10 photos
Toyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL

Toyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL (2007-2022)

Also referred to as: Toyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL 2021 and Toyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL 2023. Wagon, Double-Cab, Single-Cab, Troop Carrier (See All)
4.3 from 31 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

Previous
Clear all
Next
Whitecloud
WhitecloudHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Reliable workhorse

published

My model is ute with a service body, i use it for my electrical business and my tow horse. The vehicle as standard doesnt have as much power for towing as my v6 jeep, however all other aspects of towing are better. The 4 wheel disc brakes rear leaf springs and being manual suit my towing requirements.
I had to upgrade the suspension as over time the rear springs sagged.
I would purchase a similar model if something happened to this one.

BadgeGXL
Body(79R) Single Cab Chassis
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

76 Cruiser Not Perfect but OK

published
BadgeGXL
Body(76R) Wagon
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matt
MattNoosa

Clutch slip at 100,1000km

published

My clutch showed signs before 100,000km of slip, $73,000 vehicle,,my 5th L/cruiser and first to have a clutch problem.... Last service the head Mechanic at Toyota didn't know how to collaps the back seat in my troopy and still dosnt! I hope they make the right decision for their own good and learning..... And not mine. Stay tuned....

BadgeGXL
Body(78R) Troop Carrier
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Konrad
KonradSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Offroad beast

published
BadgeGXL
Body(76R) Wagon
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Toyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Meeting expectations

published
BadgeGXL
Body(79R) Cab Chassis
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Toyota LandCruiser 70 reviews

Questions & Answers

D.B
D.Basked
VDJ GXL Double-Cab (2007-2022)

Would you recommend a decoder on a 79 series
If your going on a lap of Oz
To get you out of trouble with limp mode issues

2 answers
Shooter
Shooter

I haven’t even heard of limp mode on a 79 series and I’m not convinced it exists.
Certainly neither me nor any one I know has has limp mode appear on that vehicle.

D.B
D.B

thanks for that answers that Question.
is the rear axle an issue if you leave standard ?

Craig J
Craig Jasked
VDJ GXL Single-Cab (2007-2022)

Hi, the gear changes in my 2018 79 series can be a bit clunky sometimes, like the syncro is not working properly but is perfect other times - depends on revs when changing gears.

Is this normal?

2 answers
Shooter
Shooter

Yes I think it’s normal. I have a 2013 dual cab same gearbox and have experienced the situation u describe. It’s a light truck gearbox not a sport car gearbox. The only times I hear a crunch r if I change too quickly or use too many revs.

Craig J
Craig J

thanks

Tom
Tomasked
VDJ GXL Single-Cab (2007-2022)

G’day guys, I’ve got a single cab gxl Ute with 180,000 on the clock, I’ve found that when I reverse sometimes the cab feels like it’s jumping up and down, also when I look out the back window on bumpy roads I see movement between the cab and the tray headboard, wondering if there’s something wrong with the chassis or if anyone else has experienced this. Kinda hard to explain but hopefully you get what I mean

2 answers
Diab0lus
Diab0lus

Clutch shudder?

Shooter
Shooter

Check all the mounting bolts for tray and cab.

See all Toyota LandCruiser 70 questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL (2007-2022)

Details

Compare all 10 Toyota LandCruiser 70
CategoryCars and Large / 7 Seater SUVsCars and Large / 7 Seater SUVsCars and UtesCars and Utes
Starting Price $73,645.00$76,735.00$78,701.00$80,528.00
TransmissionManualManualManualManual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Alloy16" Steel16" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption10.7 L/100km10.7 L/100km10.7 L/100km10.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 130 L180 L130 L130 L
Engine8 Cylinder 4.5L Turbo Diesel8 Cylinder 4.5L Turbo Diesel8 Cylinder 4.5L Turbo Diesel8 Cylinder 4.5L Turbo Diesel
Engine Code1VD-FTV1VD-FTV1VD-FTV1VD-FTV
Max Power151kW @ 3400rpm151kW @ 3400rpm151kW @ 3400rpm151kW @ 3400rpm
Max Torque430Nm @ 1200-3200rpm430Nm @ 1200-3200rpm430Nm @ 1200-3200rpm430Nm @ 1200-3200rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Ground Clearance235 mm235 mm235 mm235 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance235 mm235 mm235 mm235 mm
Release dateJan 2007Jan 2007Jan 2007Jan 2007
Compare all 10 Toyota LandCruiser 70
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.