4 photos
Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch YR

Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch YR (2005-2011)

4.7 from 25 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

4.7
25 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (2)
  • Braking
    4.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (2)
  • Handling
    4.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (2)
  • Features
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Wonderful little bus

published

Bought a 2006 4 door hatchback for $2000 a year ago and have been over the moon with how it's been. Reliable, zippy enough to get around without any fuss, fantastic fuel economy regardless of whether it's city or highway driving. Surprisingly spacious for a small car, i have fit bikes in the boot with the seats down. I like the digital dash as well, makes it feel more modern than it is. Initially I bought it as a stop gap but have no intention of selling it any time soon.

Purchased in October 2019 for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bandzior
BandziorQueensland, 4169
  • 29 reviews
  • 6 likes

Keeps its value and not easy to get a second hand

published

Surprisingly the model keeps its high resale value. Probably it is the most expensive in its class. What you get is legendary Toyotas' reliability. The good thing is that parts and maintenance are on the cheaper end.

Purchased in October 2019.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
SMT
SMTAU
  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic and reliable car

published

Fantastic and reliable car. Extremely good on petrol, trouble free, easy to park and pleasant to drive in the city. I bought it for my wife and I take it now and then as it's so much fun to drive.

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
chloea
chloeaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Amazing little car

published

Purchased in February 2014 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch YR compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nothappy
NothappyQueensland
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Such a great car

published

Such a great car. Never had an issue in the 9 years of having the car. Zippy, easy to park, fits in most spots. Still roomy enough to fit a pram and baby stuff in the back. Baby capsule also. Toyota is very reliable and service centre is very communicative.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2010
Mel B
Mel BAdelaide
  • 8 reviews

Great little car!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
ever.dream
ever.dreamSydney, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 20 likes

Love this car!

published

Such a great reliable car, very affordable as well! Even though there isn’t a lot of space on the back seat, the front seats are so spacious and comfortable.

There are also so many drink holders - I especially love the one right next to the steering wheel for my coffee; and there are three glove boxes, very is very handy!

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
joy
joyMelbourne

I'm glad we are getting rid of it!

published

Our personal experience was terrible!! It was our son's first car and all he had was troubles. It stalled and would start shaking and dying while standing on red lights or similar. Couple times it died in the middle of a busy roundabout and all I could see that one day might end up tragically becasue the car kept dying whenever he would take his foot of the gas. We visited Toyota service numerous times but they kept saying it was nothing. All they did was raising the motor turns so it doesn't keep turning off but still without putting it in neutral it would start shaking and turn off eventually. So, we had some car...very disappointed but happy to say goodbye yaris.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2008

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Melbourne
MelbourneMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect first car

published

Bought this as my first car to learn manual in and honestly such a good choice, steering is lovely and is a joy to drive, extremely fuel efficient and small size is easy to park. Have had absolutely no issues with the car at all. Although small feels surprisingly roomy inside.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch YR compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nams
NamsPerth
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great for city driving

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Nelson Tan
Nelson TanAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Oh what a feeling...

published

What I like about this car:
Overall good car, doesn't feel small on the inside.
Good visibility
Reverse parking camera
Good fuel economy
Easy to park especially in CBD where the parking spaces are scarce and tight.

Dislikes:
Not too much, probably only the small boot space (the hatchback).
But that's to be expected with a small car.
Overall great value!!!

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Eternity Seeker
Eternity SeekerAU
  • 15 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great functional car

published

This has been a great little car. Very economical to drive averaging about 6L per 100 klm when using 95 Octane petrol. Performance is also better using this type of petrol. Surprisingly it's quite roomy inside and back seat fits even my son easily - he's over 6 foot. Mechanically it has been a very sound car and would happily recommend it.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2010
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch YR compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RYAN
RYANAU
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cost-saving car

published

Toyota Yaris hatch is easy to drive and park ,and also save money. The downside for Yaris ,of course is the power. It is very hard during climbing. It is very comfortable for driving 1-2 hours.The 1.3-litre Ascent feels lively off the mark even in auto form and does the job around town, but needs a determined right foot at highway speeds and particularly on hilly routes in the country.

BodySedan
BadgeRush
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015

Perfect small car

published

I bought this car last month and I can't live without this lovely car. Even though it's a 1.3 Liter engine, it's enough for daily use and I drive it 40 kilometers per day. Car space is enough for daily shopping and even for moving. I use this car for commute and picking up my girlfriend.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
LukeCollins
LukeCollinsMelbourne
  • 18 reviews
  • 30 likes

Fantastic car!

published

Super reliable, comfortable, plenty of room for the size of the car. It also has great visibility and good fuel economy. Feels like it will go forever. Auto changes smoothly and it does everything asked of it. Will be looking at a new yaris in 3 years. Overall no complaints with this car! Also note its done 150k. Well built car

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
See all Toyota Yaris reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch YR (2005-2011) but you can read 26 questions about Toyota Yaris.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Yaris XP90 Hatch YR (2005-2011)

Details

Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris
CategoryCars and Hatchbacks
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Release dateOct 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 2011
Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.