??!
12 photos
Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch

Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch (2011-2020) (page 2 of 4)

Also referred to as: Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch 2019 and Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch 2021. Ascent, YR, YRS, etc...
4.3 from 75 reviews

Reviews

4.3

75 reviews
5
(40)
4
(23)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (13)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (13)
  • Handling
    4.4 (13)
  • Braking
    4.9 (13)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (13)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (13)
  • Boot Size
    3.6 (13)
  • Features
    4.6 (13)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (12)
Previous
Next
Reddog

ReddogTwin Waters

  • 3 reviews

Toyota Yaris

published

I am concerned about my Toyota Yaris..I heard the airbags are faulty.The car is about 3 years old..
I'm glad I bought the Yaris,it's so easy to park and to do a u turn..It's easy on petrol too.
Plenty of room in the interior,great to go camping in if your on your own...

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Nicky

NickyBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great little car

published

I purchased this little car 4 years ago and I am still loving it. It has given me no issues so far and runs really well. It is a great car for inner city living and zipping around the city. I would recommend this car to anyone looking for something economical and small.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Paula

PaulaAU

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Tiny reliable car

published

The Yaris performs very well. Never had a problem with it since purchasing in 2015. No noise and hassle. It has a reverse camera which is very useful. The tiny body makes it very comfortable to drive in narrow roads. It is very fuel efficient and reliable even on long drives. Toyota really delivers!

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
lizy

lizySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this car. So glad i upgraded

published

This is an excellent car, cheap to run,very quiet motor, love the interior, handles just perfectly, performance is just as it should be, plenty of leg room, great interior colours on the seats, gps is a godsend, and had rhe wi dows tinted for cooler incside during the hot queensland summers.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size$14,000
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Kathleen

KathleenMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can't live without my car

published

I have a 2016 Toyota Yaris and I can't brag enough about it. It's the perfect size for myself and the bluetooth system works flawlessly to connect my music and phone calls. The price I paid of $17000 was very reasonable for a brand new car and fuel economy is great, getting about 500km on a $40 full tank.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
OT111

OT111Sydney

Some things to consider before buying

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
nicolewang

nicolewang

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Budget car

published

My partner drives it most of the time and he says it is pretty good and powerful for its price. It does struggles a bit when going uphill or with the air con turned on but generally it's fine. It is small, cosy and easy to drive, suitable for our daily use.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Ash

AshSydney

  • 8 reviews

Extremely reliable and not so small

published

Got this car as a 21st present from my family and it's amazing. I own a 2015 Yaris YR and don't let the exterior fool you, the interior feels a lot bigger than my other family car. It's extremely light and handles great and is by far the most fuel efficient car i have ever driven. My only issue is the bluetooth/touch screen technology which sometimes messes up but not enough to bring my rating down. 5/5

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Baron

Baron

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good to save fuel and for daily commuter

published

I rent the car when i traveled in Adelaide and Kangaroo island. Using about 40L to drive for more than 700km.

The boot is small and I can only put 1.5 suitcases. I don't find the other issues and quite happy with the performance of the car. I will buy one in the future

BodyHatch
BadgeEdge
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bcchgeneral

bcchgeneralSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Basic, economical, reliable so far

published

Driving experience: performance is zippy enough, handling is good, very little noise.
Interior: it's basic, and there are some silly compromises. The touchscreen / rear vision camera is a nice addition. The glove box isn't even big enough to hold the manual / logbook folder that they came in! There's less internal storage than I'd want. But legroom is great.
Reliability: so far so good, but it's only been 2 months.
Running costs: Toyota have fixed price servicing for 3 years, so that's good.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Ok for single person use

published

Not as strong performance, but a reliable car. Interiors are good, and cheap to run and maintain. As a hatchback, able to utilise back seats for extra space as boot space. New designs are looking better. Would recommend for single person use such as myself (I am a university student).

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
YaZ

YaZCanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value for money

published

Pros:
fuel economy is impressive. My car runs 500km in just $30 worth of fuel.
small and easy to drive, great for 1-2 person use or small families.
Cons:
the 4-speed, 1.3L engine is lacking just a little bit of power, especially in hilly areas, it really takes a while to build up your speed.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
gilly silly

gilly sillymelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

cheap reliable little car

published

As with all toyotas, reliability is the most noticeable feature. I have been driving to work everyday for the past 4 years with this little car, 250 kms each way, and it has never given me any problem. The mileage (i have the manual version) is pretty good, with a full tank giving me about 640 kms depending on the traffic conditions. The car is very spacey (5 doors), the driver seat is quite ergonomic although not luxurious. The engine is quiet but it can get a little noisy on hot days with full aircon on.
The downside is that once it gets to about 95,000 kms it loses a little bit of acceleration it had at the beginning.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Louie

Louiesydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

one of the best small cars around but would like to see more power

published

I own a 2017 toyota yaris YR. i got a terrific deal as it was a demo car. although the car is great in all areas, i would like to see it have more power as sometimes when I drive the car up hills it struggles, even in low gear.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017
MFE

MFEPERTH

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Reliable, but terrible mileage

published

Compared to my previous manual Yaris of 10 years ago, which easily got 650 km on a full tank, the fuel economy of this automatic is horrendous, barely able to reach 500 km on a full tank. I would have expected significant improvement in this regard for an automatic. Nowhere near the advertise L per 100km, and I'm almost tempted to call this fraudulent advertising, but unfortunately there's no claim since it's not considered a fault.
Otherwise, the vehicle has been reliable for the 10,000km I've driven it thus far. My previous Yaris easily did 330,000 before I sold it. Will see how well this one does, but am not happy with the extra money being wasted on fuel.

BodyHatch
BadgeSX
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Homesignal

HomesignalGippsland, VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Reliable and Comfortable

published

I love this car. Have had it two years now. Have not had to take it back to dealer for any defect. Handles well on the road and is comfortable for long distance travel. Love the fuel economy. The only thing I could fault is where they put the clock, right where the speedo is, and at my age it is too hard to see. Would like it on the dash where most cars put it and then could read it. Also a full spare wheel would be better. For a small car the boot has good room and like the idea of two levels. And being able to move the seat up and down is good along with cruise control and reverse camera standard in the base model is a plus. Really good price compared to other cars. Would recommend this car.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
woozie

wooziePerth, WA

  • 24 reviews
  • 3 likes

Like my car- does the job.

published

My Toyota Yaris hatch feels roomier than it looks and I like that the seat provides some support to keep the body from leaning too far on turns. It's economical... uses 6 point something L/100km. Bluetooth is great. My only negative is that the 1.3L manual doesn't have enough power. I have stalled quite a few times, especially going up the driveway...so have to consciously rev it more to get going in some circumstances. Maybe it's my poor skills, but I've also seen good experienced drivers stall my car.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
RDD

RDDMandurah

Toyota Yaris 2015 Hatch Ascent

published

Purchased a new Yaris 2015 Hatch Ascent. Clocked in at 19,000 kms. My car failed as it was struggling to move when changing gears. Roadside assistance detected the car was running on 3 cylinders and should be on 4.
The car has to be towed back to Toyota for further investigation.

So disappointed and annoyed.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015
den

denSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Worst car seat and suspension

published

Bought 2015Yaris brand new from stewArt Toyota...things needs to be considered... its engine size is small hence low power and torque, seats are the most uncomfortable.. I had a hip problem after driving half an hour( that’s the only reason I have sell it within 1 month), no foot rest, suspension is horrible , worst in humps..exterior material is a very thin tin (feels very cheap and light), trunk size is ok...please consider these things before getting one.. consider i30 or vw polo or golf or Mazda 3 in your shopping list.. cheers

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
robertbryson

robertbrysonSA, 5075

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

TOYOTA 2017 YR YARIS 1.3 L AUTOMATIC.

published

I purchased a 2011 model ( the upgrade 2012 model ) and as it was now 5 years old I decided to trade it in on the new 2017 model.
I am delighted with the new car purchased on 30th June this year.
This model comes with cruise control and a rear reversing camera (as standard) that displayed on the dash console.
The fuel economy is very good and the power of the 1.3 L motor is excellent.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Page 2 of 4
See all Toyota Yaris reviews

Questions & Answers

Brian m

Brian masked

Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

Thinking of purchasing 2014 with 115076 ks what is the opion on this

1 answer
Sarah J.
Sarah J.

I'm not sure Bout later models. That's a few kms on it. Depends how much it is. Mine is 2018 and it's been very good so far I'm at 10,000kms and have had no issues

RDD

RDDasked

Yaris XP130 Hatch (2011-2020)

Purchased a new Yaris 2015 Hatch Ascent . Clocked in at 19,000 kms. My car failed as it was struggling to move when changing gears. Roadside assistance detected the car was running on 3 cylinders and should be on 4. Why????
The car has to be towed back to Toyota for further investigation.

The car at times fails to start. Why is this?

So disappointed and annoyed.

This is a new car and I think it's a bloody lemon.

4 answers
Nelson Tan
Nelson Tan

Unfortunately there's a lemon every now and then, even with luxury cars... It's just one of the few cases where it got past their quality control checks.

den
den

Hi mate.. I am not a mechanic so that I can tell you what exactly is happening to your car, however, you can ask for a replacement car from Toyota dealer for going to work for free . I guess, you still have warranty left...good luck n hope you will get your car back soon.. cheers

chuck48
chuck48

Unable to answer the mechanical questions - a pity as Toyota are usually very reliable. Have noted that sometimes motor does not kick with key ON. Place foot on brake and make sure auto is properly in park. Then good to go . The Yaris is definitely not a power plant.
PS how come a new car with 2015?

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.