??!
12 photos
Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch

Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch (2011-2020) (page 3 of 4)

Also referred to as: Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch 2019 and Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch 2021. Ascent, YR, YRS, etc...
4.3 from 75 reviews

Reviews

4.3

75 reviews
5
(40)
4
(23)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (13)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (13)
  • Handling
    4.4 (13)
  • Braking
    4.9 (13)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (13)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (13)
  • Boot Size
    3.6 (13)
  • Features
    4.6 (13)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (12)
Previous
Next
chuck48

chuck48AU

  • 34 reviews
  • 20 likes

Toyota reliability.

published

The Yaris auto was bought for my wife. A little heavy on the fuel for a 1300cc motor. Fixed price servicing hard to beat. Ride is a little noisy. Easy to park and plenty of leg room. Radio/CD player in both my Corolla and Yaris are not as good as expected (USB issues). Internal fit out basic. Seats comfortable and good vision. Reversing display obscure at night and in bad light. Starts first time and keeps going.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Alanna menere

Alanna menereBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing and enjoyable

published

Such a reliable little car and the fuel runs so cheap!
So many compartments to keep everything in.
The touch screen is amazing and my music plays so well from my phone via bluetooth
The toyota service center has some of the most amazing staff as well, which is a plus

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Fed up

Fed up

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love this car

published

So cheap to run easy parking interiors easy to clean and so easy to drive drop down seats are an added bonus for when you have way to much shopping cheap as chips with petrol love love love love really happy really zippy little car so easy to drive xxx

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bhatia

BhatiaKelliville ridge

  • 6 reviews

Very good my first car

published

This is perfect for me. I am very happy with it. The performance of the car is very good and I like the interior. The running cost is very low and I am very satisfied with it. Now I can reliay on it. My driving experience is very good with it

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
J J

J J

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fabulous car!

published

Reliable and comfortable, with the best visibility of any test drive I did (and did lots). Get the ZR (the best one) and drive around in style. Get the bright yellow one and you're sure to find your car in any parking lot. Toyota's are the best cars around - had my last one for ten years and only upgraded recently.

BodyHatch
BadgeZR
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Vick

VickAdelaide

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good car overall if you are in small car segment

published

This is really a Good car overall if you are in small car segment. My previous car was sedan. But I realised that I didn't need such big car because I am city guy. Hatch car is easy to drive, park especially when you drive a lot in city and nearby suburbs. It's economical too. Runs 430 kms between fuel tank fill ups.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Kyle S

Kyle SAdelaide

  • 4 reviews

Good little car!

published

Bought this car for gf recently and for the price of the car it is great value. Included were all the options such as bluetooth, power everything, reverse camera and cruise control. Great car for around the city but not much of a fan of it at higher speeds. It is also great on fuel, city driving = less than $20/week to get to work and back plus other driving around.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Aman

AmanMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Great small car

published

This is my first new car and is great in terms of fuel consumption, performance and comfort. It's great for city driving, has enough space for shopping and moving a lot of my stuff. Legroom is good and is a good economy small car. It does not cost much for servicing and easy to maintain.

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Paul

PaulMaroochydore

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very economical at the expense of power.

published

I do like my Yaris but do tend to stick to my RAV 4 for anything other than basic town commuting as the Yaris just doesn't have the grunt that is needed at times. Can be sluggish taking off from roundabouts, and can need a bit of 'pedal to the metal' on hill starts. I can't really complain when I fill the tank once a month and travel around 10-15kms a day on average. Great easy to use stereo system that works well with my bluetooth phone.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Panthera

PantheraAU

  • 16 reviews
  • 8 likes

Perfect for fuel savings

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Wii

WiiBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

Amazing car

published

I've been driving my 2015 Toyota Yaris for more than 1.5yrs. It is an amazing car. Very reliable and very fuel efficient. Already done 30,000km with absolutely no issues so far. Interior is surprisingly spacious with plenty of storage space. Highly recommended if you are looking for a small car.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Simmy

SimmySydney

  • 5 reviews

Toyota yaris

published

I am driving toyota yaris 2014. It is hatch back car. Its small and reliable car. Easy to drive, parking and comfortable. Cheap to run on fuel compare to some other cars. Happy with my car. I bought it second hand but still very good engine, no extra sound etc

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Hun

HunSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good reliable car

published

Toyota yaris is a good reliable small car with great fuel efficiency. Driving for 3 years and never had any mazor problem with this except regular services. Air condition is pretty good. Small hatch back car with does not have too mich running cost. Good car for a family. .

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
simonefish

simonefish

  • 58 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great little car

published

Bought this as a second run about, but have ended up driving it as much as possible. Easy to drive and park, great maneuverability, fantastic safety features and a great price. It's also deceptively large inside. We can fit a booster and 4 adults at a pinch. Toyota service in general is excellent

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

clutch

published

one serious problem, stalls at traffic lights,intersections. had it for 5+ months, accelerator has to be engaged strongly to make sure that it doesn't stall so if taking off at a T intersection have to turn very wide can be dangerous in some circumstances has stalled half way across an intersection they tell me it cant be adjusted my opinion vehicle needs to be recalled.

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great car!! Perfect for a first car buyer!!

published

Great car to drive with low running costs. It has not given me any issues whatsoever!! Fantastic experience overall with capped price servicing and extended warranty. The Bluetooth, reverse camera and cruise control adds extra value. The new exterior in the 2016 model also makes it more stylish. Overall, a reliable car with low running costs that is also affordable.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Engine Size1.3L
RobinHood2349

RobinHood2349Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

"Fantastico Service"

published

Bought a Yaris in November, 2015 from Phil Gilbert @ Lidcombe. Since then Cliffton has given "fantastico" service.
The 30K service was just done, and cost $168.55 (Including Full-Synthetic Oil) No Problems, unlike my previous
one which caused me "INCREDIBLE GRIEF" since Day One
The only thing I haven't learnt to do is the "Toyota Jump:.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Engine SizeExample: 2.2L
Smith Carter

Smith Carter

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Fuel Efficient and Fun to Drive Hatchback Car

published

Toyota Yaris is Quiet a Special car for ladies specially who like to go again again for a shopping, Toyota Yaris is remarkably fuel efficient hatchback and fun to drive car for all generations and the most important point is the price advantage, it is also very cheap. Toyota Yaris is one of the best hatchbacks of the year 2015.

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
mallymuff

mallymuffMelbourne, Vic

  • 45 reviews
  • 26 likes

Happy

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
TransmissionAutomatic
rearrange

rearrangeAU

  • 28 reviews
  • 35 likes

OK until you need to change a gear

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
TransmissionManual
Page 3 of 4
See all Toyota Yaris reviews

Questions & Answers

Brian m

Brian masked

Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

Thinking of purchasing 2014 with 115076 ks what is the opion on this

1 answer
Sarah J.
Sarah J.

I'm not sure Bout later models. That's a few kms on it. Depends how much it is. Mine is 2018 and it's been very good so far I'm at 10,000kms and have had no issues

RDD

RDDasked

Yaris XP130 Hatch (2011-2020)

Purchased a new Yaris 2015 Hatch Ascent . Clocked in at 19,000 kms. My car failed as it was struggling to move when changing gears. Roadside assistance detected the car was running on 3 cylinders and should be on 4. Why????
The car has to be towed back to Toyota for further investigation.

The car at times fails to start. Why is this?

So disappointed and annoyed.

This is a new car and I think it's a bloody lemon.

4 answers
Nelson Tan
Nelson Tan

Unfortunately there's a lemon every now and then, even with luxury cars... It's just one of the few cases where it got past their quality control checks.

den
den

Hi mate.. I am not a mechanic so that I can tell you what exactly is happening to your car, however, you can ask for a replacement car from Toyota dealer for going to work for free . I guess, you still have warranty left...good luck n hope you will get your car back soon.. cheers

chuck48
chuck48

Unable to answer the mechanical questions - a pity as Toyota are usually very reliable. Have noted that sometimes motor does not kick with key ON. Place foot on brake and make sure auto is properly in park. Then good to go . The Yaris is definitely not a power plant.
PS how come a new car with 2015?

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.