16 photos
Toyota Yaris
4.3 from 185 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (2)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    1.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (1)
  • Handling
    3.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Lisa S.
Lisa S.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Paint started peeling

published

Car used for commuting to work. Mainly parked under cover.
Car used approx 5 days per week
Serviced as per schedule
No mechanical issues
Issue with paint peeling at approx 6 years old. Peeling all along bottom of back window and spots of peeling paint on roof and bonnet. It is the clear coat that is peeling. Can see this has occurred with many yaris cars by looking at other complaints online.

Purchased in March 2014 at Toyota Dealers for $18,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Sarah
SarahGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Looks lovely, is roomy, but to drive it is awful

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $15,990.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5

clutch

published

one serious problem, stalls at traffic lights,intersections. had it for 5+ months, accelerator has to be engaged strongly to make sure that it doesn't stall so if taking off at a T intersection have to turn very wide can be dangerous in some circumstances has stalled half way across an intersection they tell me it cant be adjusted my opinion vehicle needs to be recalled.

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
rearrange
rearrangeAU
  • 28 reviews
  • 36 likes

OK until you need to change a gear

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
TransmissionManual
Cars

Find out how Toyota Yaris compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
gordonc
gordoncCooroy, Queensland

Yes great car but...... Shame on you Toyota

published
Engine Size1.5
BodyHatch
Greg D
Greg D

What a stupid comment. 178,000kms and a part need replacing - what do you expect?
Probably was never serviced either.

Pawa
Pawa

Agreed with Greg D

Kymbolie
Kymbolie

I agree with you Gordonc, parts like this will be more required now that 2006 model is reaching this kilometerage.

lizziegordon
lizziegordonACT, 2614
  • 88 reviews
  • 14 likes

Bad

published

Lots of people here seem to love this car, so maybe I just had a bad experience, but I found the Yaris aweful to drive. We were pretty much sold on getting this car until we actually drove it and felt sick afterwards. Maybe this was because we're quite tall, so the angle of the windscreen seemed to distort things. This was the same both as a passenger and the driver. I've never had this trouble in any other car.

Just be careful with the poor rear visability - you won't be able to see littlies if they're behind the car.
Price & inclusions (mirrors, headrests, full lap-sash seatbelts in the back etc.)
Feels cheap, annoying dashboard placement, poor rear visability

BodySedan
ibidonstuff
ibidonstuffsdfe, 3455, British Virgin Islands
  • 84 reviews
  • 18 likes

Bad

published

The car i drove had a lot of noise come through the cabin, so that is something that needs to be worked on. Its also rather cramped on the inside (the seats feel too small even for an average sized person like myself). Considering it has a 1.5L engine i was suprised at how bad the fuel economy was even on the long country drive i took. The cabin is dull, boring and counterintuitive. THe mid dash speedo is just wrong and could lead to many crashes.

Go for the far better alternatives like the Ford Fiesta, Mazda 2 or Citroen C2, among others.
I cant really think of any to be honest.
It costs more than cars that it competes agaisnt in the same market bracket. It looks very odd and quite ugly especially from the front / side views.

BodySedan

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
snapback
snapback
  • 47 reviews
  • 24 likes

Bad

published

We have two new Yaris's at work. It is impossible to drive either of them at a constant speed - both of them either accelerate or decellerate, there is no balance point where you can maintain a constant speed. The steering is vague, and I wouldn't want to be in an accident in one - there's very little to protect you. I can't understand why anyone would buy one of these voluntarily.
Quiet, reasonably comfortable, fuel efficient.
Under-powered engine in auto transmission is almost dangerous. Sound system is dreadful.

BodyHatch

Questions & Answers

Shazz
Shazz asked
Yaris

Hi,
I have bought a 2018 Yaris and when I attach my iPhone through the Bluetooth I can’t hear phone ring or anyone talking.
I have been in settings and volume is on.
Has anyone else had this problem
Thanks

No answers
Joanna Kingston
Joanna Kingstonasked
Yaris

Looking at a new Yaris, 2019 onwards , do any of the models come standard with the Toyota Safety Sense pack or do you have to add it on?

3 answers
Bandzior
Bandzior

Hi you could ask it dealer not product review.

Joanna Kingston
Joanna Kingston

Thanks, real helpful.

pollygoh2002
pollygoh2002

Generally speaking Yaris is a great car. I have never owned 2019 model onwards, so can't comment here.

Brian m
Brian masked
Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

Thinking of purchasing 2014 with 115076 ks what is the opion on this

1 answer
Sarah J.
Sarah J.

I'm not sure Bout later models. That's a few kms on it. Depends how much it is. Mine is 2018 and it's been very good so far I'm at 10,000kms and have had no issues

See all Toyota Yaris questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Yaris

Details

Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $18,690$21,490$26,190
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Steel15" Steel15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L42 L42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.3L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power62kW @ 6000rpm80kW @ 6000rpm80kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque120Nm @ 4600rpm141Nm @ 4400rpm141Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapan
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateOct 2011Oct 2011Oct 2011Oct 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 2011
Compare all 11 Toyota Yaris
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.