??!
6 photos
Toyota Prius

Toyota Prius

ZVW50R, NHW11R, NHW20R and ZVW30R
4.5 from 50 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
35
4 star
10
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
1

OP83

OP83AU

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

We have been Toyota Prius owners since 2010. Throughout that time it has been great. We have to fill the car up with petrol far less than with our previous car. Very fuel efficient.

Purchased in May 2010.

Year2005

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


G.Y. Land

G.Y. LandGarran 2605, ACT

  • 70 reviews
  • 76 likes

I never thought I would like it, but I love it!

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Canberra Toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Peter from the Tweed

Peter from the TweedTweed

  • 25 reviews
  • 32 likes

Read the comment below!

published
1 comment
Sarah Neal

Sarah NealDarwin

  • 4 reviews

Excellent first car for our daughter

published

We wanted to make sure our daughter had a car to drive that was first easy for her to pass her tests in but also safe. She passed her learners and as a gift we then have her the car. It drives very well and got it for a great price second hand dealers. The only issue we had was a scratch that cost a lot to get fixed

BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Jessica Jade Wong

Jessica Jade WongQueensland.

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

The test drive made us buy this car!

published

We were looking for a new family car with loads of room for the kids in the back but also looking for confront. This car ticked all the boxes for us so we bought it. It handles very well on the road. The only small issue we had was where the fual release button was but we found that as it has no icons on it.

BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Mark Phillips

Mark PhillipsAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great family car!

published

We picked this car up from the toyota used car yard having only one half year since it was made with just under 100k. Today we have just over 200k and enjoyed how much space our car has when taking the family on holiday. The only issue is we tried getting it converted to gas but the deler said be cheaper cashing the car in and buying a new one but we love this car so much we won't be doing that

BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Tom

Tommelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

capable, efficient, smooth, quiet and surprisingly fun

published

Great car, fun to see how the regen and battery storage work as you're driving along. Always gets 5l/100 for us. Actually my favourite car to drive so far, and more powerful than you think once both the petrol and electric motors come on together. Smart efficient driving, what more could you want. And with regen braking, you get better stopping force and hardly ever have to change a brake pad.

BadgeZR
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Jacky

JackySydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Not a peep of sound

published

The only drawbacks of our car is when you have someone else try and start it its so funny because like us when we first got the car had to almost get our lift the bonet up and try and hear if the car had started.
The last issue is a huge one and that's re battery really sucks only getting us on short trips and probably going to die days or months out side of warranty. The dealer won't accept its faulty too until it's dead so have complained to acc and then got a replacement 8 days before warranty but I expect the battery to go again in a few years time.

Badgei-Tech
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017

rfcroc

rfcrocBrisbane

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Still going strong- 20 series Prius

published
BadgeHybrid
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Olliebic

OlliebicSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

An Fantistic Driving Experience

published

I find little or nothing to fault in the Toyota Prius Hybrid. Quiet, smooth and fuel efficient running. Plenty of leg room front and rear and a joy to handle on the road. I blown away with the classy interior, comfortable seating and the additional features incorporated on the dashboard and steering wheel combine to make this vehicle a ‘dream’ to own and drive.

Badgei-Tech
Engine Size?
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Harry

HarryAdelaide

  • 4 reviews

Amazing car!

published
Badgei-Tech
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

ttcy

ttcyMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Great car

published

The performance of Toyota prius is great. It is quiet and efficient. All the features of the car are great. There are lots of space in front of the seats and in the boot too. There is a lot foot room in the front and rear. It is a very fuel efficient vehicle. Best car!

Badgei-Tech
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2012

Timf001

Timf001Sydney

  • 4 reviews

Toyota Prius

published

Great ride, smooth and trouble free. Really enjoy driving this quiet, efficient and fuel efficient vehicle. Roomy interior with ample foot room in both front and rear. Panel has all you need to ensure a drama free and hassle free drive. Radio controls very simple to use. Lots of storage space as well

Badgei-Tech
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Seamus

SeamusWollongong

  • 32 reviews
  • 50 likes

A Twitchers Car, if you love HO model railways and like to sneak up on pedestrians or cyclists

published
BadgeNo Badge
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

S Wag

S WagBrisbane

Great car, low running costs, great technology

published

Bought car at auction in 2009, it was 1 year old. 8 years later i have spent nothing on repairs apart from the standard service, 2 sets of tyres and 1 $80 starter battery. Fantastic for city driving, goes great on the open road and excellent air conditioning when driving out west. Done 210,000 km and still getting 4.8 litres per 100 km. Still on the original hybrid battery and going strong. Will upgrade soon and buy another prius. Its the least trouble i have had with a car and i have been driving for 29 years.

Badgei-Tech
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2009
Janine

Janine

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfect

published

Looked at a lot of cars before l chose the Prius was blown away by the performance when l tool it for a test drive it's a zippy little car for getting around town but has the power on the open road it is very economical to run l absolutely love it

BadgeHybrid c
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

I am picky but I am reas

I am picky but I am reasAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Love it. I don't know why it's not popular here in AU. What are people afraid of it? Ignorance perha

published
Badgei-Tech
Engine Size1.8
TransmissioneCVT
Date PurchasedDec 2012

Tim46

Tim46Melbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great car, low fuel and emissions but still powerful

published

Great car. Have driven over 2000kms now and love it. The hybrid system is seamless and there is no loss of power switching from electric to petrol and vice versa. Uses about half the petrol of our old Ford Fiesta (which was also a great car). Lots of features like LED headlights, auto adjustable cruise control, wireless phone charger, 10 speaker stereo with bluetooth, large console screen with fantastic reverse camera. Very quiet car even when the petrol engine is working. Almost silent when it's just the electric motor. Can't find any issues. Love it.

BadgeZR
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

PG18

PG18Melbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 16 likes

Perfect

published

I have had my Toyota Prius I Tech for seven years and I absolutely love it. I do not have to fill it up with petrol very often due to its effective use of fuel. It is also very spacious inside with a high roof. I couldn't live without my Prius.

Badgei-Tech
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2010

Economical - Smooth - Comfortable - 7 seater

published

The 2012 Toyota Prius delivers stellar fuel economy without requiring much effort on the part of the driver. The smartphone-connected Entune system brings live destination search, traffic data, and Pandora streaming to the dashboard. Voice command tech and intuitive steering-wheel controls help to keep eyes on the road.he 2012 Toyota Prius just works, delivering outstanding fuel economy, good cabin-tech options, and a comfortable ride with few compromises.

Badgei-Tech
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Julie B.

Julie B.asked

Prius NHW20R

Just purchased a used 2009 Prius but was told as I drove off to make sure i top up the oil really regularly, like every month as it uses heaps! Anyone able to elaborate what might be going on here, i will get it serviced asap but wonder if i've bought a very expensive lemon?

3 answers

All engines use some oil, even when new. We’ve got the same car, it will go from full on the didpstick to halfway down the dipstick between services, which is more than I’m used to but certainly not an issue on a car with some kilometres on it. Just make sure to check the oil level every week

G.Y. Land
G.Y. Land

It is always good to check your oil level on every car. The Prius makes no difference. If you are not sure your nearest Toyota service department is only too happy to help you. If you have purchased your car from a private seller, that is always of a great risk as you do not have any guaranty on the car. It looks like the guaranty has just run out as there is a 10-year guaranty on the battery system of the Prius. Ask your Toyota service to get an extended guaranty agreement for a further 5 years as it is cheaper and gives you peace of mind. I have no association with Toyota or Lexus, but I am a devoted Toyota friend as to the quality and reliability of the cars. I drove a top of the range Lexus since 1992 and had three of them over the years and changed over to a Prius. This was a good decision as to the environmental and financial value of the car. Happy motoring. I do it for 68 years.

Julie B.
Julie B.

Thank you for you advise, taken on board.


Taranaki

Taranakiasked

Prius ZVW30R

Is it possible to change touch screen to English from Japanese on a Japanese import?

No answers

Irina

Irinaasked

Thinking about buying a used Prius. How old should it be?
(Any other advice?)

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Toyota Prius ZVW30R
  • Discontinued

Toyota Prius ZVW30R (2009-2015)

14 reviews
Toyota Prius NHW20R
  • Discontinued

Toyota Prius NHW20R (2003-2009)

13 reviews
Toyota Prius NHW11R
  • Discontinued

Toyota Prius NHW11R (1997-2003)

4 reviews
Toyota Prius ZVW50R i-Tech

Toyota Prius ZVW50R i-Tech (2016-2019)

4 reviews
Toyota Prius ZVW50R (No Badge)

Toyota Prius ZVW50R (No Badge) (2016-2019)

No reviews
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and SedansCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $39,900$37,400$39,990$43,900$36,440
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeHybridHybridHybridHybridHybrid
Wheels15" Alloy15" Alloy14" Alloy17" Alloy15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors55555
Seats55555
Fuel Consumption3.9 L/100km4.4 L/100km4.4 L/100km3.4 L/100km3.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L50 L43 L43 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power73kW @ 5200rpm57kW @ 5000rpm53kW @ 4500rpm72kW @ 5200rpm72kW @ 5200rpm
Max Torque142Nm @ 4000rpm115Nm @ 4000-4200rpm115Nm @ 4200rpm142Nm @ 3600rpm142Nm @ 3600rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2009Jan 2003Jan 1997Jan 2016Jan 2016
Discontinuation dateDec 2015Dec 2009Dec 2003
Replaced byToyota Prius ZVW50R

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.