3 photos
Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present)

Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present)

4.2 from 27 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best People Movers in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

4.2
27 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.0 (1)
  • Handling
    4.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)
  • Features
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Clear all
Next
Banyek
BanyekWestern Australia
  • 12 reviews
  • 14 likes

Looks better than it is.

published
Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
review123
review123
  • 17 reviews
  • 5 likes

Toyota Tough

published
BadgeGLX
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
F. Fuller
F. FullerMareeba
  • 2 reviews

A disappointing cramped fuel guzzler

published

We upgraded from an older Toyota Hiace Super custom to the 2014 Tarago. we have 6 kids and I knew from the start it was too small but went against my gut and now regret it. 8 seats yes but don’t expect to fit a realistic family of 8 comfortably. 2 adults, 2 teenage boys and 4 younger kids and no one is happy.
Add the terrible fuel consumption of the 4 cylinder and it’s a big regret on my part.
For a smaller say 4 kid family zipping around the suburbs it probably do fine but a big family

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vickie R
Vickie RSydney
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Family car

published

This is a great family car, drives very smoothly and noise is limited. The dashboard and interior are quite nice but now out-dated compared to other cars. There is a lot of leg room for the front two rows but a bit squishy at the back. It is not heavy on fuel which is + and is quite affordable to run it but we do have another car. It is a beautiful family car, with it seating so many people and looking so good.

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
People Movers

Find out how Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present) compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SandyS
SandySMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great for family day outings!

published
BadgeUltima
Engine Size3.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bashar
BasharFairfield West

No Lumbar support ,2 fake A/C outlets at back

published

Great to drive but not economic to run ,couple of my friends convert the van into LPG. I use the van as maxi Taxi my average spending is $55 .
When my friends converred into LPG the average went into $35. The coast to convert the van is around $4000.

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Does the job!

published
BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next

2014 Tarago Ultima V6

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ryan
RyanMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good family car, but that's it...

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeUltima
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
People Movers

Find out how Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present) compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
martinlv
martinlv
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CLB
CLBSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for families with young children.

published
Alan Davies
Alan Davies
CLB
CLB
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mlw2001
mlw2001Perth, WA
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

OK

published
MrForthright
MrForthright
Boudie
Boudie
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
People Movers

Find out how Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present) compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
simm_mee
simm_meevic, 3020
  • 256 reviews
  • 43 likes

Good

published

a great people mover that has a large enough boot to fit a twin pram, interior kiddie friendly material that is easy to clean after those accidental spills
this is a great people mover, we have brought the 7 seater vesion and i just love the room...great boot space plenty for our pram as having 5 kids ( 3 under 3) i found the boot space in many other cars insufficent to fit our pram.sat nav and inbuilt dvd player along with the foot rests for the middle row of seats make this car a superior car to have. easy to operate door opening by the push of a button and electrical fold down of the back row of seats
you cant fit an additional car seat bolt as it is illegal lucky for us our toddler is heavy enough to go into a booster seat.

marcb
marcb

The statement about it is ilegal to fit another child restriant is incorrect. You can fit a crab bar in the back providing an additonal 3 child restraints. See your 4wd specilist for this

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Toyota Tarago reviews

Questions & Answers

Kev B.
Kev B.asked
Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present)

2006 Toyota Tarago keeps changing back on the flat while towing

2 answers
Banyek
Banyek

How heavy are you towing? Which gear does it change to? Is the check engine light on? Running on all 6 cylinders?

graemec
graemec

I would say that being a 4 cylinder it would change back to compensate for the extra load and reduce the load on the motor with the transmission selecting the appropriate gear.

Jane G.
Jane G.asked
Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present)

My tarago was working fine,sat on lawn for awhile battery had died recharged battery tried to restart and it wouldn't crank over it trys to but won't. I hear everything come on like normal when I turn key on....it was low on fuel i tipped more fuel in from jerry can after doing so i realised the funnels nozzle had dirt in it could dirty fuel cause this? Any ideas? Prior to all this it was running fine

No answers
Karl B
Karl Basked
Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present)

I have a 2010 model with 215/55R17 tyres(as designed- low profile). Has anyone tried a a more standard size style to provide more width on the wall. Having issues with puncturing with collecting traffic islands / gutters.

No answers
See all Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present) questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Tarago XR 50 (2006-Present)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.