??!
14 photos
Toyota RAV4

Toyota RAV4

XA30, XA20, XA40, XA50
4.1 from 259 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)
  • Braking
    4.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (3)
  • Handling
    4.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (3)
  • Features
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Don L

Don LMelbourne

I can't buy the RAV4 because the alerts sound levels and/or frequency are wrong for anybody with hearing difficulties

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
See all answers
John D

John D

  • 5 reviews

Bumpy worst than small cars

published

My gxl Rav4 2018 is very bumpy worst than small cars. It is sad to have such quality when you buy an SUV. Except that it's all good, gps is great, possibility to lock/unlock the car without using the remote control buttons, the cruise control ability to brake automatically and resume etc. Many great features. 6 months service is another issue, that's too much..

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
mapman

mapmanPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

New Rav4

published

I have a 2010 Rav4 Cruiser which went in for a service. I was given a 2019 Rav4 as a loan car. Drive was nice and smooth but car felt bigger than mine. Technology was awesome like lane assist and blind spot monitor and LED lights. Only downfall is the run flat spare tyre and non adjustable back row seats. I was expecting a compact car feel but it felt bigger than what it looked like. Overall it was great but I still prefer my 2010 Rav4.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mcgrathglenn

mcgrathglennSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Toyota, could be better.

published

I go to an from work an shopping, but long trips, undered powered, I got three kids an it is a bit small for them, I got the two wheel drive because the All Wheel Drive use too much petrol which makes the engine work harder. I am use to a two wheel drive any way. Plus the all Wheel Drive cost more to service/own/ etc, I can,t see the point of an A.W.D car. Diesel is only good for medium to long trips, not made for short trips.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2006
DriveFWD
Amanda

AmandaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Reasonably happy with car....

published

Looks good, drives good but lacks modern technology. I have a 2017 RAV4 which does not have all the modern features such as, lane sensors, front cameras etc you would expect from a new car. I think there's better value for money cars out there. I had a NIssan Qashqai before my Rav4 and I much preferred the Nissan.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Sammiles

SammilesAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 11 likes

Space saver spare just plain rubbish

published
BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Jet

JetSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great car

published

Car is nice to drive, very comfortable, really happy with purchase and would tell everyone. I like the white color paint and leather interior. Love boot space and drive, I got automatic. The air con is powerful and lights are strong. The nav is not so good and why I didn’t give excellent rating.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

A very good family car.

published

It is a very nice car.
Engine is powerful, low noise.
inner space very large and rear seat is comfortable for adults.
Air Con control is so so
Key is so old type...
Petrol consumption is 10.1L/100km in city driving, little bit more than expected.
Dashboard is so so so old style

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

High Oil Consumption in Diesel Rav4 2013 GXL

published

Drives great, like the interior but my RAV4 has an oil consumption problem. Have taken it back to Toyota who put it on a monitoring program and then they recommended to replace the pistons under warranty. However, I still have the same problem. Very disappointed that this issue is occurring in the first place with a Toyota vehicle.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bellajaspar

BellajasparAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Reasonable drive, underpowered motor and woeful GPS

published

I like RAVs, I really do. They are solid and reliable like a good lounge suite. This New 2014 RAV auto however has some issues. Don't buy it for sizzling performance - it isn't. But the real issue is the GPS ICE system and stereo radio installed. Mine is slow, hard to use and very temperamental. Also, the SD card is INSIDE the dashboard. Who does that?... When I use the hands free voice call system it sounds like I am under water, the quality is so bad. To be fair these systems are fitted after the car arrives in Australia BUT even the local Toyota dealer didn't have a clue how to fix it... Said I should contact the maker... Really?

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeGXL
rp85

rp85Willoughby

  • 15 reviews
  • 2 likes

Our First and Last Toyota

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeCruiser
Steve

SteveAurora

2012 Rav4 Limited, not worth the money , $32,000 Outback much better vehicle

published

Gas mileage isn't as good as the 4 cylinder , 19-24 mpg . This vehicle is plagued with varies rattles, visors, moon roof slider etc, already had a power door lock fail at 15,000 miles ; last week check engine was flashing after a loud engine clunk when started cold , varies instruments light came on, restarted , went back to normal , no engine code ! after owning for over a year probably will trade it in soon on another Outback , Toyota's Quality has gone down hill .
performs very well, fast vehicle , nice sound system and the smart key is a great feature
The back doors don't automatically with the smart key , wife doesn't like spare on back

YoungStar

YoungStarMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

An Okay Car

published
BadgeCV
1 comment
elchriss0
elchriss0

we also had the same problem with the steering mechanism on our rav4 just after the warranty expired, but we just replaced the entire car with the facelifted rav4 and that's still got 6 months of warranty left

AndrewS

AndrewSAdelaide SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 16 likes

Reliable but Underpowered and Thirsty

published

Purchased in June 2007.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2007
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
ADG

ADGSYDNEY

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Basically a good vehicle

published
BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bushypete

Bushypete

  • 37 reviews
  • 12 likes

OK

published
BadgeCV
Drew

DrewSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Heavy on the fuel

published

Not a bad vehicle, but poor fuel consumption, 2.0 litre model labours under acceleration. Standard fitting Bridgestone Tyres very noisy. Steering direct. Dealer not very helpful when I had a claim under warranty, had a broken seatbelt and they expected me to take it away and bring it back later in the week
Easy to drive, steering direct and high driving position, very comfortable
Be very wary of the auto transmissions when they get to about 130,000 kms, they are know to fail and are expensive to repair

See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

Cecily K.

Cecily K.asked

RAV4

My rav4 navigation map shows the normal speed limit for a road. It is now changing to show a 40km speed when I go thru a school zone.
This has just started to happen. Is there a setting I can turn off so the map always shows the normal speed limit for that road?

No answers
Shae

Shaeasked

RAV4

Hey, I am looking at buying a Toyota RAV4 cruiser (4x4) 2001 for $5500, but the kms are around 277/281000 kms is that too much and what problems would I have to look out for?

No answers
Brian.

Brian.asked

RAV4

Does anyone know if you can isolate when the car says speed camera down?when she says it 18 times within 2kms its annoying and there ain't any speed cameras at all.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Compare all 20 Toyota RAV4
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price A$36,670A$40,378A$43,365A$39,245
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT) and ManualContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolHybrid
Wheels17" Allow18" Alloy19" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km4.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L55 L55 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power127kW @ 6600rpm127kW @ 6600rpm127kW @ 6600rpm160kW
Max Torque203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm221Nm @ 3600rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Ground Clearance195 mm190 mm195 mm190 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)800 kg800 kg800 kg480 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg480 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateMay 2019May 2019May 2019May 2019
Compare all 20 Toyota RAV4

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.