??!
1 photo
TP-Link Archer VR1600v

TP-Link Archer VR1600v (page 2 of 3)

3.4 from 45 reviews

Reviews

3.4

45 reviews
5
(15)
4
(8)
3
(7)
2
(8)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (30)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (27)
  • Number of Connected Devices 5.778 devices (27)
  • Ease of Setup
    4.2 (28)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    3.5 (29)
  • Reliability
    3.2 (27)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Rod L.

Rod L.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Best I've had.

published

This came with Internode linkup. Happy with them, reliable speeds. Have noticed much improved wireless distance performance with 5Ghz, enabling much better speeds. Told it's the AC ability. ZTE H268A (wwith Exetel (:( ) unreliable, didn't cut it at all with doors closed on 5GHz. Archer doesn't blink. Other functions appear standard. Seen better interfaces. But I am quite pleased overall.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPInternode NBN
ModemTP-Link Archer VR1600v
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
1 comment
Rod L.
Rod L.
James

JamesGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Adequate included modem for basic NBN use

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPiiNet NBN 50
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
  • Verified purchase

It is a good modem for Wifi and telephone connection, but mine is harder to get working on my deskstop computer.

published

Everytime I turn my computer on there is a high chance that the internet won't be working. My solution is I unplug it for 10 or more seconds then try to see if the internet is working. Unfortunately I might have to keep unpluging and repluging in the modem several times, usually 1-3 times though.

September 25th 2019 Update: Its a good Device when its working. Although Sometimes I turn my computer on I have no internet connection.

It works well for WIFI and PHONE, Unfortunately I have to unplug and plug it back in for my desktop though. this may be once or more. Still once its working its working.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPiiNet Fixed Wireless NBN 25
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Routers

Find out how TP-Link Archer VR1600v compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

WiFi not up to speed

published

This modem came with the 50nbn plan (70/month for 42 mbps). Works fine when wired with the ethernet cable (up to 46mbps) but falls to 5 - 16 on wifi.( Have done numerous netspeed tests to verify this.)
Is supposed to support 3-6 devices at amazing speeds.
It does not do this. My neighbour has the same deal and problem and after a lot of mucking around with TPG and techs and another modem bought an amplifier for $220 to solve the wifi coverage problem.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Cavitation

CavitationSydney, NSW

  • 44 reviews
  • 38 likes

Adequate modem router but with quality control issues

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 12 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 50
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Mike B

Mike BAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Meh to crap

published

I signed up to TPG on the NBN with HFC. The first one I got kept dropping signal at random times and was replaced. The second one has been better, but is very basic. The functionality of the router in terms of parental controls is useless, overly complicated and/or doesn't work. At least I can set the primary and secondary DNS to OpenDNS to prevent the kids inadvertently accessing dodgy sites and porn.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 10 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Wetwork65

Wetwork65Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 28 reviews
  • 21 likes
  • Verified purchase

Works well, needs more configuration

published

This was part of the TPG package I signed up for. It does what it needs to do. Can connect external hard drive, can shut down wireless to a schedule, which is handy to shut off kids at night.
Cannot adjust DNS amongst other things fixed by TPG and can't properly monitor incoming network speed.
Wireless coverage is good throughout house.

Purchased in April 2019 at TPG.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 10 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 100
ModemNBN supplied NCD
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mellisa G

Mellisa GSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Very happy with this modem

published

I got this modem from TPG when I upgraded my connection to Nbn, and I am super happy with the sprreds that we now get. We have 4 devices connected via wifi and can now simultaneously online game on one device while streaming video on another device with no lag or pixelation etc. My only complaint is that there is no power button so I need to unplug/plug in unit to reboot unit, though I am pleased to say that I have not needed to reboot the modem since it was installed a few weeks ago.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 100
ModemTP-Link Archer VR1600v
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
gri2a

gri2aSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Router

published

I live in an area where NBN is rolling out HFC (Hybrid Fibre Coax) so the actual modem is NBN's Arris Cable Modem. The Cable modem then connects to the VR1600 via the WAN port. I cant therefore comment on the VDSL capabilities. The router component though, is great. VOIP is extremely clear, 2.4 WIFI is still a very strong signal at 50+metres. The 5 WIFI copes well with large hi definition movies cast from my PC to TV and/or Chromecast.
Overall, buffering and slow speeds are a thing of the past

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 50
ModemTP-Link Archer VR1600v
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Routers

Find out how TP-Link Archer VR1600v compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
frozenfocus

frozenfocus

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great coverage, reliable connection

published

This router has been solid on the NBN. The interface is straightforward, the connection has been stable and fast across all our devices, and it provides good wifi coverage throughout the house.

Purchased in May 2019.

Michael Tran

Michael TranSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Good Reliable Modem - Easy To Configure

published

Pros:
Easy to configure
Wireless Range is excellent
GUI is friendly and has excellent antennae reception
Good Processor

Cons:
Needs to reboot a few times to get into the correct mode.
Difficult to setup the Advanced features such as VPN

Purchased in January 2019 for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 5 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN 100
ModemTP-Link Archer VR1600v
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

MeV

MeVPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

So far so good

published

I haven't had any issues with this since connecting to the nbn in January this year. I wouldn't say I have noticed any increase in speed from my old connection, but I don't think I can hold that against the hardware. Only one drop out so far. Easy to follow instructions. Would recommend.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Maryann

MaryannSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Problems with storms

published

Have TPG NBN, and in the past 12 months they have replaced 2 of these VR1600v modems under warranty, and the 3rd one stopped working yesterday. It seems that every time we get a storm the modem gets fried and stops working. The first two times it was the VOiP only, but this 3rd times its the whole modem ... all the lights have gone out. Given that we previously had a Telstra modem for over 5 years without issue, I think that the Archer is just susceptible to lightning. Going to try some other brand.

Purchased in March 2018.

Giovanni

GiovanniSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Poor performance

published

I agree with the other review from Ivan69, this is a poor router for 2019. The wi-fi capabilities are very basic, nothing special. The very bad feature is the USB external storage; not only the file systems the router can handle are limited (it doesn't handle OSX FSs) but the maximum writing speed is extremely low. E.g: to copy a 500Mb file over wi-fi to the external USB you're looking at over 10 minutes. Not acceptable.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ivan69

Ivan69Acton 2601, ACT

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Overheating with both 2.4 and 5GHz Wi-Fi turned on

published

Purchased through TPG as part of a contract deal. It came with TPG-tailored firmware which made many option cut-off or invisible, like VOiP settings, so it is impossible to use the second VoIP port with the TPG firmware. Also the TPG firmware done so, that it resets many settings at midnight to the TPG defaults, like turning off Wi-FI works only until midnight, when it turns on again, as it was never switched off. On top of these annoyances, turning both 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands of WiFi causes overheating and hanging of the device when the room temperature is above 25 degrees of Celsius.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Routers

Find out how TP-Link Archer VR1600v compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Murali

MuraliBrisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great little modem with 5G

published

Got it from TPG (fiber to the basement). Good coverage with 5G speed included. very good reach we have two floors house and no problem in getting internet. We usually switch off our modem during night times and when switch it on during in the day time the start up speed is always good and connects quickly to the internet. one last things the setup is very easy as well.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Great product - easy set-up

published

Gives good wifi coverage in our large sized house. Great set-up, especially given NBN is tricky to get going. Serves 7 connected devices at anytime. No dropouts, however the speed does drop as you get further away from the router, however this is expected. It does get hot if used for a long tome (20 + hours)

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Karen Donnelly

Karen DonnellyQueensland, Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great Modem Router

published

Very easy to set up and use. Very rarely get dropouts. Serves 4 computers/iPads at anytime and copes well. We also use it for Netflix and it's fine. Once you type the password into each device, they reconnect automatically. It does get hot if used for 12 hours+ so we turn it off at night to cool it down.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Mazzi

MazziCroydon

  • 2 reviews

Good medium modem/router

published

This tp-link router/modem has been pretty good.
Gives good wifi coverage in our medium sized house. The speed does drop as you get further away from the router, but that is to be expected.
Has AC1600 dual band wifi, gigabit LAN and WAN ports.
Also supports VoIP.
Pretty easy to setup. I've had no trouble, been using it on NBN FTT.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Athulya Andrews

Athulya Andrewsmelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Network speed not satisfactory

published

I purchased this router when we switched to NBN connection as we moved home. I must say this did not perform up to my expectations. Often we notice the network is gone completely as takes a while to restore. Have let the ISP know and yet to find out if the issue is with router or network. Setting up was quite easy but we restart it atleast once a week

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Page 2 of 3
See all TP-Link Archer VR1600v reviews

Questions & Answers

Kirra J.

Kirra J.asked

I need a replacement Archer VR1600v modem but TPG are going to take a couple of weeks to deliver it. Are there interchangeable modems that run TBG NBN that I can buy from a physical store to get one sooner?

3 answers
Neil
Neil

You can buy lots of different Modems from any store selling such stuff. Will be better too. The vr1600 is a pretty cheap modem

Kirra J.
Kirra J.

Thanks Neil.

Aussie
Aussie

Most of the time you will get the router in a few days , They say that to cover their butt. And worth the wait as it is plug and play so easy to setup in 2 minutes.

Londy

Londyasked

I want to run google nest wifi - but it has its own router (which must be used) how do I disable the router function - but still allow the modem capability to work ?
Thanks

2 answers
Neil
Neil

you can just login into the TP-link at 192.168.1.1. click on Wireless and disable both the 2.4GHz and 5ghz. Or you can just leave on - then you will have two wifi netwrods - the TP link and the google - but that sometimes might cause interference. I would suggest setting up the google. leave for a day or two to make sure all ok and then disable.

Londy
Londy

ok thanks - I will give that a go

Lin M.

Lin M.asked

what is the default username and password to access this modum

2 answers
Neil
Neil

admin admin

Carol Susanne
Carol Susanne

It is on the sticker on bottom of modem

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.