??!
3 photos
Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present)

Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present)

4.3 from 26 reviews

See the Best People Movers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
13
4 star
9
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
1

Chris D

Chris DIllawarra, NSW

Awesome car - 2008 Toyota Estima V6 Aeras 3.5L

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Best People Movers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

review123

review123

  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes

Toyota Tough

published
BadgeGLX
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

MarkEm

MarkEmMelbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Best vehicle I've owned so far. 2006 Estima 3.5 V6, AWD, 8 seater

published
BadgeEstima
Engine Size3.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
F. Fuller

F. FullerMareeba

  • 2 reviews

A disappointing cramped fuel guzzler

published

We upgraded from an older Toyota Hiace Super custom to the 2014 Tarago. we have 6 kids and I knew from the start it was too small but went against my gut and now regret it. 8 seats yes but don’t expect to fit a realistic family of 8 comfortably. 2 adults, 2 teenage boys and 4 younger kids and no one is happy.
Add the terrible fuel consumption of the 4 cylinder and it’s a big regret on my part.
For a smaller say 4 kid family zipping around the suburbs it probably do fine but a big family

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Trollman

TrollmanSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great and durable car!

published

Driving experience is great! Very smooth and great if your looking for a family car. I suggest if your looking for a car with better interior designs but less durability, get the Nissan Elgrand. Reliability is great and is cheap for its price. Servicing is cheap since the parts are basically everywhere

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012

Vickie R

Vickie RSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Family car

published

This is a great family car, drives very smoothly and noise is limited. The dashboard and interior are quite nice but now out-dated compared to other cars. There is a lot of leg room for the front two rows but a bit squishy at the back. It is not heavy on fuel which is + and is quite affordable to run it but we do have another car. It is a beautiful family car, with it seating so many people and looking so good.

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012

fstee6

fstee6Miles

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

The best ever!!!

published

The seven seat Tarago Ultima is the most amazing car. The flexibility of the seating arrangement / storage area is fantastic. You can even comfortably sleep in it if need be. From the kids point of view the best aspect of the car is the leg rests that come up from the two seats in the middle row. It is an extremely powerful and smooth car to drive and guest (friends) that drive the car comment on how great it is. Very economical even though you can only use premium unleaded petrol in it. There is nothing that I could question with this vehicle. It is superb!!

BadgeUltima
Engine Size3.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Sarah61

Sarah61AU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

A fantastic car!

published

I bought the 2005 3L estima for my growing family and business. This vehicle is comfortable, modern and the designers anticipated every need I could have thought of. When I got it I thought it would feel insecure to drive, it's so tall! But instead it is a solid, secure and well balanced power/manoeuvrability drive. The extra space inside allows easy travel from the front to the back seats, great for young families, and there's heaps of boot space.


SandyS

SandySMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great for family day outings!

published
BadgeUltima
Engine Size3.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Bashar

BasharFairfield West

No Lumbar support ,2 fake A/C outlets at back

published

Great to drive but not economic to run ,couple of my friends convert the van into LPG. I use the van as maxi Taxi my average spending is $55 .
When my friends converred into LPG the average went into $35. The coast to convert the van is around $4000.

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Does the job!

published
BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic

2014 Tarago Ultima V6

published

Ryan

RyanMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good family car, but that's it...

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeUltima

2010 v6 GLi. Fantastic car for family with 3 kids

published

We are a family of 2 adults, 3 kids and usually my father-in-law too. We spent months test driving iMax, Odyssey, Carnival and looking for the best deal. Bought the 2010 v6 gli and couldn't be happier. Roomy, comfy, a shedload of power, can drive all day without getting sore, great to separate the kids, everything within reach. After years of paying out on Tarago owners I must admit I am totally sold on this car. I love it.

Transmissionauto

gavin

gavinPerth, Western Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

V6 Ultima bought with 203000kms on the clock.

published

Had it for a year so far and can't fault it.
Got it cheap 23k for a 2008. Powerful engine handles really well considering size. Smooth transmission.
Had a Prado, Kids much prefer the Tarago.
Love the captain seats in the middle row.
The electric doors, the electric foldaway seats. Everything works and keeps working.
Haven't even had it serviced yet. Better do that.
Engine Power, and those electric sliding rear doors
Light interior marks a bit easy.

Shellcobra

ShellcobraAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Love tarago s

published

I am currently waiting delivery of my 5th Tarago, this is my first brand new one. A 2013 GLX. We have found them reliable, economical and comfortable. We are foster carers and need flexibility, we also take the grandparents on holidays with us regularly. Nice to drive does not feel like a tank, easy to park and they look great. It uses half the petrol of our much smaller Subaru forester. I have been driving Taragos since the 80s. We sometimes have 5 baby seats and booster with no issues. Love this car would recommend them to anyone. Very comfortable drive. I have sold the last 3 for what I paid so hold their value well. Sold privately as soon as they are listed
Style, comfort, fuel economy
Hard to get


DinkeeDi

DinkeeDiAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Very reliable family car!

published
TransmissionAutomatic

Excellent vehicle...if your thinking shall I buy...BUY!

published

Bought a 2001 Toyota Estima model...yes I know...it's the the Non Australian version of the Toyota Tarago... but very similar to the Tarago. I thoroughly enjoyed everything about it! Tonnes of room for our big family, doors on both sides for ease of getting in and out. Tonnes of space in the back and very easy for kids to get to the back without standing on the seats. Motor is not thirsty either, very economical to run. Would absolutely recommend for a large family. Also, is great for sticking a DVD player on the centre cieling and the kids were entertained on every trip!
Reliable, fuel efficient, aesthetically pleasing, back window tints, back windows also power windows not push outs.

TransmissionAutomatic
3 comments
Glokhead
Glokhead

Looking at the Estima as well. Would you recommend the 2.4L or is it under-powered? There is the 3.0L version and it might just provide that extra boost?

Holly21
Holly21

how many child anchor points are there in the car? Looking at getting a 2002 model but will need to have 3 child anchor points


shopping247

shopping247

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published
2 comments
blakey
blakey

buying one for son and family could you suggest a good modle

koala_bear21
koala_bear21

I brought one today a 2008 glx its great.


martinlv

martinlv

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good

published

Page 1 of 2

See all Toyota Tarago reviews

Questions & Answers

Karl B

Karl Basked

I have a 2010 model with 215/55R17 tyres(as designed- low profile). Has anyone tried a a more standard size style to provide more width on the wall. Having issues with puncturing with collecting traffic islands / gutters.

No answers

Eliseadh

Eliseadhasked

I have 2015 4cyl GLX model, bought new in Feb. It is very comfortable and easy to drive. One annoying problem is sometimes when I take the foot off the accelerator to turn a corner when I need to depress the accelerator again nothing happens. I have to depress the accelerator twice to get power. Does any other Tarago owners have this problem?

6 answers
Ryan
Ryan

Actually it also happened to my wife's Tarago Ultima V6. Felt like the transmission loss traction and went into neutral temporarily... Not a good sign.

Eliseadh
Eliseadh

Was your wife's Tarago able to be fixed?

random
random

what are the car mileage ? over 300K and an increase of power during the uphill drive?


Seav

Seavasked

Hi, I have the 7 seater V6 GLX model (2nd row captain seats) and am wondering whether these two seats can be removed and replaced with the 3 seater bench from the GLI? Babe number 6 is on the way and being so happy with the car we have I'm not keen to update just yet. Is it a simple remove and replace on the existing runners or would it need engineering? Thanks so much in advance.

3 answers
Bazza
Bazza

Where is your spare in the GLI because the GLX spare is in boot and seats have to be tilted up to extract the spare.

Aaron S
Aaron S

Yes. You can change the seat from two to a three seater. Buy second hand seats from a wrecker, change the seats and have it registered with the RMS .

MrQuad W
MrQuad W

It would fit but the seat belts on the bench seat for the outer 2 sides will not have a seat belts! As the captain chairs have the belts built into the seat the beach seat outer belts are built into the pillar.


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

CategoryPeople Movers
Compare all Toyota Tarago

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.