor the economy is good.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
rob.
rob.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

love the car in every way except for the lack of room for anything such as uhf radios, and storage space to store gear such as recovery gear, so I had to go buy a drawn system and fit that into the back of th car, also the power or cigarete socket in the rear of the car uses too light a guage wiring!

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeUZ 4.7L V8 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota LandCruiser 200 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
rl
rlsydney
  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great road or tow vehicle

published
BadgeGX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Wayne
WayneCanberra
  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Very plain in side doesn't come with the extras that other brands have over priced in today market very old technology and fuel consumption is at least very high should bring back the 6 cyclinder turbo diesel much better on fuel and eazyer to work on leaves more room around engineering to add the extras.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2010
Tui
TuiAlbury
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota LandCruiser 200 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon Clemence
Simon ClemenceMildura
  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Land Cruiser 200 Series V8 Disel - Ultimate tow vehicle but expensive to drive

published
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Choppy
ChoppyInnisfail
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Robert
Robert
  • 2 reviews

GPS is disappointing

published

Picked up car last Tues and went for a quick run around Southern WA, great car to drive but very disappointed in the factory GPS. Maps don't show a lot of the streets, etc. in country towns, even minor sealed roads in country areas are not shown, Routes and Points of interest on GPS cannot be accessed whilst vehicle is moving, causing a lot of grief for my navigator, hence i had to stop every time she wanted to make changes, etc. No visual display on current speed limits or other info. Now looking for a 3rd party system that will work, shouldn't have to do this on a vehicle that is close to $120k. Also can't access the music that's on my mobile phone, both my Jeep and Mazda win hands down in this and GPS.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

VIBRATION IN toyota 200 series AUTOMATIC

published
BadgeGX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
bill
bill

buy another brand

Cliff
CliffSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

TOYOTA LC200 Land Cruiser May 2008

published
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2010

Has anyone got a fix for air cleaner passing dust without having to fit a snorkel ie any type of pre cleaner The automatic transmission tends change to a lower gear easily whilst travelling through hills while in cruise Fuuel economy ranges from 9.8 lph to 13 lph without van & 16lph to 20.5 lph with

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
B1RD1E
B1RD1EAU
  • 12 reviews
  • 11 likes

Now at 400,000 km, going strong

published
BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2008
B1RD1E
B1RD1E
B1RD1E
B1RD1E

Now at 435000. No leaks squeakes or rattles.Tuff vehicle for sure

2016 GXL Hands Free Electrical Noise

published

The car is great with the exception of the stereo. I have tried several iphones (5, 6 & 7) and all people I am talking to can barely hear me over an electrical buzzing noise. Toyota have replicated the problem and are investigating. Possibly a problem in the series as the car the tested against also had the problem. Going to install a new head unit soon??? but I am not confident this is going to fix. Also very poor on Toyotas part for not having hands free controls on the steering wheel.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
SRJ
SRJ
SRJ
SRJ
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Cruiser LP
Cruiser LPWinston hills

LandCruiser Sahara 200 series

published
BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

2016 200 series VX, great for towing terrrible for comfort

published

Sure it has great pulling power but our y62 patrol is hands down a better vehicle on the tarmac we only tow and never go off-road so cant compare in that space but the steering in the landcruiser is bloody heavy and ever so slight vibration that comes through the steering wheel causes discomfort in arms. Ive had it from new towed a boat to QLD and 2 weeks later i still have an aching arm, never get these issues from our nissan as soon as practice (when its a year old) im going to sell it hopefully the success of the dodge ute will bring other big capable tow vehicles giving us a choice other than toyota. The nissan when towing the range of travel avail is a let down but choice of driving id take my wife's patrol 9 times out of 10.

BadgeVX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Naomi
NaomiPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect vehicle - pure luxury

published

Bought a 2016 Sahara twin turbo diesel. By far the most superior Landcruiser we have owned. Exceptionally comfortable on long trips. Very happy with the power and performance on road and off road. Touch screen is easy to navigate. Warns you of school zones/ red light cameras etc. Highly recommend this vehicle. Pure luxury.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Page 4 of 9

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.