??!
3 photos
Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent

Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent (2011-2020)

Also referred to as: Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent 2019 and Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent 2021.
4.2 from 25 reviews

Reviews

4.2

25 reviews
5
(13)
4
(6)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (4)
  • Handling
    4.5 (4)
  • Braking
    5.0 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.8 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (4)
  • Features
    5.0 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (4)
Previous
Next
heidijaneh

heidijaneh

  • 23 reviews
  • 2 likes

Such a reliable car

published

I just use this car for running around the city. It is easy to maintain. Cost effective. I like that seats can go down so I can slide surprisingly large items in! It's small and easy to park. Love the reverse camera. I get it serviced regularly and no issues other than a high clutch point, which is a preference thing.

Purchased in July 2015 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Peter S.

Peter S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Powerful, Cheap to Own and All the comforts.

published

I use my 2011 Yaris daily "Bought it quite a few years ago", and it still zips past cars on steeply inclined highways at around 110 k's whilst using 98 Octane, and thats even when I have three passengers and the back hatch full of stuff..

The trick is to keep the old girl well maintained, and at around 200 bucks a year that's excellent, Oh and I would highly recommend you use 95 Octane as I get a crap ton of more k's that way, and when youre about to do a highway run fill er up with 98 Octane, That way you have more power and amazing fuel Economy, don't forget to give the old girl a boot now and then on acceleration to clear her up and stop it from getting lazy..

Purchased in March 2017 at Toyota Dealers for A$9,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mina B.

Mina B.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect

published

Save petrol. Big from inside. Has all options. Easy to service it. Liable car. I have been driving 2015 Yaris and I have no problem. It is now 135000 km without any problem

Purchased in March 2015 for A$17,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarah J.

Sarah J.

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect little car

published

My car is for personal use. Just around my suburb normally. I have 2 car seats in the back. I've had 1 service so far and it was good customer service. The people at Mornington Toyota were great to deal with.
The only issue with the car is that is a bit loud but doesn't bother me that much. Get about 400km out of a tank. When the fuel is good I pay about $40-$45 to full it

Purchased in March 2018 at Toyota Dealers for A$16,999.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
StevenL

StevenLGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes

Clever Little Car-Perfect for suburb runs

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2019
Sydney_mon

Sydney_monSydney

  • 7 reviews

Great car and great value for money

published

I just recently purchased my new Toyota Yaris (silver pearl) and was very pleased with the experience. I highly recommend Kieran from Toyota Lander Blacktown.

The car runs smooth and although small, it’s very spacious inside and packs good power. Definitely a god buy and can be used in short or long drives.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Paula

PaulaAU

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Tiny reliable car

published

The Yaris performs very well. Never had a problem with it since purchasing in 2015. No noise and hassle. It has a reverse camera which is very useful. The tiny body makes it very comfortable to drive in narrow roads. It is very fuel efficient and reliable even on long drives. Toyota really delivers!

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015
OT111

OT111Sydney

Some things to consider before buying

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Ok for single person use

published

Not as strong performance, but a reliable car. Interiors are good, and cheap to run and maintain. As a hatchback, able to utilise back seats for extra space as boot space. New designs are looking better. Would recommend for single person use such as myself (I am a university student).

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Homesignal

HomesignalGippsland, VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Reliable and Comfortable

published

I love this car. Have had it two years now. Have not had to take it back to dealer for any defect. Handles well on the road and is comfortable for long distance travel. Love the fuel economy. The only thing I could fault is where they put the clock, right where the speedo is, and at my age it is too hard to see. Would like it on the dash where most cars put it and then could read it. Also a full spare wheel would be better. For a small car the boot has good room and like the idea of two levels. And being able to move the seat up and down is good along with cruise control and reverse camera standard in the base model is a plus. Really good price compared to other cars. Would recommend this car.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
RDD

RDDMandurah

Toyota Yaris 2015 Hatch Ascent

published

Purchased a new Yaris 2015 Hatch Ascent. Clocked in at 19,000 kms. My car failed as it was struggling to move when changing gears. Roadside assistance detected the car was running on 3 cylinders and should be on 4.
The car has to be towed back to Toyota for further investigation.

So disappointed and annoyed.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015
den

denSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Worst car seat and suspension

published

Bought 2015Yaris brand new from stewArt Toyota...things needs to be considered... its engine size is small hence low power and torque, seats are the most uncomfortable.. I had a hip problem after driving half an hour( that’s the only reason I have sell it within 1 month), no foot rest, suspension is horrible , worst in humps..exterior material is a very thin tin (feels very cheap and light), trunk size is ok...please consider these things before getting one.. consider i30 or vw polo or golf or Mazda 3 in your shopping list.. cheers

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
chuck48

chuck48AU

  • 34 reviews
  • 20 likes

Toyota reliability.

published

The Yaris auto was bought for my wife. A little heavy on the fuel for a 1300cc motor. Fixed price servicing hard to beat. Ride is a little noisy. Easy to park and plenty of leg room. Radio/CD player in both my Corolla and Yaris are not as good as expected (USB issues). Internal fit out basic. Seats comfortable and good vision. Reversing display obscure at night and in bad light. Starts first time and keeps going.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Alanna menere

Alanna menereBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing and enjoyable

published

Such a reliable little car and the fuel runs so cheap!
So many compartments to keep everything in.
The touch screen is amazing and my music plays so well from my phone via bluetooth
The toyota service center has some of the most amazing staff as well, which is a plus

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Vick

VickAdelaide

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good car overall if you are in small car segment

published

This is really a Good car overall if you are in small car segment. My previous car was sedan. But I realised that I didn't need such big car because I am city guy. Hatch car is easy to drive, park especially when you drive a lot in city and nearby suburbs. It's economical too. Runs 430 kms between fuel tank fill ups.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kyle S

Kyle SAdelaide

  • 4 reviews

Good little car!

published

Bought this car for gf recently and for the price of the car it is great value. Included were all the options such as bluetooth, power everything, reverse camera and cruise control. Great car for around the city but not much of a fan of it at higher speeds. It is also great on fuel, city driving = less than $20/week to get to work and back plus other driving around.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Paul

PaulMaroochydore

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very economical at the expense of power.

published

I do like my Yaris but do tend to stick to my RAV 4 for anything other than basic town commuting as the Yaris just doesn't have the grunt that is needed at times. Can be sluggish taking off from roundabouts, and can need a bit of 'pedal to the metal' on hill starts. I can't really complain when I fill the tank once a month and travel around 10-15kms a day on average. Great easy to use stereo system that works well with my bluetooth phone.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Wii

WiiBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

Amazing car

published

I've been driving my 2015 Toyota Yaris for more than 1.5yrs. It is an amazing car. Very reliable and very fuel efficient. Already done 30,000km with absolutely no issues so far. Interior is surprisingly spacious with plenty of storage space. Highly recommended if you are looking for a small car.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
simonefish

simonefish

  • 58 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great little car

published

Bought this as a second run about, but have ended up driving it as much as possible. Easy to drive and park, great maneuverability, fantastic safety features and a great price. It's also deceptively large inside. We can fit a booster and 4 adults at a pinch. Toyota service in general is excellent

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Great car!! Perfect for a first car buyer!!

published

Great car to drive with low running costs. It has not given me any issues whatsoever!! Fantastic experience overall with capped price servicing and extended warranty. The Bluetooth, reverse camera and cruise control adds extra value. The new exterior in the 2016 model also makes it more stylish. Overall, a reliable car with low running costs that is also affordable.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Engine Size1.3L
Page 1 of 2
See all Toyota Yaris reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent (2011-2020) but you can read 25 questions about Toyota Yaris.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.