??!
3 photos
Toyota RAV4 XA40

Toyota RAV4 XA40 (2013-2019)

GXL, GX, Cruiser
4.1 from 100 reviews

Reviews

(58)
(18)
(8)
(8)
(8)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (18)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (18)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (18)
  • Handling
    4.2 (18)
  • Braking
    4.3 (18)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (18)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (16)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (18)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (18)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (18)
  • Features
    4.2 (18)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (18)
blackphase3

blackphase3Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

A car that does its job

published

Purchased in April 2018 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
CPW

CPWSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

My first Toyota & a very pleasant surprise overall!

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
massi

massiSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Love it! Perfect car!

published

I have this car for over a year. I bought it as a new car in 2018(the last generation of Rav4 before the new model was coming). Easy driving, great rare camera and smart mirrors. Everything in this car is perfect and it’s Toyota, it always keeps the value.

Purchased in July 2018 at Toyota Illawara for $33,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John D

John D

  • 4 reviews

Bumpy worst than small cars

published

My gxl Rav4 2018 is very bumpy worst than small cars. It is sad to have such quality when you buy an SUV. Except that it's all good, gps is great, possibility to lock/unlock the car without using the remote control buttons, the cruise control ability to brake automatically and resume etc. Many great features. 6 months service is another issue, that's too much..

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
macropod

macropodPerth, WA

Rav4 2018

published

Very smooth drive and fantastic fuel economy. Power a little less compared to other SUV's but if you push it hard it gets up very nicely. . Seating comfortable and visibility really good. Overall ,very well built and love driving it.

Purchased in February 2018 at Toyota for $31,999.00.

Panders0

Panders0Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable car from always reliable Toyota

published

Big fan of Toyota. We had to update the family car with a baby on the way so Toyota was a pretty easy choice. It’s not the most powerful car but that’s not much of an issue. Clean layout inside, knobs, buttons etc don’t feel cheap. Boot space is great (we have a big pram so it was a big consideration). Very happy with purchase

Purchased in October 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $23,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Chris S.

Chris S.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quality!

published

This is our 3rd RAV4. We just keep coming back because of the quality, reliability, practicality and space that the RAV4 offers compared to its mid size 4x4 competitors. We've never had one mechanical problem with our RAV4s. Invest in some good rubber like BFG for off-road or a wider profile tire for superior grip. Also impressed with the fuel economy. Heated seats in winter are amazing!

Purchased in March 2015 for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
S Jones

S JonesSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great Vehicle with so many extras included

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

CarlK

CarlK

  • 3 reviews

Great SUV, exceeds expectations

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Charlestown Toyota for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mapman

mapmanPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

New Rav4

published

I have a 2010 Rav4 Cruiser which went in for a service. I was given a 2019 Rav4 as a loan car. Drive was nice and smooth but car felt bigger than mine. Technology was awesome like lane assist and blind spot monitor and LED lights. Only downfall is the run flat spare tyre and non adjustable back row seats. I was expecting a compact car feel but it felt bigger than what it looked like. Overall it was great but I still prefer my 2010 Rav4.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Amran

AmranVictoria melbourne

totally regretted after buying my Rav4 2017

published

Purchased in May 2017 for $40.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Amran
Amran
Eddie

EddiePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Excellent vehicle

published

Top of the range cruiser, lots of useful features, good performance for a 2.5 litre,quiet and comfortable to drive ,great on fuel (8.5 9.0 lper 100k). A bit pricey up front but should last us 10 years or more.

Purchased in March 2019 at Toyota Dealers for $44,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Felix Gustavo D.

Felix Gustavo D.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Really disappointing

published

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Karl

KarlSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 20 reviews

nice to drive very comfortable

published

all the safety features you could want I like it its good price up front its capped price services 3 years are excellent great field of vision all round safe economical good drive

Purchased in January 2019 at lander toyota for $33,490.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Naga g

Naga gMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

Top of the line!!

published

We picked up a Toyota Rav4, AWD cruiser, fully loaded.
That comes with heated leather seats, sunroof and all safety bells and whistles of newer models.
It is a safe car and gives 12 km /l, which is impressive for a 2.4 l engine.
Very smooth and a pleasure on any kind of surface.
Disadvantage:
No AC vents to the back seats. Not sure why no one thought of these.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sheils

SheilsPerth

  • 8 reviews

Wow Toyota make cars that last

published

My Toyota Rav 4 and myself have been everywhere from driving on an open road to driving in the city absolutely perfect

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Theo

TheoPerth

  • 11 reviews

Best buy

published

My Rav4 is used mainly for my work related travels. Being a driver of toyota for approximately 10 years now, I was really eager to drive this car. With no doubt, it delivered my expectations. I regularly send my rav4 for a semi annual service at the toyota centre. No issues since bought and have always performed great!

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Mathew

MathewSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Amazing!

published

We recently had to purchase a new car and I am so glad that I got the Rav4. It handles great, it is really safe for my young family and I really enjoy taking for a drive. I have had Toyotas for about ten years now and I wouldn’t go back. I highly recommend the car!

BadgeAdvantage
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Wouldnt ever recommend or buy another!

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Smiley

Smiley

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great reliable car

published

Partner has had three for his company car that I get to drive daily.
Service as per schedule with no faults.
Car is reliable, zippy and has the necessary safety features.
Safety feature has helped avoid a collision.
The car might be ending its model life (looking forward to driving next gen), but there isn't much to fault.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Page 1 of 5

See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

oneday

onedayasked

I forgot this section that I should have included in my first question re electrical wiring in my rav4, the wiring where you plug into for the tow bar this complete junction plug in box is with out any power all existing other wires
oneday

No answers
oneday

onedayasked

in fitting a Haymen Reece tow bar to my 2016 rav4 GX the rear brake light on the left side does not work now, I have checked the three fuse box areas, ( engine bay ,2 and one under the glove box. all ok but why no brake light?, .
in checking the Haymen Reece extension lead all ok , but the plug or attachment plug (original Toyota part awaiting for the lead to be plugged into if you want to add a tow bar)
can you help or is there a hidden fuse on the left side that I cannot find ?
thank you John Langlois

No answers
Chris Michael

Chris Michaelasked

Looking for suggestions on what to do with my 2016 Cruiser Rav 4 Diesel, the 2 main issues I’m experiencing is occasionally the low oil pressure light comes on the dash only for a couple of seconds then disappears, I have also checked the dipstick and all appears fine.

I’m currently only getting around 480kms around town to a tank of premium diesel, I purchased the car from Brisbane and drove it back to Sydney, and still I found it to be extremely heavy on fuel, I only managed 600kms to the tank before having to fill up again, and that was highway driving.

I have taken it back to Toyota several times and all they come with is the car seems to be fine, as we have done every test possible with no error codes coming up.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
Cheers Chris

2 answers
Tanvir hussain
Tanvir hussain

Sell the car to a toyota dealer, some cars from same manufacturing belt come with elusive faults that cannot be solevd, Better to sale it. I had a 2012 Commodore which drove like any other commodore on road but i had experienced engine issues where it stopped on the road with the engine rigorously shaking and then the car would hust stop in 10 secs. Took the car to few different mechanics including Holden but no one could find any fault with thhe engine, amd then i sold the car to a Holden dealer, let them deal with it. :)

Decca
Decca

May be a dicky oil pressure switch?
I have a manual diesel and get about 700 per tank (not exactly sure) Yours is possibly an auto?? which will use more.
A visit to a diesel specialist may pay off. Good luck with it as they are a great vehicle.... and I wouldn't sell it for a minor complaint unless you are made of money

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.