??!
2 photos
Toyota RAV4 XA40

Toyota RAV4 XA40 (2013-2019) (page 3 of 6)

FWD 2.0L Petrol, AWD
4.1 from 103 reviews

Reviews

4.1

103 reviews
5
(60)
4
(18)
3
(8)
2
(9)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (20)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (21)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (21)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (21)
  • Handling
    4.2 (21)
  • Braking
    4.4 (21)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (21)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (19)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (21)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (21)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (21)
  • Features
    4.2 (21)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (21)
Previous
Next

A very good family car.

published

It is a very nice car.
Engine is powerful, low noise.
inner space very large and rear seat is comfortable for adults.
Air Con control is so so
Key is so old type...
Petrol consumption is 10.1L/100km in city driving, little bit more than expected.
Dashboard is so so so old style

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

This is perfect. very reliable. Money wise a good choice.

published

very reliable. The running cost will be around $2/kilometer.
performance is great.
interior and dashboard needs more work but is good enough.
The car is spacious. i could carrry most of the furniture when i move house.
in a word, this car is strongly recommended.
The car holds its value as well.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Patrick Lee

Patrick LeeAdelaide

  • 4 reviews

Great Car

published

I extremely pleased with this compact-crossover SUV. It rides quite and smooth with good acceleration.
The instument panel is layed out well. There is ample room to seat five persons comfortably. My fuel bill is
reduced almost in half compared to my previous Toyota (4Runner). The new features I like are the backup camera,
bluetooth, LDA (lane detection alert) and push button to open and close the liftgate. The bluetooth is a
magnificent invention. With the bluetooth I am to connect my iPhone and listen my favorite tunes and use the
phone to make or receive phone calls basically hands free. My RAV4 is a joy to drive.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
anonymous32

anonymous32Sydney, NSW

  • 32 reviews
  • 4 likes

Quite nice

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Brian Selby

Brian SelbySydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great vehicle.

published

This vehicle is amazing, I had a 2012 RAV4 AWD Cruiser which has given wonderful reliable service. Decided to update to a late 2017 model with AWD, I had to get the GX model with "full size spare" and Tech pack. None of the other model RAV4's come with full size spare and only a few GX models have full size spare. This car is full of the most amazing features, radar cruise control, numerous sensors, satellite navigation etc. For the base model it certainly has wonderful accessories, some because of the inexpensive Tech Pack

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

There is nobody I hate enough to give it to them

published

The dashboard squeeks constantly, the fan can't give us enough heat to unfreeze our feet, the slightest bit of snow freezes on the whippers... front and back. Continental all season tires are the worst I have ever seen, in over 30 years of driving I have never had so little control over a vehicle. The traction control has left us stranded in the middle of oncoming traffic many times. This is probably an ok vehicle for seniors with no chance of ever seeing snow or cold weather. Gas consumption is average, visibility around the vehicle below average. The seat warmers and the rear view camera work well. Worst purchase I ever made, wouldn't recommend to anybody.

Badgexle
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

The safety features of this car is life saving

published

Performance and handling is smooth and eficeient
The interior is sleek but I prefer leather upholstery
Dashboard is perfect and leg room is so comfortable
It is fuel economical
It has seven airbags designed to keep you and passengers safe . It also has a knee airbag to prevent injury
Running costs is minimum and reliability is 100%

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Benjamin M

Benjamin MAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

My travel buddy!

published

From the first day I knew the Rav was the best choice as a family car. All the features are awesome including towing capacity, great leg room, fuel efficiency and speed. If needed, I can transport my tools and luggage without space issues. Most of all, drives great, feels light but still has road presence. Head and shoulders above its contemporaries in both looks and value.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Chook

ChookSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

So far so good

published
BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Chook
Chook

Update: still loving my RAV. No issues, great car.

Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sandyoceanblue

SandyoceanblueMURRUMBA DOWNS

  • 11 reviews
  • 14 likes

Love my new wheels!

published

This vehicle drives beautifully. No noise, great handling and smooth on the road!
There is nothing I dislike in the interior. Very smooth lined yet practical and no where to store clutter which is great!
Great legroom and love the radio.
Great reliability and fantastic mileage! Love that my car is diesel so this helps with the the running costs and maintenance too, that is for sure.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Horhee

HorheeAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic family car

published

Cannot fault this car.
Handles very well and is very comfortable to drive.
I chose a manual after years of driving an automatic and found the transmission very smooth and easy to get used to.
There is plenty of room inside - both front and back and the cargo area is spacious.
I'm happy with the fuel economy.
This model doesn't have all of the extra features of the more expensive models but for what it does have it's good value for money.

BadgeGX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Megan

MeganMildura

  • 4 reviews

Great all-rounder

published

Great mid-sized car to fit the family as well as loads in the car. Good ground clearance and easy to use in all environments. Will be updating again shortly to another RAV 4, because I enjoyed it so much. Good for getting in and out of due to great mid-height from the ground.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Oz

OzBraddon 2612, ACT

  • 32 reviews
  • 26 likes

DO NOT BUY Dangerous Rear Vision

published

This car has the most dangerous rear vision of nay car I have driven
Try changing lanes in heavy traffic, you rely on luck and kindness from other drivers. Dark or rainy night very risky maneuver
Such a pity, becuase this car drives very nicely and has decent space in the back

BadgeAdvantage
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Lina

LinaAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great family car!

published

This is the perfect family car! Very roomy on the inside, excellent safety features, drives very smoothly and is very fuel efficient. We get a lot of comments on the look of it too - very sleek looking and nice dashboard area. Depending on where you buy, it is very affordable too. We couldn't be happier with it.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Kate

KateSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my Rav but room for improvement!

published

Overall, I love driving my Rav4. It is super comfortable, roomy on the inside without being too big on the outside, and fuel efficient. It's perfect for getting my toddler in and out of the car. Not super zippy unless you are in sport mode, but that doesn't bother me.The dashboard is a bit of a design flop because you can't see the clock or the screen if its sunny, for most of the day - so not much point to the reversing camera if you can't actually see the screen! The turning circle is really tight, which is probably good, unless you forget and are used to the wider circle of most other cars.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jovialjames

jovialjames

  • 41 reviews
  • 54 likes

What an amazing car

published

Wow, this car is great, everything about it is great. Even the technology is easy to use, I blue toothed my phone in no time. Drives great, good on fuel, heaps of power, drives quiet. I am also impressed by the height of the vehicle. It's easy to get in and out.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Fam

FamSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Rav 4 you beauty!!

published

If you are looking for an affordable, low maintenance, fuel efficient family car. Rav 4 is just the perfect car for you.

I love the new sleek look. Excellent stability. The boot space is simply awesome. Once I had to drop 4 relatives to airport and their 4 large suitcase and 4 carry on bag got easily fir in the back.

Very fuel economic and even though not a V6 but got the kick.

Love the dashboard. The combination of blue and white light in the dashboard really works well.

Another huge plus is Rav 4 holds its value well so if you thinking of upgrading you can expect a good value for money.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Bill

Bill

  • 3 reviews

Economical and excellent!

published

I bought it at the end of 2016. I drive every day. The car never had problem, very reliable. The price is very good, because there was new year sales. The car has very large space. We often have a trip with it. It feels very confortble, not tired, even having long trip in it.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
John

JohnSydney

  • 18 reviews
  • 20 likes

I have always wanted a Rav4

published

I have always wanted a Rav4 since they first hit the market many years ago, so glad I finally made the move as this is a dream to drive. Plenty of room for the kids or hauling larger items, the only down side I can see is it is a little tricky to park in small bays, but not the end of the world.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Moustafa

MoustafaTarneit

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Really good car

published

Drives really good but a bit noisy, acceleration is excellent, there's heaps of space and it also has a basket in the boot for shopping which makes it much easier to organise our stuff in the boot. the radio touch screen stopped working after two years and the windscreen cracked from nothing.
overall performance is good.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Page 3 of 6
See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

stephen w.

stephen w.asked

XA40 (2013-2019)

Size weight caravan to tow?

1 answer

I haven’t tow caravan but I did tow 1500kg of firewood +trailer weight with super confidant

oneday

onedayasked

XA40 (2013-2019)

I forgot this section that I should have included in my first question re electrical wiring in my rav4, the wiring where you plug into for the tow bar this complete junction plug in box is with out any power all existing other wires
oneday

No answers
oneday

onedayasked

XA40 (2013-2019)

in fitting a Haymen Reece tow bar to my 2016 rav4 GX the rear brake light on the left side does not work now, I have checked the three fuse box areas, ( engine bay ,2 and one under the glove box. all ok but why no brake light?, .
in checking the Haymen Reece extension lead all ok , but the plug or attachment plug (original Toyota part awaiting for the lead to be plugged into if you want to add a tow bar)
can you help or is there a hidden fuse on the left side that I cannot find ?
thank you John Langlois

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.