Not What Was Advertised
We booked a 3 day deal that advertised a 5 star serviced apartment in Queenstown, including daily breakfast, 2 day bike hire and late checkout. What we got was an apartment that we would class as 3 star, breakfast was grocery item already in our room such as a loaf of bread, spreads, juice, fruit, yoghurt, a jar of museli and 4 weetbix. We did not ask about the bike hire and it was not mentioned to us. The bed was very soft, the blinds were not in good condition and one had to be wound up manually. The area for preparing breakfast was about...80cm wide and the narrow sink took up some of this space. There was good parking, however suitcases had to be taken up quite few steps. The staff were friendly and accommodating, however we would not stay here again and we would not recommend it to anyone, unless they were happy with 3 star and paying 3 star rates.
- Verified customer
It could be worse
It's hard for everyone during this "Covid Time".
My tour of India was cut short in mid March 2020, and the remaining tour cancelled, along with my return airline ticket.
I had been on TripADeal's 12 day tour of India, with my family, a party of four adults, which included a 3 day extension to Varanasi (including flights, accommodation, tours and some meals).
Everything was going smoothly, until the morning of the 16th March. We had checked out of our hotel, and were waiting for our transfers to Delhi Airport, when TripADeal cancelled our fligh...
Bad form, bad luck and a bad taste..
During lunch in Rome on day 2 of our “2 for 1” Western Mediterranean tour, 2 aussie couples described an earlier Tripadeal Australia (TAD) package tour they’d been on. They loved it, mentioning that it was a “full price” package with a moderately sized group. Was the price tag on this “2 for 1” product an indication of what we could expect?
Following blanket advertising in NZ in early 2019, TAD was the broker we chose & paid for a 2020 3-week W. Med package tour. We found them to be responsive to our emailed enquiries during the sales process....This changed once we’d paid them. Automated “noreply” and “yourcasenumberis” emails with no follow up were typical prior to departure. After talking with aussie and kiwi travelers I formed the opinion that the aussies received superior levels of communication compared to kiwis. Before departing NZ, more “noreply” emails arrived advising of changes to the itinerary due to Covid 19 concerns. We were thanked for our understanding. At FCO Airport, all but one tour guide held small coloured, labelled banners & could be identified with ease. Unfortunately, ours didn’t - this made her difficult to locate. It became apparent that there’d been many cancellations which the guides were not initially aware of. In excess of 80 weary TAD clients were compelled to congregate & wait a considerable period while phone calls and revised roll calls were made. Finally, 4 colour coded groups were corralled, led to coaches and taken to the hotel. More changes & curtailments to the itinerary were announced on our way from FCO to the hotel.
Left to fend for ourselves
We were on a trip to India and left Australia on 04Mar2020. The flights were fine and uneventful. Landing in India we experienced a lengthy delay through customs but not unusual.
There was no group meet and greet that night and no guide meet. Next morning we were all put on a bus and introduced to our guide.
The tour itself was disorganised and had plenty of time wasting adventures. We were hustled through sites such as temples etc only to be taken to textile or carpet or gem places which were all hard sell and to no ones surprise we spent much...
Just returned from a 10 day trip to India. We paid to upgrade to business class, requested Singapore Airlines, and had to contact them on several occasions to ensure that this would happen. They kept on saying that they couldn’t confirm what airline we would be flying with but as we booked this 6 months out and being a retired travel agent, they had ticketed the flights and yet we’re not keen to advise us of this. We also paid to upgrade our accommodation. I had to call 3 times, less then 2 weeks out requesting our documents only to be told tha...t they had been emailed, and yet I did not receive them until after the 3rd request, so much for them stating that you will receive documents 4-6 weeks out !! On arrival in our itinerary, it stated that we would receive a private chauffeur from Delhi Airport to the Radisson Blu Hotel. We had flown from NZ arriving early morning, was told that we had to wait for other travellers to arrive, 2 and a 1/4 hours is not acceptable, then they bundled all 8 of us into a minivan - where was the private chauffeur ??? No early check in requested on arrival at the Radisson Blu, would have been a 5 hour wait to get access to our room, we were told that we could pay for an upgrade and gain immediate access into our room, we did this as after 16 hours of flying the last thing we wanted was to wait this length of time. Meals at this hotel - terrible, all buffet and all spicy Indian food. Meals were generally cold straight out of the warmers. I don’t have a problem with Indian food at all, but this was all way to hot and spicy for us. Spoke to the restaurant manager who advised that they would make available non spicy food but this did not happen. Luckily we had a fabulous guide and driver, which really made this trip bearable. Long periods of driving through out this trip. Second hotel in Jaipur was a budget hotel according to the manager, not centrally located, musty smelling rooms & leaking toilet. I spoke with our guide and he said that this was correct and we perhaps we should have been put into the more expensive sister property not the Hotel Sarovar Portico. We had a leisure day so we thought we would spend it beside the pool on the 9th floor......not happening!!! This area was absolutely covered in pidgeon poo, the pool, bar and all the battered furniture. It looked so neglected that I suggested that they close this area down until it had been cleaned. It was never cleaned during our 3 night stay. The photos at this Hotel show this area in a totally different light. False advertising. The meals here also terrible.....once again cold and way to hot and spicy. Very late arriving into Agra due to Donald Trump being there, arrived at our Hotel just after 9pm, had yet another disgusting buffet dinner and we were up and out of the hotel at 6am to go to the Taj Mahal, not enough time to experience this Hotel. Arrived very late that day back in Delhi, around 9pm, was collected and taken to the airport at 6am the next morning. All in all, I felt the trip was to rushed, very disappointing trip - when you pay for good hotels this is what you should receive....
Festivals of India - Trip a Deal
The 15day trip of India and the Golden Triangle was my first Trip a Deal experience. India and the sights were amazing, the people were lovely and the days were full of either visiting the sights or travelling long distances by coach. Unfortunately 2/3 of the travellers on our coach became unwell, with 2 needing medical attention.
It was the accommodation and the food that did not live up to the expectations set by Trip a Deal,.
I had paid for premium , single accommodation which included meals however the accommodation became a constant pr...
India, Nepal and Bhutan trip under delivered; Nov-Dec 2019
Standard accommodation offered was below expectations , at best average, but the worst aspect of the sub standard accommodation was there physical locations, mainly located in outer/fringe areas, industrial parks in India, up hills and/or mountains in Nepal/Bhutan , totally not conducive for self exploration during down/free times [ of which there were plenty of occasions ]. During free down time we were literally forced to stay within the hotel for lengthy periods of time. Would not recommend this trip under the present accommodation arrangements, even though the physical, awesome countryside was spectacular in Nepal/Bhutan.
Just traveled to Vietnam. Tripadeal said that it would be a escorted tour but we were made to find our way on most of the days .not happy would not recommend.
BUYER BEWARE !!!! Falls dramatically short of expectations!
On this Festivals of India tour it was apparent that the provider could not meet demand and as a result the quality of the accommodation was not consistent with expectations promised in the "Premium Package". There were not enough Premium Hotels to cater for the number of tourists, which at times resulted in some of us being housed in atrocious accommodation; whilst others received the quality for which everyone had paid. There is a great discrepancy spending two nights in a poor quality vegan(Totally) hotel, whilst friends stayed in an up-mark...et hotel with a full Western menu. Our Information package stated that we would be provided with a Late Checkout for our last day. The hotel were not aware of that inclusion and refused to comply. It was only when the hotel manager was shown the information in print, that he tried to rectify the situation. We stood there and listened as he berated the Tripadeal contractor, telling them "You should honour your promises ! " That statement sums up precisely what was wrong with this deal.
- Verified customer
Trip A Deal India
We have just returned from a 15 day Trip a Deal to India. Unfortunately we can not recommend this tour for many reasons. Firstly, around 20 of the 29 people in our tour group got sick with severe stomach bugs. Two ladies had to have medical assistance as they were so unwell for several days. By the end of the trip, people were experiencing their second bout of illness. Since returning, we have received medication from our doctors. Everyone on the trip were well prepared in terms of medication, or so we thought! We were also all very cautious ab...out hygiene and drinking water. We opted for the Premium package, thinking that we were staying in 4 star hotels and that the food would be slightly superior. Most of the hotels were ordinary, at the best and each meal was an Indian buffet, sometimes exclusively vegetarian. The food had often been sitting for hours on end, as we were often late to arrive for meals. There were around 300 people doing this tour at the same time, so there was a lot of co-ordination between groups as to when we could arrive for meals and points of interest. This contributed to us being late and/or waiting. Many of the hotels were out of the town/city, so we spent a lot of time travelling to and from destinations and sights. It was apparent from talking to other groups that there was a great variety between hotels used by Trip A Deal and there was also a great difference between the standard of rooms within our group. We also had to endure 3 lengthy bouts of "selling," one for carpets, one for textiles and one for jewellery. We were not told beforehand how long we would be at each of these. Had we known, we would have stayed in our hotel. Many of the day trips took much longer than we had been told by our guide. A couple of times our driver and guide were struggling to find exact locations of hotels, sights and toilets. This also delayed us. Our guide was adequate but somewhat detached. We flew with Singapore Airlines. We did not pay for our seat allocation and on our return flight we and our friends were seated next to the toilets. The trip does tick off all of the highlights, but the trip was marred by our disappointment in the poor standard of the hotels and food and ongoing health issues. Trip A Deal themselves were efficient to deal with but their agent for the ground tour, Special Holidays only provided vague details on the printed itinerary. Some of these details were changed at the last minute and the group was constantly trying to clarify arrangements.
Optional Tours not optional
china 12 Day 2 for 1
arrival at Beijing hotel from flight was at 1.30am of the first sightseeing day Forbidden City sight starting at 8am
Most days we were on bus from 8am to 6pm and on some days 8am to 10pm returning to hotel ( because it was so far out of the city)
hotel in shanghai was 1 and half hours drive out of city. spent most of the sightseeing day in traffic due to location of hotel not being central.
the great wall was the great square - even walking to the very top of an extremely steep incline, i could not see any wall continuing ...
Disappointed with the room - facing a huge wall!
Two night at The Oaks Waterfront, The Entrance.
It was a huge disappointment to find the hotel room we got on arrival was that more than half of our balcony was facing a huge wall and no way like the advertisement. We asked if we could move to another room, we were told we have to pay extra. We were happy to pay extra for a room NOT facing a wall but were told nothing was available.
If we knew this was what we would get, we would not have booked through Tripadeal.
It is for my partners birthday surprise... not a very nice surprise to find t...
- Verified customer
Been there done that
Trip a deal say they only have small groups!! We are currently on a China and Japan tour and there are 42 in our group. Also, not enough emphasis on seeing the country instead, going to pearl factory, jade factory, Chinese medicine and silk factory. Most of reception staff in hotels dont speak English so when you go and ask a question, they ignore you!!! I really believe they dont want westerners there. We are currently on our cruise ship Spectrum if the seas which is a beautiful ship but mainly for the Chinese. Most of the food on menu is for them. Ship far too big and tired of the pushing and shoving. Have no desire to revisit China but would definitely visit Japan again but not with trip a deal.
I was very disappointed with this trip which is not the reviews I had heard from friends who have used tripadeal to other destinations. The lack of communication and specific details was ongoing. For example not knowing times for pick up and departures, so unable to prebook anything in that destination. Some of the airlines used and some of the hotels were terrible!! Hotels were definitely not 4 star.
Trying to contact the tripadeal representative in Croatia was non existent and very frustrating. No guide ever accompanied us on the whole trip.
There are too many problems to record here but I would think twice before booking this particular trip.
Europe Revealed 20/9/19
EUROPE REVEALED 20/9/19
Quality of hotels very poor. No toiletries, safe, refrigerator & breakfasts poor. Too far from cities resulting in excess fares which we were not informed about.
Bus driver late getting us to catch TGV train in Paris resulting in people being manhandled onto train by staff.
Costa Deliziosa-Having done many cruises, this was the worst line we have travelled with. Staff not helpful. Activites all in Italian, so other nationalities could not join in. Food quality not up to standard.
Excursions were quite expensive & very ...
Poor organisation, arrogant approach to dealing with problems, Iam disappointed !!
Lack off information, or poor in formation, they only want your money and are not listening to feed back . I am currently on a tour and will not be doing another.
Don’t do two for one China
Would not recommended the 2 for 1 China deal at all. I have travelled all over the world and completed several tours in other countries. I have also lived In Asia, so was excited to visit a country I had not been to. However, this was by far the worst holiday I have ever been on. The other people in my travelling party and others on my tour expressed the following thoughts:
- Massive days, huge tour groups. We had 49 people. Often out of the hotel for 12 hours a day, walking around for most of the day. This is hard considering most of the tour...are retirees and well above 60 years. - Optional tours are ‘non-optional’ when you arrive. Told by guide that if we didn’t want to do an activity we would have to ‘wait on the bus’ until it was complete. This would mean waiting for 3-5 hours on the bus if we didn’t want to do something. Only one day we were given the option of catching a taxi back to the hotel. - we hours spent on the bus each day only to spend a short amount of time at each location. - Told to pay $12 a day mandatory gratuities in aud. This is fine and expected for a tour. I even rand TripADeal in advance to confirm payment in aud. The instructions state that money will be collected in three blocks of $36, $36 and $48. Everyone’s on the tour had pre-organised their tips. When we arrived in China they told us they could not accept aud coins. This means you either had to round your aud up or pay in yuan which cuts into everyone’s spending money. Information in the tour itinerary and what actually happened on the tour are not the same. I feel very misled by trip a deal.
China 2 for 1
I find our trip very hard to rate. Once Trip a deal have your money it is bye bye customer. We had an incident the night before we flew and were berated for calling on the emergency line despite 5 calls during the day. There response was hmm your husband is OK to fly but at this stage doubt we can fix it for you. I did eventually pay 200 dollars and amazing problem solved. No money no fly honey.
The trip however was fantastic and our two guides Emily and Ivy exceptional. We did all the extras as we didn't want to miss anything and so had ve...ry little free time which in retrospect was a mistake. 7.30am on the bus and not getting back till late was to much for us at our age but that's our fault not trip a deal. There were people on the tour who it was clearly not suitable for as moderate walking is an under statement. And trip a deal before you respond saying you are sorry blah blah and a supervisor was working all day (bollocks to that) to sort it out. You have my feedback. We travel 4 times a year at least 1 to Europe it won't be with Trip a deal not because of the trip but lack of service. I am surprised and disappointed Dan Carter lends his name to this organization.
Be aware of the experiences Tripadeal include on China deal.
Did a 17 day china and japan cruise. Value for money was excellent, however part of the "experience" your taken to a Pearl Factory ..... BE AWARE!!! They show you quality product and when you purchase your given gold plated crap!!! $400 for a useless piece of gold plated imitation jewelry. Contacted Tripadeal and they hide behind 'disclosure" they are not responsible..... they take on average 10 coachloads of Australian tourists (roughly 400) a week .... and take no responsibility whatsoever. I now discover other tourists had same experience and still Tripadeal has this association with the business...
18 Day East coast USA & Canada Tour - Not what we expected
There were numerous drawbacks to this holiday, not only for us, but for all the members of our tour group. We feel that Tripadeal will be fielding numerous complaints from people in our group. Here is a list of some of our issues, which, unfortunately, will prevent us from booking further holidays with your company. We hope that by making you aware of these issues you are able to take them on board and ensure this does not happen in future to spoil other people's holidays.
1. The tour guide did not pick us up from the airport as we were delaye...d and we arrived the following morning instead of 11pm the night before. We were told to find our own way to meet the group AT OUR OWN EXPENSE. We had to take a taxi at great expense. 2. The tour guide was Chinese and spoke broken English. This would have been OK for a Chinese tour group but not a busload of Australians in America. 3. The bus was old and uncomfortable. 4. Most people got sick with colds and coughs and it was highly attributable to the bus' air-conditioning.
Questions & Answers
How did everyone get such good response from Trip A Deal? I've emailed numerous times and get no where, just the usual response we will get back to you closer to the time you're due to travel, guess what!!!, I've heard nothing and our trip was the beginning of November, no offer, no nothing and every time I email, the same response we will get back to you as soon as we can. Covid has been around since February, we are now in November, Ive been emailing on and off over that whole time so don't understand these positive reviews.
Hi, l am still trying to get our refund for a world trip worth $19,000!!!!!!!we paid for it Aug2019 and was to leave October 2020 ! Why they are delaying when we will be their future clients IF they do the right thing by us !
ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.