??!
7 photos
Toyota RAV4

Toyota RAV4 (page 2 of 13)

XA30, XA20, XA40, XA50
4.1 from 256 reviews

Reviews

4.1

256 reviews
5
(145)
4
(57)
3
(17)
2
(16)
1
(21)
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (41)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (43)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (42)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (43)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (43)
  • Handling
    4.4 (43)
  • Braking
    4.6 (43)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (43)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (39)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (43)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (42)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (43)
  • Features
    4.3 (43)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (43)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

macropod

macropodPerth, WA

Rav4 2018

published

Very smooth drive and fantastic fuel economy. Power a little less compared to other SUV's but if you push it hard it gets up very nicely. . Seating comfortable and visibility really good. Overall ,very well built and love driving it.

Purchased in February 2018 at Toyota for A$31,999.00.

Panders0

Panders0Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable car from always reliable Toyota

published

Big fan of Toyota. We had to update the family car with a baby on the way so Toyota was a pretty easy choice. It’s not the most powerful car but that’s not much of an issue. Clean layout inside, knobs, buttons etc don’t feel cheap. Boot space is great (we have a big pram so it was a big consideration). Very happy with purchase

Purchased in October 2018 at Toyota Dealers for A$23,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Chris S.

Chris S.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quality!

published

This is our 3rd RAV4. We just keep coming back because of the quality, reliability, practicality and space that the RAV4 offers compared to its mid size 4x4 competitors. We've never had one mechanical problem with our RAV4s. Invest in some good rubber like BFG for off-road or a wider profile tire for superior grip. Also impressed with the fuel economy. Heated seats in winter are amazing!

Purchased in March 2015 for A$31,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
S Jones

S JonesSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great Vehicle with so many extras included

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Toyota Dealers for A$28,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Suits my lifestyle really well

published

Can't believe how much I save on petrol compared with my last car. Very comfy to drive and still plenty room for the grandchildren. Lots of clever features which one day I will master, I hope!!

Purchased in November 2018.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Lolly

LollyFar North Queensland, QLD

Best investment I could have made

published

Use for work & recreation. Great on fuel economy, has all the bells and Whistles. Always do log book service. This car will now see us out past retirement. Lovely car to drive. Wasn't cheap but well worth the money spent. The service & support we have had from Toyota surpasses all expectations. We paid the extra to get paint protection, rust proofing and interior protection.

Purchased in June 2018 for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
CarlK

CarlK

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great SUV, exceeds expectations

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Charlestown Toyota for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
mapman

mapmanPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

New Rav4

published

I have a 2010 Rav4 Cruiser which went in for a service. I was given a 2019 Rav4 as a loan car. Drive was nice and smooth but car felt bigger than mine. Technology was awesome like lane assist and blind spot monitor and LED lights. Only downfall is the run flat spare tyre and non adjustable back row seats. I was expecting a compact car feel but it felt bigger than what it looked like. Overall it was great but I still prefer my 2010 Rav4.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Paul

PaulIllawarra, NSW

Excellent car

published

Bought this car in 2012 with 140k on it. Drove it from WOLLONGONG to Bega for 6 years for work. Serviced every 10k replaced brakes pads, rear wheel bearings and finally clutch at 270k.

This has to be the best car I’ve ever owned and I’ve owned a few in 40 years of driving, expect 500k with no problem.

Just bought another RAV4 2004, if it half as good as this one I’ll be very happy.

Purchased in February 2012 for A$11,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vin

VinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 30 reviews
  • 4 likes

Satisfied

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
cuzza

cuzzaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

the perfect family car

published

Bought as ex demo in 2013... 20k on the speedo. now has 220k on the speedo..an even mix of city and country driving. never missed a beat. roomy, safe and good on petrol.

Purchased in June 2013 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Amran

AmranVictoria melbourne

totally regretted after buying my Rav4 2017

published

Purchased in May 2017 for A$40.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Amran
Amran
Eddie

EddiePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Excellent vehicle

published

Top of the range cruiser, lots of useful features, good performance for a 2.5 litre,quiet and comfortable to drive ,great on fuel (8.5 9.0 lper 100k). A bit pricey up front but should last us 10 years or more.

Purchased in March 2019 at Toyota Dealers for A$44,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Felix Gustavo D.

Felix Gustavo D.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Really disappointing

published

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Benzev

BenzevWhangarei

  • 4 reviews
  • 14 likes

Dinky little 4x4

published

I was pleasantly surprised by this little Dinky Toy(ota). It is extremely pleasant to drive although it has a lot of road noise. It handles well, goes off road well and even has central diff lock. I use it daily as my work hack and it is economic for a full time 4wd. I bought this with a problem knowing its fix. It pops out of 5th gear but being a known problem with many Toyota manual gearboxes all I have to do is replace the 5th gear and the synchro hub sleeve which should take me about half an hour to an hour's labour(it can be done with the box in place). Once I have that done I will insulate under the carpetting to sort out the road noise and then it will be 100% pleasant.

Purchased in March 2019 for A$1,650.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year1995
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karl

KarlSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 6 likes

nice to drive very comfortable

published

all the safety features you could want I like it its good price up front its capped price services 3 years are excellent great field of vision all round safe economical good drive

Purchased in January 2019 at lander toyota for A$33,490.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
mcgrathglenn

mcgrathglennSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Toyota, could be better.

published

I go to an from work an shopping, but long trips, undered powered, I got three kids an it is a bit small for them, I got the two wheel drive because the All Wheel Drive use too much petrol which makes the engine work harder. I am use to a two wheel drive any way. Plus the all Wheel Drive cost more to service/own/ etc, I can,t see the point of an A.W.D car. Diesel is only good for medium to long trips, not made for short trips.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2006
DriveFWD
Naga g

Naga gMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

Top of the line!!

published

We picked up a Toyota Rav4, AWD cruiser, fully loaded.
That comes with heated leather seats, sunroof and all safety bells and whistles of newer models.
It is a safe car and gives 12 km /l, which is impressive for a 2.4 l engine.
Very smooth and a pleasure on any kind of surface.
Disadvantage:
No AC vents to the back seats. Not sure why no one thought of these.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Sheils

SheilsPerth

  • 8 reviews

Wow Toyota make cars that last

published

My Toyota Rav 4 and myself have been everywhere from driving on an open road to driving in the city absolutely perfect

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Theo

TheoPerth

  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best buy

published

My Rav4 is used mainly for my work related travels. Being a driver of toyota for approximately 10 years now, I was really eager to drive this car. With no doubt, it delivered my expectations. I regularly send my rav4 for a semi annual service at the toyota centre. No issues since bought and have always performed great!

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Page 2 of 13
See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

Lee

Leeasked

RAV4

2wd Hybrid Cruiser - While on stop and dead silent, I hear a very faint but constant high pitch whining sound. It goes away when I further depress the brake but only after the drilling sound. Has anyone ever noticed this or has this ever happened to you?

1 answer
kathylange6
kathylange6

Yes we have that too. I just have the audio system on and then don't hear it

OzziOzzi

OzziOzziasked

RAV4

Cannot find how to turn off “PLease obey all traffic regulations“ warning which is REALLY ANNOYING. Hybrid GX if that helps

5 answers
Justin
Justin

Have you’ve tried changing the speed limit warning settings to no, refer page 103 of the audio system / navigation booklet? Don’t know if it’ll fix the issue but good luck.

Lee
Lee

Menu > setup > voice > automatic navigation guidance off

Frank
Frank

Yes Ozzi, I agree that it is annoying but for me its a good reminder to drive carefully past a school or an up coming speed camera or high accident prone area. One of the reasons I purchased the Rav 4 is because of its safety features. Cheers Frank

MichMak

MichMakasked

RAV4

Recently purchased a RAV4 GXL Hybrid AWD 2020. It is perfectly drive, except the headlights aim & alignment is different between left & right hand-side lighting distance. Toyota service said it is normal as the right hand-side lighting distance is shorter to avoid shinning to on-coming vehicles. Do anyone has the same experience?

1 answer
Lee
Lee

I noticed the same, my right side is shorter

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.