??!
1 photo
Toyota RAV4 XA20

Toyota RAV4 XA20 (2001-2005)

4.1 from 45 reviews

Reviews

4.1

45 reviews
5
(24)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (5)
  • Handling
    4.2 (5)
  • Braking
    4.6 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.8 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (5)
  • Features
    4.2 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (5)
Previous
Next
natureboy t.

natureboy t.Far North Queensland, QLD

Simply one of THEE BEST cars I've owned.

published

I use my car going off in trips and around town. I get it serviced every 6 months and the ONLY issue is the drivers window. The cog must be stuck, but never bothered to get it repaired, not important. Its got 109,000. ks on it.

Purchased in September 2005 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Paul

PaulIllawarra, NSW

Excellent car

published

Bought this car in 2012 with 140k on it. Drove it from WOLLONGONG to Bega for 6 years for work. Serviced every 10k replaced brakes pads, rear wheel bearings and finally clutch at 270k.

This has to be the best car I’ve ever owned and I’ve owned a few in 40 years of driving, expect 500k with no problem.

Just bought another RAV4 2004, if it half as good as this one I’ll be very happy.

Purchased in February 2012 for A$11,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Love our rav4

published

I got a 2001 rav4 'edge'. 300,000 ks. on the clock. Got it cheap as it needed some tlc , changed rear bearings, did some body work and general maintenance as well. I absolutely love this car .Easy to work on and versatile. Removed the rear seats and trans a fridge even. Very economical and I enjoy the higher driving position . I seriously can't fault this car. It takes us on 300k round trips to Brisbane and back frequently, never missing a beat.

BadgeEdge
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA20 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Greg G

Greg GBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Peace of mind

published

I've owned Rav4's for more than 10 years, my original Rav4 was bought years ago because of a high opinion i developed over time, It's very reliable and easy to drive, I have a back injury from work several years ago, so entering the rav4 is quite easy, i don't have to contort myself to get in or out, Also since it's more of a midrange size in SUV's getting about is simpler, than the larger Land cruisers and Prado's in Toyota's range. It's easier to park and acceleration is pretty good as well.

BadgeExtreme
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2006
Lily Freeman

Lily Freeman

  • 5 reviews

Great Cruiser

published

I've been driving my 2004 RAV for almost a year now. I have never had a technical problem with the car and the comfort and presentation of it are to die for.
It is a practical car for both urban and off-road cruising, but it's AWD nature makes it impractical for some off-road use.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Jlh

JlhCharlotte cove

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

Had this car since brand new 2005, cheap on fuel. Love the whole entire car and can’t pick any faults. The car was fitted with all optional extras, but those extra costs made the car what it is and was / is well worth the money spent on it getting modified to personal tastes. Still going strong 260,000 kms later !

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2006
kylie

kyliePink, Ohio

  • 23 reviews
  • 6 likes

The best Car ever!!

published

OMG I luv my Rav4 my hubby surprised me with I took it for a test drive and yep I had to have it.Very smooth ride Lots of little extras and great on fuel. So much easier for me to get into as the car I had prior was a 97 Mirage it was to hard to get in and out because of my osteo. But now I have the most awesome car ever!!

Purchased in May 2017 for A$8,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Seamus

SeamusWollongong

  • 35 reviews
  • 57 likes

I assume if you are looking at this you are stalking me or looking for a cheep small reliable suv

published

Purchased in May 2004.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
2 comments
Seamus
Seamus

It's two years latter and it's still going strong, nothing can kill this car. Seems to got to the post scratch stage, drove it around last week and not a squeak even on unsealed roads.

Seamus
Seamus
Beanthings

BeanthingsSydney

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable, Roomy, Flexible interior

published
BadgeCruiser
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2002
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA20 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marianne

MarianneColyton

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

The Perfect Car

published

Love the car, won't let anyone drive it, not even my husband, The performance is outstanding, quiet and I really feel safe. My mechanic said it was well looked after and only have had one small problem which was the car yards fault and was easily fixed. I love the interior no scratches just like new, running costs are at a minimal, great on fuel and very reliable. I love Toyota...

BadgeEdge
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
jordynjordynwolrigewolri

jordynjordynwolrigewolriAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best Car Around!

published

The Toyota RAV4 is the best car that I've ever had in my life. It has so much great features added to it and it is also a really comfortable car to sit in. Has lots of room and is very convenient. You should try it out! Best car around!

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic

Solid and Reliable Manual - A true Toyota

published
BadgeCV
TransmissionManual
Buzz

Buzz

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Unbreakable fun

published

Currently on my third 3 door. After 20 years ravving on dirt roads my only complaint is the small fuel tank. Other than that, typical Toyota reliability. Fantastic a/c and heater. Electricals are bombproof, as is drive train. Don't recommend hitting roos/sheep/trees but! Too bad they discontinued this awesome economical fun machine.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionManual

Amazing car

published

I love my RAV 4 2003, bought it second hand with 130,000 km and never had a single issue with it
It's great on fuel as well, cost 50-60 to fill, owning this car has made me think very highly of toyotas now love love it!

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionManual

I Love my Car

published
BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA20 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
xlcapries

xlcapries

  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good all round RAV

published

Some might say RAV4 are bland...like most Toyota's but you can bete their reliablity down to earth functional designed that works......take the rear seats out are you can even sleep in the back or take a load of junck to the tip.

Cheap to run, reliable and appears to be lasting forever....heard that before...yes Toyota go really offer a top line product
Quality, reliable and functional
Nothing much.....all positives

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Anthony D

Anthony DSydney

2005 Rav4 CV Sport

published

I love the Rav4 CV sport, having owned it since it was relatively new, I have had no troubles with it. It has comfortable seats, good fuel economy and the AWD system is great. I bought the manual which has plenty of power, the 2.4litre motor, it can easily overtake in 5th gear. It's very easy to park and you can fit it into tight places. It is a fun, zippy, little car and the scoop and alloys make it look racey.

TransmissionManual
BadgeCV Sport
daybo9

daybo9

  • 4 reviews

Loved the car - a touch small for a growing family

published
BadgeCV
TransmissionManual

Disappointed was a Toyota fan not now! Have a 2002 RAV4 Advantage.

published

First problem I experienced was the alternator belt automatic tensioner failing costing me $500. I would have preferred just to adjust it! It would vibrate and make a noise but would go when revs went up.
Then complete engine failure with big end damage, engine making a terrible rattling noise then locking up while being analysed at Toyota dealer at 166 000 km despite being regularly serviced and well maintained. Apparently this is common with this model suffering from slugging problems. I only discovered this after my son googled RAV 4 engine problems! So shattered because I loved my 1985 land cruiser diesel series 60 model because it was so reliable.

Al.M

Al.MPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

2004 & 5 models

published

Purchased in April 2005.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 3
See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

Nomi

Nomiasked

XA20 (2001-2005)

Hi there..im planning to buy a rav4 2004 cv automatic but some people are saying the car is really good and some are saying these cars have a transmission issue..im confused would someone please guide me if i should buy or no ?

1 answer
Zelly
Zelly

Hi Nomi, The 2004 Rav 4 didn't have any more issues with the transmission then any other model. Generally, the auto's are really good. A test drive of the car will soon show you if it has any problems. Maybe take someone with you that has a bit of mechanical ability, when you look at it, so that they can put the transmission through it's paces. If it slips, noisy or even hangs on during a gear change, then you've got problems, otherwise grab it and enjoy the ride!

Khatira a.

Khatira a.asked

XA20 (2001-2005)

What is the fair and final price also

No answers
Sally M

Sally Masked

XA20 (2001-2005)

Is it ok to use the rear fixed points for installing roof racks, or should it always be the front and middle sets? I would like to use the front and rear ones for more stability but no one seems to do this.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.