??!
1 photo
Toyota RAV4 XA40 GXL
4.3 from 38 reviews

Reviews

(22)
(8)
(5)
(2)
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (9)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (9)
  • Handling
    4.3 (9)
  • Braking
    4.6 (9)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (9)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (9)
  • Features
    4.4 (9)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (9)
blackphase3

blackphase3Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

A car that does its job

published

Purchased in April 2018 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
CPW

CPWSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

My first Toyota & a very pleasant surprise overall!

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
massi

massiSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Love it! Perfect car!

published

I have this car for over a year. I bought it as a new car in 2018(the last generation of Rav4 before the new model was coming). Easy driving, great rare camera and smart mirrors. Everything in this car is perfect and it’s Toyota, it always keeps the value.

Purchased in July 2018 at Toyota Illawara for $33,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 GXL compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
S Jones

S JonesSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great Vehicle with so many extras included

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

CarlK

CarlK

  • 3 reviews

Great SUV, exceeds expectations

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Charlestown Toyota for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
mapman

mapmanPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

New Rav4

published

I have a 2010 Rav4 Cruiser which went in for a service. I was given a 2019 Rav4 as a loan car. Drive was nice and smooth but car felt bigger than mine. Technology was awesome like lane assist and blind spot monitor and LED lights. Only downfall is the run flat spare tyre and non adjustable back row seats. I was expecting a compact car feel but it felt bigger than what it looked like. Overall it was great but I still prefer my 2010 Rav4.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Felix Gustavo D.

Felix Gustavo D.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Really disappointing

published

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Theo

TheoPerth

  • 11 reviews

Best buy

published

My Rav4 is used mainly for my work related travels. Being a driver of toyota for approximately 10 years now, I was really eager to drive this car. With no doubt, it delivered my expectations. I regularly send my rav4 for a semi annual service at the toyota centre. No issues since bought and have always performed great!

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Wouldnt ever recommend or buy another!

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 GXL compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Guru Prasad

Guru Prasad

  • 5 reviews

Buy once and forget it!

published

Car has scored five stars and safety. Performance of car very good and safety features of very nice. Adaptive cruise control is very handy. Very good on the fuel. Running cost is one of the cheapest. It’s the best car I can ever have. Cost these little expensive than other companies.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Amanda

AmandaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Reasonably happy with car....

published

Looks good, drives good but lacks modern technology. I have a 2017 RAV4 which does not have all the modern features such as, lane sensors, front cameras etc you would expect from a new car. I think there's better value for money cars out there. I had a NIssan Qashqai before my Rav4 and I much preferred the Nissan.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
GRANT

GRANT

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Car

published

Bought the Rav in 2013 and drove it to from Sydney to Darwin a month after purchase. Never missed a beat and the diesel covered around 700km to a tank. Last week, 2018 drove Syd to Gold Coast and the fuel economy was way better. I did 900km on a full tank- got all the way to the coast and then some. The diesel must have loosened up and I was very pleased with the distance. Only had one issue on the way when the AWD warning light came on at 110 kph and I felt the car labour suddenly. Had to stop and disconnect the battery in the middle of no where for half hour and it seem to reset the system. No problems on the return trip so far.

Would buy one again.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Phil H

Phil H

  • 6 reviews

Great medium size SUV

published

If your looking for a medium size suv then the rav4 is great. We ordered a new one and took it on long trips and its great on fuel. Never had any brake downs and any problems what so ever. The resale value holds very well to better then most car. Definitely value for money

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Aung

AungDurack, NT 0830

  • 4 reviews

excellent companion

published

First of all, i have very good driving experience and handling with RAV 4
For the interior, the legroom is very spacious
toyota gives capped price servicing ,so running cost is cheap.
To take everything into consideration, it is a very good car indeed and reliable on urban and rural driving

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Ali

AliWentworthville NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good family car

published

Very good family car. Good on petrol and very spacious.
We have 2 kids under the age of 3 and this car is perfect for 2 car seats and a double pram in the back.
I love the leather dashboard and the keyless start button.
My wife drive is most of the time and It’s a peace of mind knowing this car is very safe for her and the kids.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 GXL compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A very good family car.

published

It is a very nice car.
Engine is powerful, low noise.
inner space very large and rear seat is comfortable for adults.
Air Con control is so so
Key is so old type...
Petrol consumption is 10.1L/100km in city driving, little bit more than expected.
Dashboard is so so so old style

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
anonymous32

anonymous32Sydney, NSW

  • 32 reviews
  • 4 likes

Quite nice

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Toyota chatswood.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The safety features of this car is life saving

published

Performance and handling is smooth and eficeient
The interior is sleek but I prefer leather upholstery
Dashboard is perfect and leg room is so comfortable
It is fuel economical
It has seven airbags designed to keep you and passengers safe . It also has a knee airbag to prevent injury
Running costs is minimum and reliability is 100%

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Benjamin M

Benjamin MAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

My travel buddy!

published

From the first day I knew the Rav was the best choice as a family car. All the features are awesome including towing capacity, great leg room, fuel efficiency and speed. If needed, I can transport my tools and luggage without space issues. Most of all, drives great, feels light but still has road presence. Head and shoulders above its contemporaries in both looks and value.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Sandyoceanblue

SandyoceanblueMURRUMBA DOWNS

  • 11 reviews
  • 14 likes

Love my new wheels!

published

This vehicle drives beautifully. No noise, great handling and smooth on the road!
There is nothing I dislike in the interior. Very smooth lined yet practical and no where to store clutter which is great!
Great legroom and love the radio.
Great reliability and fantastic mileage! Love that my car is diesel so this helps with the the running costs and maintenance too, that is for sure.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Page 1 of 2

See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Toyota RAV4 XA40 GXL (2013-2019) but you can read 82 questions about Toyota RAV4.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.