??!
2 photos
Toyota RAV4 XA40

Toyota RAV4 XA40 (2013-2019) (page 2 of 6)

FWD 2.0L Petrol, AWD
4.1 from 103 reviews

Reviews

4.1

103 reviews
5
(60)
4
(18)
3
(8)
2
(9)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (20)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (21)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (21)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (21)
  • Handling
    4.2 (21)
  • Braking
    4.4 (21)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (21)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (19)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (21)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (21)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (21)
  • Features
    4.2 (21)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (21)
Previous
Next
Mathew

MathewSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Amazing!

published

We recently had to purchase a new car and I am so glad that I got the Rav4. It handles great, it is really safe for my young family and I really enjoy taking for a drive. I have had Toyotas for about ten years now and I wouldn’t go back. I highly recommend the car!

BadgeAdvantage
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Wouldnt ever recommend or buy another!

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Smiley

Smiley

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great reliable car

published

Partner has had three for his company car that I get to drive daily.
Service as per schedule with no faults.
Car is reliable, zippy and has the necessary safety features.
Safety feature has helped avoid a collision.
The car might be ending its model life (looking forward to driving next gen), but there isn't much to fault.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DAVO

DAVOWando Bridge

  • 2 reviews

Got the happy man feeling

published

I have had 9 new vehicles and 3 near new vehicles over the past 28 years plus many others.
The first two new ones were hiluxes 1991 and 1997 never had a spanner on them ,never had a problem and i serviced them myself. All the others Holden Ford Mitsubishi etc we have need to go into the sickbay a bit to much.
So when needing a new family car last year we got a Rav4 after looking at them for a couple of years.We are all tall people but we fit into the midsize easily.
In summary its a very nice vehicle ,

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Tanvir hussain

Tanvir hussain

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Missing standard basics

published
BadgeZR6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Guru Prasad

Guru PrasadPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews

Buy once and forget it!

published

Car has scored five stars and safety. Performance of car very good and safety features of very nice. Adaptive cruise control is very handy. Very good on the fuel. Running cost is one of the cheapest. It’s the best car I can ever have. Cost these little expensive than other companies.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
sophia

sophia

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Practical and stylish

published

I bought the basic model. Just love it. I use the car for commuting and family. The best part of the car is the safety features. My friend got a Mazda CX-5 at the same time when we purchased this car, their car is higher end and more expensive, but doesn’t include these important features and sensors. The rav4 got huge space, it so comfortable to sit in even for the back seats.

BadgeCV
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Amanda

AmandaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Reasonably happy with car....

published

Looks good, drives good but lacks modern technology. I have a 2017 RAV4 which does not have all the modern features such as, lane sensors, front cameras etc you would expect from a new car. I think there's better value for money cars out there. I had a NIssan Qashqai before my Rav4 and I much preferred the Nissan.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Jim

JimBarrington Tas

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

2018 Rav4 2.5 AWD GX

published

Bought a brand new 2018 Rav4 2.5 auto AWD GX and i am not happy. These new Rav4s have gutless noisey motors and have excessive road noise emitting throughout the cabin area. The ride quality of this car is hard and bumpy. The headlights for nightime driving in dark country areas are very poor on low and high beams. The inside bottom of all four doors collect large amounts of wet and dry debri and are potential rusting areas. I would not recommend this vehicle to anyone.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sammiles

SammilesAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 11 likes

Space saver spare just plain rubbish

published
BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
GRANT

GRANTIllawarra, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Car

published

Bought the Rav in 2013 and drove it to from Sydney to Darwin a month after purchase. Never missed a beat and the diesel covered around 700km to a tank. Last week, 2018 drove Syd to Gold Coast and the fuel economy was way better. I did 900km on a full tank- got all the way to the coast and then some. The diesel must have loosened up and I was very pleased with the distance. Only had one issue on the way when the AWD warning light came on at 110 kph and I felt the car labour suddenly. Had to stop and disconnect the battery in the middle of no where for half hour and it seem to reset the system. No problems on the return trip so far.

Would buy one again.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
ccifbonjovi

ccifbonjoviBENTLEIGH EAST

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

over priced car with out date technology

published

brought the car last year and find out there are other better products in the market, I think Toyota is just over priced, as the market competition is getting a lot tougher, as Mazda CX5, Honda, Hyundai offer more equipment for the same money and their product is just a little bit better than Toyota nowadays.
Things have been changed. CX5 offers a better look and better driving experience.

BadgeAltitude
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Phil H

Phil H

  • 6 reviews

Great medium size SUV

published

If your looking for a medium size suv then the rav4 is great. We ordered a new one and took it on long trips and its great on fuel. Never had any brake downs and any problems what so ever. The resale value holds very well to better then most car. Definitely value for money

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Jet

JetSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great car

published

Car is nice to drive, very comfortable, really happy with purchase and would tell everyone. I like the white color paint and leather interior. Love boot space and drive, I got automatic. The air con is powerful and lights are strong. The nav is not so good and why I didn’t give excellent rating.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
LJG

LJGDuffy 2611, ACT

  • 22 reviews
  • 50 likes

Great Family Car

published

Purchased the car in December 2017 and haven't looked back, it is smooth and comfortable to drive and a good sized family vehicle. We have the Cruiser and love the automation automatic lights and windscreen wipers work well and the car has a quality finish. So far we are very happy with the purchase

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Grace

GraceBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

Beautiful functional car from reliable company

published

Quiet , light car to drive, easy to handle.
I have the cruiser and it looks fantastic outside and inside with leather seats. More leg room than other SUVs we tried at the time. Plenty of flexible storage space when the 2nd row is put down .
Fuel efficiency is good but still could be better.
Only surprise to me was the front passenger seat is not motorised like the driver's seat, which is a downgrade from other top end cars we have owned from Toyota previously.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Laura

LauraSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

First Family Car!

published

Rav4 2016 - My first family car and I love it, so comfortable to drive handles easily, and very quiet. I have the Cruiser so it's all leather interior very sleek! Very reliable, haven't had any issues running costs are average for that size car. Only thing I would say, it could benefit from A/C vents in the backseat. But tiny issue, everything else is perfect so I would still say an Excellent buy for the money

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Ocks

OcksSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Good car

published

I am happy and feel quiet when I am driving RAV4. Handling is very good and smooth. Inside the car, I like simple interior and easy to use every functional button. Specially I recommend RAV4 because of comfortable seat. I tried many SUV before but I couldn't find this comfortable.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Aung

AungDurack, NT 0830

  • 4 reviews

excellent companion

published

First of all, i have very good driving experience and handling with RAV 4
For the interior, the legroom is very spacious
toyota gives capped price servicing ,so running cost is cheap.
To take everything into consideration, it is a very good car indeed and reliable on urban and rural driving

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Ali

AliWentworthville NSW

  • 7 reviews

Good family car

published

Very good family car. Good on petrol and very spacious.
We have 2 kids under the age of 3 and this car is perfect for 2 car seats and a double pram in the back.
I love the leather dashboard and the keyless start button.
My wife drive is most of the time and It’s a peace of mind knowing this car is very safe for her and the kids.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Page 2 of 6
See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

stephen w.

stephen w.asked

XA40 (2013-2019)

Size weight caravan to tow?

1 answer

I haven’t tow caravan but I did tow 1500kg of firewood +trailer weight with super confidant

oneday

onedayasked

XA40 (2013-2019)

I forgot this section that I should have included in my first question re electrical wiring in my rav4, the wiring where you plug into for the tow bar this complete junction plug in box is with out any power all existing other wires
oneday

No answers
oneday

onedayasked

XA40 (2013-2019)

in fitting a Haymen Reece tow bar to my 2016 rav4 GX the rear brake light on the left side does not work now, I have checked the three fuse box areas, ( engine bay ,2 and one under the glove box. all ok but why no brake light?, .
in checking the Haymen Reece extension lead all ok , but the plug or attachment plug (original Toyota part awaiting for the lead to be plugged into if you want to add a tow bar)
can you help or is there a hidden fuse on the left side that I cannot find ?
thank you John Langlois

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.