1 photo
Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch YR

Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

4.3 from 21 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

4.3
21 reviews
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (2)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    3.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (2)
  • Features
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Fran
Fran
  • 2 reviews

Terrible clear coat/paint peeling after only 5 years. No help from Toyota!

published

Red Yaris 9 years old, 63,000kms. Looks terrible, clear coat peeled in patches, requires $5000 paint fix. Regular carpark survey shows it's very common problem. Looks terrible makes car worthless.

Purchased in April 2012 at Toyota Dealers.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Waris
WarisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

The Bullet proof Reliability

published

Purchased in October 2016 at Pickles Auctions for $9,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Nicky
NickyBrisbane
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great little car

published

I purchased this little car 4 years ago and I am still loving it. It has given me no issues so far and runs really well. It is a great car for inner city living and zipping around the city. I would recommend this car to anyone looking for something economical and small.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
lizy
lizySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this car. So glad i upgraded

published

This is an excellent car, cheap to run,very quiet motor, love the interior, handles just perfectly, performance is just as it should be, plenty of leg room, great interior colours on the seats, gps is a godsend, and had rhe wi dows tinted for cooler incside during the hot queensland summers.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size$14,000
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch YR compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kathleen
KathleenMelbourne
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can't live without my car

published

I have a 2016 Toyota Yaris and I can't brag enough about it. It's the perfect size for myself and the bluetooth system works flawlessly to connect my music and phone calls. The price I paid of $17000 was very reasonable for a brand new car and fuel economy is great, getting about 500km on a $40 full tank.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
nicolewang
nicolewang
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Budget car

published

My partner drives it most of the time and he says it is pretty good and powerful for its price. It does struggles a bit when going uphill or with the air con turned on but generally it's fine. It is small, cosy and easy to drive, suitable for our daily use.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Ash
AshSydney
  • 8 reviews

Extremely reliable and not so small

published

Got this car as a 21st present from my family and it's amazing. I own a 2015 Yaris YR and don't let the exterior fool you, the interior feels a lot bigger than my other family car. It's extremely light and handles great and is by far the most fuel efficient car i have ever driven. My only issue is the bluetooth/touch screen technology which sometimes messes up but not enough to bring my rating down. 5/5

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
gilly silly
gilly sillymelbourne
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

cheap reliable little car

published

As with all toyotas, reliability is the most noticeable feature. I have been driving to work everyday for the past 4 years with this little car, 250 kms each way, and it has never given me any problem. The mileage (i have the manual version) is pretty good, with a full tank giving me about 640 kms depending on the traffic conditions. The car is very spacey (5 doors), the driver seat is quite ergonomic although not luxurious. The engine is quiet but it can get a little noisy on hot days with full aircon on.
The downside is that once it gets to about 95,000 kms it loses a little bit of acceleration it had at the beginning.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2013

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
robertbryson
robertbrysonSA, 5075
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

TOYOTA 2017 YR YARIS 1.3 L AUTOMATIC.

published

I purchased a 2011 model ( the upgrade 2012 model ) and as it was now 5 years old I decided to trade it in on the new 2017 model.
I am delighted with the new car purchased on 30th June this year.
This model comes with cruise control and a rear reversing camera (as standard) that displayed on the dash console.
The fuel economy is very good and the power of the 1.3 L motor is excellent.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch YR compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Panthera
PantheraAU
  • 18 reviews
  • 9 likes

Perfect for fuel savings

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Charlie
Charlie
  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great car.

published

Would without hesitation endorse this car, we have the 1300 auto and has all the power we need and very economical to run, great on the open road as well as around town. Bought a Honda Jazz as well 1300 manual and have to say I prefer this myself but both are excellent value. Don't believe what the test drivers say in the mags, these are real world cars for real people in the real world.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1300

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
robertbryson
robertbrysonSA, 5075
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great economical small car.

published

We bought this vehicle new from northpoint toyota at Hillcrest S.A. in December of 2011.
It was the new 2012 model and we have been very happy with the cars performance. We looked around at Mazda ,Suzuki and Honda but value for money and the smaller motor were reasons we settled on the Yaris.
The car is reliable and has bluetooth for the phone and electronic windows.

Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch YR compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lola
Lola
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best Little car

published
Engine Size1.3L
TransmissionManual
BadgeYR
BodyHatch
enri
enriAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fuel saving automatic transmission feature - 2013 Toyota Yaris

published
Engine Size1.3
BadgeYR
BodyHatch
sagesun
sagesunMelbourne

Nice comfortable smooth drive

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYR
See all Toyota Yaris reviews

Questions & Answers

Brian m
Brian masked
Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

Thinking of purchasing 2014 with 115076 ks what is the opion on this

1 answer
Sarah J.
Sarah J.

I'm not sure Bout later models. That's a few kms on it. Depends how much it is. Mine is 2018 and it's been very good so far I'm at 10,000kms and have had no issues

See all Toyota Yaris questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

Details

Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris
CategoryCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $16,190
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels14" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.3L
Max Power63kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque121Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateOct 2011
Discontinuation dateAug 2014
Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.