??!
2 photos
Toyota RAV4 XA40

Toyota RAV4 XA40 (2013-2019) (page 4 of 6)

FWD 2.0L Petrol, AWD
4.1 from 103 reviews

Reviews

4.1

103 reviews
5
(60)
4
(18)
3
(8)
2
(9)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (20)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (21)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (21)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (21)
  • Handling
    4.2 (21)
  • Braking
    4.4 (21)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (21)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (19)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (21)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (21)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (21)
  • Features
    4.2 (21)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (21)
Previous
Next
rodd

roddPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

best Rav4 ever

published

This has been the best rav4 ever. We have had Toyotas most of our lives and the new 2016 model purchased in Mandurah has been excellent.
I love the chunky dials and we alwyas have had toyots for the reliability factor. Sure they are not the most tech savvy unless you get the top of the range and sure others are cheaper, but I love the quality of the Ravs and even the paint is so much more durable then a Hyundai etc. Only gripe is they could at least extend the service to 9 or 12 months. Though the capped price servicing is cheap it is still onconvenient going so often

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Sam

SamGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 41 reviews
  • 44 likes

1st new car and loving it

published

first time new car buyer and we are loving it, yes its not as quiet or as fast as other higher priced SUV's but being typical Toyota it has been nothing but trouble free motoring owned since 2016 and we driven over 25ks since. Maintenance and running costs are fairly low, enough room for the whole family and it looks good.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Maralyn Manson

Maralyn MansonMargaret River, Western Australia

  • 24 reviews
  • 15 likes

Love my Rav

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
Maralyn Manson
Maralyn Manson

What I would like to change - at night when the car is unlocked with the key fob, I would like the head lights to come on. No option for this.

Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fj Ma

Fj MaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Rav4 by Toyota

published

Great Toyota rav4 car and I've been driving for more than 3 years with it without any problem. Good price and beautiful design for 2013 version, which is better than previous versions. Strongly recommend friends to purchase if they'd like to buy a new car. haven't checked 2nd hand prices.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013
TAGCAM

TAGCAMAU

  • 8 reviews

2016 Toyota RAV4 Cruiser

published
BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Lee

LeeVictoria, 3182

  • 6 reviews

2017 Toyota Rav4

published

After having our primary car stolen we were on the market for something a little bigger. On a recent holiday we had used a Rav4 as a hire car for a good week and were very impressed, so much so that we decided to buy one.

The car sits nice and high giving the driver a better view over the road around them. The car pick up is pretty quick and handles amazingly around mountain roads. We've only taken it onto dirt roads a couple of times and it grips like nothing else.The inbuilt GPS is pretty average compared to using Google Maps. It would be great if the car has the likes of Android Auto instead.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Andy

AndyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable, and great for everyday use.

published

This car has lasted since its purchase in 2013, and it has been very affordable to manage. The fuel costs aren't the best but aren't the worst, and its performance in different weather conditions is great, even until now. The car is quite spacey as well and offers comfortable seating, though the trunk could be designed a little better!

BadgeCV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2013
Non

Non

  • 2 reviews

Very economic

published

We purchased our RAV4 about 10 weeks ago. We chose AWD auto with diesel. Found it to be very economical. Doesn't have a large fuel tank but can do approx 650 Ks. A 500Ks trip cost me less than $40. Going from a V6 petrol to this was amazing in consumption. It rides well and is reasonably comfortable. ( Again only comparing to my previous car ) Has some good features. Would recommend it.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
SarahJ

SarahJSydney

  • 2 reviews

Love it

published

Love the car.
Not that powerful though. That's the only down side.
Otherwise great space its very family and pet friendly.
It's been good to us for over a year now.
It comes in a range of colours.
We have the basic model and it's got everything you need so a model up would be even better

Badge???
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michele

Michele

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love It

published

I did a lot of research but was biassed towards Toyota's exc reputation and everybody I every knew who had a Toyota never had any troubles with them. It replaced a Territory which had become unreliable and was to big and hard to handle. The Rav is so much easier to maneouvre, drive, park, everything. Has lots room in the back an plenty of leg space. Seems economical too. Fun to drive. Have no trouble getting my daughters to share the driving now.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
CardinalFang

CardinalFang

  • 2 reviews

Love my RAV4!!

published

We hired a RAV4 when we were on holidays in NZ and fell in love wih it. So when it was time to buy a new car it was the obvious choice. I did some online research of other medium SUVs but in the end went with the RAV4. Have never regretted the decision since. Lots and lots of room for passengers and boot space. We moved recently and I was able to fit in so many boxes with the back seats folded down. It's a pleasure to drive, smooth with plenty of zip and power. I got the cruiser model and all the features make it a very comfortable ride.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Mirela

MirelaWanniassa 2903, ACT

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

The best car ever!

published

I am very happy with my Rav4, a big car which is so easy to drive. I am happy with the consumption, very economical, I had 5,9l/100km out and the lowest in was 8.0l/100km. Even I have chronic back pain the seats are very comfortable and even when I drove three hours continuously I had no problems. It is a beautiful car and I hope I will have it for more than 10 years from now. Since I bought the car, except service, I never had any problem with it. So I am very happy and I think I am lucky to drive such a beauty, my Toyota Rav4!

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
1 comment
Mirela
Mirela

I still consider my previous review! I still love my car, so far never let me down!

JKW

JKWPiara Waters

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it!

published

So comfortable to drive and be a passenger in.
The size is fantastic, not to big or to small. The tech inside the car is very easy to navigate around (ie setting up the Bluetooth) .
As it is brand new it is a part of Toyota capped priced servicing so that makes it heap and easy for the next few years.

BadgeCV
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Dale Mason

Dale MasonSouth Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it wish I had bought it sooner

published

Light steering clear reverse camera beeping noise when reversing annoying but probably necessary a bit noisier than the Camry on the road.

The silver trims on the doors catch the sunlight and dazzle the eyes and reflect in wing mirrors and reflect into eyes so a double whammy there air conditioner vents on the sides of dashboard not very effective and no vents to the rear seats at all.

Very economical average $30 per week for fuel reliability excellent so far - only six thousand kilometres so far

BadgeCV
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
preloader

preloader

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

very reliable suv

published

a superb reliable car plenty of power oceans of room nearly 50 mpg everything functions as it should
(traded from nissan qashqai which was a nightmare with problems)
had four new toyotas before and never had a problem if you want a trouble free suv this is the one for you

Badgeluna sport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jana

JanaMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

RAV4 performance

published

First time i started using Toyota, as i used other brands before....its really nice experience. real value for money
the special is that maintenance cost is very economical. car is very good and economical. very spacious.
its wonderful to drive. the features for money value is great. i would recommend for new buyers to go with RAV4, the best SUV

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Schoolmum

SchoolmumSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Good alround vehicle solid reliable typical Toyota not exciting

published

The Rav4 is a solid performer on the road with sufficent power for overtaking and keeps up with traffic even on the hills.
The whole package is so Toyota, slightly bland but solid reliable able good alround no let downs but little to excite
I expected better fuel economy. I spend a lot of time on the highway and get in the low 7s per 100km. I have done better in an Aurion and not much worse in a Commodore 3 litre
The Rav is comfortable for the front occupants but its more basic in the back.
Noisy when stationery but quiet on the road.
I neither like nor dislike the Rav but its good to drive

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
b0bbles

b0bblesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews
  • 7 likes

I love my 2WD GXL RAV4 so much

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Ric

RicAspendale Gardens

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

New Toyota

published
BadgeDon't
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Tash

TashBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my RAV4

published

My 2016 RAV4 is the best car I have ever owned. It is such a quiet vehicle to drive and so smooth, I feel like it can turn on a coin. I am definately not gifted in the art of parallel parking, but in my RAV4 I look like a professional

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Page 4 of 6
See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

stephen w.

stephen w.asked

XA40 (2013-2019)

Size weight caravan to tow?

1 answer

I haven’t tow caravan but I did tow 1500kg of firewood +trailer weight with super confidant

oneday

onedayasked

XA40 (2013-2019)

I forgot this section that I should have included in my first question re electrical wiring in my rav4, the wiring where you plug into for the tow bar this complete junction plug in box is with out any power all existing other wires
oneday

No answers
oneday

onedayasked

XA40 (2013-2019)

in fitting a Haymen Reece tow bar to my 2016 rav4 GX the rear brake light on the left side does not work now, I have checked the three fuse box areas, ( engine bay ,2 and one under the glove box. all ok but why no brake light?, .
in checking the Haymen Reece extension lead all ok , but the plug or attachment plug (original Toyota part awaiting for the lead to be plugged into if you want to add a tow bar)
can you help or is there a hidden fuse on the left side that I cannot find ?
thank you John Langlois

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.