??!
2 photos
Toyota RAV4 XA40 FWD 2.0L Petrol GX

Toyota RAV4 XA40 FWD 2.0L Petrol GX (2013-2019)

4.0 from 16 reviews

Reviews

4.0

16 reviews
5
(8)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (4)
  • Handling
    3.8 (4)
  • Braking
    4.3 (4)
  • Suspension
    2.8 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (4)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (4)
  • Features
    3.8 (4)
  • Comfort
    3.5 (4)
Previous
Next
John D

John D

  • 5 reviews

Bumpy worst than small cars

published

My gxl Rav4 2018 is very bumpy worst than small cars. It is sad to have such quality when you buy an SUV. Except that it's all good, gps is great, possibility to lock/unlock the car without using the remote control buttons, the cruise control ability to brake automatically and resume etc. Many great features. 6 months service is another issue, that's too much..

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Panders0

Panders0Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable car from always reliable Toyota

published

Big fan of Toyota. We had to update the family car with a baby on the way so Toyota was a pretty easy choice. It’s not the most powerful car but that’s not much of an issue. Clean layout inside, knobs, buttons etc don’t feel cheap. Boot space is great (we have a big pram so it was a big consideration). Very happy with purchase

Purchased in October 2018 at Toyota Dealers for A$23,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Amran

AmranVictoria melbourne

totally regretted after buying my Rav4 2017

published

Purchased in May 2017 for A$40.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Amran
Amran
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 FWD 2.0L Petrol GX compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

This is perfect. very reliable. Money wise a good choice.

published

very reliable. The running cost will be around $2/kilometer.
performance is great.
interior and dashboard needs more work but is good enough.
The car is spacious. i could carrry most of the furniture when i move house.
in a word, this car is strongly recommended.
The car holds its value as well.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Horhee

HorheeAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic family car

published

Cannot fault this car.
Handles very well and is very comfortable to drive.
I chose a manual after years of driving an automatic and found the transmission very smooth and easy to get used to.
There is plenty of room inside - both front and back and the cargo area is spacious.
I'm happy with the fuel economy.
This model doesn't have all of the extra features of the more expensive models but for what it does have it's good value for money.

BadgeGX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Kate

KateSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my Rav but room for improvement!

published

Overall, I love driving my Rav4. It is super comfortable, roomy on the inside without being too big on the outside, and fuel efficient. It's perfect for getting my toddler in and out of the car. Not super zippy unless you are in sport mode, but that doesn't bother me.The dashboard is a bit of a design flop because you can't see the clock or the screen if its sunny, for most of the day - so not much point to the reversing camera if you can't actually see the screen! The turning circle is really tight, which is probably good, unless you forget and are used to the wider circle of most other cars.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Bill

Bill

  • 3 reviews

Economical and excellent!

published

I bought it at the end of 2016. I drive every day. The car never had problem, very reliable. The price is very good, because there was new year sales. The car has very large space. We often have a trip with it. It feels very confortble, not tired, even having long trip in it.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
John

JohnSydney

  • 18 reviews
  • 20 likes

I have always wanted a Rav4

published

I have always wanted a Rav4 since they first hit the market many years ago, so glad I finally made the move as this is a dream to drive. Plenty of room for the kids or hauling larger items, the only down side I can see is it is a little tricky to park in small bays, but not the end of the world.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Moustafa

MoustafaTarneit

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Really good car

published

Drives really good but a bit noisy, acceleration is excellent, there's heaps of space and it also has a basket in the boot for shopping which makes it much easier to organise our stuff in the boot. the radio touch screen stopped working after two years and the windscreen cracked from nothing.
overall performance is good.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 FWD 2.0L Petrol GX compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
rodd

roddPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

best Rav4 ever

published

This has been the best rav4 ever. We have had Toyotas most of our lives and the new 2016 model purchased in Mandurah has been excellent.
I love the chunky dials and we alwyas have had toyots for the reliability factor. Sure they are not the most tech savvy unless you get the top of the range and sure others are cheaper, but I love the quality of the Ravs and even the paint is so much more durable then a Hyundai etc. Only gripe is they could at least extend the service to 9 or 12 months. Though the capped price servicing is cheap it is still onconvenient going so often

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Michele

Michele

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love It

published

I did a lot of research but was biassed towards Toyota's exc reputation and everybody I every knew who had a Toyota never had any troubles with them. It replaced a Territory which had become unreliable and was to big and hard to handle. The Rav is so much easier to maneouvre, drive, park, everything. Has lots room in the back an plenty of leg space. Seems economical too. Fun to drive. Have no trouble getting my daughters to share the driving now.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Jana

JanaMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

RAV4 performance

published

First time i started using Toyota, as i used other brands before....its really nice experience. real value for money
the special is that maintenance cost is very economical. car is very good and economical. very spacious.
its wonderful to drive. the features for money value is great. i would recommend for new buyers to go with RAV4, the best SUV

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Decca

DeccaCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good Compromise

published

Purchased in June 2015 for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
3 comments
Decca
Decca
Decca
Decca
Decca
Decca

Now done 100,000Klms.
No issues whatsoever other than new front pads and battery at 90,000.
And I still haven't retired.....

shanexu3

shanexu3Perth, WA

  • 121 reviews
  • 115 likes

A lot of basic features missing from the base model

published
BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
luxr2u

luxr2uPerth

  • 2 reviews

Satisfied with the RAV4 2014 model.

published

I recently bought a RAV4 and am very satisfied and very much enjoying my ride on this SUV, good pricing, specious and great for travelling long or short distance destinations.

BadgeGX
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 XA40 FWD 2.0L Petrol GX compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DarkEVO

DarkEVOSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Rav 4 base model GX CVT

published
BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
2 comments
westralia
westralia

"In some way it felt like driving a corolla in a SUV form" ...That's because you probably are. You can't buy a Corolla wagon anymore, so the 2wd RAV4 is the closest thing.

Felix
Felix

CVTs are lously to drive for sure and their life beyond 5'years is in question. My old 2007 rav4 had the old 4'speeder and it was pretty good. My new Toyota has the 6 speed auto non CVT. good luck with it

See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Toyota RAV4 XA40 FWD 2.0L Petrol GX (2013-2019) but you can read 87 questions about Toyota RAV4.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.