Reviewer Photos & Videos
- Verified customer
34 people left high & dry in Madrid. A problem that should have been dealt with onFriday.
We were left with 24 hours to get out of Spain before everything close down..
There are 34 travelers, 1 tour leader, 1 bus driver & a hotel & staff very stressed.
My first & last tour with TripADeal. Thx for nothing
When the going gets tough Tripadeal take flight
You are lucky you havnt departed.
3 tour groups have been dumped by trip a deal.at a central Instanbul hotel with no information forth coming re new flights. In desperation today was spent on the phone for 4hrs to our airline re scheduling our flights at our expense to return home half way thru our tour.If like some who managed to get Trip a deal to reschedule for them at twice the price..what a disgrace regardless of the extraordinary circumstances.
Add insult to injury we have paid for brk lunch & dinner for our tour and today we were informed by the dining room that there is no lunch provided.
How dare you trip a deal!
- Verified customer
Extremely disappointed with level of service
We arrived in Madrid on 13 March to find city in lockdown due to coronaviris, and booked into hotel on Friday night to be told everything is in lockdown. Our tour leader announced on Saturday morning that TripADeal we’re organising our flights home and we’d be advised as soon as possible. We waited Saturday, Sunday and Monday and were advised on Monday morning that flights had been booked and the whole group were flying out Tuesday morning. Two hours later we were told those flights were cancelled and we were on our own - find your own way bac...k to Australia! Don’t bother contacting Australian embassy, you’re on your own. You must be out of Madrid wi5in 24 hours as Airports are being closed - good luck! Disgusting service from TripADeal, because they strung us along since Friday (four days) then through us under a bus - you’re in your own, find your own way home!
No Stars for you
No Information, no contact, no updates on elderly parents travelling during carona virus. Proceeded despite Italy having Carona. Shifted obligation to Etihad airways and MSC cruises, which require the agent to change travel arrangements. Unhelpful for those trying to assist family members. Family members were ringing home distressed because there was no contact about changed conditions, or assurance that all travel was still occurring as planned.
One of the reasons people use travel packages and deals to provide reassurance that if something ...goes wrong that there is someone working on their side to support them and help them and let them no what to do next. There is no one working to get these passengers home. no support, no communication, no reassurance - NO STARS for you tripadeal
Abandoned by Tripadel
After being assured by Tripadeal that we should travel to Europe with Italy and a cruise being a major component and if we didn't would lose all monies paid. We arrived to be be informed that the cruise was cancelled and to go ahead and bus around Europe with borders closing daily. We remained in Budapest the place of our arrival and along with our tour guide decided it wasn't safe to keep moving around but to remain until they could get us flights home. After waiting for 4 days for them to ignore all communication from us with the only email a...dvising people to contact airlines and find their own way home we all decided to do just that. We have all paid a lot of money to fly home and am still waiting on their email advising us of our flights. This is the worst travel agency I have ever used and would never recommend them to anyone.
- Verified customer
Poor communication and then abandoned in Italy
This trip should have never gone ahead, the coronavirus was escalating before we left and they went ahead regardless. I had emailed and phoned them prior to leaving and never got a response.
On arrival, there was no one to meet me and no information that I was getting to Italy earlier than the rest of people on the tour, so I thought I had missed the bus and ran around for 2 hours trying to get sense from the "emergency' phone number before they told me the representatives would be there later in the day. Only response from Tripadeal was inst...ructions to call the emergency number. Day 2 (the first day actually there), we are told that the tour will probably be ending and it was on the cards that the cruise we were booked on would be canned as well. Our tour guide has to leave us as he was up north the week before and has to self quarantine for 14 days. We are then left at the hotel for another day before Tripadeal put the word out that the tour is ending and they are bringing every one home......except for me that is! All other folk had their flights rescheduled by TAD but because I was sent over on British Airways, and they were no longer flying into or out of Rome, TAD refused to find me another airline carrier and send me an email saying I had to find my own flights and pay for them myself (and I may get a partial refund in 6 months). Again, I emailed them and got no response. I would have been happy to pay for the new flights, but there wasn't even an offer of assistance to find new ones, they just wiped their hands of me and said your on your own. The new tour guide we had was hopeless and completely disinterested, but one of the other group leaders was as supportive as she could have been and saw us through to the airport. Thank you Angela because with out her help and the language barrier, we would have been completely stuffed. This is my third holiday with TAD and while I have enjoyed the other 2 (even with them being very rushed and staying in back water hotels), they were fine for a budget tour company, and you get what you pay for. I will never use nor recommend this company again because if they can leave you stranded in a foreign country with no support, you need to steer clear of them at all costs. I will be formalising my complaint through the regular regulatory authorities as well.
- Verified customer
Italy March 2020
Well the trip started OK but went down hill from there, TAD change the hotels and put us in a truck stop in Florence then put us on a boat with no communication whats so ever about our return leg to Italy . So we are getting off the boat in Barcelona booking our own accommodation and flights to go back home not through Italy, I have tried numerous times to communicate with TAD and no response there are a lot of people on this boat that are so scared of whats happening and TAD don't care, they have your money so they don't give a stuff. Thanks...TAD never again will I promote you or you deals you are the worst business that I have come across in communicating to your paying people, you could have stuck someone on a flight and sent them to Europe to solve all your issues instead of sitting in Bryon Bay playing songs and smoking the pipe. People don't do it book it yourself at least you can communicate with yourself
- Verified customer
Avoid at all costs. Left stranded in Sicily
Left stranded in Sicily when government quarantined whole country. Local tour operator, guide, bus and driver left us at hotel and said goodbye. TAD wouldn’t acknowledge we have been left stranded and suggested we sit in lockdown till our cruise departed in some 5 days time. Would not acknowledge what we were trying to tell them that there was no cruise ship that would allowed us to board and ports closed in Italy. Had to fact find ourselves and share info back to TAD. Only now they arrange flights home, but have advised no refunds except a...credit note by cruise company. Will not acknowledge we had been left deserted by the local company they had engaged. I was also the removed from their buddy Facebook site for sharing facts to travellers they were telling that their tour was going ahead in a few days time. Advised them not to leave country and they will just be put into hotel lockdown like we currently are. A number of us will be pursuing this whole disgusting situation on our return home. Office of fair trade, media outlets etc have been informed. BE VERY AWARE OF THIS COMPANY - very unaustralian. And before TAD you make comment below - please don’t advise me that this is a third party site and to make direct contact - you know full well I have been.
Just returned from a 10 day trip to India. We paid to upgrade to business class, requested Singapore Airlines, and had to contact them on several occasions to ensure that this would happen. They kept on saying that they couldn’t confirm what airline we would be flying with but as we booked this 6 months out and being a retired travel agent, they had ticketed the flights and yet we’re not keen to advise us of this. We also paid to upgrade our accommodation. I had to call 3 times, less then 2 weeks out requesting our documents only to be told tha...t they had been emailed, and yet I did not receive them until after the 3rd request, so much for them stating that you will receive documents 4-6 weeks out !! On arrival in our itinerary, it stated that we would receive a private chauffeur from Delhi Airport to the Radisson Blu Hotel. We had flown from NZ arriving early morning, was told that we had to wait for other travellers to arrive, 2 and a 1/4 hours is not acceptable, then they bundled all 8 of us into a minivan - where was the private chauffeur ??? No early check in requested on arrival at the Radisson Blu, would have been a 5 hour wait to get access to our room, we were told that we could pay for an upgrade and gain immediate access into our room, we did this as after 16 hours of flying the last thing we wanted was to wait this length of time. Meals at this hotel - terrible, all buffet and all spicy Indian food. Meals were generally cold straight out of the warmers. I don’t have a problem with Indian food at all, but this was all way to hot and spicy for us. Spoke to the restaurant manager who advised that they would make available non spicy food but this did not happen. Luckily we had a fabulous guide and driver, which really made this trip bearable. Long periods of driving through out this trip. Second hotel in Jaipur was a budget hotel according to the manager, not centrally located, musty smelling rooms & leaking toilet. I spoke with our guide and he said that this was correct and we perhaps we should have been put into the more expensive sister property not the Hotel Sarovar Portico. We had a leisure day so we thought we would spend it beside the pool on the 9th floor......not happening!!! This area was absolutely covered in pidgeon poo, the pool, bar and all the battered furniture. It looked so neglected that I suggested that they close this area down until it had been cleaned. It was never cleaned during our 3 night stay. The photos at this Hotel show this area in a totally different light. False advertising. The meals here also terrible.....once again cold and way to hot and spicy. Very late arriving into Agra due to Donald Trump being there, arrived at our Hotel just after 9pm, had yet another disgusting buffet dinner and we were up and out of the hotel at 6am to go to the Taj Mahal, not enough time to experience this Hotel. Arrived very late that day back in Delhi, around 9pm, was collected and taken to the airport at 6am the next morning. All in all, I felt the trip was to rushed, very disappointing trip - when you pay for good hotels this is what you should receive....
Festivals of India - Trip a Deal
The 15day trip of India and the Golden Triangle was my first Trip a Deal experience. India and the sights were amazing, the people were lovely and the days were full of either visiting the sights or travelling long distances by coach. Unfortunately 2/3 of the travellers on our coach became unwell, with 2 needing medical attention.
It was the accommodation and the food that did not live up to the expectations set by Trip a Deal,.
I had paid for premium , single accommodation which included meals however the accommodation became a constant pr...
Very poor, Sardinia Sicily and Malta
Very disappointed with tripadeal, the only tours were walking tours, and then left to self tour in towns when all shops were on siesta. Tour guides were really poor, and one spent her time privately socialising and drinking alcohol
India, Nepal and Bhutan trip under delivered; Nov-Dec 2019
Standard accommodation offered was below expectations , at best average, but the worst aspect of the sub standard accommodation was there physical locations, mainly located in outer/fringe areas, industrial parks in India, up hills and/or mountains in Nepal/Bhutan , totally not conducive for self exploration during down/free times [ of which there were plenty of occasions ]. During free down time we were literally forced to stay within the hotel for lengthy periods of time. Would not recommend this trip under the present accommodation arrangements, even though the physical, awesome countryside was spectacular in Nepal/Bhutan.
Just traveled to Vietnam. Tripadeal said that it would be a escorted tour but we were made to find our way on most of the days .not happy would not recommend.
Trick A Deal Holi Festival in India
I booked the 10 Day India Colour Festival Mar 15 - Mar 24 2019 by Trip a Deal. Overall The trip did not fulfil the Itinerary requirements, mainly due to airline delay and in-country offerings. The trip did not live up to the premium package description. The brochure descriptions were deceptive. The International Transport component was appalling, we were three days late for the tour. The guide quality was poor. Hotels were generally poor and in absurd locations. The Colours Festival was a Hotel mock up. All this was passed onto Trip A Deal cust...omer service in much detail. The response from Bettina was "I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with detailed feedback of your recent trip to the Trip A Deal value all feedback provided to us by members of our travel family as it allows us the opportunity to see what we are doing well and where we can improve in the future." The response, which is the trick, then went into detail on how Trip A Deal abrogates responsibility for flights (it's all the airlines responsibilities), accommodations (it's all the hotels responsibilities) itinerary (it's all the in country touring company, the guide (its the touring company). This the trick, take your money and abrogate responsibility to second and third parties. Any complaint is met with platitude not action by Trip A Deal. They are very efficient on getting the money up front though!
BUYER BEWARE !!!! Falls dramatically short of expectations!
On this Festivals of India tour it was apparent that the provider could not meet demand and as a result the quality of the accommodation was not consistent with expectations promised in the "Premium Package". There were not enough Premium Hotels to cater for the number of tourists, which at times resulted in some of us being housed in atrocious accommodation; whilst others received the quality for which everyone had paid. There is a great discrepancy spending two nights in a poor quality vegan(Totally) hotel, whilst friends stayed in an up-mark...et hotel with a full Western menu. Our Information package stated that we would be provided with a Late Checkout for our last day. The hotel were not aware of that inclusion and refused to comply. It was only when the hotel manager was shown the information in print, that he tried to rectify the situation. We stood there and listened as he berated the Tripadeal contractor, telling them "You should honour your promises ! " That statement sums up precisely what was wrong with this deal.
- Verified customer
Trip A Deal India
We have just returned from a 15 day Trip a Deal to India. Unfortunately we can not recommend this tour for many reasons. Firstly, around 20 of the 29 people in our tour group got sick with severe stomach bugs. Two ladies had to have medical assistance as they were so unwell for several days. By the end of the trip, people were experiencing their second bout of illness. Since returning, we have received medication from our doctors. Everyone on the trip were well prepared in terms of medication, or so we thought! We were also all very cautious ab...out hygiene and drinking water. We opted for the Premium package, thinking that we were staying in 4 star hotels and that the food would be slightly superior. Most of the hotels were ordinary, at the best and each meal was an Indian buffet, sometimes exclusively vegetarian. The food had often been sitting for hours on end, as we were often late to arrive for meals. There were around 300 people doing this tour at the same time, so there was a lot of co-ordination between groups as to when we could arrive for meals and points of interest. This contributed to us being late and/or waiting. Many of the hotels were out of the town/city, so we spent a lot of time travelling to and from destinations and sights. It was apparent from talking to other groups that there was a great variety between hotels used by Trip A Deal and there was also a great difference between the standard of rooms within our group. We also had to endure 3 lengthy bouts of "selling," one for carpets, one for textiles and one for jewellery. We were not told beforehand how long we would be at each of these. Had we known, we would have stayed in our hotel. Many of the day trips took much longer than we had been told by our guide. A couple of times our driver and guide were struggling to find exact locations of hotels, sights and toilets. This also delayed us. Our guide was adequate but somewhat detached. We flew with Singapore Airlines. We did not pay for our seat allocation and on our return flight we and our friends were seated next to the toilets. The trip does tick off all of the highlights, but the trip was marred by our disappointment in the poor standard of the hotels and food and ongoing health issues. Trip A Deal themselves were efficient to deal with but their agent for the ground tour, Special Holidays only provided vague details on the printed itinerary. Some of these details were changed at the last minute and the group was constantly trying to clarify arrangements.
Optional Tours not optional
china 12 Day 2 for 1
arrival at Beijing hotel from flight was at 1.30am of the first sightseeing day Forbidden City sight starting at 8am
Most days we were on bus from 8am to 6pm and on some days 8am to 10pm returning to hotel ( because it was so far out of the city)
hotel in shanghai was 1 and half hours drive out of city. spent most of the sightseeing day in traffic due to location of hotel not being central.
the great wall was the great square - even walking to the very top of an extremely steep incline, i could not see any wall continuing ...
Disappointed with the room - facing a huge wall!
Two night at The Oaks Waterfront, The Entrance.
It was a huge disappointment to find the hotel room we got on arrival was that more than half of our balcony was facing a huge wall and no way like the advertisement. We asked if we could move to another room, we were told we have to pay extra. We were happy to pay extra for a room NOT facing a wall but were told nothing was available.
If we knew this was what we would get, we would not have booked through Tripadeal.
It is for my partners birthday surprise... not a very nice surprise to find t...
- Verified customer
Basically paid for hotel and transfers.
Firstly, sorry for the length of this review. We have done 2 previous trips with Trip a Deal. (TAD)
Satisfied enough to book a third, 19 days Sardinia, Sicily & Malta. Like most of the 36 travellers on this trip we were so disappointed. Accommodation was generally OK but so far from anywhere that we were stranded for the night. We would be consistently taken to the town centres for a short walking tour and left stranded for hours and told to meet at a point. There was no substance in this entire tour.
I have not gone into too much detail about...
Costly and No Value Added
Booked a "package" which included flights, hotel interstate and a cruise return. It was not cheap and it wasn't a package in that there were no transfers nor late-check-outs, early check-ins arranged to match the transport.
Arriving in Brisbane we were required to arrange our own transfer to the hotel [ $36 ]. Fortunately the hotel allowed us to check-in but formally we could have been waiting an hour in the foyer. The hotel check-out time was 11AM, while the cruise departed late afternoon, approx 4PM. The hotel stored our luggage while we was...
Questions & Answers
How did everyone get such good response from Trip A Deal? I've emailed numerous times and get no where, just the usual response we will get back to you closer to the time you're due to travel, guess what!!!, I've heard nothing and our trip was the beginning of November, no offer, no nothing and every time I email, the same response we will get back to you as soon as we can. Covid has been around since February, we are now in November, Ive been emailing on and off over that whole time so don't understand these positive reviews.
Hi, l am still trying to get our refund for a world trip worth $19,000!!!!!!!we paid for it Aug2019 and was to leave October 2020 ! Why they are delaying when we will be their future clients IF they do the right thing by us !
ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.