??!
2 photos
Toyota RAV4 XA40 AWD

Toyota RAV4 XA40 AWD (2013-2019)

2.5L Petrol, 2.2L Turbo-Diesel
4.2 from 49 reviews

Reviews

4.2

49 reviews
5
(32)
4
(5)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (8)
  • Handling
    4.0 (8)
  • Braking
    4.1 (8)
  • Suspension
    3.6 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (8)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (8)
  • Features
    3.9 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (8)
Previous
Next
RAV4 GXL 2.2 DEISEL

RAV4 GXL 2.2 DEISELGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love this car

published

Next month will be 6 years we have the rav on diesel we just done 80000 km services it’s bit costly but we happy with never had any issues been told the car still as new

Purchased in May 2014 at Lemans toyota for A$42,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Chris S.

Chris S.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quality!

published

This is our 3rd RAV4. We just keep coming back because of the quality, reliability, practicality and space that the RAV4 offers compared to its mid size 4x4 competitors. We've never had one mechanical problem with our RAV4s. Invest in some good rubber like BFG for off-road or a wider profile tire for superior grip. Also impressed with the fuel economy. Heated seats in winter are amazing!

Purchased in March 2015 for A$31,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
mapman

mapmanPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

New Rav4

published

I have a 2010 Rav4 Cruiser which went in for a service. I was given a 2019 Rav4 as a loan car. Drive was nice and smooth but car felt bigger than mine. Technology was awesome like lane assist and blind spot monitor and LED lights. Only downfall is the run flat spare tyre and non adjustable back row seats. I was expecting a compact car feel but it felt bigger than what it looked like. Overall it was great but I still prefer my 2010 Rav4.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 AWD compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Eddie

EddiePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Excellent vehicle

published

Top of the range cruiser, lots of useful features, good performance for a 2.5 litre,quiet and comfortable to drive ,great on fuel (8.5 9.0 lper 100k). A bit pricey up front but should last us 10 years or more.

Purchased in March 2019 at Toyota Dealers for A$44,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Felix Gustavo D.

Felix Gustavo D.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Really disappointing

published

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Naga g

Naga gMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

Top of the line!!

published

We picked up a Toyota Rav4, AWD cruiser, fully loaded.
That comes with heated leather seats, sunroof and all safety bells and whistles of newer models.
It is a safe car and gives 12 km /l, which is impressive for a 2.4 l engine.
Very smooth and a pleasure on any kind of surface.
Disadvantage:
No AC vents to the back seats. Not sure why no one thought of these.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Sheils

SheilsPerth

  • 8 reviews

Wow Toyota make cars that last

published

My Toyota Rav 4 and myself have been everywhere from driving on an open road to driving in the city absolutely perfect

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Theo

TheoPerth

  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best buy

published

My Rav4 is used mainly for my work related travels. Being a driver of toyota for approximately 10 years now, I was really eager to drive this car. With no doubt, it delivered my expectations. I regularly send my rav4 for a semi annual service at the toyota centre. No issues since bought and have always performed great!

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Wouldnt ever recommend or buy another!

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 AWD compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Smiley

Smiley

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great reliable car

published

Partner has had three for his company car that I get to drive daily.
Service as per schedule with no faults.
Car is reliable, zippy and has the necessary safety features.
Safety feature has helped avoid a collision.
The car might be ending its model life (looking forward to driving next gen), but there isn't much to fault.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
DAVO

DAVOWando Bridge

  • 2 reviews

Got the happy man feeling

published

I have had 9 new vehicles and 3 near new vehicles over the past 28 years plus many others.
The first two new ones were hiluxes 1991 and 1997 never had a spanner on them ,never had a problem and i serviced them myself. All the others Holden Ford Mitsubishi etc we have need to go into the sickbay a bit to much.
So when needing a new family car last year we got a Rav4 after looking at them for a couple of years.We are all tall people but we fit into the midsize easily.
In summary its a very nice vehicle ,

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Jim

JimBarrington Tas

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

2018 Rav4 2.5 AWD GX

published

Bought a brand new 2018 Rav4 2.5 auto AWD GX and i am not happy. These new Rav4s have gutless noisey motors and have excessive road noise emitting throughout the cabin area. The ride quality of this car is hard and bumpy. The headlights for nightime driving in dark country areas are very poor on low and high beams. The inside bottom of all four doors collect large amounts of wet and dry debri and are potential rusting areas. I would not recommend this vehicle to anyone.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Sammiles

SammilesAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 11 likes

Space saver spare just plain rubbish

published
BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
GRANT

GRANTIllawarra, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Car

published

Bought the Rav in 2013 and drove it to from Sydney to Darwin a month after purchase. Never missed a beat and the diesel covered around 700km to a tank. Last week, 2018 drove Syd to Gold Coast and the fuel economy was way better. I did 900km on a full tank- got all the way to the coast and then some. The diesel must have loosened up and I was very pleased with the distance. Only had one issue on the way when the AWD warning light came on at 110 kph and I felt the car labour suddenly. Had to stop and disconnect the battery in the middle of no where for half hour and it seem to reset the system. No problems on the return trip so far.

Would buy one again.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Jet

JetSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great car

published

Car is nice to drive, very comfortable, really happy with purchase and would tell everyone. I like the white color paint and leather interior. Love boot space and drive, I got automatic. The air con is powerful and lights are strong. The nav is not so good and why I didn’t give excellent rating.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 AWD compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LJG

LJGDuffy 2611, ACT

  • 22 reviews
  • 50 likes

Great Family Car

published

Purchased the car in December 2017 and haven't looked back, it is smooth and comfortable to drive and a good sized family vehicle. We have the Cruiser and love the automation automatic lights and windscreen wipers work well and the car has a quality finish. So far we are very happy with the purchase

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Grace

GraceBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

Beautiful functional car from reliable company

published

Quiet , light car to drive, easy to handle.
I have the cruiser and it looks fantastic outside and inside with leather seats. More leg room than other SUVs we tried at the time. Plenty of flexible storage space when the 2nd row is put down .
Fuel efficiency is good but still could be better.
Only surprise to me was the front passenger seat is not motorised like the driver's seat, which is a downgrade from other top end cars we have owned from Toyota previously.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Laura

LauraSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

First Family Car!

published

Rav4 2016 - My first family car and I love it, so comfortable to drive handles easily, and very quiet. I have the Cruiser so it's all leather interior very sleek! Very reliable, haven't had any issues running costs are average for that size car. Only thing I would say, it could benefit from A/C vents in the backseat. But tiny issue, everything else is perfect so I would still say an Excellent buy for the money

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Ocks

OcksSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Good car

published

I am happy and feel quiet when I am driving RAV4. Handling is very good and smooth. Inside the car, I like simple interior and easy to use every functional button. Specially I recommend RAV4 because of comfortable seat. I tried many SUV before but I couldn't find this comfortable.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

A very good family car.

published

It is a very nice car.
Engine is powerful, low noise.
inner space very large and rear seat is comfortable for adults.
Air Con control is so so
Key is so old type...
Petrol consumption is 10.1L/100km in city driving, little bit more than expected.
Dashboard is so so so old style

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Page 1 of 3
See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Toyota RAV4 XA40 AWD (2013-2019) but you can read 87 questions about Toyota RAV4.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.