16 photos
Toyota Yaris

Toyota Yaris (page 2 of 8)

XP90 Hatch, XP90 Sedan, XP130 Hatch
4.3 from 185 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (23)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (23)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (22)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (20)
  • Braking
    4.8 (22)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (22)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (18)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (21)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (23)
  • Handling
    4.4 (22)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (22)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (23)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (22)
  • Features
    4.6 (22)
Previous
Next
Rebs
RebsCanberra
  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Toyota Yaris SR 2018 1.5

published

good sporty ride
single wiper cleans screen better than the normal 2 wiper combo
has good power range
well matched 4 speed auto
good finish all over
3 year service special with Toyota makes it one of the cheaper makes to run
good fuel economy
sound system and sat nav are of good quality
not badly priced

Purchased in February 2019 at Toyota Dealers for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Chelle_C
Chelle_CHunter Region, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Daughter enjoys her Yaris.

published

My daughter loves her Yaris, purchased from a dealer in January 2019 it has everything plus some. Auto headlights, blue tooth, USB ports, cruise control, great fuel economy, reversing camera, plus 7 air bags. Everything we could want in a small car that makes a mum not worry.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Mrs K
Mrs KSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

My favorite car !

published

Purchased in February 2015 for $24,500.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

chloea
chloeaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Amazing little car

published

Purchased in February 2014 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Cars

Find out how Toyota Yaris compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
StevenL
StevenLGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 14 reviews
  • 6 likes

Clever Little Car-Perfect for suburb runs

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2019
Nothappy
NothappyQueensland
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Such a great car

published

Such a great car. Never had an issue in the 9 years of having the car. Zippy, easy to park, fits in most spots. Still roomy enough to fit a pram and baby stuff in the back. Baby capsule also. Toyota is very reliable and service centre is very communicative.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2010
Marty G
Marty GSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Great little car

published

Just purchased one for my mum brand new from the dealer. Great little car. Cheap to maintain and drives on the smell of an oily rag.
The car is comfortable and comes with all the latest bells and whistles.
I certainly would recommend the Yaris for an everyday car for anybody young or old.

BodySedan
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Mel B
Mel BAdelaide
  • 8 reviews

Great little car!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Boris
BorisRobina
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Car only a few wishes

published

The Yaris IS a great car. Reliable, reasonably priced, low mileage, etc. The only issues are:
: Why did they not stay with digital speedo. So difficult to see 50 KPH in the 50 KPH speed areas.
: The 1.3 auto is a bit gutless. Wish I had stayed with the manual. This is my issue and should not really reflect on the car as it still get around OK. But nice to have a bit more power when you need it.

BodySedan
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Cars

Find out how Toyota Yaris compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sydney_mon
Sydney_monSydney
  • 7 reviews

Great car and great value for money

published

I just recently purchased my new Toyota Yaris (silver pearl) and was very pleased with the experience. I highly recommend Kieran from Toyota Lander Blacktown.

The car runs smooth and although small, it’s very spacious inside and packs good power. Definitely a god buy and can be used in short or long drives.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Jazz
Jazz
  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good small car

published

I bought a new one on Dec 2011 and drove it everyday for commuting and every needs. I had 3 minor accident but the car was perfect and never troubled me. I serviced it regularly and never had to do any extra service. Fuel consumption was 7-8 Litre/100kg which was a bit higher than the manufacturer's claim

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2011
Rosie
RosieSydney
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Really nice car, just needs a bigger engine!

published

I use my car pretty regularly! I don't drive to work, but I'm using it most nights to get to all my after work activities and lots of weekend driving including fairly often hour+ drives using motorways etc.
It's just me that uses the car so I don't often have passengers, but I do often fill it with sporting equipment, my swag, luggage and the like.
I find that it runs really nicely, but when I have a couple of passengers, heavy luggage or a motorway to drive up-hill on then I feel the lag and notice the smaller engine (I previously had a 1.5 Prius engine).
I got the extra protective coating to help fight against bat/bird droppings and I love that too!

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Cars

Find out how Toyota Yaris compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Julien0398
Julien0398
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

It has saved me so much time

published

I drive my car everywhere, to university, work and other events practically almost everyday. I service my car every 6-9 months and there has never been an issue with it. In a place like Sydney, parking can be a nightmare. This car has saved me so many times from walking far distances from my destination because it can fit into smaller spaces that other cars could not get into. It is extremely reliable in every sense and has never given me any issues. Great features and everything you need in a car.

One downside may be the boot space, but its only slightly inconvenient when I have bulky items which is rare.

BodyHatch
BadgeZR
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
ever.dream
ever.dreamSydney, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 20 likes

Love this car!

published

Such a great reliable car, very affordable as well! Even though there isn’t a lot of space on the back seat, the front seats are so spacious and comfortable.

There are also so many drink holders - I especially love the one right next to the steering wheel for my coffee; and there are three glove boxes, very is very handy!

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
joy
joyMelbourne

I'm glad we are getting rid of it!

published

Our personal experience was terrible!! It was our son's first car and all he had was troubles. It stalled and would start shaking and dying while standing on red lights or similar. Couple times it died in the middle of a busy roundabout and all I could see that one day might end up tragically becasue the car kept dying whenever he would take his foot of the gas. We visited Toyota service numerous times but they kept saying it was nothing. All they did was raising the motor turns so it doesn't keep turning off but still without putting it in neutral it would start shaking and turn off eventually. So, we had some car...very disappointed but happy to say goodbye yaris.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2008
Reddog
ReddogTwin Waters
  • 3 reviews

Toyota Yaris

published

I am concerned about my Toyota Yaris..I heard the airbags are faulty.The car is about 3 years old..
I'm glad I bought the Yaris,it's so easy to park and to do a u turn..It's easy on petrol too.
Plenty of room in the interior,great to go camping in if your on your own...

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Nicky
NickyBrisbane
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great little car

published

I purchased this little car 4 years ago and I am still loving it. It has given me no issues so far and runs really well. It is a great car for inner city living and zipping around the city. I would recommend this car to anyone looking for something economical and small.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Paula
PaulaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Tiny reliable car

published

The Yaris performs very well. Never had a problem with it since purchasing in 2015. No noise and hassle. It has a reverse camera which is very useful. The tiny body makes it very comfortable to drive in narrow roads. It is very fuel efficient and reliable even on long drives. Toyota really delivers!

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Cat
Cat
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

2013 Toyota Yaris

published

Really strong for a 1.3L. Great for parking in the city as it is a tiny car. A lot of space for shopping and a shoe wardrobe if you need. Very quiet too. Good legroom if you want to have a nap on a lunch break. Reliable car and really good fuel efficiency.

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2013
lizy
lizySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this car. So glad i upgraded

published

This is an excellent car, cheap to run,very quiet motor, love the interior, handles just perfectly, performance is just as it should be, plenty of leg room, great interior colours on the seats, gps is a godsend, and had rhe wi dows tinted for cooler incside during the hot queensland summers.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size$14,000
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Melbourne
MelbourneMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect first car

published

Bought this as my first car to learn manual in and honestly such a good choice, steering is lovely and is a joy to drive, extremely fuel efficient and small size is easy to park. Have had absolutely no issues with the car at all. Although small feels surprisingly roomy inside.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Chris P
Chris PMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 22 reviews
  • 10 likes

Well Marketed

published

Well designed and marketed vehicle. Small, short, wide wheel based. Handles like a go cart. Three gears auto gutsy small city car. Steers boldly with great torque for engine size. Spacey and comfortable. Economical and cheap to run. Really a two seater. Sporty ride and pulls up sweet. OK on highway for a small car. Almost a mini cruiser. Good vision all round. More fun than my Mazda 2 Sedan and just as zippy. Good boot for size and comfy seats. Not the safest car because of its size - good value for money - mini bodge box

BodySedan
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Kathleen
KathleenMelbourne
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can't live without my car

published

I have a 2016 Toyota Yaris and I can't brag enough about it. It's the perfect size for myself and the bluetooth system works flawlessly to connect my music and phone calls. The price I paid of $17000 was very reasonable for a brand new car and fuel economy is great, getting about 500km on a $40 full tank.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Lilis
LilisSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

This is perfect

published

Excellent small car. Great for travelling. Nice soundsystem. the Yaris was pretty well equipped with standard air-conditioning, an MP-compatible stereo with a CD player, remote central locking, power mirrors and window. the Yaris was pretty well equipped with standard air-conditioning, an MP-compatible stereo with a CD player, remote central locking, power mirrors and window. Overall it is great car.

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2008
OT111
OT111Sydney

Some things to consider before buying

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Page 2 of 8

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.