??!
7 photos
Toyota LandCruiser 200

Toyota LandCruiser 200

Mark I, Mark II
3.8 from 188 reviews

Reviews

3.8

188 reviews
5
(82)
4
(48)
3
(22)
2
(13)
1
(23)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (21)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (20)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (21)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (21)
  • Handling
    3.8 (20)
  • Braking
    4.2 (21)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (21)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (20)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (20)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (21)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (21)
  • Features
    3.6 (21)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (21)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
PerthPhil

PerthPhilPerth, WA

  • 30 reviews
  • 18 likes

Dinosaur with terrible after sales service.

published

Purchased in October 2018 for A$105,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
AussieOffroad N.

AussieOffroad N.South East Queensland, QLD

Electrical problems, ABS sensor issues, weak CVs, dust issues...

published

Purchased in September 2010 for A$97,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
mtreister

mtreisterNew South Wales

The leather seats are falling apart and the service from Toyota and Toyota Sutherland has been atrocious

published

These photos tell it all the car is only 4 years old and Toyota has just walked away I will never buy another Toyota or one from Toyota Sutherland they are happy to take your money not have no interest in fixing there products

Purchased for A$115,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota LandCruiser 200 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Craig

CraigPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dusted engine

published

70000 km in and engine showed signs of dusting ( dust getting past the air filter and causing wear on the internals eg pistons and turbos ) left turbo blew and was told was a problem with the injectors . Replaced them at my own cost and problems continued .

Purchased in April 2011 for A$90,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Never another Toyota of any description

published

The 200 has potential, but Toyota's attitude leaves everything to be desired. Starting with a vibration problem at 1800-2000 rpm through the steering, floor and windows (not interested in fixing it) to poor fuel economy (especially when towing) and steering that no one has been able to correct, have seriously diminished the driving experience.

BadgeVX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2008
rick cammans

rick cammansbrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 28 likes

New toyota 200 series under warranty with a painting claim defect denied

published
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
1 comment
rick cammans
rick cammans

I had the same problem. Toyota standards are dropping fast for such $X$ at more than $ 84,000 GXL. Look for another car cheaper but as good.

2016 landcruiser vibration

published

Mine is the VX with vibration through steering wheel amplified when towing and fatigues the body, absolutely disgraceful for any car especially their flagship vehicle. Has been back in total they have probably had it for 20 days back and forth, electrical issues engine cut our on freeway The worst car i have ever owned cannot wait to finish my 2yr lease. Toyota have tried to fix it but cant and like the other writer was told tough its just what landcruiser does. My y62 patrol is streets ahead a better vehicle gave that to my wife enjoy it so much when im back in that.

BadgeVX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
BazB

BazBAdelaide, SA

Beware poor quality control

published

I bought a new current model Landcruiser 200 series in late 2016. Within 6 months, the vehicle has extensive rust underneath, due to inadequate paint finish on the underbody of the vehicle. The factory paint job underneath was totally inadequate, and Toyota and the dealer refused to accept responsibility. They said the vehicle had been taken off-road. I thought that was the idea of buying a 4WD. The vehicle has not been in harsh conditions, merely driven on dirt roads and one visit to the beach, driving on dry sand. Very disappointed with the factory quality control and the company's response.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

VIBRATION IN toyota 200 series AUTOMATIC

published
BadgeGX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
1 comment
bill
bill

buy another brand

Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota LandCruiser 200 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Waste of money!

published
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

2016 Sahara Vibration

published
BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Coops

CoopsBallarat

Not King off road

published

Buying the 200 series 2009 Sahara from our local Toyota dealer, with service history. You would expect the car to be workshop checked. Since having the car we have travelled 30k with it. Until 12 weeks ago. Vsc light on . Into dealer 6/8 injectors need replacing, $6200. Insurance company called for fuel related contamination. Not that after 8 weeks, retrieved car. Took to desiel specialist. Said engine has been dusted. Must have been 90% worn out when we got it.Need new engine. Toyota no help. Will be no change from $20000.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Paulette Batty

Paulette BattySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 17 likes

Excellent GXL 2015 car except not having a retractable mirror for parking it in my garage

published
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
1 comment
Paulette Batty
Paulette Batty
Rocky road

Rocky road

  • 11 reviews
  • 16 likes

Turbo issues

published

Turbo problems between 100,000Km and 200,000Km are not uncommon. This is an expensive repair if it is the RHS or passenger side turbo as some take the motor out while others drop the transmission. I currently have my Sahara in the repair shop and it has been there for more than 20 days awaiting repair. It is in Alice I am in Port Lincoln. I am wondering about possible class action.

BadgeSahara
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic

Toyota Deny Problems

published
BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2009
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota LandCruiser 200 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Wish I had my jeep back

published

So spent $98,000 on my 2015 gxl with accessories trading a really good jeep grand Cherokee crd as I had been told how good these Toyota's were. Well it's thirsty 18.5 litres per hundred around town which goes up to 30.0 litres per hundred when towing. It's been in for a GPS fix, cruise control fix and rattles to be fixed none of these fixes have worked.

BadgeGXL
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Scotty

ScottyIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 11 likes

GPS out of date on new vehicle

published
BadgeVX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
Scotty
Scotty
Mike O

Mike OPerth

Worst Toyota I've ever had - so disappointed I had to sell it

published
BadgeVX
Engine SizeVD 4.5L Twin Turbo V8 Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic

No king off the road barely even a princess

published
Engine Size4.5 twin turbo diesel
TransmissionAuto
BadgeGXL
JAMES SCHMIDT

JAMES SCHMIDTCHARLEVILLE

200n series wagon engine

published
BadgeVX
4 comments
John delany
John delany
JAMES SCHMIDT
JAMES SCHMIDT
Ivana
Ivana
Page 1 of 10
See all Toyota LandCruiser 200 reviews

Questions & Answers

Dean S.

Dean S.asked

LandCruiser 200

My radio and CD player have a clicking sound sound and stops for a couple of second then restarts
Sahara 2011 how do I fix

No answers
Neil

Neilasked

LandCruiser 200

We have just purchased a 2017 Landcruiser Sahara in excellent condition . The navigation system does not work at all well and keeps getting lost . Just can’t seem to keep tracking its own location and sometimes ends up in the ocean. Surely this can’t be normal for an expensive off road vehicle . Can an external antenna be fitted to help the signal or is this a common fault ?

2 answers
bereng
bereng

Hi I bought a new Sahara in 2017. My biggest disappointment is the GPS. I had it updated this year (expensive) and My road is still wrong and two roads off it are also wrong. I type in a NSW address and it's 497KM then time to come home it says 572KM. Contacted Toyota Sorry they don,t give a care. I suggest you use your mobile or tablet like everybody I know with a Sahara. Don't waste your money on an update. A cheap Hyundai can get it right why can't Toyota? I will be having a rethink when I update now it's out of warranty.

Neil
Neil

That’s interesting to hear ...
Took it to our Toyota dealer last week for them to check for software updates etc . Showed them a video of it navigating into the Pacific Ocean and at first they thought the aerial had become detached - thorough examination and testing concluded the GPS unit itself could be faulty . Now waiting to see if Denso ( who manufacture the unit for Toyota ) will come to the party . Just really disappointing on such an expensive vehicle and my i phone can do a much better job

Lesley L

Lesley Lasked

LandCruiser 200

Toyota 200 series 2014 with 77,000k on clock. Since having a flat battery the car won’t move above 1200 revs when cold. Takes about 10 min to warm up. Have had it checked but can find nothing wrong. Any ideas?

1 answer
Mazzab
Mazzab

Sorry Lesley, I cannot assist with an answer, however what I find somewhat disappointing is that whilst it would appear that Toyota representative monitor this website page and the comments made therein, , and unlike other product reviews on this site, where a manufacturer reaches out to a published problem or a complainant , I have never seen a published comment from Toyota representative reaching out to make contact with an owner nor make any suggestion as to potential causes for the problems as has been my personal experience on a couple of occasions.
Jus saying and just an observation!
The following cut and pasted from this page - Listing monitored by Toyota representatives.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.