4 photos
Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch

Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch (2005-2011)

YR, YRS, YRX
4.4 from 75 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (6)
  • Braking
    4.6 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (8)
  • Handling
    4.4 (8)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (8)
  • Features
    4.5 (8)
Previous
Next
Therese
Therese
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for what it is

published

Purchased in July 2020.

Value for Money
4/5
Incentivised Review No

Wonderful little bus

published

Bought a 2006 4 door hatchback for $2000 a year ago and have been over the moon with how it's been. Reliable, zippy enough to get around without any fuss, fantastic fuel economy regardless of whether it's city or highway driving. Surprisingly spacious for a small car, i have fit bikes in the boot with the seats down. I like the digital dash as well, makes it feel more modern than it is. Initially I bought it as a stop gap but have no intention of selling it any time soon.

Purchased in October 2019 for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Geoff H
Geoff HRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Economical and easy to drive

published

I love this car.For a micro it is roomy and well powered.It has been reliable.Only fault was an oxygen sensor at 110,000 k which made it stop revving when it had run for about 1/2 hr.Easy fix.No other mech probs in 140'000 ks

Purchased in August 2017 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bandzior
BandziorQueensland, 4169
  • 29 reviews
  • 6 likes

Keeps its value and not easy to get a second hand

published

Surprisingly the model keeps its high resale value. Probably it is the most expensive in its class. What you get is legendary Toyotas' reliability. The good thing is that parts and maintenance are on the cheaper end.

Purchased in October 2019.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SMT
SMTAU
  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic and reliable car

published

Fantastic and reliable car. Extremely good on petrol, trouble free, easy to park and pleasant to drive in the city. I bought it for my wife and I take it now and then as it's so much fun to drive.

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Marrie
MarrieSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Small and fuel efficient

published

I recently purchased a Toyota Yaris for a few reasons. Fuel efficient, with the rate of fuel prices I think this small car was a smart move. It’s small and easy to park and the stereo sounds great.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
CarlaT
CarlaT
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love my little Yaris

published

I bought this car brand new and its still going strong. never had any issues with her and would recommend buying a Yaris to anyone looking for a small car

Purchased in June 2005 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Faithful servant.Old friend.

published

My philosophy, zero to five years ,buy any brand,they will all be reliable in that time frame,five to ten years the little Yaris starts pushing its nose in front,Ten years on the Yaris is a clear winner,the mechanics of this little car have remained unchanged for years ,for a very good reason.

Purchased in June 2012 for $7,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Goutham K.
Goutham K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

This car made my life easier

published

I use this car everyday for work, gym, college and weekend trips. Very nice and zippy car easy to park in city streets. No mechanical issues till now and very low maintenance vehicle.

Purchased in April 2017 at Carsales.com.au for $3,400.00.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionManual
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alex
AlexAdelaide
  • 8 reviews

Good reliable car. Driving dynamics average

published

We bought this car a few years ago and has served us well. The only disappointment is the poor driving position and handling. The high drivers seat feels quite unnatural

Purchased in September 2017 for $4,999.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

chloea
chloeaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Amazing little car

published

Purchased in February 2014 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Nothappy
NothappyQueensland
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Such a great car

published

Such a great car. Never had an issue in the 9 years of having the car. Zippy, easy to park, fits in most spots. Still roomy enough to fit a pram and baby stuff in the back. Baby capsule also. Toyota is very reliable and service centre is very communicative.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2010
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mel B
Mel BAdelaide
  • 8 reviews

Great little car!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
ever.dream
ever.dreamSydney, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 20 likes

Love this car!

published

Such a great reliable car, very affordable as well! Even though there isn’t a lot of space on the back seat, the front seats are so spacious and comfortable.

There are also so many drink holders - I especially love the one right next to the steering wheel for my coffee; and there are three glove boxes, very is very handy!

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
joy
joyMelbourne

I'm glad we are getting rid of it!

published

Our personal experience was terrible!! It was our son's first car and all he had was troubles. It stalled and would start shaking and dying while standing on red lights or similar. Couple times it died in the middle of a busy roundabout and all I could see that one day might end up tragically becasue the car kept dying whenever he would take his foot of the gas. We visited Toyota service numerous times but they kept saying it was nothing. All they did was raising the motor turns so it doesn't keep turning off but still without putting it in neutral it would start shaking and turn off eventually. So, we had some car...very disappointed but happy to say goodbye yaris.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2008
See all Toyota Yaris reviews

Questions & Answers

InaM
InaMasked
Yaris XP90 Hatch (2005-2011)

Hi I have a 08 Toyota Yaris RS 6 speed manual sometimes when I take off in 1st gear it makes a banging sound took it to a mechanic and he could not find a problem does anyone have any ideas?

No answers
Natalie
Natalieasked
Yaris XP90 Hatch (2005-2011)

Hi. I have a Toyota Yaris YRS 2007 4Door hatchback. The tail lights aren't working..even after changing the bulbs and fuse. When I turn the switch for front and rear lights... headlights are working and indicators and rear top single light is working.. Just the left and right while tail lights.. please help me!!

1 answer
mallymuff
mallymuff

Hi Natalie, Although I'm no expert it sounds like your problem may be electrical. Just another suggestion, if you are a member of the RACV they have a technical department who can give you advice might be worth a try. sorry for your trouble.

eden
edenasked
Yaris XP90 Hatch (2005-2011)

Advice on a 2007 toyota yaris that I am thinking of buying. Kilometers is sitting on 149000, price is $9000. Cars looks in good condition, is this a reasonable price or should I try to negotiate to have price dropped?

5 answers
brian
brian

That is a small car / what you could try is going to other online forums as well

eden
eden

Sory forgot to mention, its a sedan. but thanks, ill look into it

brian
brian

Or you could try comparing prices to other cars similar for sale in magazines or online sites such as gumtree Australia on the internet

See all Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch (2005-2011) questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch (2005-2011)

Details

Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Release dateOct 2005Oct 2005Oct 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 2011Dec 2011Dec 2011
Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.