Reviewer Photos & Videos
Abandoned by Tripadel
After being assured by Tripadeal that we should travel to Europe with Italy and a cruise being a major component and if we didn't would lose all monies paid. We arrived to be be informed that the cruise was cancelled and to go ahead and bus around Europe with borders closing daily. We remained in Budapest the place of our arrival and along with our tour guide decided it wasn't safe to keep moving around but to remain until they could get us flights home. After waiting for 4 days for them to ignore all communication from us with the only email a...dvising people to contact airlines and find their own way home we all decided to do just that. We have all paid a lot of money to fly home and am still waiting on their email advising us of our flights. This is the worst travel agency I have ever used and would never recommend them to anyone.
- Verified customer
Poor communication and then abandoned in Italy
This trip should have never gone ahead, the coronavirus was escalating before we left and they went ahead regardless. I had emailed and phoned them prior to leaving and never got a response.
On arrival, there was no one to meet me and no information that I was getting to Italy earlier than the rest of people on the tour, so I thought I had missed the bus and ran around for 2 hours trying to get sense from the "emergency' phone number before they told me the representatives would be there later in the day. Only response from Tripadeal was inst...ructions to call the emergency number. Day 2 (the first day actually there), we are told that the tour will probably be ending and it was on the cards that the cruise we were booked on would be canned as well. Our tour guide has to leave us as he was up north the week before and has to self quarantine for 14 days. We are then left at the hotel for another day before Tripadeal put the word out that the tour is ending and they are bringing every one home......except for me that is! All other folk had their flights rescheduled by TAD but because I was sent over on British Airways, and they were no longer flying into or out of Rome, TAD refused to find me another airline carrier and send me an email saying I had to find my own flights and pay for them myself (and I may get a partial refund in 6 months). Again, I emailed them and got no response. I would have been happy to pay for the new flights, but there wasn't even an offer of assistance to find new ones, they just wiped their hands of me and said your on your own. The new tour guide we had was hopeless and completely disinterested, but one of the other group leaders was as supportive as she could have been and saw us through to the airport. Thank you Angela because with out her help and the language barrier, we would have been completely stuffed. This is my third holiday with TAD and while I have enjoyed the other 2 (even with them being very rushed and staying in back water hotels), they were fine for a budget tour company, and you get what you pay for. I will never use nor recommend this company again because if they can leave you stranded in a foreign country with no support, you need to steer clear of them at all costs. I will be formalising my complaint through the regular regulatory authorities as well.
- Verified customer
Italy March 2020
Well the trip started OK but went down hill from there, TAD change the hotels and put us in a truck stop in Florence then put us on a boat with no communication whats so ever about our return leg to Italy . So we are getting off the boat in Barcelona booking our own accommodation and flights to go back home not through Italy, I have tried numerous times to communicate with TAD and no response there are a lot of people on this boat that are so scared of whats happening and TAD don't care, they have your money so they don't give a stuff. Thanks...TAD never again will I promote you or you deals you are the worst business that I have come across in communicating to your paying people, you could have stuck someone on a flight and sent them to Europe to solve all your issues instead of sitting in Bryon Bay playing songs and smoking the pipe. People don't do it book it yourself at least you can communicate with yourself
- Verified customer
Avoid at all costs. Left stranded in Sicily
Left stranded in Sicily when government quarantined whole country. Local tour operator, guide, bus and driver left us at hotel and said goodbye. TAD wouldn’t acknowledge we have been left stranded and suggested we sit in lockdown till our cruise departed in some 5 days time. Would not acknowledge what we were trying to tell them that there was no cruise ship that would allowed us to board and ports closed in Italy. Had to fact find ourselves and share info back to TAD. Only now they arrange flights home, but have advised no refunds except a...credit note by cruise company. Will not acknowledge we had been left deserted by the local company they had engaged. I was also the removed from their buddy Facebook site for sharing facts to travellers they were telling that their tour was going ahead in a few days time. Advised them not to leave country and they will just be put into hotel lockdown like we currently are. A number of us will be pursuing this whole disgusting situation on our return home. Office of fair trade, media outlets etc have been informed. BE VERY AWARE OF THIS COMPANY - very unaustralian. And before TAD you make comment below - please don’t advise me that this is a third party site and to make direct contact - you know full well I have been.
Very poor, Sardinia Sicily and Malta
Very disappointed with tripadeal, the only tours were walking tours, and then left to self tour in towns when all shops were on siesta. Tour guides were really poor, and one spent her time privately socialising and drinking alcohol
Trick A Deal Holi Festival in India
I booked the 10 Day India Colour Festival Mar 15 - Mar 24 2019 by Trip a Deal. Overall The trip did not fulfil the Itinerary requirements, mainly due to airline delay and in-country offerings. The trip did not live up to the premium package description. The brochure descriptions were deceptive. The International Transport component was appalling, we were three days late for the tour. The guide quality was poor. Hotels were generally poor and in absurd locations. The Colours Festival was a Hotel mock up. All this was passed onto Trip A Deal cust...omer service in much detail. The response from Bettina was "I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with detailed feedback of your recent trip to the Trip A Deal value all feedback provided to us by members of our travel family as it allows us the opportunity to see what we are doing well and where we can improve in the future." The response, which is the trick, then went into detail on how Trip A Deal abrogates responsibility for flights (it's all the airlines responsibilities), accommodations (it's all the hotels responsibilities) itinerary (it's all the in country touring company, the guide (its the touring company). This the trick, take your money and abrogate responsibility to second and third parties. Any complaint is met with platitude not action by Trip A Deal. They are very efficient on getting the money up front though!
- Verified customer
Basically paid for hotel and transfers.
Firstly, sorry for the length of this review. We have done 2 previous trips with Trip a Deal. (TAD)
Satisfied enough to book a third, 19 days Sardinia, Sicily & Malta. Like most of the 36 travellers on this trip we were so disappointed. Accommodation was generally OK but so far from anywhere that we were stranded for the night. We would be consistently taken to the town centres for a short walking tour and left stranded for hours and told to meet at a point. There was no substance in this entire tour.
I have not gone into too much detail about...
Costly and No Value Added
Booked a "package" which included flights, hotel interstate and a cruise return. It was not cheap and it wasn't a package in that there were no transfers nor late-check-outs, early check-ins arranged to match the transport.
Arriving in Brisbane we were required to arrange our own transfer to the hotel [ $36 ]. Fortunately the hotel allowed us to check-in but formally we could have been waiting an hour in the foyer. The hotel check-out time was 11AM, while the cruise departed late afternoon, approx 4PM. The hotel stored our luggage while we was...
Sub standard tour.
As soon as they had our money, communication virtually ceased. Requested a particular airline at the start as it would mean I didn't have to take leave. TripaDeal took no notice but others did get that airline ( they did not request the airline) I flew Thai airline which was budget and set the tone for the rest of the trip. Early arrival in Zagreb ( 7.00 am) but no check in till 3.00. Trip aDeal said it would arrange early check in. It had not.Hotel was not in the city. Had to take a tram into Zagreb. No instructions from Trip aDeal. Receptio...n(DoubleTree) was excellent and helped us out. Hotel was very good but TripaDeal was not. A whole day wasted. There were more wasted days due to nonexistent or poor instructions. Bus to the lakes was late and reception had to phone Elite travel for us. Bus was dirty and smelly. Ivana from Elite was not to be seen at all during the trip. One woman lost her luggage and told by Elite travel that it wasn't their problem. No help or guidance at all. The lake entry tickets were not supplied as TripaDeal said they would be. One of our group had to go in search of them. Again, poor instructions. I could write a daily complaints list, but don't have the time and I don't think Tripa Deal would care anyway.To sum up the trip I would say that the hotel accommodation was very poor ( apart from Zagreb and Hvar) I paid for an upgrade at one stage as the room was like a back packers. No communication from TripaDeal's local agent ( Elite) unless we requested it and so much wasted time. No suggestions as to activities or tours we could take( you would assume a local agent would do that) I would discourage people using TripaDeal for Croatia. TripaDeal needs to employ a new local agent. I doubt they will take any notice of this review but I hope it will stop some people from wasting their money by using TripaDeal. Do it yourself or find another tour company.
- Verified customer
TripADeal lacks Empathy and Customer Service
We booked a TripADeal 14 Day Maldives & Sri Lanka Tour in October 2018 and although we felt we read the documentation thoroughly prior to booking we were soon to discover that this budget travel agency were a nightmare to deal with. We booked our flights from Brisbane which was the closest departing city available at that stage as we were led to believe that this was where the international flight departed from. Upon reading more small print on the documentation after we had booked and paid for the tour we discovered that the international flig...ht to Sri Lanka did in fact depart from Melbourne. We immediately contacted TripADeal to request that we depart from the Gold Coast (the closest airport to where we live), only to be told that this was not possible. Upon refusal of our request we then asked a few months later (as we had relocated to Northern NSW) as to whether we could cancel the Brisbane to Melbourne domestic flight so that we could make our own way to Melbourne and we were once again told this was not possible. We were even prepared to forgo the extra $200 each we paid extra for our Brisbane to Melbourne airfares. TripADeal continually denied our request and informed us because the airfares had already been booked it was not possible to cancel legs of the flights. Imagine our anger when we discovered that at that stage the flight bookings had not even been made (as we weren't travelling until September and this was in February). After persevering TripADeal eventually agreed to cancelling the Brisbane to Melbourne flights, but at the high cost of $300 each. We were not prepared to pay this exorbitant amount and felt that these charges were unjustified. We had to resign ourselves to the fact that we were stuck with the initial flights. Fast forward to the day we departed on our holiday to Sri Lanka. We arrived at Melbourne Airport to check-in to discover that our tickets to Colombo, Sri Lanka had been cancelled. We spent an extremely stressful hour with the ground staff at Sri Lankan Airlines check-in who finally got our tickets re-instated. We only just made our flight after having to sprint to the departure gate. Once we arrived in Sir Lanka I emailed TripADeal about our cancelled tickets and to check that our return flight was booked. Their response a few days later was that they believed there was never an issue with our tickets and basically accused us of "making it up". You can imagine our anger! After a follow up email we've been informed that TripADeal were investigating the matter further. To date they have not been able to provide me with an apology or a reason for the cancellation of our tickets. Our experience has been one of the most frustrating and disappointing that we've ever had and we will never book with this company again. They simply lack empathy, are inflexible with booking changes and their customer service leaves a lot to be desired.
Tripadeal trip to England, Scotland, Ireland: 60 people, crowded, out of the way hotels, long trips - too much driving.
Tripadeal : review of 20 day England, Scotland, Ireland 2019 21st August to 10 September. cheap trip in so many ways: the price was reasonable for airfare from Australia, accommodation, breakfast. I was shocked to find on arrival in London that there were 60 people on the trip, 1 x 61 seat bus provided and only 1 tour guide. when we travelled, it took 1.5 hours to pack luggage on the bus and several suitcases were stored in the toilet. we were given a second bus on day 4 after many complaints but only 1 tour guide. He was excellent and bu...s drivers also I might add. However there was a lot of driving, multiple stops each day and latish arrivals in hotels - because they had to accommodate 60 guests. indeed on arrival at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel in London at 7 am after our long flight we were told we could not have our rooms until 4pm because of the large number of arrivals for our trip. most hotels were way out in the suburbs of the cities we visited e.g. at airports with no close proximity to tourist attractions to visit in our several periods of 'free time'' this also caused extra travel time to these hotels on our trip. often we were held back on bus because hotel rooms not ready for the large number of people. the last Hotel, Layton in Leapardstown, Dublin did not open the kitchen for evening meal and no other cafes close so we were advised to buy a sandwich for lunch to eat for our tea. I and 2 of my travelling companions developed respiratory infections - and were diagnosed with pneumonia when we returned to Australia - lots of coughing people on the buses!! our travel guide remarked that the itinerary was such that there was excess driving required e.g. visit to Oxford on 3rd day of trip then back to Cambridge round 2 September with travel from London up to Scotland, then back to southern England and then long drive to Dublin. so an exhausting journey. it certainly lived up to the cheap trip reputation but quality was often missing. because of the large number of people, there were no introductions, no group welcome, not even name tags. so a bit solitary. I shall never tour with Tripadeal again.
Norway and the Baltics
My husband and I have just returned from the Norway and the Baltic’s trip and were very disappointed at our Cabin Allocation by MSC. We paid an extra $1000 for an Ocean View Cabin, were allocated an Obstructed View Cabin, which TripADeal keep pointing out to me is in the fine print, saying this could happen, don’t sell Ocean View, and allocate a room with no view. When we boarded The Poesia ship and went to our cabin I was horrified, all I could see was a life boat out of the porthole, what a waist of $1000. MSC blame TripADeal, TripADeal blame MSC, no one wants to take responsibility. Beware if you are doing this trip next year this could happen to you. I will not be using TripADeal again.
Absolutely terrible experience
Booked the Machu Picchu trip. Told my flight was full that was the first flight.
2nd flight Worst service by the airline they used. tried to ditch me in a foreign country and told me it was my problem and I had to fix myself. It was only when I asked to speak to top management that they finally made a phone call
Bewaremof the half price Japanese cherry blossom deal as is too early to see many blossoms. Also, Sue to unforseen circumstances me and a friend could ńot Board the plane from Melbourne to Japan and Trip a Deal would not agree for us to return on the return flight ( for which we paid as part of the deal). Lastly, the tour guide was of poor quality.
2 for1 China tour
2 for 1 Trip to China August 9, 2019. Could not land at our intended destination of Shanghai because of Typhoon diverted to Hong Kong. We are very disappointed that TripaDeal made no contact or offered advise as to what we needed to do. When contact was finally made their advice was to find our own way to Shanghai and to contact them when we arrived. Felt that we were left high and dry in a foreign country. Cant review the trip as we did not step foot in China.
Trip a deal to China was nothing more than a obligatory shopping tour forced upon you by the local tour guides. They softened you on the bus by telling you how good the products are and how it has helped their own families. Be prepared if u are thinking of doing this trip. They also force u to do the optional tours by not providing u with transportation back to the hotel.
18 day east coast USA & Canada
Would never have booked this trip if I had seen the details, but unfortunately not seen until 10 days before trip. I have emailed tripadeal regarding my concerns, received a reply that was so lame it was laughable. The flight scheduling was ridiculous to say the least. Arrived New York midnight, person sent to pick us up spoke no English a slight problem as he was waiting out the front of airport, luckily one of the group spoke a little Spanish, otherwise would still be waiting. Arrived hotel 2am absolutely no justification for this. Tour gui...de spoke broken English, coach old & cramped & cleanliness left a little to be desired. A service fee was demanded on top of the gratuity, with envelopes to be marked & collected personally. Hotels mostly in isolated areas, a problem on Sunday night when we arrived to find restaurant closed. Probably the biggest fiasco was trying to get transport from cruise terminal to airport as naturally we were booked on the one furthest away. Would never risk tripadeal again nor recommend it to anyone
Japan 2 for 1 --- May - June 2019
Coral Horton & Mike Matthews
Sat, 29 Jun, 09:53
Hello...I have just returned from the Japan Tour. Here is my feedback.
I have been on three Tripadeals now...the first two were excellent..Thank you. However I do feel you need to rethink or re-examine your Japan Tour. I understand that you do budget tours and as such negotiate with tourism companies in each country to get as good a deal as possible for your clients, but when the offering by the said company fails to offer a good deal it is your reputation that suffers.
For the price we paid...we got...The flights, a guide, being met at the airport, 4 Hotels, 2 of which were substandard, an excellent driver, an adequate coach (no toilet facilities on board), entry paid into Mt. Fuji, a boat ride, entry into the Gassho village, and a drive from Tokyo to Osaka, taken to the airport in Osaka (6 1/2 hours before our flight). Optional tours....We already had the bus, driver and guide...on the Kyoto tour we paid $70 (for those who paid in AUD) or equivalent of $79 if you paid in yen. for entry into the Golden temple. We were also taken to another shrine here. Of Kyoto I saw nothing!!! There is so much to do in Kyoto and I am told it is a lovely place to visit...we had a half day tour which took us to two shrines only for an exorbitant price. Those who didn't want to pay were dropped of 'in town'...actually near another shrine and a supermarket. No guide for them!
!8 Day East Coast USA & Canada 2019 Beware of the advertised price-you'll pay for it in the end!
Fully aware that transfers and meals were not included.
Accommodation selected was a distance from the airport.
After the cruise, 45 of us on the tour hired our own bus to transfer the group from Bayonne Port to JFK Airport. We were unaware that it was a two hour journey and the alternative was for each to pay for our own taxi and tolls.
Meals-the accommodation was often too far from shops and restaurants to get our own meals or we arrived too late to go out. Some accommodations had their own restaurants but were expensive. Some accommodations ...
If you think something is too good to be true it usually is. We were very disappointed in the allocation of hotels and airflights on a recent 2 for one deal from NZ to Japan. After writing a review which was NOT published I would never use this company again.
Questions & Answers
Want to know if anyone on Tripadeal 50day world trip (Was to depart Sept 2020) have had a favourable return of funds?
How did everyone get such good response from Trip A Deal? I've emailed numerous times and get no where, just the usual response we will get back to you closer to the time you're due to travel, guess what!!!, I've heard nothing and our trip was the beginning of November, no offer, no nothing and every time I email, the same response we will get back to you as soon as we can. Covid has been around since February, we are now in November, Ive been emailing on and off over that whole time so don't understand these positive reviews.
I booked a trip to China for this year and of course it was cancelled I did get a credit from tripadeal is there a chance I can get a refund and get my money back as it has been a difficult year financial and I could really do the $3600 which they said is credit to me from $4000 I paid up front
ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.