??!
14 photos
Toyota RAV4

Toyota RAV4

XA30, XA20, XA40, XA50
4.1 from 259 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.9 (27)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (29)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (28)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (29)
  • Braking
    4.8 (29)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (29)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.9 (27)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (29)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.7 (29)
  • Handling
    4.7 (29)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (28)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (29)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (29)
  • Features
    4.6 (29)
Previous
Next
WCC

WCCGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Comfort with incredible economy

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Fonsie

FonsieSydney, NSW

Great packaging. Overall a well designed SUV

published

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Johnson T.

Johnson T.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Lovely SUV and good petrol consumption

published

I bought the Rav4 Hybrid Cruiser since Aug 2019. These are the benefit points:
- value for money
- low petrol consumption (900 km mileage usage per tank)
- Quite and smooth transmission
- Top interior quality

Purchased in August 2019 at Toyota Dealers for A$45,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
natureboy t.

natureboy t.Far North Queensland, QLD

Simply one of THEE BEST cars I've owned.

published

I use my car going off in trips and around town. I get it serviced every 6 months and the ONLY issue is the drivers window. The cog must be stuck, but never bothered to get it repaired, not important. Its got 109,000. ks on it.

Purchased in September 2005 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Frank

FrankMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

No brainer

published

If you thinking of spending around $40K for a SUV, strongly consider the Toyota RAV 4 Hybrid. It has numerous safety features with many bells and whistles. Extremely fuel efficient. Currently getting around 880 km on a tank of petrol. Fuel gauge is displaying 5.7 litres per 100 km. Extremely quiet and excellent for the environment. It will hold its value over many years. Had to wait 5 months for delivery but well worth the wait. Toyota have been making hybrids for over 20 years so their technology is well ahead of the pack. Highly recommended. Absolute no brainer.

Purchased in May 2020 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sam Cartwright

Sam CartwrightSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Hybrids are amazing

published

My wife and I bought this car recently. It is so quiet and drives like butter. We love the car and everything about it, great interiors, enough room in the back for our dog, the stereo system has wonderful sound. It has a really top notch safety rating which is the main reason we got it. Mechanically I trust toyota always, so far so good with this one too.

Incentivised ReviewNo
SUN SUN

SUN SUNGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love this car

published

Next month will be 6 years we have the rav on diesel we just done 80000 km services it’s bit costly but we happy with never had any issues been told the car still as new

Purchased in May 2014 at Lemans toyota for A$42,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Al fern

Al fernGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Saves me petrol & nice ride

published

I use my car to drive to work, run errands and occasionally drive off-road for picnics and adventure.
The car is driven daily and even more on weekends & public holidays.
The car comes with a 5 year unlimited warranty so it’s a peace of mind and every annual service has been pegged so bring it back to the dealer is not worrying at all that you’re going to get ripped off!

Purchased in June 2019 for A$45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Leigh D

Leigh DGippsland, VIC

Waiting

published

Just read these reviews of the RAV4 GXL HYBRID. Thank you, I ordered mine today, there is a wait of approx 4 months, however I have a feeling it may arrive sooner. My test drive was fabulous. It’s much quieter than my Mazda3. It handles well and with so many features I can’t wait to get behind the wheel .

Purchased in January 2020 for A$41.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Zelly

ZellyLaunceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best decision ever

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Launceston Toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Canberra Daddy

Canberra DaddyKingston 2604, ACT

  • 23 reviews
  • 21 likes

Glimpse of automotive future

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Canberra Daddy
Canberra Daddy
Daniel P.

Daniel P.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

Brilliant

published

A solid car.
Has plenty of room for my needs, is fuel efficient, has a great build and is very robust.
The ease of use is brilliant and the seller offers great service if required

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Brian

BrianWellington

  • 13 reviews
  • 26 likes

Motoring perfection.

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
CPW

CPWSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

My first Toyota & a very pleasant surprise overall!

published

Purchased in June 2019 for A$31,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
massi

massiSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love it! Perfect car!

published

I have this car for over a year. I bought it as a new car in 2018(the last generation of Rav4 before the new model was coming). Easy driving, great rare camera and smart mirrors. Everything in this car is perfect and it’s Toyota, it always keeps the value.

Purchased in July 2018 at Toyota Illawara for A$33,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
macropod

macropodPerth, WA

Rav4 2018

published

Very smooth drive and fantastic fuel economy. Power a little less compared to other SUV's but if you push it hard it gets up very nicely. . Seating comfortable and visibility really good. Overall ,very well built and love driving it.

Purchased in February 2018 at Toyota for A$31,999.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Chris S.

Chris S.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quality!

published

This is our 3rd RAV4. We just keep coming back because of the quality, reliability, practicality and space that the RAV4 offers compared to its mid size 4x4 competitors. We've never had one mechanical problem with our RAV4s. Invest in some good rubber like BFG for off-road or a wider profile tire for superior grip. Also impressed with the fuel economy. Heated seats in winter are amazing!

Purchased in March 2015 for A$31,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Suits my lifestyle really well

published

Can't believe how much I save on petrol compared with my last car. Very comfy to drive and still plenty room for the grandchildren. Lots of clever features which one day I will master, I hope!!

Purchased in November 2018.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Lolly

LollyFar North Queensland, QLD

Best investment I could have made

published

Use for work & recreation. Great on fuel economy, has all the bells and Whistles. Always do log book service. This car will now see us out past retirement. Lovely car to drive. Wasn't cheap but well worth the money spent. The service & support we have had from Toyota surpasses all expectations. We paid the extra to get paint protection, rust proofing and interior protection.

Purchased in June 2018 for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
CarlK

CarlK

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great SUV, exceeds expectations

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Charlestown Toyota for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 8
See all Toyota RAV4 reviews

Questions & Answers

Cecily K.

Cecily K.asked

RAV4

My rav4 navigation map shows the normal speed limit for a road. It is now changing to show a 40km speed when I go thru a school zone.
This has just started to happen. Is there a setting I can turn off so the map always shows the normal speed limit for that road?

No answers
Shae

Shaeasked

RAV4

Hey, I am looking at buying a Toyota RAV4 cruiser (4x4) 2001 for $5500, but the kms are around 277/281000 kms is that too much and what problems would I have to look out for?

No answers
Brian.

Brian.asked

RAV4

Does anyone know if you can isolate when the car says speed camera down?when she says it 18 times within 2kms its annoying and there ain't any speed cameras at all.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Compare all 20 Toyota RAV4
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price A$36,670A$40,378A$43,365A$39,245
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT) and ManualContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolHybrid
Wheels17" Allow18" Alloy19" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km4.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L55 L55 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power127kW @ 6600rpm127kW @ 6600rpm127kW @ 6600rpm160kW
Max Torque203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm221Nm @ 3600rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Ground Clearance195 mm190 mm195 mm190 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)800 kg800 kg800 kg480 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg480 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateMay 2019May 2019May 2019May 2019
Compare all 20 Toyota RAV4

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.