3 photos
Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent

Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent (2011-2022)

Also referred to as: Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent 2021 and Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent 2023.
4.2 from 28 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.9 (7)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (7)
  • Braking
    4.9 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (7)
  • Handling
    4.3 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (7)
  • Features
    4.4 (7)
Previous
Clear all
Next
jagga
jaggaAU
  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Happy with the very simple reliable toyota

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Toyota Dealers for $17,500.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mrsbroad1
mrsbroad1South East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

I can't believe my luck

published

I use the car for city driving mostly.
I drive it 3 or 4 times a week.
I get the car serviced according to the manufacturer's recommendations at a Toyota dealership from which I bought it second hand (one previous owner). They rotate the wheels, change the brake fluid etc...and usually charge me $200 plus.
It is a 2015 model and has done 82,240 km
It has never broken down
It looks like new, inside and out (I keep it in the garage)
I checked and, with the recent increase in car prices, this model has not depreciated in value in the almost 4 years since I bought it for $10,880.

Purchased in April 2018 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mayon
mayonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fuel efficient small car

published

I bought yaris as used car after 30 k run, 2015 model...recently changed the battery..it s very cheap to run the car for work...freeway drive bit noisy..cheap to run ..good for starters to save money..

Purchased in April 2020 for $10,500.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
heidijaneh
heidijaneh
  • 24 reviews
  • 3 likes

Such a reliable car

published

I just use this car for running around the city. It is easy to maintain. Cost effective. I like that seats can go down so I can slide surprisingly large items in! It's small and easy to park. Love the reverse camera. I get it serviced regularly and no issues other than a high clutch point, which is a preference thing.

Purchased in July 2015 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter S.
Peter S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Powerful, Cheap to Own and All the comforts.

published

I use my 2011 Yaris daily "Bought it quite a few years ago", and it still zips past cars on steeply inclined highways at around 110 k's whilst using 98 Octane, and thats even when I have three passengers and the back hatch full of stuff..

The trick is to keep the old girl well maintained, and at around 200 bucks a year that's excellent, Oh and I would highly recommend you use 95 Octane as I get a crap ton of more k's that way, and when youre about to do a highway run fill er up with 98 Octane, That way you have more power and amazing fuel Economy, don't forget to give the old girl a boot now and then on acceleration to clear her up and stop it from getting lazy..

Purchased in March 2017 at Toyota Dealers for $9,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mina B.
Mina B.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect

published

Save petrol. Big from inside. Has all options. Easy to service it. Liable car. I have been driving 2015 Yaris and I have no problem. It is now 135000 km without any problem

Purchased in March 2015 for $17,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sarah J.
Sarah J.
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect little car

published

My car is for personal use. Just around my suburb normally. I have 2 car seats in the back. I've had 1 service so far and it was good customer service. The people at Mornington Toyota were great to deal with.
The only issue with the car is that is a bit loud but doesn't bother me that much. Get about 400km out of a tank. When the fuel is good I pay about $40-$45 to full it

Purchased in March 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $16,999.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
StevenL
StevenLGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

Clever Little Car-Perfect for suburb runs

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2019
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sydney_mon
Sydney_monSydney
  • 7 reviews

Great car and great value for money

published

I just recently purchased my new Toyota Yaris (silver pearl) and was very pleased with the experience. I highly recommend Kieran from Toyota Lander Blacktown.

The car runs smooth and although small, it’s very spacious inside and packs good power. Definitely a god buy and can be used in short or long drives.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paula
PaulaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Tiny reliable car

published

The Yaris performs very well. Never had a problem with it since purchasing in 2015. No noise and hassle. It has a reverse camera which is very useful. The tiny body makes it very comfortable to drive in narrow roads. It is very fuel efficient and reliable even on long drives. Toyota really delivers!

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Homesignal
HomesignalGippsland, VIC
  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Reliable and Comfortable

published

I love this car. Have had it two years now. Have not had to take it back to dealer for any defect. Handles well on the road and is comfortable for long distance travel. Love the fuel economy. The only thing I could fault is where they put the clock, right where the speedo is, and at my age it is too hard to see. Would like it on the dash where most cars put it and then could read it. Also a full spare wheel would be better. For a small car the boot has good room and like the idea of two levels. And being able to move the seat up and down is good along with cruise control and reverse camera standard in the base model is a plus. Really good price compared to other cars. Would recommend this car.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
RDD
RDDMandurah

Toyota Yaris 2015 Hatch Ascent

published

Purchased a new Yaris 2015 Hatch Ascent. Clocked in at 19,000 kms. My car failed as it was struggling to move when changing gears. Roadside assistance detected the car was running on 3 cylinders and should be on 4.
The car has to be towed back to Toyota for further investigation.

So disappointed and annoyed.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alanna menere
Alanna menereBrisbane
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing and enjoyable

published

Such a reliable little car and the fuel runs so cheap!
So many compartments to keep everything in.
The touch screen is amazing and my music plays so well from my phone via bluetooth
The toyota service center has some of the most amazing staff as well, which is a plus

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vick
VickAdelaide
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good car overall if you are in small car segment

published

This is really a Good car overall if you are in small car segment. My previous car was sedan. But I realised that I didn't need such big car because I am city guy. Hatch car is easy to drive, park especially when you drive a lot in city and nearby suburbs. It's economical too. Runs 430 kms between fuel tank fill ups.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kyle S
Kyle SAdelaide
  • 4 reviews

Good little car!

published

Bought this car for gf recently and for the price of the car it is great value. Included were all the options such as bluetooth, power everything, reverse camera and cruise control. Great car for around the city but not much of a fan of it at higher speeds. It is also great on fuel, city driving = less than $20/week to get to work and back plus other driving around.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Toyota Yaris reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent (2011-2022) but you can read 26 questions about Toyota Yaris.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent (2011-2022)

Details

Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris
CategoryCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $18,690.00
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels15" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.3L
Max Power62kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque120Nm @ 4600rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateOct 2011
Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.