10 photos
Toyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL

Toyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL (2007-2022)

Also referred to as: Toyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL 2021 and Toyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL 2023. Wagon, Double-Cab, Single-Cab, Troop Carrier (See All)
4.3 from 31 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (3)
  • Braking
    3.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (3)
  • Handling
    4.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    3.5 (2)
  • Features
    3.0 (2)
Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Shooter
ShooterPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very solid off road workhorse

published

Car is regularly used for outback desert, trips to farm and city driving.
Serviced every 10,000k no problems so far at 140,000k.
13.5L/100K average.
Carries 300L diesel and 150L water for outback trips.
Running 285/75 BFG AT.
Upgraded suspension both ends including air bags. 2” lift.
Other extras: under bonnet air compressor, steel roo bar, steel tray 2x2M, underbody radiator guard, slide out under tray tool draw.
Very hard car to stop.
Handled all recreational challenges I have thrown at it.
Drives well on the HW but cruise control would be handy.
It’s the industry standard for mining exploration.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2013 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hughesie
HughesieThe Mallee, VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

Get it done in a Cruiser- enough said!

published

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter
PeterPeel, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Had a 200 series 6 speed auto fitted

published

Since haven the auto fitted this vehicle it has turn into a dream to drive on road around town-highway uses and really going bush. Has dropped the fuel consumption considerably with the rpm down by 900 and not knowing why autos are not an option. We use the vehicle for touring-camping (not towing) around the out back coving 30kms a year and serviced by Toyota every 10kms. At this point there has not been any small and major problems it as I like to carry out preventive maintenance.

Purchased in May 2013 for $81,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Keith
KeithHunter Region, NSW
  • 18 reviews
  • 22 likes

2012 VDJ76 6yrs of ownership and still going strong

published
BadgeGXL
Body(76R) Wagon
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Toyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nika
NikaCairns
  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Having driven a huge bunch of cars I've chosen the best one

published

I used to have only good cars in my disposal. It was Mercedes-Benz and Toyota.
I cannot say that G class Mercedes-Benz worse than Toyota VDJ76, but.... when it comes to money , I wanna say: 'yes, Toyota is a winner'. Landcruiser VDJ 76 is the same reliable, well-done and awesome 4x4 car but in 3 times cheapper. Regarding other brands... I prefer not to say, don't want to offend other car owners. I know that for someone LC is not not cheap as well, but when we talk about a good car we must be honest and clear.

BadgeGXL
Body(76R) Wagon
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

There a good ute, but just remember they are a truck

published
BadgeGXL
BodyDouble Cab Chassis
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andrea
Andrea
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Ute

published

After looking at various vehicles decided on a dual cab cruiser . Very happy with our choice , Turnball Toyota in yarram were fantastic , Linda couldn’t have been more helpful , we went with the yarram dealership based on there after sale service , which we have found over the years to be outstanding .

BadgeGXL
BodyDouble Cab Chassis
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next

Most capable 4wd off the showroom floor

published

This is the most capable and reliable 4wd available in Oz. Yes it has a computer but still has the bare minimum electrics and a solid front axle, and doesn't yet come with a DPF and the nanny controls. The wheelbase, while longest of the 70 series, could still be a bit longer to avoid a pendulum effect with certain loads and spring rates. The motor can easily handle 50-100 extra kw via remapping etc, but handling becomes a bit of an issue then, as the rest of the car was designed in the 80's. With a campertop on fuel usage is still only 12-14 L/100 km. May the pre DPF cruisers will be spoken of in hushed voices around camp fires long after the EURO 6 other unreasonable emission control laws kill off the 70 series altogether.

BadgeGXL
BodyDouble Cab Chassis
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
crano
cranoIllawarra, NSW

Land cruiser 76 series

published
BadgeGXL
Body(76R) Wagon
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Toyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anthony
Anthony
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

After having Gvm upgrade refused insurance

published

Very happy with vehicle preforms well and have had no trouble, only managed to get it bogged twice despite many off road miles. Had ARB 3700 GVM suspension upgrade fitted from new [2011], when reviewing my comprehensive
insurance was refused by some major companies because of this modification, had to stay with company I was with despite much higher premium. ARB still sell this upgrade.

BadgeGXL
Body(79R) Cab Chassis
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
pebble
pebbleWA, 6530
  • 50 reviews
  • 27 likes

The best.

published
BadgeGXL
BodyDouble Cab Chassis
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015
pebble
pebble
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Dream machine

published

I own a my cruiser since 2009 Workmate GLX and drove from Charleville to Tassie and back without missing a beat Road handling was exceptional and fuel economy was fantastic. As far as oil consumption was concerned I use a synthetic I, as recommended for V8's and has kept it to a minimal use. We now live in FNQ Weipa and have just driven to Cairns return and just had major 140klm service with a good report .would live to hear other opinions cheers

BadgeGXL
Body(76R) Wagon
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2009
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Toyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Class of its own

published

Not perfect but only tough no nonsense vehicle currently available. Capable, economical, reliable and fun to drive. Does most things very well, an auto option would be great. Average around 10 liters per 100 around town and 12 to 14 when its fully loaded and towing camper. Never let us down and i have total confidence in taking my family to any part of the country.

BadgeGXL
Body(76R) Wagon
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Too good to sell

published
BadgeGXL
Body(76R) Wagon
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jay
JayMelbourne

It's a perfect tourer

published

Epic car is very capable off-road and not a pig onroad. Very thirsty 20lt/100 especially when heavy right footing but torque to tow anything legally allowed with ease12lt/100 when driving nicely. Comfirtable inside with basic rustic dash :) have not broken it yet and it's been getting hell! An I don't know if I got lucky but mine uses no oil between 5000km services

BadgeGXL
Body(76R) Wagon
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Toyota LandCruiser 70 reviews

Questions & Answers

D.B
D.Basked
VDJ GXL Double-Cab (2007-2022)

Would you recommend a decoder on a 79 series
If your going on a lap of Oz
To get you out of trouble with limp mode issues

2 answers
Shooter
Shooter

I haven’t even heard of limp mode on a 79 series and I’m not convinced it exists.
Certainly neither me nor any one I know has has limp mode appear on that vehicle.

D.B
D.B

thanks for that answers that Question.
is the rear axle an issue if you leave standard ?

Craig J
Craig Jasked
VDJ GXL Single-Cab (2007-2022)

Hi, the gear changes in my 2018 79 series can be a bit clunky sometimes, like the syncro is not working properly but is perfect other times - depends on revs when changing gears.

Is this normal?

2 answers
Shooter
Shooter

Yes I think it’s normal. I have a 2013 dual cab same gearbox and have experienced the situation u describe. It’s a light truck gearbox not a sport car gearbox. The only times I hear a crunch r if I change too quickly or use too many revs.

Craig J
Craig J

thanks

Tom
Tomasked
VDJ GXL Single-Cab (2007-2022)

G’day guys, I’ve got a single cab gxl Ute with 180,000 on the clock, I’ve found that when I reverse sometimes the cab feels like it’s jumping up and down, also when I look out the back window on bumpy roads I see movement between the cab and the tray headboard, wondering if there’s something wrong with the chassis or if anyone else has experienced this. Kinda hard to explain but hopefully you get what I mean

2 answers
Diab0lus
Diab0lus

Clutch shudder?

Shooter
Shooter

Check all the mounting bolts for tray and cab.

See all Toyota LandCruiser 70 questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL (2007-2022)

Details

Compare all 10 Toyota LandCruiser 70
CategoryCars and Large / 7 Seater SUVsCars and Large / 7 Seater SUVsCars and UtesCars and Utes
Starting Price $73,645.00$76,735.00$78,701.00$80,528.00
TransmissionManualManualManualManual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Alloy16" Steel16" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption10.7 L/100km10.7 L/100km10.7 L/100km10.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 130 L180 L130 L130 L
Engine8 Cylinder 4.5L Turbo Diesel8 Cylinder 4.5L Turbo Diesel8 Cylinder 4.5L Turbo Diesel8 Cylinder 4.5L Turbo Diesel
Engine Code1VD-FTV1VD-FTV1VD-FTV1VD-FTV
Max Power151kW @ 3400rpm151kW @ 3400rpm151kW @ 3400rpm151kW @ 3400rpm
Max Torque430Nm @ 1200-3200rpm430Nm @ 1200-3200rpm430Nm @ 1200-3200rpm430Nm @ 1200-3200rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Ground Clearance235 mm235 mm235 mm235 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance235 mm235 mm235 mm235 mm
Release dateJan 2007Jan 2007Jan 2007Jan 2007
Compare all 10 Toyota LandCruiser 70
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.