1 photo
Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch YR

Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

4.3 from 21 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

4.3
21 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Clear all
Next
Lisa S.
Lisa S.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Paint started peeling

published

Car used for commuting to work. Mainly parked under cover.
Car used approx 5 days per week
Serviced as per schedule
No mechanical issues
Issue with paint peeling at approx 6 years old. Peeling all along bottom of back window and spots of peeling paint on roof and bonnet. It is the clear coat that is peeling. Can see this has occurred with many yaris cars by looking at other complaints online.

Purchased in March 2014 at Toyota Dealers for $18,000.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
bcchgeneral
bcchgeneralSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Basic, economical, reliable so far

published

Driving experience: performance is zippy enough, handling is good, very little noise.
Interior: it's basic, and there are some silly compromises. The touchscreen / rear vision camera is a nice addition. The glove box isn't even big enough to hold the manual / logbook folder that they came in! There's less internal storage than I'd want. But legroom is great.
Reliability: so far so good, but it's only been 2 months.
Running costs: Toyota have fixed price servicing for 3 years, so that's good.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
YaZ
YaZCanberra
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value for money

published

Pros:
fuel economy is impressive. My car runs 500km in just $30 worth of fuel.
small and easy to drive, great for 1-2 person use or small families.
Cons:
the 4-speed, 1.3L engine is lacking just a little bit of power, especially in hilly areas, it really takes a while to build up your speed.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Louie
Louiesydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

one of the best small cars around but would like to see more power

published

I own a 2017 toyota yaris YR. i got a terrific deal as it was a demo car. although the car is great in all areas, i would like to see it have more power as sometimes when I drive the car up hills it struggles, even in low gear.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch YR compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
woozie
wooziePerth, WA
  • 25 reviews
  • 3 likes

Like my car- does the job.

published

My Toyota Yaris hatch feels roomier than it looks and I like that the seat provides some support to keep the body from leaning too far on turns. It's economical... uses 6 point something L/100km. Bluetooth is great. My only negative is that the 1.3L manual doesn't have enough power. I have stalled quite a few times, especially going up the driveway...so have to consciously rev it more to get going in some circumstances. Maybe it's my poor skills, but I've also seen good experienced drivers stall my car.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hun
HunSydney
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good reliable car

published

Toyota yaris is a good reliable small car with great fuel efficiency. Driving for 3 years and never had any mazor problem with this except regular services. Air condition is pretty good. Small hatch back car with does not have too mich running cost. Good car for a family. .

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Toyota Yaris reviews

Questions & Answers

Brian m
Brian masked
Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

Thinking of purchasing 2014 with 115076 ks what is the opion on this

1 answer
Sarah J.
Sarah J.

I'm not sure Bout later models. That's a few kms on it. Depends how much it is. Mine is 2018 and it's been very good so far I'm at 10,000kms and have had no issues

See all Toyota Yaris questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

Details

Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris
CategoryCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $16,190.00
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels14" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.3L
Max Power63kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque121Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateOct 2011
Discontinuation dateAug 2014
Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.