??!
6 photos
Toyota Prius

Toyota Prius (page 2 of 3)

ZVW30R, NHW20R, ZVW50R, NHW11R
4.5 from 50 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Robo

RoboSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lovely smooth ride with lots of bells and whistles

published
BadgeV-i-Tech
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Storm

StormPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

Amazing! Reliable! Cheap to run!

published
BadgeSX
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2011
yarralumba

yarralumba

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car I ever owned

published

Using this car is always a good driving experience. The performance and handling is very good. The interior is roomy and quiet and very easy for a tall person to enter and exit the car. The car is very reliable. Running costs are low due to the hybrid design. Petrol consumption around city and suburbs with constant short trips returns about 5.6--5.8 litres/100 klms but on a recent freeway trip of 120 kms it used only 3.7 litres/100 even including 2 stops. There are too many features to mention. Has travelled 110,000 klms and I have had it since about 80,000 klms on the clock. I would buy another for sure.

Badgei-Tech
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Cars

Find out how Toyota Prius compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lynx

LynxPerth

Simply the best

published

Our first 2010 Prius was great; upgraded to a used 2013 iTech in 2014. Not one problem, fuel efficient, easy to drive, loads of features, love the solar panel on the roof which reduces the inside temperature when parked. The only thing I would swap it for is a fully electric vehicle, which is planned for once we get a solar battery backup installed. Update from 2016 - 2 years later, everything still fine, serviced by Dealer, not one problem, only routine (new tyres), no problem with either battery.

Badgei-Tech
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Engine Size1.8
Peter from the Tweed

Peter from the TweedTweed

  • 25 reviews
  • 36 likes

We've driven it 'into the ground'

published
Badge.
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size1.5
Date PurchasedNov 2004
Hybridfreak

HybridfreakSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 13 likes

Prius Battery Life 2nd Time Around

published

On my Prius when the battery was finished the car did not stop, did not require a tow truck. Just the alarm came on the dash board, the battery charged full and discharge again totally within a few km. Most noticeable the battery cooling fan run permanently (non stop). I managed to drive to Prius Battery Exchange Australia in Rydalmere (Sydney) and they put a reconditioned battery in. They kept the old one.

TransmissionAutomatic
Badge0
msteen

msteenSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good

published

I like this car. With increasing fuel prices, it doesnt pay its way back for a fair while (10yrs on 2006 prices). I havent had any issues in the 3 years I've owned it.
Fast. Ridiculously easy to drive. Fuel efficient (750k to 50L tank). Good resale price (according to car sale websites). Comfortable to be a passenger. Enough passenger room for 5 incl driver, and luggage room even with the battery. Cheap servicing ($125 for a full service at a Toyota service).
A little weird looking. Not very gutsy on uphills (though not many 1.5L are). A little cramped in the drivers seat, but I'm 190cm tall. Its a new product, so maybe all the bugs havent been worked out yet.

1 comment
kalloggs40
kalloggs40

No issue but driving a Toyota heres a razor blade...

Helen c

Helen c

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love my Prius 2009

published

I love my 2008 hybrid Prius bought it new and would never ever buy another straight petrol car a again fuel Eco fantastic 3.9 per 100 km it is by far the best car l have ever had. Just up graded to an I tech 2013 love this car and l would never ever change. Cheap to run cheap to service and so reliable. 10 out of 10

Badgei-Tech
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Stefan

Stefan

  • 2 reviews
  • 14 likes

Is the Prius really green and does Toyota care about its Prii customers?

published
1 comment
Stefan
Stefan

I've since had to replace the battery pack and pay for it myself as I had no other option. I was shocked to learn that the new Toyota battery pack only has a warranty period of 12 months (???!!!).

Cars

Find out how Toyota Prius compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
msteen

msteenSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Lovely car, pity about suspension

published

I had one of the previous models to this one (2003) and it had the same issue - poor suspension. Low to the ground to cut wind resistance and push fuel efficiency but can feel every bump in the road.

Other than that, I can get around 5.1L/100km which is pretty fair. Means a fill up every few weeks. Would like to see the plugin version in Australia, but they aren't selling one from Toyota yet - has to be custom job.
Very fuel efficient. No issues reliability wise. Warranty pricing is $130/service.
Poor suspension in the series as a whole.

Namita

NamitaMelbourne

a great car

published

We're extremely happy with our 2004 prius that we've had for 4 years, which has done 153,000ks since we bought it. We estimate that we've saved $7500 in fuel compared with driving a similar car with a conventional engine. Maintenance costs have been low, and the existing big battery pack is still doing well. We're still able to get 4.8lt per 100ks, when we're easy on the acceleration, 5.1lt at other times, which is country driving. Efficiency is better in urban areas. Our bikes fit in the back. Quiet, reliable, roomy and pleasurable to drive.

My Display name

My Display nameQueensland

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

unbelievable

published

Have had a prius for 5 years and have --- bought it as a used car at a government auction on a whim
i am utterly impressed with every aspect of this car even forgetting the fuel economy, it has been completly reliable and has not missed a beat, i currently use it as a workhorse carting building materials arround, i have put almost a tonne in the rear, this car has put up with my abuse and still comes up smiling ---- recommend to everyone
everything
you dont look cool in it and its a bit ugly

GRUMBLEBUM

GRUMBLEBUMSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 15 likes

Extraordinary!!

published
Badgei-Tech
teamlg

teamlgMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 23 likes

A little ripper

published
Badgei-Tech
2 comments
justin.mcleod.5
justin.mcleod.5

How much did the battery cost to get replaced?

BruceCameron
BruceCameron
elainel

elainelPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best car I've driven

published
Cars

Find out how Toyota Prius compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MBright33

MBright33Surfers Paradise

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

I like!

published

When you need the extra push, you can turn on the power button. It does burn extra fuel but doesn't make extra noise. Futuristic displays caught my attention at beginning. In traffic jam, you almost hear nothing as it would then runs on battery mode. I always show off to my friends amount of fuel am able to save upon cruising on highways. Love it.
Less dent on my pocket, fuel efficient, no compromise in energy
Not nice looking at all. Looks more girlish.

alecaroll

alecarollVIC, 3204

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Excellent

published

Sometimes if parked outdoor under big sun, the battery might enter protective mode, and shows on screen 'EV mode not available'. It is hard to perform head check sometimes, as the seat belt would fix me onto the seat.
Trouble free. high oil efficiency. Durable paint, ultra-low wind drag. Sufficient boot space.
Bit of wind noise in car. Tyre wear faster than other cars with OEM tyres. quite big blind zone when turnning right. It is hard to do headcheck sometimes.

3 comments
miguelW
miguelW
bruce1616
bruce1616

how much can it tow? I have a small boat.

zmdss
zmdss

Toyota says better not to tow anything.

Shalbri

ShalbriCHATSWOOD

My Prius

published
Dave2206

Dave2206

  • 2 reviews

OK

published

This was a stupid, impulse buy. Seemed right for the enviroment, but the more I think about it the more I believe it is NOT all that good for the enviroment as there are a lot of negatives such as extra cost/weight etc to manufacture. Our previous Barina 1.4 (the european one NOT the crappy Korean one) used only a fraction more fuel but was only a small fraction of the price.
fuel efficient.
ridiculous price. Complicated (expensive) to service. Probably very poor resale price as people will worry about the batteries.

Jocelynaus

Jocelynaus

  • 27 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published
Page 2 of 3
See all Toyota Prius reviews

Questions & Answers

Andrea C.

Andrea C.asked

Prius NHW20R (2003-2009)

Hey guys, the monitor of my Prius is gone and I'm looking to get an other one from a wrecker.
My Prius is the 2007 model is all the monitor fitted from 2003 to 2009 the same? If not how can I check the model fitted in my car?
Thank you very much in advance

1 answer

Hi Andrea. We had a 2004 Prius and our daughter has a 2007 and they certainly appear identical so I expect they would be interchangeable (although there can always be surprises!).
The i-Tech models of course had more features on their monitors would only match similar I-Tech models.

Keith

Keithasked

Prius

My instrument cluster does not light up/work and it Happens intermittently. So can’t see my speed, fuel gauge, etc. when it happens. Usually comes on again in a day or so. WHY?

No answers
Julie B.

Julie B.asked

Prius NHW20R (2003-2009)

Just purchased a used 2009 Prius but was told as I drove off to make sure i top up the oil really regularly, like every month as it uses heaps! Anyone able to elaborate what might be going on here, i will get it serviced asap but wonder if i've bought a very expensive lemon?

3 answers

All engines use some oil, even when new. We’ve got the same car, it will go from full on the didpstick to halfway down the dipstick between services, which is more than I’m used to but certainly not an issue on a car with some kilometres on it. Just make sure to check the oil level every week

Blue Cow
Blue Cow

It is always good to check your oil level on every car. The Prius makes no difference. If you are not sure your nearest Toyota service department is only too happy to help you. If you have purchased your car from a private seller, that is always of a great risk as you do not have any guaranty on the car. It looks like the guaranty has just run out as there is a 10-year guaranty on the battery system of the Prius. Ask your Toyota service to get an extended guaranty agreement for a further 5 years as it is cheaper and gives you peace of mind. I have no association with Toyota or Lexus, but I am a devoted Toyota friend as to the quality and reliability of the cars. I drove a top of the range Lexus since 1992 and had three of them over the years and changed over to a Prius. This was a good decision as to the environmental and financial value of the car. Happy motoring. I do it for 68 years.

Julie B.
Julie B.

Thank you for you advise, taken on board.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Compare all 5 Toyota Prius
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and SedansCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price A$36,440A$43,900A$39,990A$37,400
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeHybridHybridHybridHybrid
Wheels15" Alloy17" Alloy14" Alloy15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption3.4 L/100km3.4 L/100km4.4 L/100km4.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 43 L43 L50 L45 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power72kW @ 5200rpm72kW @ 5200rpm53kW @ 4500rpm57kW @ 5000rpm
Max Torque142Nm @ 3600rpm142Nm @ 3600rpm115Nm @ 4200rpm115Nm @ 4000-4200rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 1997Jan 2003
Discontinuation dateDec 2003Dec 2009
Compare all 5 Toyota Prius

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.