3 photos
Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present)

Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present)

4.2 from 27 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best People Movers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

4.2
27 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (2)
  • Braking
    4.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (2)
  • Handling
    4.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (2)
  • Features
    5.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Banyek
BanyekWestern Australia
  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

Looks better than it is.

published
Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Chris D
Chris DIllawarra, NSW

Awesome car - 2008 Toyota Estima V6 Aeras 3.5L

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Best People Movers.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other People Movers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
review123
review123
  • 17 reviews
  • 5 likes

Toyota Tough

published
BadgeGLX
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
FastTurtle
FastTurtleMelbourne
  • 33 reviews
  • 19 likes

Best vehicle I've owned so far. 2006 Estima 3.5 V6, AWD, 8 seater

published
BadgeEstima
Engine Size3.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2018
People Movers

Find out how Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present) compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
F. Fuller
F. FullerMareeba
  • 2 reviews

A disappointing cramped fuel guzzler

published

We upgraded from an older Toyota Hiace Super custom to the 2014 Tarago. we have 6 kids and I knew from the start it was too small but went against my gut and now regret it. 8 seats yes but don’t expect to fit a realistic family of 8 comfortably. 2 adults, 2 teenage boys and 4 younger kids and no one is happy.
Add the terrible fuel consumption of the 4 cylinder and it’s a big regret on my part.
For a smaller say 4 kid family zipping around the suburbs it probably do fine but a big family

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Trollman
TrollmanSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews

Great and durable car!

published

Driving experience is great! Very smooth and great if your looking for a family car. I suggest if your looking for a car with better interior designs but less durability, get the Nissan Elgrand. Reliability is great and is cheap for its price. Servicing is cheap since the parts are basically everywhere

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2012
Vickie R
Vickie RSydney
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Family car

published

This is a great family car, drives very smoothly and noise is limited. The dashboard and interior are quite nice but now out-dated compared to other cars. There is a lot of leg room for the front two rows but a bit squishy at the back. It is not heavy on fuel which is + and is quite affordable to run it but we do have another car. It is a beautiful family car, with it seating so many people and looking so good.

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
fstee6
fstee6Miles
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

The best ever!!!

published

The seven seat Tarago Ultima is the most amazing car. The flexibility of the seating arrangement / storage area is fantastic. You can even comfortably sleep in it if need be. From the kids point of view the best aspect of the car is the leg rests that come up from the two seats in the middle row. It is an extremely powerful and smooth car to drive and guest (friends) that drive the car comment on how great it is. Very economical even though you can only use premium unleaded petrol in it. There is nothing that I could question with this vehicle. It is superb!!

BadgeUltima
Engine Size3.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Other People Movers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Sarah61
Sarah61AU
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

A fantastic car!

published

I bought the 2005 3L estima for my growing family and business. This vehicle is comfortable, modern and the designers anticipated every need I could have thought of. When I got it I thought it would feel insecure to drive, it's so tall! But instead it is a solid, secure and well balanced power/manoeuvrability drive. The extra space inside allows easy travel from the front to the back seats, great for young families, and there's heaps of boot space.

People Movers

Find out how Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present) compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SandyS
SandySMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great for family day outings!

published
BadgeUltima
Engine Size3.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Bashar
BasharFairfield West

No Lumbar support ,2 fake A/C outlets at back

published

Great to drive but not economic to run ,couple of my friends convert the van into LPG. I use the van as maxi Taxi my average spending is $55 .
When my friends converred into LPG the average went into $35. The coast to convert the van is around $4000.

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Other People Movers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Does the job!

published
BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
People Movers

Find out how Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present) compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

2014 Tarago Ultima V6

published
Ryan
RyanMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good family car, but that's it...

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeUltima

2010 v6 GLi. Fantastic car for family with 3 kids

published

We are a family of 2 adults, 3 kids and usually my father-in-law too. We spent months test driving iMax, Odyssey, Carnival and looking for the best deal. Bought the 2010 v6 gli and couldn't be happier. Roomy, comfy, a shedload of power, can drive all day without getting sore, great to separate the kids, everything within reach. After years of paying out on Tarago owners I must admit I am totally sold on this car. I love it.

Transmissionauto
See all Toyota Tarago reviews

Questions & Answers

Jane G.
Jane G.asked
Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present)

My tarago was working fine,sat on lawn for awhile battery had died recharged battery tried to restart and it wouldn't crank over it trys to but won't. I hear everything come on like normal when I turn key on....it was low on fuel i tipped more fuel in from jerry can after doing so i realised the funnels nozzle had dirt in it could dirty fuel cause this? Any ideas? Prior to all this it was running fine

No answers
Karl B
Karl Basked
Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present)

I have a 2010 model with 215/55R17 tyres(as designed- low profile). Has anyone tried a a more standard size style to provide more width on the wall. Having issues with puncturing with collecting traffic islands / gutters.

No answers
Eliseadh
Eliseadhasked
Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present)

I have 2015 4cyl GLX model, bought new in Feb. It is very comfortable and easy to drive. One annoying problem is sometimes when I take the foot off the accelerator to turn a corner when I need to depress the accelerator again nothing happens. I have to depress the accelerator twice to get power. Does any other Tarago owners have this problem?

6 answers
Ryan
Ryan

Actually it also happened to my wife's Tarago Ultima V6. Felt like the transmission loss traction and went into neutral temporarily... Not a good sign.

Eliseadh
Eliseadh

Was your wife's Tarago able to be fixed?

random
random

what are the car mileage ? over 300K and an increase of power during the uphill drive?

See all Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present) questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present)

Other People Movers

See all People Movers

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.