1 photo
Tyrrell's Chips

Tyrrell's Chips

2.5 from 116 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Chips in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Tyrrell's Chips? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
RossM
RossMPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

We've been shafted

published

I agree with all the critics of the new crinkle cut chip. I am convinced the manufacturer has substituted the Tyrell chip with one of their other product lines. The new chip is greasy, over salted and tastes nothing like the imported product we loved. Shame on you.

Purchased in January 2022 at Coles for $2.50.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not happy with the change

published

We were very happy with the original crisps that were beautifully delicate in flavour and texture, but we are very disappointed with the new crinkle cut version, a much coarser texture and the flavour is not as delicate. We have reluctantly changed to another brand.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Manny
MannyPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Not the same anymore!!!

published

These used to be the best chips ever! Now just the same as all the others. Why don't the decision makers read the reviews and go back to what made Tyrrell's the best ever??? Listen to the people!!!

Purchased in January 2022 at Coles Supermarkets for $2.50.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jimmy B Rustled
Jimmy B RustledGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not as good

published

The crinkle cut ones are way different. Still okay but the original release were great. They've stopped making apple cider vinegar flavour which is a loss, such a unique taste. No the flavour seems weakened. Cheddar and chives are currently the best.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chips

Find out how Tyrrell's Chips compares to other Chips

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
What have you done
What have you doneWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

What have you done

published

The plain lightly salted has been my favourite for a long time now , even got my Hubbie to start to enjoy. Had been having troubles as well to get a packet of late . But now I know why. All I can say is WHY, WHY, WHY. I agree totally different taste all together. Now they taste just like any other crinkle cut chip. Go back to the yummy chip they were. Please please please

Purchased in December 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gaynor C.
Gaynor C.Sydney, NSW

Sad day for lovers of your chips! Huge mistake to go crinkle!

published

Absolutely do not like crinkle. The taste seems to have changed too! Please bring back the plain cut in the salted as before. My waistline is the only one benefiting by your move.

Purchased in November 2021 at Coles.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Bad move to go to crinkle cut

published

Tried the crinkle cut version of our favorite chips once and will never buy them again. Every review here has the same issue with the crinkle cut version. Over time the sales drop should clearly tell the story and hopefully reverse the decision

Purchased in October 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
regularbloke
regularblokeNew South Wales
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Tyrrell's has lost a customer... big brain stuff right there!

published

Purchased in November 2021.

Incentivised Review No
regularbloke
regularbloke
regularbloke
regularbloke

#bringbackthecrisp

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cathy
CathySydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

Why the change to crinkle cut

published

Why did you change them to crinkle cut ? These were my favourite chips. Loved them. I don’t like the texture of these at all. I threw them out. Not happy !

Purchased in November 2021 at Woolworths for $3.50.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chips

Find out how Tyrrell's Chips compares to other Chips

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Why?????

published

The crinkle cut version of chips is now tasteless and not very enjoyable to eat anymore. The packet I am eating now will be going in the bin as it is over done with salt and not as the packet says lightly sea salted. Why would you change from a great tasting flat chip to this variety??? If it wasn’t broke …why fix it..

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Tyrrell's Crisps: Killed by corrugation

published

Why has has the previously distinctive and delicious Tyrrell crisp been reduced to a mere also-ran chip? The fantastic flavours and fantastical forms ditched in favour structural rigidity and monotonous uniformity. You had me completely, now you've lost me just as completely. The worst tasty treat own goal since the great Cadbury calamity.
Tim.

Purchased in October 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Bring back flat

published

Can’t believe the decision to discontinue flat crisps and replace with crinkle cut. Tyrrell’s are not crinkle-market crisps. Please stop this nonsense and do what you do best (flat ones).

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chips

Find out how Tyrrell's Chips compares to other Chips

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kerry J
Kerry J
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Poor Decision

published

I am appalled that Tyrrells have changed their chips to a crinkle cut version. Not even the choice to have the original flat chip. Having tried Tyrells in England I was delighted when they became readily available in Australian supermarkets. Now I won't buy them as the new variety does not compare to the original. Bring back the chips we all know and love!

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Antoine
AntoineSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Stick to your knitting Tyrrell

published

The new crinckle cut chips don't have any flavour at all. The Mrs Smith and Australian Co brands are far superior. I went to 2 Woolies to get my regular, tradional salty Tyrrell chips bit no avail. Only the crinkle type. Sounds like they are forcing us to try the Crinkle cuts removing the traditional ones. Not a good move as I ended up going to a Natural food store and discovered a new brand of regular, salty chips that I quite enjoy. I went back today and bought a few more bags for the week.

Purchased in October 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jo K.
Jo K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

They were perfect… now just disappointment…

published

The flat lightly sea salted original chips were the only chips I would ever purchase. Now can’t find them anywhere. Tried the crinkly ones but they just greasy, flavourless cardboard pieces… so sad.

Purchased in September 2021 for $4.95.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Muso
Musoasked

Good evening, my husband loves your mature cheddar cheese & chive crisps and I purchase a few bags every week from Coles supermarket in Sorell, Tasmania. They have always only cost $2.70 per 165g bag of crisps. Today I got the shock of my life when I went to buy them with my usual groceries, the price has increased to $4.50. That’s an increase of $1.80 which is a bit more than 80% price increase. So many other crisp brands are so much cheaper, even when they were $2.70 i found it expensive but now I won’t be able to afford to buy them at that price and refuse to spend that much on crisps anyway. I hope you can explain this exuberant price rise and possibly revue the price. I look forward to hearing back from 1 of your staff members. Kind regards
Rachael Sushames

1 answer
Boris Yasminsky
Boris Yasminsky

You may recall the saying "Greed is good" from the 1980's, well guess what, that saying is back in fashion.
The only difference this time around is, the product quality is inferior when compared to the 1980's.

Muso
Musoasked

Good evening, my husband loves your mature cheddar cheese & chive crisps and I purchase a few bags every week from Coles supermarket in Sorell, Tasmania. They have always only cost $2.70 per 165g bag of crisps. Today I got the shock of my life when I went to buy them with my usual groceries, the price has increased to $4.50. That’s an increase of $1.80 which is a bit more than 80% price increase. So many other crisp brands are so much cheaper, even when they were $2.70 i found it expensive but now I won’t be able to afford to buy them at that price and refuse to spend that much on crisps anyway. I hope you can explain this exuberant price rise and possibly revue the price. I look forward to hearing back from 1 of your staff members. Kind regards
Rachael Sushames

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.