1 photo
Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch YR

Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

4.3 from 21 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

4.3
21 reviews
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Fran
Fran
  • 2 reviews

Terrible clear coat/paint peeling after only 5 years. No help from Toyota!

published

Red Yaris 9 years old, 63,000kms. Looks terrible, clear coat peeled in patches, requires $5000 paint fix. Regular carpark survey shows it's very common problem. Looks terrible makes car worthless.

Purchased in April 2012 at Toyota Dealers.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
nicolewang
nicolewang
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Budget car

published

My partner drives it most of the time and he says it is pretty good and powerful for its price. It does struggles a bit when going uphill or with the air con turned on but generally it's fine. It is small, cosy and easy to drive, suitable for our daily use.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
bcchgeneral
bcchgeneralSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Basic, economical, reliable so far

published

Driving experience: performance is zippy enough, handling is good, very little noise.
Interior: it's basic, and there are some silly compromises. The touchscreen / rear vision camera is a nice addition. The glove box isn't even big enough to hold the manual / logbook folder that they came in! There's less internal storage than I'd want. But legroom is great.
Reliability: so far so good, but it's only been 2 months.
Running costs: Toyota have fixed price servicing for 3 years, so that's good.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
YaZ
YaZCanberra
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value for money

published

Pros:
fuel economy is impressive. My car runs 500km in just $30 worth of fuel.
small and easy to drive, great for 1-2 person use or small families.
Cons:
the 4-speed, 1.3L engine is lacking just a little bit of power, especially in hilly areas, it really takes a while to build up your speed.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch YR compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Louie
Louiesydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

one of the best small cars around but would like to see more power

published

I own a 2017 toyota yaris YR. i got a terrific deal as it was a demo car. although the car is great in all areas, i would like to see it have more power as sometimes when I drive the car up hills it struggles, even in low gear.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2017
woozie
wooziePerth, WA
  • 25 reviews
  • 3 likes

Like my car- does the job.

published

My Toyota Yaris hatch feels roomier than it looks and I like that the seat provides some support to keep the body from leaning too far on turns. It's economical... uses 6 point something L/100km. Bluetooth is great. My only negative is that the 1.3L manual doesn't have enough power. I have stalled quite a few times, especially going up the driveway...so have to consciously rev it more to get going in some circumstances. Maybe it's my poor skills, but I've also seen good experienced drivers stall my car.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Hun
HunSydney
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good reliable car

published

Toyota yaris is a good reliable small car with great fuel efficiency. Driving for 3 years and never had any mazor problem with this except regular services. Air condition is pretty good. Small hatch back car with does not have too mich running cost. Good car for a family. .

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
enri
enriAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fuel saving automatic transmission feature - 2013 Toyota Yaris

published
Engine Size1.3
BadgeYR
BodyHatch

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
See all Toyota Yaris reviews

Questions & Answers

Brian m
Brian masked
Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

Thinking of purchasing 2014 with 115076 ks what is the opion on this

1 answer
Sarah J.
Sarah J.

I'm not sure Bout later models. That's a few kms on it. Depends how much it is. Mine is 2018 and it's been very good so far I'm at 10,000kms and have had no issues

See all Toyota Yaris questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

Details

Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris
CategoryCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $16,190
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels14" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.3L
Max Power63kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque121Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateOct 2011
Discontinuation dateAug 2014
Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.