??!

Reviews

4.2

2,540 reviews
5
(1,684)
4
(423)
3
(53)
2
(78)
1
(302)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (74)
  • Transparency
    3.0 (65)
  • Customer Service
    2.7 (76)
Previous
Next
M J B

M J BSouth East Queensland, QLD

No credit on insurance for cancelled holiday

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAfrica
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Ridiculous

published

My flight was cancelled due to Covid-19.
I requested a refund from TID on 19/03/2020 due to not using or requiring their insurance
They said wait 5 business days
I have now waited 31 days
They apparently do not care
I would definitely not recommend them

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct
Nat Russell

Nat Russell

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible Service

published

This is the second policy I’ve bought with TID. Fortunately I never needed to claim on my first one, as it is very easy to sign up and give your money but from the multiple negative reviews on Facebook very difficult to claim or in fact even get any customer service.

This second policy I purchased has needed to be cancelled due to COVID and promises of sent forms and return phone calls has not happened and I’ve been chasing them up for a month with no help.

I have used other travel insurance companies in the past and will definitely be going back to them when I do travel and not using TID.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct
Travel Insurance

Find out how TID Travel Insurance Direct compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Darren

DarrenBrisbane

  • 9 reviews
  • 21 likes

Will not cover cancellation if country travel status changes

published

They are proud to admit they void their own policy if the country you are travelling to becomes a "do not travel", using the coronavirus pandemic as a scapegoar saying all reasons for canceling should be forseeable because of it. Absolute joke, avoid these thieves

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct
Jha

Jha

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great service. Great staff.

published

Easy to purchase, great value and it is sooo worth, especially travelling with young kids. Was so worry about the claims and expenses but TID made my travel trip without hassle.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct

This is awesome to hear! We appreciate the feedback :)

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Genevieve M

Genevieve MSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Always great service

published

I can't recommend TID enough, and while in previous years I would buy single policies for when I went on holidays, over the last few years I have been buying an Annual Multi Trip Policy as I am travelling fairly regularly for work, and it just makes life a lot easier not having to worry about Travel Insurance. I've had reason to claim twice through TID, once against a single policy then this year against my Annual policy, and in both cases the staff were very helpful and professional, gave me good information and the claims were settled with me in full. I'm very happy with them, and will definitely stick with them!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia, East Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and New Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical and Other
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct

Hi Genevieve. Thanks for the amazing review!

Travel Direct offered the insurance I needed when I needed it.

published

Extremely good value. Great service and for a low cost product they did everything to help me when I needed it. I have had travel insurance for decades highly recommend them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct

Thank you, Lin. This is great to hear!

Danielle

DanielleGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to claim on cancelled overseas trip

published

Purchased my policy well before Corona Virus.
Cancelled our holiday to China once Smart Traveller announces do not travel. Unfortunately Inspiring Vacations would not refund all of our holiday. But our insurance policy cover the cancellation fees. TID paid out our policy so quickly unlike Inspiring Vacations, we are still to receive our refund

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct
blacklisted

blacklistedSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Do I even have to give a star?!?!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct
Travel Insurance

Find out how TID Travel Insurance Direct compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sandy

SandySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst travel company to seek any claim

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct
Francisco

Franciscobondi

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Don’t waste your money, TID do not accept claims

published

As you can see mostly one star here and on Google review, they do not accept any claim. They refuse always with an excuse to do not have responsibility or do not cover what you claim.

DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateFebruary 2013
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct
Cisco

CiscoSydney, NSW

  • 60 reviews
  • 24 likes

Have been waiting for over a month and still no decision

published

This is my second review in 5 years and sadly, they have gone downhill since. I have been waiting for a decision since my claim over 40 days ago (assured a decision within 10). I've only seen 2 responses from my assessing officer, both to provide additional documents, which I did immediately. Asked for a couple of follow-ups...no response. Don't waste your time and money.

They are good at taking your money with their quick and easy application process but once they do, it seems they stop caring.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
3 comments
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct
Cisco
Cisco

Thanks Brenden. All sorted now and awaiting settlement, albeit taking much longer than I expected

TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct

Great to hear and I'm sorry the process took longer than expected. I've also sent you a reply in our private message conversation.

D Crowley

D CrowleyCentral Queensland, QLD

Don’t waste your money and time

published

Lodged a claim over a year ago and sent the forms numerous times to numerous (a different one every time) customer service people. TID just make things difficult!!! Contacted ombudsman and TID just phoned me so maybe it’ll get sorted - all for $190! (Way less than the policy cost) I would’ve been better off not having insurance, but needless to say, I sure with another company now...

DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
2 comments
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct

Hi there, sorry to hear of your disappointment with TID. I'll send you a separate private message so I can get a few details to investigate this further for you!
Brenden - Customer Experience

D Crowley
D Crowley

Funny enough... it’s being sorted as we speak!!! Well well well!!!

Extremely slow processing a simple claim

published

I lodged a claim a month ago and have received just one email asking for more information which I responded to immediately with the required information. Half of the information TID was asking for in the email has already been included in my claim. I think it was just an excuse for them to prolong a decision on my claim.

I DEFINITELY won't be using TID ever again. Covermore is apparently really good which I wish I had known beforehand.

Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct
redsax19

redsax19Sydney Surrounds, NSW

POOR CLAIMS SERVICE

published

Made a claim in early January and was assured that the claim would be completed within 10 business days. Over 10 business days and still waiting. I will give them credit, their Emergency assistance team was extremely helpful and reassuring.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct
Travel Insurance

Find out how TID Travel Insurance Direct compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Contacting TID difficult

published

I have called TID on the 26th to talk to them about a second claim and could not get through, so I used their call back service and still haven't been contacted by customer service team 2 days later

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Di B.

Di B.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

13 policies 1 claim - no payment!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct
C.HARBERS

C.HARBERSSouth East Queensland, QLD

Submitted My Claim, Nov 5 2019, Its Nov21 Now And Have Not Heard From Them

published

Submitted my claim, Nov 5 2019, its Nov21 now and have not heard from them.
ITS my first claim been using them for long time
claiming for airline ticket
medical expenses
food
accommodation
had chickenpox
called 2 days ago they said someone will call me back, but no one called, called again today could not give me time frame, I could be waiting forever.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
C.HARBERS
C.HARBERS

date check
January 2,2020
claim still pending

S Golf

S Golf

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great unless you need to claim

published

Lodged a claim for medical bills I occured in the USA over a month ago. The claims process takes too long as every time they require something further and you privide it, the 10 business day processing period starts again. Was emailed asking for details I'd already provided and so the 10 business days starts again. Have used other providers in the past and never had a claim take more than two weeks. Terrible claims process

Customer Service
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Very Happy

published

I was happy to know TID insurance was there even though I didnt need it. My trip went smoothly and I was thrilled to spend quality time with my daughter and newest granddaughter. Thanks for being there if I needed you.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Page 2 of 127
See all TID Travel Insurance Direct reviews

Questions & Answers

Sue b

Sue basked

The Works (Comprehensive Overseas Insurance)

We started the claims process on March 23rd via post with photo copies of receipts and other requirements.
I have made numerous phone calls and told that nothing had been received. 4 weeks later it was sitting in my login account loaded up with my written claim.
I am frustrated that any communication has been instigated by me and not TID.
Now we are being asked the breakdown charges of a European PACKAGE holiday. I think that 50 percent or more of overseas holidays are packaged . Does the traveller ever know the costs of all aspects of a PACKAGE.
Not happy with the lack of response however the staff taking calls are brilliant.

1 answer
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct

Hi Sue,

Thank you for reaching out about your claim. I understand that the delays with claims communications is incredibly frustrating and we are working hard to get through the unprecedented volumes of claims and customer service enquires brought on by COVID-19.

I'd be happy to look into this for you further and ask that your claims assessor contacts you. I'll send you a private message to get a few more details.

Kind regards,
Brenden - Customer Experience

Alex D.

Alex D.asked

TID Travel Insurance Direct

Our cruise has been cancelled due to govt guide line that no ship will depart or enter ports in Australia until 30th June 2020. therefore our trip on the 22nd May until 5th June 2020 has been cancelled due to the pandemic crisis.
A full refund has been offer by the shipping line. We want to cancel our travel insurance before it the insured date arrives. We do expect a full refund as no claim is being made.

1 answer
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct

Hi Alex,

Thanks for your patience during this time of unprecedented global events. We are experiencing large volumes of enquiries due to coronavirus (COVID-19) and are doing our best to support all of our customers.

Regarding the cancellation of your insurance, i'll send you a private message to get a few more details about your policy.

Thank you,
Brenden - Customer Experience

Valerie A.

Valerie A.asked

TID Travel Insurance Direct

What is happening with regards to refunds and the corona virus.
Do we get refunds on airline tickets, do we get a refund from canceling yr policy?

1 answer
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Customer ExperienceTID Travel Insurance Direct

Hi Valerie,

Thanks for your patience during this time of unprecedented global events. We are experiencing large volumes of enquiries due to coronavirus (COVID-19) and are doing our best to support all of our customers.

I understand that you may have been waiting some time to hear from us I’m sorry for the delay but I’m here for you now.

For more information on how coronavirus (COVID-19) affects your policy, please click here:

https://www.travelinsurancedirect.com.au/travel-alerts/novel-coronavirus-faqs

As this is a constantly evolving situation we recommend you continue to visit our website for the latest information.

Stay safe,
Brenden

Get an answer from our members and TID Travel Insurance Direct representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.