??!
2 photos
Triumph Thunderbird Storm

Triumph Thunderbird Storm

4.0 from 22 reviews

See the Best Cruiser Bikes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
15
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
3
1 star
2

Mark J.

Mark J.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Bought mine in 2011 and I still love it

published

I put the short pipes on and had the tune changed. Put a little wind shield on, triumph panniers and gel seat. 2 up went round Tassie. Been across Sth australia. Handles everything with ease - so much torque. Thumping engine and still turns my head every time I look at it.

Purchased in March 2012 at Peter Stevens Motorcycles for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Mileage 21,000 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers

Recmech226

Recmech226Pilbara, WA

  • 3 reviews

Love this bike!

published

2018 model I've had 6 months and running well. Due to forum comments on water leaks etc, I've checked mine regularly but have had no problems at all. I do mostly long distance touring in outback WA so seat had to be replaced for comfort. You won't ride far on the original seat unless you just take it out for half hour Saturday morning rides. My only complaint is sun glare from the instrumemnts on the tank which I blacked out. Just about due for second service at 10,000 which I do myself as we have no dealer for 1200km. Overall the Storm is great fun to ride with plenty of grunt for overtaking road trains.

Purchased in October 2018 for $23,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Mileage 10,000 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers

Mixed feelings on this bike

published
Date PurchasedSep 2014
MR Cooper

MR CooperBrisbane

  • 34 reviews
  • 5 likes

yea ok

published

The bike sounds great , looks great. But repair bills farrrk!
I hope your a mechanic or know a cheap one if you own this bike.
Its like a mini ball of fun though and it looks quite retro

Overall to much for repairs if you dont care bout that then a good bike

Date PurchasedDec 1999

badstorm

badstormChandler

Coolant leak

published

I had a 2014 Thunderbird Storm and had numerous coolant leak. Tightening the hose works but only temporarily. But, it has happen to me over 4 times within 15 months of owning the Thunderbird Storm. I had a triumph Bonneville before my storm and never once had an issue. Apparently, this is a well known issue among us Thunderbird Storm owners. We all have friends who ride different manufactures but non of them have coolant leaks like reported among us owners! Triumph replaced my 2014 Thunderbird Storm after numerous attempts to fix this issue. They replaced my 2014 with a 2015 Triumph Thunderbird Storm...guess what...same coolant leak within 26 miles!

Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Peter

PeterPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor Quality Shocking Service

published

Poorly designed and built. The chrome rusts quickly..The paint scratches easily and is thin..The engine exhaust decompression cam breaks and puts metal through the engine and gearbox ( before 20k kms) .Rides like a pig!! but the brakes are good. Dealers can't diagnose faults then you have to pay for there labour to replace faulty parts..then get your bike back in an unsafe condition.. Would I buy another Triumph NO!!

Date PurchasedAug 2012

Trigi

Trigi

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointing

published

I purchased a Triumph Thunderbird Storm brand new in 2012, it was fitted with a K&N air filter and a Foran exhaust system. I weigh 81 kg and 5'11" tall, I rate the suspension as 4/10, the power 7/10, the exhaust 7/10 (high reverb) and handling 6/10. Other observations include a very noisy tick in the engine that drove me crazy and an extremely noisy belt drive from new. The paint is water based (gloss black) and scratches very easily. I have owned several big bikes Japanese and other. I look after my bikes and recently sold the Triumph for top dollar however I can honestly say that I will never purchase another Triumph. Current ride is a Harley sportstar and I am about to purchase a Suzuki Boulevard C109RT to replace the Storm.


Ugly

UglyHervey Bay

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Triumph Storm

published

I also love the storm I have a 2015 , had a kwaka 9 years ago & the storm is the closest thing I could find that was a cross between the street bike & crusier . The handeling & power is second to none , Some will complain about rear tier wear but that is caused by haveing fun twisting the right hand.
Update as have had the bike longer , I have changed tyers to the Pirelli Night Dragons , I will say they do not grip as well as the metzelers ( have to back right off in the wet and dont stick as well in the dry either ) . So I will be swapping back to the Metzeler as soon as I can .

Date PurchasedJun 2015
johann

johannperth

noise engine

published

I have a storm at six thousand km the counter weight on the exhaust cam broke that caused a noise in the engine took it back to the dealer they checked it out yep we will replace the camshaft it took six weeks to get my bike back they did not airfreight the part I think they sent it by camel train I was not happy but it cost me nothing to get it fixed it runs well now love to ride this bike

1 comment
johann
johann
Peter

PeterMandurah

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Noisy and rattles in the engine

published
1 comment
Peter
Peter

Had to replace exhaust camshaft as they break the decompression weights and chew metal off the head


Mark H

Mark HTownsville, Queensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Storm love it

published

Andrew

AndrewSydney

20k on...

published
2 comments
Andrew
Andrew
Andrew
Andrew

Triumph Thunderbird Storm

published

You know how your favorite shirt feels soooo comfortable?? well this is how my Storm fits me! I purchased my 2013 Storm with 2500km on the clock. Xtras included short tors, dart screen,teebars, and black teardrop mirrors. From my first few kms traveled ive been in love! What a smooth, well balanced ride with grunt to burn!
I have since added a touring seat,grabrail, amsoil, K&N air filter,manufactured some highway pegs and most recently added a Power Commander v and will have it remapped and dynoed soon. Triumph have got a beauty here! Gear changes silky smooth and nice even braking all help to make this a great ride!

4 comments
Triumph
Mark B.Triumph

Hi Tal, would love to see so.e photos of you storm. Have you joined the Triumph Australia Facebook page?

Tal
Tal

Ah No...am in NZ...i will check it out tho...see what i can do...cheers

Tal
Tal

You can go to thunderbird 1600 forum....find my name under members and look at my photos in the album section...cheers


Tony kilmuurray aka Kill

Tony kilmuurray aka Kill

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Supprise Xmas present

published
Razorback

RazorbackWestern Australia

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

triumph Thunderbird storm

published

T Bird Storm 1699cc

published

Dave

Dave

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Three months on

published

Mark

MarkIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

My Review

published
2 comments
Dave
Dave

Hopefully trading my XVS650 for a storm or commander this year . Thanks for the heads up . Very helpful as was wondering about the weight difference and power

Mark
Mark

Neat, the new models look good, it will be interesting to see how they are priced.


Don't buy one

published
1 comment
Mick Raven
Mick Raven

springcan

springcanadelaide south australia

Unbeliveble ride 2012 storm

published

I have had my storm for 6 months now . I have ran it in the way triumph say to. It has all the power and touque you need. I have fitted the shorty pipes witch give better performance and sound a deep growl. Brakes exellent. The seat could do with more padding on a long ride.
the price the power the acceleration
seat too hard needs more padding for long rides


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

shepp.

shepp.asked

Noise from bottom end cover engine R/H side when cold starting. 2012 model 14000KLM. Any ideas?

1 answer
333Toni3
333Toni3

Hi, my 24.000 mile 2012 Storm sounds like its been hit with a hammer when starting from cold....but only from cold. l am still trying to find what is causing it but just letting you know yours isnt the only one.


loney

loneyasked

gonna sound like a dumb question to some but here goes .... how many spark plugs are in a 2015 storm 1700?

1 answer
loney
loney

OK. I found out. 4.


Geoff

Geoffasked

Hey I have a 2010 thunderbird with shorty pipes. Can the leather panniers be fitted with these pipes without heat affecting the panniers?
Thanks Geoff

1 answer
Bull
Bull

I have custom pipes shorter than Triumph short pipes and no probs with my KLock bags


Get an answer from our members and Triumph representatives

Details

CategoryCruiser Bikes
Release dateJan 2012

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.