??!
2 photos
Toyota RAV4 XA40 FWD 2.0L Petrol

Toyota RAV4 XA40 FWD 2.0L Petrol (2013-2019)

GX, GXL
4.3 from 32 reviews

Reviews

4.3

32 reviews
5
(17)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (10)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (10)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (10)
  • Handling
    4.3 (10)
  • Braking
    4.5 (10)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (10)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (10)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (10)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (10)
  • Features
    4.4 (10)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (10)
Previous
Next
blackphase3

blackphase3Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

A car that does its job

published

Purchased in April 2018 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
CPW

CPWSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

My first Toyota & a very pleasant surprise overall!

published

Purchased in June 2019 for A$31,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
massi

massiSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love it! Perfect car!

published

I have this car for over a year. I bought it as a new car in 2018(the last generation of Rav4 before the new model was coming). Easy driving, great rare camera and smart mirrors. Everything in this car is perfect and it’s Toyota, it always keeps the value.

Purchased in July 2018 at Toyota Illawara for A$33,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 FWD 2.0L Petrol compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John D

John D

  • 5 reviews

Bumpy worst than small cars

published

My gxl Rav4 2018 is very bumpy worst than small cars. It is sad to have such quality when you buy an SUV. Except that it's all good, gps is great, possibility to lock/unlock the car without using the remote control buttons, the cruise control ability to brake automatically and resume etc. Many great features. 6 months service is another issue, that's too much..

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Panders0

Panders0Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable car from always reliable Toyota

published

Big fan of Toyota. We had to update the family car with a baby on the way so Toyota was a pretty easy choice. It’s not the most powerful car but that’s not much of an issue. Clean layout inside, knobs, buttons etc don’t feel cheap. Boot space is great (we have a big pram so it was a big consideration). Very happy with purchase

Purchased in October 2018 at Toyota Dealers for A$23,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
S Jones

S JonesSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great Vehicle with so many extras included

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Toyota Dealers for A$28,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

CarlK

CarlK

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great SUV, exceeds expectations

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Charlestown Toyota for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Amran

AmranVictoria melbourne

totally regretted after buying my Rav4 2017

published

Purchased in May 2017 for A$40.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Amran
Amran
Guru Prasad

Guru PrasadPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews

Buy once and forget it!

published

Car has scored five stars and safety. Performance of car very good and safety features of very nice. Adaptive cruise control is very handy. Very good on the fuel. Running cost is one of the cheapest. It’s the best car I can ever have. Cost these little expensive than other companies.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 FWD 2.0L Petrol compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amanda

AmandaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Reasonably happy with car....

published

Looks good, drives good but lacks modern technology. I have a 2017 RAV4 which does not have all the modern features such as, lane sensors, front cameras etc you would expect from a new car. I think there's better value for money cars out there. I had a NIssan Qashqai before my Rav4 and I much preferred the Nissan.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Phil H

Phil H

  • 6 reviews

Great medium size SUV

published

If your looking for a medium size suv then the rav4 is great. We ordered a new one and took it on long trips and its great on fuel. Never had any brake downs and any problems what so ever. The resale value holds very well to better then most car. Definitely value for money

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Aung

AungDurack, NT 0830

  • 4 reviews

excellent companion

published

First of all, i have very good driving experience and handling with RAV 4
For the interior, the legroom is very spacious
toyota gives capped price servicing ,so running cost is cheap.
To take everything into consideration, it is a very good car indeed and reliable on urban and rural driving

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Ali

AliWentworthville NSW

  • 7 reviews

Good family car

published

Very good family car. Good on petrol and very spacious.
We have 2 kids under the age of 3 and this car is perfect for 2 car seats and a double pram in the back.
I love the leather dashboard and the keyless start button.
My wife drive is most of the time and It’s a peace of mind knowing this car is very safe for her and the kids.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

This is perfect. very reliable. Money wise a good choice.

published

very reliable. The running cost will be around $2/kilometer.
performance is great.
interior and dashboard needs more work but is good enough.
The car is spacious. i could carrry most of the furniture when i move house.
in a word, this car is strongly recommended.
The car holds its value as well.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
anonymous32

anonymous32Sydney, NSW

  • 32 reviews
  • 4 likes

Quite nice

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Toyota chatswood.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 FWD 2.0L Petrol compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Horhee

HorheeAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic family car

published

Cannot fault this car.
Handles very well and is very comfortable to drive.
I chose a manual after years of driving an automatic and found the transmission very smooth and easy to get used to.
There is plenty of room inside - both front and back and the cargo area is spacious.
I'm happy with the fuel economy.
This model doesn't have all of the extra features of the more expensive models but for what it does have it's good value for money.

BadgeGX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Kate

KateSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my Rav but room for improvement!

published

Overall, I love driving my Rav4. It is super comfortable, roomy on the inside without being too big on the outside, and fuel efficient. It's perfect for getting my toddler in and out of the car. Not super zippy unless you are in sport mode, but that doesn't bother me.The dashboard is a bit of a design flop because you can't see the clock or the screen if its sunny, for most of the day - so not much point to the reversing camera if you can't actually see the screen! The turning circle is really tight, which is probably good, unless you forget and are used to the wider circle of most other cars.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
jovialjames

jovialjames

  • 41 reviews
  • 54 likes

What an amazing car

published

Wow, this car is great, everything about it is great. Even the technology is easy to use, I blue toothed my phone in no time. Drives great, good on fuel, heaps of power, drives quiet. I am also impressed by the height of the vehicle. It's easy to get in and out.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Bill

Bill

  • 3 reviews

Economical and excellent!

published

I bought it at the end of 2016. I drive every day. The car never had problem, very reliable. The price is very good, because there was new year sales. The car has very large space. We often have a trip with it. It feels very confortble, not tired, even having long trip in it.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
John

JohnSydney

  • 18 reviews
  • 20 likes

I have always wanted a Rav4

published

I have always wanted a Rav4 since they first hit the market many years ago, so glad I finally made the move as this is a dream to drive. Plenty of room for the kids or hauling larger items, the only down side I can see is it is a little tricky to park in small bays, but not the end of the world.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Page 1 of 2
See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Toyota RAV4 XA40 FWD 2.0L Petrol (2013-2019) but you can read 87 questions about Toyota RAV4.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.