??!
4 photos
Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch

Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch (2005-2011)

YR, YRS, YRX
4.4 from 72 reviews

Reviews

4.4

72 reviews
5
(43)
4
(23)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (6)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (6)
  • Handling
    4.3 (6)
  • Braking
    4.8 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.7 (6)
  • Interior Design
    4.7 (6)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (6)
  • Features
    4.7 (6)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (6)
Previous
Next
Bandzior

BandziorQueensland, 4169

  • 29 reviews

Keeps its value and not easy to get a second hand

published

Surprisingly the model keeps its high resale value. Probably it is the most expensive in its class. What you get is legendary Toyotas' reliability. The good thing is that parts and maintenance are on the cheaper end.

Purchased in October 2019.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
SMT

SMTAU

  • 13 reviews

Fantastic and reliable car

published

Fantastic and reliable car. Extremely good on petrol, trouble free, easy to park and pleasant to drive in the city. I bought it for my wife and I take it now and then as it's so much fun to drive.

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
TransmissionAutomatic
Marrie

MarrieSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Small and fuel efficient

published

I recently purchased a Toyota Yaris for a few reasons. Fuel efficient, with the rate of fuel prices I think this small car was a smart move. It’s small and easy to park and the stereo sounds great.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CarlaT

CarlaT

  • 4 reviews

Love my little Yaris

published

I bought this car brand new and its still going strong. never had any issues with her and would recommend buying a Yaris to anyone looking for a small car

Purchased in June 2005 for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Faithful servant.Old friend.

published

My philosophy, zero to five years ,buy any brand,they will all be reliable in that time frame,five to ten years the little Yaris starts pushing its nose in front,Ten years on the Yaris is a clear winner,the mechanics of this little car have remained unchanged for years ,for a very good reason.

Purchased in June 2012 for A$7,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Goutham K.

Goutham K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

This car made my life easier

published

I use this car everyday for work, gym, college and weekend trips. Very nice and zippy car easy to park in city streets. No mechanical issues till now and very low maintenance vehicle.

Purchased in April 2017 at Carsales.com.au for A$3,400.00.

TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Alex

AlexAdelaide

  • 8 reviews

Good reliable car. Driving dynamics average

published

We bought this car a few years ago and has served us well. The only disappointment is the poor driving position and handling. The high drivers seat feels quite unnatural

Purchased in September 2017 for A$4,999.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

chloea

chloeaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Amazing little car

published

Purchased in February 2014 for A$10,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nothappy

NothappyQueensland

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Such a great car

published

Such a great car. Never had an issue in the 9 years of having the car. Zippy, easy to park, fits in most spots. Still roomy enough to fit a pram and baby stuff in the back. Baby capsule also. Toyota is very reliable and service centre is very communicative.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2010
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mel B

Mel BAdelaide

  • 8 reviews

Great little car!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
ever.dream

ever.dreamSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 11 likes

Love this car!

published

Such a great reliable car, very affordable as well! Even though there isn’t a lot of space on the back seat, the front seats are so spacious and comfortable.

There are also so many drink holders - I especially love the one right next to the steering wheel for my coffee; and there are three glove boxes, very is very handy!

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
joy

joyMelbourne

I'm glad we are getting rid of it!

published

Our personal experience was terrible!! It was our son's first car and all he had was troubles. It stalled and would start shaking and dying while standing on red lights or similar. Couple times it died in the middle of a busy roundabout and all I could see that one day might end up tragically becasue the car kept dying whenever he would take his foot of the gas. We visited Toyota service numerous times but they kept saying it was nothing. All they did was raising the motor turns so it doesn't keep turning off but still without putting it in neutral it would start shaking and turn off eventually. So, we had some car...very disappointed but happy to say goodbye yaris.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2008
Cat

Cat

  • 6 reviews

2013 Toyota Yaris

published

Really strong for a 1.3L. Great for parking in the city as it is a tiny car. A lot of space for shopping and a shoe wardrobe if you need. Very quiet too. Good legroom if you want to have a nap on a lunch break. Reliable car and really good fuel efficiency.

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2013
Melbourne

MelbourneMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Perfect first car

published

Bought this as my first car to learn manual in and honestly such a good choice, steering is lovely and is a joy to drive, extremely fuel efficient and small size is easy to park. Have had absolutely no issues with the car at all. Although small feels surprisingly roomy inside.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Lilis

LilisSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

This is perfect

published

Excellent small car. Great for travelling. Nice soundsystem. the Yaris was pretty well equipped with standard air-conditioning, an MP-compatible stereo with a CD player, remote central locking, power mirrors and window. the Yaris was pretty well equipped with standard air-conditioning, an MP-compatible stereo with a CD player, remote central locking, power mirrors and window. Overall it is great car.

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2008
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JAY

JAYMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Satisfied customer

published

Satisfied customer, spacious and easy to park. Good mileage so easy on saving. Not a luxury car but first car to start with, helpful in each way. The boot is small but over all a great car for family.Even when driving on a high speed their is no bubbling and its a smooth drive.

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2011
Nams

NamsPerth

  • 5 reviews

Great for city driving

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Pari

PariSydney

  • 4 reviews

Good budget car

published

I love this car. It’s small and cosy. Suitable for a small family. It’s inexpensive side on maintenance, fuel efficiency makes it a cost saver.
I have travelled far with it without issues and have always followed Toyota guidelines making it more reliable even in the long run.
I would recommend it for families who want to save cost and yet enjoy the luxury of a car.
Remember, You won’t have issues in parking!!

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Mark

Marksydney

  • 5 reviews

Cheap and reliable

published

Toyotas are always a good car to buy for their reliability however there are some things to note with the Yaris.

Very light car so it will tend to over accelerate at the start
Seats are very average - no support, just one large piece of foam
Low maintenance costs for sure

BodyHatch
BadgeYRX
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2011
Nelson Tan

Nelson TanAU

  • 3 reviews

Oh what a feeling...

published

What I like about this car:
Overall good car, doesn't feel small on the inside.
Good visibility
Reverse parking camera
Good fuel economy
Easy to park especially in CBD where the parking spaces are scarce and tight.

Dislikes:
Not too much, probably only the small boot space (the hatchback).
But that's to be expected with a small car.
Overall great value!!!

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Page 1 of 4
See all Toyota Yaris reviews

Questions & Answers

InaM

InaMasked

Yaris XP90 Hatch (2005-2011)

Hi I have a 08 Toyota Yaris RS 6 speed manual sometimes when I take off in 1st gear it makes a banging sound took it to a mechanic and he could not find a problem does anyone have any ideas?

No answers
Natalie

Natalieasked

Yaris XP90 Hatch (2005-2011)

Hi. I have a Toyota Yaris YRS 2007 4Door hatchback. The tail lights aren't working..even after changing the bulbs and fuse. When I turn the switch for front and rear lights... headlights are working and indicators and rear top single light is working.. Just the left and right while tail lights.. please help me!!

1 answer
mallymuff
mallymuff

Hi Natalie, Although I'm no expert it sounds like your problem may be electrical. Just another suggestion, if you are a member of the RACV they have a technical department who can give you advice might be worth a try. sorry for your trouble.

eden

edenasked

Yaris XP90 Hatch (2005-2011)

Advice on a 2007 toyota yaris that I am thinking of buying. Kilometers is sitting on 149000, price is $9000. Cars looks in good condition, is this a reasonable price or should I try to negotiate to have price dropped?

5 answers
brian
brian

That is a small car / what you could try is going to other online forums as well

eden
eden

Sory forgot to mention, its a sedan. but thanks, ill look into it

brian
brian

Or you could try comparing prices to other cars similar for sale in magazines or online sites such as gumtree Australia on the internet

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.