??!
2 photos
Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R YR

Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R YR (2011-2014)

4.5 from 22 reviews

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
12
4 star
8
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0

Waris

WarisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

The Bullet proof Reliability

published

Purchased in October 2016 at Pickles Auctions for $9,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Marty G

Marty GSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great little car

published

Just purchased one for my mum brand new from the dealer. Great little car. Cheap to maintain and drives on the smell of an oily rag.
The car is comfortable and comes with all the latest bells and whistles.
I certainly would recommend the Yaris for an everyday car for anybody young or old.

BodySedan
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019
Boris

BorisRobina

  • 3 reviews

Great Car only a few wishes

published

The Yaris IS a great car. Reliable, reasonably priced, low mileage, etc. The only issues are:
: Why did they not stay with digital speedo. So difficult to see 50 KPH in the 50 KPH speed areas.
: The 1.3 auto is a bit gutless. Wish I had stayed with the manual. This is my issue and should not really reflect on the car as it still get around OK. But nice to have a bit more power when you need it.

BodySedan
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Nicky

NickyBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great little car

published

I purchased this little car 4 years ago and I am still loving it. It has given me no issues so far and runs really well. It is a great car for inner city living and zipping around the city. I would recommend this car to anyone looking for something economical and small.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

lizy

lizy

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this car. So glad i upgraded

published

This is an excellent car, cheap to run,very quiet motor, love the interior, handles just perfectly, performance is just as it should be, plenty of leg room, great interior colours on the seats, gps is a godsend, and had rhe wi dows tinted for cooler incside during the hot queensland summers.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size$14,000
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Chris P

Chris PMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 18 reviews
  • 9 likes

Well Marketed

published

Well designed and marketed vehicle. Small, short, wide wheel based. Handles like a go cart. Three gears auto gutsy small city car. Steers boldly with great torque for engine size. Spacey and comfortable. Economical and cheap to run. Really a two seater. Sporty ride and pulls up sweet. OK on highway for a small car. Almost a mini cruiser. Good vision all round. More fun than my Mazda 2 Sedan and just as zippy. Good boot for size and comfy seats. Not the safest car because of its size - good value for money - mini bodge box

BodySedan
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Kathleen

KathleenMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Can't live without my car

published

I have a 2016 Toyota Yaris and I can't brag enough about it. It's the perfect size for myself and the bluetooth system works flawlessly to connect my music and phone calls. The price I paid of $17000 was very reasonable for a brand new car and fuel economy is great, getting about 500km on a $40 full tank.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

nicolewang

nicolewang

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Budget car

published

My partner drives it most of the time and he says it is pretty good and powerful for its price. It does struggles a bit when going uphill or with the air con turned on but generally it's fine. It is small, cosy and easy to drive, suitable for our daily use.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Ash

AshSydney

  • 8 reviews

Extremely reliable and not so small

published

Got this car as a 21st present from my family and it's amazing. I own a 2015 Yaris YR and don't let the exterior fool you, the interior feels a lot bigger than my other family car. It's extremely light and handles great and is by far the most fuel efficient car i have ever driven. My only issue is the bluetooth/touch screen technology which sometimes messes up but not enough to bring my rating down. 5/5

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
bcchgeneral

bcchgeneralSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Basic, economical, reliable so far

published

Driving experience: performance is zippy enough, handling is good, very little noise.
Interior: it's basic, and there are some silly compromises. The touchscreen / rear vision camera is a nice addition. The glove box isn't even big enough to hold the manual / logbook folder that they came in! There's less internal storage than I'd want. But legroom is great.
Reliability: so far so good, but it's only been 2 months.
Running costs: Toyota have fixed price servicing for 3 years, so that's good.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

YaZ

YaZCanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value for money

published

Pros:
fuel economy is impressive. My car runs 500km in just $30 worth of fuel.
small and easy to drive, great for 1-2 person use or small families.
Cons:
the 4-speed, 1.3L engine is lacking just a little bit of power, especially in hilly areas, it really takes a while to build up your speed.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

gilly silly

gilly sillymelbourne

  • 5 reviews

cheap reliable little car

published

As with all toyotas, reliability is the most noticeable feature. I have been driving to work everyday for the past 4 years with this little car, 250 kms each way, and it has never given me any problem. The mileage (i have the manual version) is pretty good, with a full tank giving me about 640 kms depending on the traffic conditions. The car is very spacey (5 doors), the driver seat is quite ergonomic although not luxurious. The engine is quiet but it can get a little noisy on hot days with full aircon on.
The downside is that once it gets to about 95,000 kms it loses a little bit of acceleration it had at the beginning.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2013

Louie

Louiesydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

one of the best small cars around but would like to see more power

published

I own a 2017 toyota yaris YR. i got a terrific deal as it was a demo car. although the car is great in all areas, i would like to see it have more power as sometimes when I drive the car up hills it struggles, even in low gear.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017

woozie

wooziePerth, WA

  • 20 reviews

Like my car- does the job.

published

My Toyota Yaris hatch feels roomier than it looks and I like that the seat provides some support to keep the body from leaning too far on turns. It's economical... uses 6 point something L/100km. Bluetooth is great. My only negative is that the 1.3L manual doesn't have enough power. I have stalled quite a few times, especially going up the driveway...so have to consciously rev it more to get going in some circumstances. Maybe it's my poor skills, but I've also seen good experienced drivers stall my car.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
robertbryson

robertbrysonSA, 5075

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

TOYOTA 2017 YR YARIS 1.3 L AUTOMATIC.

published

I purchased a 2011 model ( the upgrade 2012 model ) and as it was now 5 years old I decided to trade it in on the new 2017 model.
I am delighted with the new car purchased on 30th June this year.
This model comes with cruise control and a rear reversing camera (as standard) that displayed on the dash console.
The fuel economy is very good and the power of the 1.3 L motor is excellent.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Panthera

PantheraAU

  • 16 reviews
  • 8 likes

Perfect for fuel savings

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013

Hun

HunSydney

  • 7 reviews

Good reliable car

published

Toyota yaris is a good reliable small car with great fuel efficiency. Driving for 3 years and never had any mazor problem with this except regular services. Air condition is pretty good. Small hatch back car with does not have too mich running cost. Good car for a family. .

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013

Charlie

Charlie

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great car.

published

Would without hesitation endorse this car, we have the 1300 auto and has all the power we need and very economical to run, great on the open road as well as around town. Bought a Honda Jazz as well 1300 manual and have to say I prefer this myself but both are excellent value. Don't believe what the test drivers say in the mags, these are real world cars for real people in the real world.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1300

robertbryson

robertbrysonSA, 5075

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great economical small car.

published

We bought this vehicle new from northpoint toyota at Hillcrest S.A. in December of 2011.
It was the new 2012 model and we have been very happy with the cars performance. We looked around at Mazda ,Suzuki and Honda but value for money and the smaller motor were reasons we settled on the Yaris.
The car is reliable and has bluetooth for the phone and electronic windows.

Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
BadgeYR

Lola

Lola

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best Little car

published
Engine Size1.3L
TransmissionManual
BadgeYR
BodyHatch

Page 1 of 2

See all Toyota Yaris reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Toyota Yaris NCP130R / NCP131R YR (2011-2014) but you can read 23 questions about Toyota Yaris.


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

CategoryCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $16,190
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels14" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors5
Seats5
Fuel Consumption6.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.3L
Max Power63kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque121Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateDec 2011
Discontinuation dateDec 2014
Compare all Toyota Yaris

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.