??!
6 photos
Toyota Prius

Toyota Prius (page 2 of 3)

ZVW50R, NHW11R, NHW20R and ZVW30R
4.6 from 49 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Amazing! Reliable! Cheap to run!

These cars last forever, with regular servicing. There are cases of taxi's in the USA which have over 1 million miles and all they needed was regular servicing and one hose replaced. The reason is, that the electric/battery tech helps the mechanical/petrol engine, which means the petrol engine doesn't get anywhere near as much stress/work as a typical car engine. Less wear and tear = more reliable.

We've had ours since 2011 and it's been brilliant to drive and saves so much in fuel. A tank (say $60 for a full tank of 95RON nowadays) does between 900 - 1000 km's (depending on how/where you drive).

Nothing major has gone wrong. We had to replace the 12V battery once as it wasn't a Prius compatible one (any battery of the right size will fit, it's just that the Prius compatible one's hold their charge better).

The centre console fabric wore away in a couple of places and created a hole in one, so we paid less than $100 to have it recovered in a nice velour.

Priuschat.com is a brilliant resource.

We've installed a flip-down monitor for the rear passengers (went way too big, so something like a 12" screen would be best), connected to a Sony Head unit with USB. Don't buy Sony (or Pioneer) if you want to play video's via USB as they use Divx, so you have to try and re-encode all your video's into Divx, and at the correct bitrate and resolution.... which is all but impossible as the source video's are all different resolutions. I'm experienced at video conversion, and even I gave up and went back to burning DVD's. I'd suggest a half-decent Chinese head unit, as they play pretty much anything you throw at them, without having to have it converted first. Something from https://www.carjoying.com/au-warehouse.html for instance. I've not bought from them yet, but in correspondence with them they've been very honest and informative (even directing me to another site for a component)

BadgeSX
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2011

Best car I ever owned

Using this car is always a good driving experience. The performance and handling is very good. The interior is roomy and quiet and very easy for a tall person to enter and exit the car. The car is very reliable. Running costs are low due to the hybrid design. Petrol consumption around city and suburbs with constant short trips returns about 5.6--5.8 litres/100 klms but on a recent freeway trip of 120 kms it used only 3.7 litres/100 even including 2 stops. There are too many features to mention. Has travelled 110,000 klms and I have had it since about 80,000 klms on the clock. I would buy another for sure.

Badgei-Tech
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Simply the best

Our first 2010 Prius was great; upgraded to a used 2013 iTech in 2014. Not one problem, fuel efficient, easy to drive, loads of features, love the solar panel on the roof which reduces the inside temperature when parked. The only thing I would swap it for is a fully electric vehicle, which is planned for once we get a solar battery backup installed. Update from 2016 - 2 years later, everything still fine, serviced by Dealer, not one problem, only routine (new tyres), no problem with either battery.

Badgei-Tech
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Engine Size1.8

We've driven it 'into the ground'

Bought our Prius new in 2004, now has 418,000 km on the clock. In all that time, it has given us very little trouble and generally been an excellent family car. I'm certainly no mechanic but I serviced it myself since 120,000 km, which is mainly just changing the oil. Had two recalls which cost nothing. Both our kids did their driving hours in it, so it's a bit battered these days but still going well.

THE MAIN BATTERY. Ours died at about 340,000 and 10 years of age - you get plenty of warning, ours died over a period of a week or so, red warning lights came on well before the car itself started to die a few days later. It never actually stopped, but it started to get very sluggish after a week. After ringing around I found a guy who exchanged our battery for a 'reconditioned' one, which just means he had replaced the weakest cells (ReVolt I think, in Queensland). Cost was $1000.00 for the battery - I think he charges a bit more to install it. We've had the replacement battery in for around 70,000 km without any further issues.

Other troubles? We've had very few. Rear tailight cluster ($180.00). Probably three 12 volt batteries. Front struts at 3000,000. One set of brake pads. One set of spark plugs. Headlight plastic has dulled, which seems common these days.

All in all, it's no oil painting and a bit quirky, but it really is a great car. I can't believe the thing is still going after all these km.

Badge.
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size1.5
Date PurchasedNov 2004

Prius Battery Life 2nd Time Around

On my Prius when the battery was finished the car did not stop, did not require a tow truck. Just the alarm came on the dash board, the battery charged full and discharge again totally within a few km. Most noticeable the battery cooling fan run permanently (non stop). I managed to drive to Prius Battery Exchange Australia in Rydalmere (Sydney) and they put a reconditioned battery in. They kept the old one.

TransmissionAutomatic
Badge0

Good

I like this car. With increasing fuel prices, it doesnt pay its way back for a fair while (10yrs on 2006 prices). I havent had any issues in the 3 years I've owned it.
Fast. Ridiculously easy to drive. Fuel efficient (750k to 50L tank). Good resale price (according to car sale websites). Comfortable to be a passenger. Enough passenger room for 5 incl driver, and luggage room even with the battery. Cheap servicing ($125 for a full service at a Toyota service).
A little weird looking. Not very gutsy on uphills (though not many 1.5L are). A little cramped in the drivers seat, but I'm 190cm tall. Its a new product, so maybe all the bugs havent been worked out yet.

1 comment
No issue but driving a Toyota heres a razor blade...

Love my Prius 2009

I love my 2008 hybrid Prius bought it new and would never ever buy another straight petrol car a again fuel Eco fantastic 3.9 per 100 km it is by far the best car l have ever had. Just up graded to an I tech 2013 love this car and l would never ever change. Cheap to run cheap to service and so reliable. 10 out of 10

Badgei-Tech
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8

Is the Prius really green and does Toyota care about its Prii customers?

I bought a used 2005 model Prius 2 years ago. I've loved it and it's had great fuel consumption after having driven an old Camry prior to this. However, recently my love affair with the Prius has come to an abrupt end. After 5 days in a smash repair shop where I had the bonnet resprayed, the dashboard showed me the notorious 'triangle of death' upon picking up the car. It seems very odd to me that the HV battery pack would fail after merely standing in a workshop for 5 days. The car has an excellent service history and everything was working fine when I put it in. One mechanic that I’ve since spoken to commented that there does not seem to be a viable explanation for this occurring. Of course, the smash repairer denied all responsibility, and the local Toyota dealer initially quoted me just under AU $ 5000 for a new HV battery pack (supply and fit).
According to Redbook the car is worth AU $ 8000, so I've got a big dilemma on my hands now, especially given that I'd just spent over AU $ 800 on the spray painting job. Of course the battery was just 9 months out of its 8 year warranty (but still under the 160 000 kms of the other warranty criterion - incidentally the warranty period in California compliant emission US states is 10 years), and the Toyota dealer's warranty claim with Toyota Motor Corporation was rejected twice on the basis that it had exceeded the 8 years.
I have spent the better part of my week ringing and googling around to get more information about this situation as I am extremely disappointed with Toyota Motor Corporation’s small minded and mean decision. In this exploration I found that given the limited long-term experience with Hybrids so far and the public’s widespread concern with the long-term reliability of this as yet untested new technology, Toyota seemed keen to let the market place know that they will be there if things go wrong with the HV battery (hence the extension of the HV battery warranty from 5 to 8 years, cf). Non-Toyota online claims vary from a life of 7-10 years to the lifetime of the car. In the US there are alternative options for reconditioned batteries that are much cheaper than replacing it with a new one. Unfortunately though, these options don't seem to exist in Australia.

Based on my research and experience, there are 2 main issues:
1. One Auto Electrician told me that Hybrids' claim to be 'green' is misleading as the savings in petrol and lower emissions over time is made up by the price of a new battery pack and the environmental impact of the disposal of the old battery packs.
2. What Toyota Motor Corporation does not seem to recognise is that their decision to reject my and the Toyota dealer’s warranty claim greatly impairs the resale value of the car. After 8 years you never know if you’re going to be hit with a massive HV battery pack replacement bill, which may well come close to if not exceed what you initially paid for the car. This is unlike conventional second hand cars, where you’d expect to pay a few hundred dollars worth of repairs, not a few thousand in one hit.
Due to my experience with Toyota's inflexibility and pettiness around their discretionary warranty decisions, I would caution anyone considering the purchase of a second hand Prius that's reaching the end of its HV battery warranty, ie approaching 8 years of age. Of course if you’re thinking of buying a new Prius and are planning on selling it sometime down the track you may want to think twice whether this is a good idea given the potential problems that second hand buyers may have with the car once this issue becomes more widely known, including Toyota’s stance towards it as I had to experience.

In summary, Toyota’s rejection of my warranty claim seems a very short sighted approach to a matter that is of importance to a company that tries to promote and instill confidence in the market place in a still relatively new technology. The way this situation has been handled by Toyota Motor Corporation has put me off buying another Toyota ever again, and you should think very hard before buying a Toyota Hybrid, new or second hand, as well.

1 comment
I've since had to replace the battery pack and pay for it myself as I had no other option. I was shocked to learn that the new Toyota battery pack only has a warranty period of 12 months (???!!!).

Lovely car, pity about suspension

I had one of the previous models to this one (2003) and it had the same issue - poor suspension. Low to the ground to cut wind resistance and push fuel efficiency but can feel every bump in the road.

Other than that, I can get around 5.1L/100km which is pretty fair. Means a fill up every few weeks. Would like to see the plugin version in Australia, but they aren't selling one from Toyota yet - has to be custom job.
Very fuel efficient. No issues reliability wise. Warranty pricing is $130/service.
Poor suspension in the series as a whole.

a great car

We're extremely happy with our 2004 prius that we've had for 4 years, which has done 153,000ks since we bought it. We estimate that we've saved $7500 in fuel compared with driving a similar car with a conventional engine. Maintenance costs have been low, and the existing big battery pack is still doing well. We're still able to get 4.8lt per 100ks, when we're easy on the acceleration, 5.1lt at other times, which is country driving. Efficiency is better in urban areas. Our bikes fit in the back. Quiet, reliable, roomy and pleasurable to drive.


unbelievable

Have had a prius for 5 years and have --- bought it as a used car at a government auction on a whim
i am utterly impressed with every aspect of this car even forgetting the fuel economy, it has been completly reliable and has not missed a beat, i currently use it as a workhorse carting building materials arround, i have put almost a tonne in the rear, this car has put up with my abuse and still comes up smiling ---- recommend to everyone
everything
you dont look cool in it and its a bit ugly


Extraordinary!!

This is a little awkward , because I have now had two Prius cars in a row! The NWZ 20 series I-Tech ( which I have given to my wife to replace her Rav $ ) and now I have the the NW30 serties I-Tech..( thats the latest model with the funny front lights.)
I bought the first one to use as my ' Rep's car , as I am on the road a lot and wanted to control my fuel bills..Little did I know that the quirky things in the Prius tend to grow on you and change the way you enjoy driving.At first I tried really hard to be frugal, but after a while that lost its amusement factor and I ended up trying to Fog it in highway and city driving .. The reality is that they drive no different to what any 2ltr car might be expected to behave.. and use around 5 to 5.5 litres per hundred k's depending on how hard you press the peddle!

The I-Tech's are the top of the range versions and have almost every imaginable electronic toy, so they are fun to play with .. The best electronic toy is the Radar Cruise Control!! Press a button and set your speed.. that's normal, but in this system , if the idiot in front of you slows down then My Car slows down and I don't even have to put my foot on the brakes! It will keep the preset distance between me and the car in front.. Terrific for long Highway travel , as well as city driving on freeways!.. Anyway , with typical Toyota reliability, I have cut my families fuel bills by two thirds, and never looked back!
Amazing electronics!

Badgei-Tech

A little ripper

We have had our prius since 2006 and it has been a brilliant car. Cheap to run (not to service) and very reliable. The drive is excellent as you have great visibility from the car and it handles very well. We have the iTech model with proximity sensors and keyless ignition. Recently the system went crazy - the car refused to start and the proximity sensors stopped working reliably. We were worried that the cost to fix it would be expensive so we did some research - turns out the car battery (little one in the front) was almost dead and was the cause of the electrical issue. We had a new battery put in and the car is back to its wonderful self.

We love the quality of finish in the interior of our Prius and it still looks fantastic after all these years - just wish the body and paint still looked as good as the interior does:-) We also love the dash set out and displays as there is absolutely no missing the speed reading. Very important for avoiding the unwanted costs of speeding fines:-(
Drive, styling and economy
Cost of servicing

Badgei-Tech
2 comments
How much did the battery cost to get replaced?I havn't replaced a battery in either car other than the 12 volt battery in the 2005 model only at 9 years old. It cost me $70. As for the HV Battery, it depends very much on what is wrong, where you go to have it rectified etc. Dealers will ALWAYS go down the path of wholesale replacement of the entire battery pack rather than replacing the failed cell within the pack. That is why there is mixed reports and large discrepensies between various cases of HV battery failure/fault. As an example, an uindividual cell is available on Ebay at around $50. Add in a few hours labour to fit it and in some cases the car is back in service. However this process is not always so simple. Sometimes the purchased cell differs in it's potential, rate of charge and discharge and it needs to be "balanced" to the pack prior to installation. This can be a drawn out procedure costing obviously more. But it is still far from the often $3-4k experienced at dealers. Some dealers insist on the simultaneous fitmint of a new HV Battery ECU at the time of Battery replacement in order to offer the fasctory backed warranty, further inflating the overall cost. It muast be said, these car's have proven to be incredibly reliable in service for over a decade now and the much discussed battery failures are rare indeed.

Best car I've driven

I have had my Prius 2012 for 2 months and have enjoyed driving it. Mostly I use it for running around the city, but I have also done country driving as well as sitting it heavy traffic. It is quiet (which means that I can enjoy my music without engine sounds) and even moving from a small car to this car has meant substantial savings in fuel costs. The displays can be distracting at first, but with practice they can help you maximise the fuel efficency.

There are some quirks to maximise the fuel efficency, but there are plenty of websites available to assist with this. My 3 big hints are:
* Use the cruise control whenever possible
* Always break as gently as possible
* Set the airconditioning a maximum of 2 degrees below the outside temperature upto 28 (this achieves a balance between fuel efficiency and comfort.

I would however suggest turning off the internal reversing alarm (it's not needed and is annoying) and installing an external reversing alarm (the car, when reversing can be silent). I'd also recommend getting the front parking sensors installed (it comes with a reversing camera as a standard).
quiet engine, comfortable, has power when it's needed, can manually switch to the "electric vehicle mode"
Internal reversing alarm is useless


I like!

When you need the extra push, you can turn on the power button. It does burn extra fuel but doesn't make extra noise. Futuristic displays caught my attention at beginning. In traffic jam, you almost hear nothing as it would then runs on battery mode. I always show off to my friends amount of fuel am able to save upon cruising on highways. Love it.
Less dent on my pocket, fuel efficient, no compromise in energy
Not nice looking at all. Looks more girlish.

Excellent

Sometimes if parked outdoor under big sun, the battery might enter protective mode, and shows on screen 'EV mode not available'. It is hard to perform head check sometimes, as the seat belt would fix me onto the seat.
Trouble free. high oil efficiency. Durable paint, ultra-low wind drag. Sufficient boot space.
Bit of wind noise in car. Tyre wear faster than other cars with OEM tyres. quite big blind zone when turnning right. It is hard to do headcheck sometimes.

3 comments
Hybrid automobiles are extremely popular, but few individuals can say that the love affair lives on once they check out the sticker price. Toyota thinks that their new take on the Prius - the Prius C hatchback - will keep the fires burning. As reported by reports, the cost of the Prius C will fall under $19,000 before destination fees. Resource for this article: <a title="Toyota Prius C hatchback makes hybrids affordable" href="http://www.cardealexpert.com/news-information/auto-news/toyota-prius-c-affordable/">Toyota Prius C hatchback makes hybrids affordable</a>how much can it tow? I have a small boat.Toyota says better not to tow anything.

My Prius

When I first went looking, my daughter said to me, no mum, thats embarrassing, you cant drive a battery car. Now! She steals it constantly and I have to beg to get my car back. We LOVE LOVE it. Its comfortable, easy to drive, quiet, and fuel economy, well, its fabulous. I am going to buy the new one very soon. It carries two large dogs to the beach and back most days. You do have to "pip" most teenagers who cross the road without looking and have their ipods in because they wont hear you. That is a worry to me sometimes, but I have driven this car to the outback on the highway for 10 hours straight, it cost less than $45.00. Amazing, as the same journey in my SUV costs me over $140.00 in fuel.
great fuel, looks good, good head height, i can read the speedo without glasses. Shows me how to drive efficiently on the screen.
Needs something across the front of the bonnet to stop stone chipping.


OK

This was a stupid, impulse buy. Seemed right for the enviroment, but the more I think about it the more I believe it is NOT all that good for the enviroment as there are a lot of negatives such as extra cost/weight etc to manufacture. Our previous Barina 1.4 (the european one NOT the crappy Korean one) used only a fraction more fuel but was only a small fraction of the price.
fuel efficient.
ridiculous price. Complicated (expensive) to service. Probably very poor resale price as people will worry about the batteries.


Excellent

This is a great car, I can understand why they are becoming quite popular.

We only refuel once every 3 weeks, the fuel efficiency is definitely noticeably better than our other (small hatchback) car.

People are very interested to learn more about them, we have been asked to pop our hood or show people what it is like inside. It is a fun car to own and drive.

It is very comfortable, it accommodates our family with car seats and prams well, the expandable boot is always expanded in our car though as it is shallow otherwise.

The hybrid battery system is wonderful when sitting idle for a long period of time, we have started going to the drive in again as we can now economically sit in air conditioned comfort while watching the movie!

The cost of the car will not be made back by the fuel savings, this is true, however it is lovely to drive and own and also makes your weekly budget lighter, oh and makes you feel good about doing something to reduce reliance on fossil fuels too!
Incredibly fuel efficient. Very comfortable to drive. A good family car.
not much to be honest. Possibly servicing costs, as it is slightly different we have chosen to take it to Toyota which is more expensive.


Excellent

I was prompted to post this after seeing another serial poster's damnation of the Prius, and someone who has obviously never driven it. (Look at his profile and you'll see that he has posted to dozens of car reviews).

Contrary to his argument, the storage space is quite incredible. As for the battery, Toyota now offers an eight year/160,000km warranty on all Prius hybrids, including the used models and many taxis have been running over 400,000km with no battery problems. Replacement cost is $3,000 - $4,000, not $10,000 as claimed, however the only replacements so far have been on faulty batteries, not worn out ones.

Resale value of the pre-2009 Priuses is equivalent, perhaps even better than other cars, although I do agree that the current prices are getting a bit high.

A shame that people can make comments on cars that they've never even touched, let alone driven, just for the hell of it.

I love my Prius!!!
Fuel efficiency, not having to dig for my keys to open the car (sensor opening), HUGE boot space for a smaller car,
Back seats are a little squishy for three kids (when two are nearly adults). A couple of plastic accessories have fallen off, which is a bit annoying. Fuel efficiency isn't as good as claimed, but I have a lead food and get about 6.3km/100l for city driving, stopping and starting over shorter drives - still excellent and I fill 45 litres around every 750km.


Page 2 of 3

Questions & Answers

Just purchased a used 2009 Prius but was told as I drove off to make sure i top up the oil really regularly, like every month as it uses heaps! Anyone able to elaborate what might be going on here, i will get it serviced asap but wonder if i've bought a very expensive lemon?
3 answers
All engines use some oil, even when new. We’ve got the same car, it will go from full on the didpstick to halfway down the dipstick between services, which is more than I’m used to but certainly not an issue on a car with some kilometres on it. Just make sure to check the oil level every weekIt is always good to check your oil level on every car. The Prius makes no difference. If you are not sure your nearest Toyota service department is only too happy to help you. If you have purchased your car from a private seller, that is always of a great risk as you do not have any guaranty on the car. It looks like the guaranty has just run out as there is a 10-year guaranty on the battery system of the Prius. Ask your Toyota service to get an extended guaranty agreement for a further 5 years as it is cheaper and gives you peace of mind. I have no association with Toyota or Lexus, but I am a devoted Toyota friend as to the quality and reliability of the cars. I drove a top of the range Lexus since 1992 and had three of them over the years and changed over to a Prius. This was a good decision as to the environmental and financial value of the car. Happy motoring. I do it for 68 years.Thank you for you advise, taken on board.

Is it possible to change touch screen to English from Japanese on a Japanese import?
No answers

Thinking about buying a used Prius. How old should it be? (Any other advice?)
No answers

Details

Toyota Prius ZVW50R (No Badge)Toyota Prius ZVW50R i-TechToyota Prius NHW11RToyota Prius NHW20RToyota Prius ZVW30R
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and SedansCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $36,440$43,900$39,990$37,400$39,900
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeHybridHybridHybridHybridHybrid
Wheels15" Alloy17" Alloy14" Alloy15" Alloy15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors55555
Seats55555
Fuel Consumption3.4 L/100km3.4 L/100km4.4 L/100km4.4 L/100km3.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 43 L43 L50 L45 L45 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power72kW @ 5200rpm72kW @ 5200rpm53kW @ 4500rpm57kW @ 5000rpm73kW @ 5200rpm
Max Torque142Nm @ 3600rpm142Nm @ 3600rpm115Nm @ 4200rpm115Nm @ 4000-4200rpm142Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 1997Jan 2003Jan 2009
Discontinuation dateDec 2003Dec 2009Dec 2015
Replaced byToyota Prius ZVW50R

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.