??!
14 photos
Toyota RAV4

Toyota RAV4

XA30, XA20, XA40, XA50
4.1 from 259 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (10)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (9)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (10)
  • Braking
    4.6 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (10)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (8)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (10)
  • Handling
    4.3 (10)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (10)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (10)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (10)
  • Features
    4.3 (10)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Justin

JustinMelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great drive

published

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Carol Downing

Carol DowningCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reliable and easy to use

published

Purchased in October 2019 for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
karenandjason4

karenandjason4South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my rav4

published

I have loved my experience with my rav4. We use it for family transport, we've done a ltttle off roadinf, I cna fit sooooo much stuff in it you wouldn't believe the space inside! Lots of little storage spots and an awesome boot compartment underneath the floor of the already massive back section of the car. Love it.

Purchased in June 2018 for A$8,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
blackphase3

blackphase3Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

A car that does its job

published

Purchased in April 2018 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Panders0

Panders0Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable car from always reliable Toyota

published

Big fan of Toyota. We had to update the family car with a baby on the way so Toyota was a pretty easy choice. It’s not the most powerful car but that’s not much of an issue. Clean layout inside, knobs, buttons etc don’t feel cheap. Boot space is great (we have a big pram so it was a big consideration). Very happy with purchase

Purchased in October 2018 at Toyota Dealers for A$23,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
S Jones

S JonesSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great Vehicle with so many extras included

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Toyota Dealers for A$28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Vin

VinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 30 reviews
  • 5 likes

Satisfied

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Theo

TheoPerth

  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best buy

published

My Rav4 is used mainly for my work related travels. Being a driver of toyota for approximately 10 years now, I was really eager to drive this car. With no doubt, it delivered my expectations. I regularly send my rav4 for a semi annual service at the toyota centre. No issues since bought and have always performed great!

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Matt

MattAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

2009 Toyota Rav4 Good car, But boring...

published

Driving the Rav4 is SOOO boring, But is great with EVERYTHING else.

Plenty of room,easy to service, great on fuel. Whether its a sort trip or long it is quite capable.

Can't go wrong with a Rav4, just not as fun to drive as some other SUV's on the market.

BadgeCV
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Reagan

Reagan

  • 6 reviews

Love this car! drives amazing but small back seat!

published
BadgeSX6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Row

RowSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Unreal Car has tackled everything I've thrown at it

published

Have had this car for 3 years, and it is unreal. Plenty of space for surfboards, camping and everything else. I've taken it onto the sand on the beach and handles sand really well due to its relative lightness. Services are pretty cheap. Only thing is fuel economy not quite as good as I'd hoped, but is still worth it.

BadgeCV
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Ocks

OcksSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Good car

published

I am happy and feel quiet when I am driving RAV4. Handling is very good and smooth. Inside the car, I like simple interior and easy to use every functional button. Specially I recommend RAV4 because of comfortable seat. I tried many SUV before but I couldn't find this comfortable.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Ali

AliWentworthville NSW

  • 7 reviews

Good family car

published

Very good family car. Good on petrol and very spacious.
We have 2 kids under the age of 3 and this car is perfect for 2 car seats and a double pram in the back.
I love the leather dashboard and the keyless start button.
My wife drive is most of the time and It’s a peace of mind knowing this car is very safe for her and the kids.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
SG1

SG1Sydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect family SUV

published

Best family SUV available in market. Good milage and reliable performance makes it a perfect fit for my family. Best price and most adorable size makes it perfect to fit even a big family of with kids. Everyone enjoy a ride in RAV4 and who wont love this car of this centuery.

BadgeAltitude
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2011
anonymous32

anonymous32Sydney, NSW

  • 33 reviews
  • 4 likes

Quite nice

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Toyota chatswood.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lily Freeman

Lily Freeman

  • 5 reviews

Great Cruiser

published

I've been driving my 2004 RAV for almost a year now. I have never had a technical problem with the car and the comfort and presentation of it are to die for.
It is a practical car for both urban and off-road cruising, but it's AWD nature makes it impractical for some off-road use.

BadgeCruiser
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Kate

KateSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my Rav but room for improvement!

published

Overall, I love driving my Rav4. It is super comfortable, roomy on the inside without being too big on the outside, and fuel efficient. It's perfect for getting my toddler in and out of the car. Not super zippy unless you are in sport mode, but that doesn't bother me.The dashboard is a bit of a design flop because you can't see the clock or the screen if its sunny, for most of the day - so not much point to the reversing camera if you can't actually see the screen! The turning circle is really tight, which is probably good, unless you forget and are used to the wider circle of most other cars.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Seamus

SeamusWollongong

  • 38 reviews
  • 60 likes

I assume if you are looking at this you are stalking me or looking for a cheep small reliable suv

published

Purchased in May 2004.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2004
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
3 comments
Seamus
Seamus

It's two years latter and it's still going strong, nothing can kill this car. Seems to got to the post scratch stage, drove it around last week and not a squeak even on unsealed roads.

Seamus
Seamus
Seamus
Seamus

ok it's now for sale, see gumtree

John

JohnSydney

  • 18 reviews
  • 20 likes

I have always wanted a Rav4

published

I have always wanted a Rav4 since they first hit the market many years ago, so glad I finally made the move as this is a dream to drive. Plenty of room for the kids or hauling larger items, the only down side I can see is it is a little tricky to park in small bays, but not the end of the world.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Moustafa

MoustafaTarneit

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Really good car

published

Drives really good but a bit noisy, acceleration is excellent, there's heaps of space and it also has a basket in the boot for shopping which makes it much easier to organise our stuff in the boot. the radio touch screen stopped working after two years and the windscreen cracked from nothing.
overall performance is good.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Page 1 of 3
See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

Shae

Shaeasked

RAV4

Hey, I am looking at buying a Toyota RAV4 cruiser (4x4) 2001 for $5500, but the kms are around 277/281000 kms is that too much and what problems would I have to look out for?

No answers
Brian.

Brian.asked

RAV4

Does anyone know if you can isolate when the car says speed camera down?when she says it 18 times within 2kms its annoying and there ain't any speed cameras at all.

No answers
Mel

Mel asked

RAV4

My camera keeps coming on when I brake but turns off when accelerate .Rav4 cruiser 2020??i can’t find where to disable

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Compare all 20 Toyota RAV4
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price A$36,670A$40,378A$43,365A$39,245
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT) and ManualContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolHybrid
Wheels17" Allow18" Alloy19" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km4.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L55 L55 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power127kW @ 6600rpm127kW @ 6600rpm127kW @ 6600rpm160kW
Max Torque203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm221Nm @ 3600rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Ground Clearance195 mm190 mm195 mm190 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)800 kg800 kg800 kg480 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg480 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateMay 2019May 2019May 2019May 2019
Compare all 20 Toyota RAV4

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.