3 photos
Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent

Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent (2011-2021)

Also referred to as: Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent 2020 and Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent 2022.
4.2 from 26 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (3)
  • Braking
    5.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.3 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (3)
  • Handling
    4.3 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.7 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (3)
  • Features
    4.7 (3)
Previous
Next
mayon
mayonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fuel efficient small car

published

I bought yaris as used car after 30 k run, 2015 model...recently changed the battery..it s very cheap to run the car for work...freeway drive bit noisy..cheap to run ..good for starters to save money..

Purchased in April 2020 for $10,500.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
heidijaneh
heidijaneh
  • 24 reviews
  • 3 likes

Such a reliable car

published

I just use this car for running around the city. It is easy to maintain. Cost effective. I like that seats can go down so I can slide surprisingly large items in! It's small and easy to park. Love the reverse camera. I get it serviced regularly and no issues other than a high clutch point, which is a preference thing.

Purchased in July 2015 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Sarah J.
Sarah J.
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect little car

published

My car is for personal use. Just around my suburb normally. I have 2 car seats in the back. I've had 1 service so far and it was good customer service. The people at Mornington Toyota were great to deal with.
The only issue with the car is that is a bit loud but doesn't bother me that much. Get about 400km out of a tank. When the fuel is good I pay about $40-$45 to full it

Purchased in March 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $16,999.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
OT111
OT111Sydney

Some things to consider before buying

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Ok for single person use

published

Not as strong performance, but a reliable car. Interiors are good, and cheap to run and maintain. As a hatchback, able to utilise back seats for extra space as boot space. New designs are looking better. Would recommend for single person use such as myself (I am a university student).

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
den
denSydney, NSW
  • 17 reviews
  • 11 likes

Worst car seat and suspension

published

Bought 2015Yaris brand new from stewArt Toyota...things needs to be considered... its engine size is small hence low power and torque, seats are the most uncomfortable.. I had a hip problem after driving half an hour( that’s the only reason I have sell it within 1 month), no foot rest, suspension is horrible , worst in humps..exterior material is a very thin tin (feels very cheap and light), trunk size is ok...please consider these things before getting one.. consider i30 or vw polo or golf or Mazda 3 in your shopping list.. cheers

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
chuck48
chuck48AU
  • 36 reviews
  • 20 likes

Toyota reliability.

published

The Yaris auto was bought for my wife. A little heavy on the fuel for a 1300cc motor. Fixed price servicing hard to beat. Ride is a little noisy. Easy to park and plenty of leg room. Radio/CD player in both my Corolla and Yaris are not as good as expected (USB issues). Internal fit out basic. Seats comfortable and good vision. Reversing display obscure at night and in bad light. Starts first time and keeps going.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2015

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Kyle S
Kyle SAdelaide
  • 4 reviews

Good little car!

published

Bought this car for gf recently and for the price of the car it is great value. Included were all the options such as bluetooth, power everything, reverse camera and cruise control. Great car for around the city but not much of a fan of it at higher speeds. It is also great on fuel, city driving = less than $20/week to get to work and back plus other driving around.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Paul
PaulMaroochydore
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very economical at the expense of power.

published

I do like my Yaris but do tend to stick to my RAV 4 for anything other than basic town commuting as the Yaris just doesn't have the grunt that is needed at times. Can be sluggish taking off from roundabouts, and can need a bit of 'pedal to the metal' on hill starts. I can't really complain when I fill the tank once a month and travel around 10-15kms a day on average. Great easy to use stereo system that works well with my bluetooth phone.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mallymuff
mallymuffMelbourne, Vic
  • 61 reviews
  • 30 likes

Happy

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
TransmissionAutomatic
J W
J Wmelbourne
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

2015 Yaris

published

I am very happy with the new design of the 2015 model. I wanted to have a safe car and set my eyes on Toyota because of its safety design and reliability. Having been driving this for 4 months, this car is just easy to park with the reverse camera.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
TransmissionAutomatic

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
See all Toyota Yaris reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent (2011-2021) but you can read 26 questions about Toyota Yaris.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch Ascent (2011-2021)

Details

Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris
CategoryCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $18,690
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels15" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.3L
Max Power62kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque120Nm @ 4600rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateOct 2011
Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.