Reviewer Photos & Videos
No Stars for you
No Information, no contact, no updates on elderly parents travelling during carona virus. Proceeded despite Italy having Carona. Shifted obligation to Etihad airways and MSC cruises, which require the agent to change travel arrangements. Unhelpful for those trying to assist family members. Family members were ringing home distressed because there was no contact about changed conditions, or assurance that all travel was still occurring as planned.
One of the reasons people use travel packages and deals to provide reassurance that if something ...goes wrong that there is someone working on their side to support them and help them and let them no what to do next. There is no one working to get these passengers home. no support, no communication, no reassurance - NO STARS for you tripadeal
Abandoned by Tripadel
After being assured by Tripadeal that we should travel to Europe with Italy and a cruise being a major component and if we didn't would lose all monies paid. We arrived to be be informed that the cruise was cancelled and to go ahead and bus around Europe with borders closing daily. We remained in Budapest the place of our arrival and along with our tour guide decided it wasn't safe to keep moving around but to remain until they could get us flights home. After waiting for 4 days for them to ignore all communication from us with the only email a...dvising people to contact airlines and find their own way home we all decided to do just that. We have all paid a lot of money to fly home and am still waiting on their email advising us of our flights. This is the worst travel agency I have ever used and would never recommend them to anyone.
Left stranded in Spain
We have been stranded for 4 days now in Madrid, and counting. On day 4 of our 21 day tour, TripaDeal delivered us directly into the Spanish epicentre of the Coronavirus. Where is their duty of care to their clients? We have been on lockdown in our hotel ever since. There are 30 of us in the tour group awaiting elusive flights home. One email from TripaDeal stated they were working hard to get us home as flights were being reduced. What a load of rubbish ! A check on the internet shows heaps of flights. We have also been advised that we will have to pay the difference in the change of flights ! I will never ever have anything to do with this company again.
- Verified customer
Poor communication and then abandoned in Italy
This trip should have never gone ahead, the coronavirus was escalating before we left and they went ahead regardless. I had emailed and phoned them prior to leaving and never got a response.
On arrival, there was no one to meet me and no information that I was getting to Italy earlier than the rest of people on the tour, so I thought I had missed the bus and ran around for 2 hours trying to get sense from the "emergency' phone number before they told me the representatives would be there later in the day. Only response from Tripadeal was inst...ructions to call the emergency number. Day 2 (the first day actually there), we are told that the tour will probably be ending and it was on the cards that the cruise we were booked on would be canned as well. Our tour guide has to leave us as he was up north the week before and has to self quarantine for 14 days. We are then left at the hotel for another day before Tripadeal put the word out that the tour is ending and they are bringing every one home......except for me that is! All other folk had their flights rescheduled by TAD but because I was sent over on British Airways, and they were no longer flying into or out of Rome, TAD refused to find me another airline carrier and send me an email saying I had to find my own flights and pay for them myself (and I may get a partial refund in 6 months). Again, I emailed them and got no response. I would have been happy to pay for the new flights, but there wasn't even an offer of assistance to find new ones, they just wiped their hands of me and said your on your own. The new tour guide we had was hopeless and completely disinterested, but one of the other group leaders was as supportive as she could have been and saw us through to the airport. Thank you Angela because with out her help and the language barrier, we would have been completely stuffed. This is my third holiday with TAD and while I have enjoyed the other 2 (even with them being very rushed and staying in back water hotels), they were fine for a budget tour company, and you get what you pay for. I will never use nor recommend this company again because if they can leave you stranded in a foreign country with no support, you need to steer clear of them at all costs. I will be formalising my complaint through the regular regulatory authorities as well.
Hotels could be better
TripADeal tour company
26 day tour to Turkey/Egypt/Jordan $5999
Note: didn’t get to do the Jordanian part of the tour because if we went there we were to be quarantined for 14 days.
Trip a deal really need to revise their itinerary.
They quote 5 star’ accommodations for the entire trip, definitely not the case. I would say most were only 3* and the only 2 that came a little close was the hotel CCR in Cappadocia and the Suhan 360 in Kasadasi, both in Turkey.
They quote tipping amounts you are expected to pay in Turkey and Jordan being $5us/da...
Currently in Mauritius
Currently in Mauritius and was concerned on going on my trip due to recent happenings in the world. We had mixed communication saying that the cruise line was not going however within 10mins of me calling very concerned I received an email stating that this will still be proceeding and if anything changes they have people on standby. I understand that they must be extremely busy and I feel they were very responsive to my concern
- Verified customer
Italy March 2020
Well the trip started OK but went down hill from there, TAD change the hotels and put us in a truck stop in Florence then put us on a boat with no communication whats so ever about our return leg to Italy . So we are getting off the boat in Barcelona booking our own accommodation and flights to go back home not through Italy, I have tried numerous times to communicate with TAD and no response there are a lot of people on this boat that are so scared of whats happening and TAD don't care, they have your money so they don't give a stuff. Thanks...TAD never again will I promote you or you deals you are the worst business that I have come across in communicating to your paying people, you could have stuck someone on a flight and sent them to Europe to solve all your issues instead of sitting in Bryon Bay playing songs and smoking the pipe. People don't do it book it yourself at least you can communicate with yourself
- Verified customer
Avoid at all costs. Left stranded in Sicily
Left stranded in Sicily when government quarantined whole country. Local tour operator, guide, bus and driver left us at hotel and said goodbye. TAD wouldn’t acknowledge we have been left stranded and suggested we sit in lockdown till our cruise departed in some 5 days time. Would not acknowledge what we were trying to tell them that there was no cruise ship that would allowed us to board and ports closed in Italy. Had to fact find ourselves and share info back to TAD. Only now they arrange flights home, but have advised no refunds except a...credit note by cruise company. Will not acknowledge we had been left deserted by the local company they had engaged. I was also the removed from their buddy Facebook site for sharing facts to travellers they were telling that their tour was going ahead in a few days time. Advised them not to leave country and they will just be put into hotel lockdown like we currently are. A number of us will be pursuing this whole disgusting situation on our return home. Office of fair trade, media outlets etc have been informed. BE VERY AWARE OF THIS COMPANY - very unaustralian. And before TAD you make comment below - please don’t advise me that this is a third party site and to make direct contact - you know full well I have been.
Just returned from a 10 day trip to India. We paid to upgrade to business class, requested Singapore Airlines, and had to contact them on several occasions to ensure that this would happen. They kept on saying that they couldn’t confirm what airline we would be flying with but as we booked this 6 months out and being a retired travel agent, they had ticketed the flights and yet we’re not keen to advise us of this. We also paid to upgrade our accommodation. I had to call 3 times, less then 2 weeks out requesting our documents only to be told tha...t they had been emailed, and yet I did not receive them until after the 3rd request, so much for them stating that you will receive documents 4-6 weeks out !! On arrival in our itinerary, it stated that we would receive a private chauffeur from Delhi Airport to the Radisson Blu Hotel. We had flown from NZ arriving early morning, was told that we had to wait for other travellers to arrive, 2 and a 1/4 hours is not acceptable, then they bundled all 8 of us into a minivan - where was the private chauffeur ??? No early check in requested on arrival at the Radisson Blu, would have been a 5 hour wait to get access to our room, we were told that we could pay for an upgrade and gain immediate access into our room, we did this as after 16 hours of flying the last thing we wanted was to wait this length of time. Meals at this hotel - terrible, all buffet and all spicy Indian food. Meals were generally cold straight out of the warmers. I don’t have a problem with Indian food at all, but this was all way to hot and spicy for us. Spoke to the restaurant manager who advised that they would make available non spicy food but this did not happen. Luckily we had a fabulous guide and driver, which really made this trip bearable. Long periods of driving through out this trip. Second hotel in Jaipur was a budget hotel according to the manager, not centrally located, musty smelling rooms & leaking toilet. I spoke with our guide and he said that this was correct and we perhaps we should have been put into the more expensive sister property not the Hotel Sarovar Portico. We had a leisure day so we thought we would spend it beside the pool on the 9th floor......not happening!!! This area was absolutely covered in pidgeon poo, the pool, bar and all the battered furniture. It looked so neglected that I suggested that they close this area down until it had been cleaned. It was never cleaned during our 3 night stay. The photos at this Hotel show this area in a totally different light. False advertising. The meals here also terrible.....once again cold and way to hot and spicy. Very late arriving into Agra due to Donald Trump being there, arrived at our Hotel just after 9pm, had yet another disgusting buffet dinner and we were up and out of the hotel at 6am to go to the Taj Mahal, not enough time to experience this Hotel. Arrived very late that day back in Delhi, around 9pm, was collected and taken to the airport at 6am the next morning. All in all, I felt the trip was to rushed, very disappointing trip - when you pay for good hotels this is what you should receive....
Already booked another trip!
I just wanted to say that we were so impressed with our visit to India, Maldives and Sri Lanka with Tripadeal. The trip was a good mixture of culture, history and relaxation (poolside drinks anyone??). I’m still buzzing from our trip away, so much so, I’ve booked another trip, this time we’re heading to the USA next year! Still hard to believe you guys can advertise such incredible deals. But I’m a convert now. Thanks tripadeal, very happy customer here !
Thanks Trip A Deal
My mate and I just got back from Vietnam & Cambodia, the trip was a TripA Deal package and we both had the time of our lives. I’ve always wanted to go to Vietnam and I’m glad I went with Trip A Deal it was awesome from start to finish.
I know a lot of people are worried about travelling at the moment but I’m glad we went.
There is always a risk in everything that you do, make them worth it... this certainly was. Home now, happy healthy and planning my next trip.
Mexico - awesome one day, spectacular the next!!
Have just returned from "Best of Mexico". 17 action packed days with fabulous hidden gems. Fantastic guide and the inclusions made us all amazed at the value for money this trip was. Incredible amount of climbing and walking and think this should be more transparent in advertising notes.
Just got back from taking my parents on a surprise holiday. Booked one of TripADeals packages and could not have been more impressed. My parents aren’t big on international travel so it was nice to get away with them somewhere here in Australia.. they loved Darwin and are now even talking about a trip overseas. Could not be happier!!!
My husband and I have now completed our holiday and all we can say is bravo Tripadeal! From the moment we landed, Tripadeal was with us every step of the way.
Friendly staff (maybe because they live in paradise) detailed documents, nice hotels and knowledgeable tour guides made our experience one to remember. The pictures are pool room worthy! Don’t waste your time shopping around , if you need the extra push to book with them then this is it!!
Festivals of India - Trip a Deal
The 15day trip of India and the Golden Triangle was my first Trip a Deal experience. India and the sights were amazing, the people were lovely and the days were full of either visiting the sights or travelling long distances by coach. Unfortunately 2/3 of the travellers on our coach became unwell, with 2 needing medical attention.
It was the accommodation and the food that did not live up to the expectations set by Trip a Deal,.
I had paid for premium , single accommodation which included meals however the accommodation became a constant pr...
I personally haven't purchased a trip to China with TripADeal but my dear neighbour has, and was due to depart to China in February. I have been watching their updates on Facebook and hearing their consistent communication via email. A big congratulations to Tripadeal keeping their customers up-to-date with the full story of whats going on - I could only imagine how much this has taken them by surprise and all the hard work behind the scenes. I have travelled with Tripadeal before, and with the way they have handled this situation, I most definitely will be back for more. Looking forward to it! Keep up the great work to everyone at Tripadeal!!
Questions & Answers
How did everyone get such good response from Trip A Deal? I've emailed numerous times and get no where, just the usual response we will get back to you closer to the time you're due to travel, guess what!!!, I've heard nothing and our trip was the beginning of November, no offer, no nothing and every time I email, the same response we will get back to you as soon as we can. Covid has been around since February, we are now in November, Ive been emailing on and off over that whole time so don't understand these positive reviews.
I booked a trip to China for this year and of course it was cancelled I did get a credit from tripadeal is there a chance I can get a refund and get my money back as it has been a difficult year financial and I could really do the $3600 which they said is credit to me from $4000 I paid up front
I cannot get a straight answer from TripADeal on anything. I have 2 outstanding 'coupons' one of which I must book by 31 October when NZ (where I live) will continue to have closed borders until at least Jan 2021 unless I pay NZ Gov't $3,500 quarantine fee when I return.
I asked TripAdeal for a time extension to book (until our borders reopen to at least Aust. holidays as I think that will reopen first). I got a reply that said "no extension". Seems written in legalise as confusing to me, I guess to ensure TripADeal commit to nothing which has been their approach to trying resolve both my 'deals' over last 6 months. How can any org that doesn't want to go out of business treat their former customers so poorly - I did email back for clarification on one issue - no reply; impossible to reach by phone, and prerecorded phone message re their contact hours is wrong, and one of their previous 'free' phone numbers is now assigned to a goods carrier. Maybe they couldn't pay their phone account.
What are they doing with all their tax/airline ground fees etce for untaken flights when they lawfully should be repaid to the traveller when flights don't fly?
QUESTION - How do I talk to someone without line cutting off after a limited number of rings? Hoe do I get a reply to my email - I am 70 yo and a bit thick so I want help/advice; not a fob off.
Kevin Ph 0064 274916687 or 0064 7 8465463
I would go to the ACCC& NCA depending on where you live, I have lodged a complaint with the ACCC for starters, there could be a clan action claim against them coming shortly
Sorry to hear your plight.
I would call them to discuss your situation.
We have found them ok to deal with.
A bit slow. But they must be going through extremely busy times with the Covid situation.
We obtained our refund less a small fee for our trip due to start end August.
We asked for a BER.
We chose to not go down the NCAT route.
Wish you all the best.
ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.