1 photo
Tyrrell's Chips

Tyrrell's Chips (page 2 of 5)

2.5 from 116 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Chips in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Tyrrell's Chips? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Kay
KayGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Tyrrels now crinkled! Why!!!!

published

For crying out loud my fave crisps are now crinkle cut! Why would you change the recipe.. Tyrrels low salt curly crisps were so popular now you will lose your customers. No brand loyalty from me! Bring back the curly Tyrrels! Please bring them back asap!

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suzanne
SuzannePerth, WA

The crinkles in our foreheads

published

Purchased in August 2021 at Coles for $3.50.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Renovashaun
RenovashaunPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Why change them????

published

The cider vinegar chips were the best ever! No idea why they changed to the crinkle cut ones they have now which are not nice. They were my favourite, but they lost me as a customer when they changed. Someone in their marketing department should be sacked!

Purchased in August 2021 at Coles Online.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Previous versions were my favorite! Why change to crinkle cut and salt and vinegar!

published

Tyrells were our favour team chips. The cider vinegar and sea salt were divine and then Tyrrell’s changed these to salt and vinegar and crinkle cut so we stopped buying them they were no where near as nice. Now they have changed the plain to crinkle cut which are again terrible. Why would you change these!!! It was a winner the way it was! Will have to revert back to Kettle or Red Rock! So disappointed.

Purchased in August 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chips

Find out how Tyrrell's Chips compares to other Chips

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tyrells potato chips
Tyrells potato chipsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Plain Tyrrell's lightly sea salted

published

Have been a long time a fan of the plain Tyrrell's lightly sea salted chips.They are curly and crunchy ,yet can't seem to get them now.Why have all 3 flavours here in South Australia gone to crinkly crisps? I don't mind the other flavours crinkled but can't we have the plain au natural as the flavour doesn't even seem the same?

Purchased in September 2021 for $3.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
customer_first_namec
customer_first_namec
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

New crinkle cut version unpleasant

published

Could not find our lightly salted Tyrrell's chips at coles and bought the similar looking crinkle cut version.
Very disappointed as they are not anywhere near as nice as the standard version. Will have to search where I can buy the standard version.

Purchased in August 2021 at Coles.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Plain salt chips

published

I couldn’t get the usual lightly salted at Coles this week they only had the crinkle cut one I don’t like them as much now I’ll probably have to shop somewhere else

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next

Not worthy of a star

published

I was looking forward to my usual packet of tyrrells usually great chips. Instead when I opened the packet I thought I must have bought the wrong brand. No longer a great solid crunch, more like a soft disintegration, thicker less tasty and bland. To my horror I realised I had bought 4 packets of these duds, not the lovely traditional chips they used to produce. Looks like it is back to Red Rock instead.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bill Oakleigh
Bill OakleighGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Tyrells new crinkle cut low salt crisps

published

Big fan of the lightly salted for years. We picked up the new crinkle cut as the packet was similar. Unfortunately the new ones are quite unpleasant. They taste more of the oil (triple cooked?) than any potato I know. If these replace the original lightly salted I won’t be buying any more Tyrells. Please do what you do best Tyrells

Purchased in August 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chips

Find out how Tyrrell's Chips compares to other Chips

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lynda W
Lynda WSydney
  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

horrible new crinkle chips, worse than Smiths

published

I was looking forward to my usual packet of tyrrells usually great chips. Instead when I opened the packet I thought I must have bought the wrong brand. No longer a great solid crunch, more like a soft disintegration, thicker less tasty and bland. To my horror I realised I had bought 4 packets of these duds, not the lovely traditional chips they used to produce. Looks like it is back to Red Rock instead.

Purchased in August 2021 at Coles Supermarkets for $4.50.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MAJ
MAJNorth Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Love The Unsalted Potato Chips

published

The first time l bought a packet of the Tyrrells Unsalted potato chips, l was hooked! The unsalted chips enhance the taste of the potato chips which allows you to taste the chips, not just the salt! YUM!

Purchased at Coles.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sofia
SofiaSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Cheese crinkle cut

published

The crinkle cut mature cheese and chives are a bit too salty and not a cheese flavour, they taste more like they have been covered in the chicken salt shaker spice

Purchased in July 2021 for $2.25.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chips

Find out how Tyrrell's Chips compares to other Chips

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sada
SadaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 738 reviews
  • 119 likes

Not bad, okay to try

published

I tried this as there was a hype since these are pretty famous and from the UK. They’re not bad but not a regular buy for us. The chips are similar to the Kettle chip and they didn’t wow me. They were okay and tasted a little too salty. Good point is that they often come on half price specials.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Glors
GlorsIllawarra, NSW

Horrible

published

These where the only chips I ever bought not no more, the taste has changed no more crunch won’t ever buy them again, whatever they have done to them in Australia is pathetic

Purchased in July 2021 at Woolworths for $450.

Incentivised Review No
Glors
Glors

Not $450 but $4.50

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Justin D.
Justin D.Mid North Coast, NSW

Just like the rest

published

As a salt n vinegar expert I was disappointed. Besides the burst of aroma when I first opened the pack there was little to no flavour. The bottom 3 quarters of the bag taste like plain chips only crispy. Reading the packaging it is clear that all attention was on the crispness and none on the flavour. I don't mind paying more for good flavour. You are not alone though In all brands now I need to go through about 7 to 15 packs before I get one with strong flavour covering the majority of the chips in the bag. Some brands better than others. Cost cutting for shareholders has created a great salt n vinegar famine and I am starving. Please Help. If not you, then who?

Purchased in July 2021 at Coles for $7.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Tyrrells

published

Best ever. I’m going Through chemo and hardly can Taste much love these Crisps iv try different ones . Right now had chemo I got sea salt & circle vinegar. Really helped :)

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ALS
ALS
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Sea Salt & Cider Vinegar is no more.

published

This was the only crisps that tasted good. I’m disappointed this is discontinued. If you bring this back I would definitely be purchasing this again. 1 star until you bro g it back.

They always sold out so I don’t understand why you took it off the shelf.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Sea salt & cider vinigar

published

Disappointing flavour with the Sea salt & cider vinigar. The seasalt doesn't punch through and the cider vinegar is very weak.
If the manufacturer could intensify both of those ingredients I probably give an 8 Out of 10, I will give one star out of five.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2021 for $1.80.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zoltan
ZoltanSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Tyrell Mature Cheddar & Chive: where is the cheese flavour??

published

Total disappointment: these chips don't taste like cheese but, maybe, chicken salt? This was the first and last time I bought this product. Why can't Tyrell make this taste like the name says?

Purchased in February 2021 at Woolworths for $3.50.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bob
BobGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Life-changing

published

Tyrrell’s cider vinegar chips were the best rustic chips and my ultimate favorite. Sadly, someone thought these chips needed changing and made them crinkle chips and altered the taste. These chips have gone from the best to the worst. There were no chips on the market that could measure up to these once delicious rustic chip. I hate crinkle chips and sadly Tyrrell’s chips are off my shopping list until they restore them back to a rustic chip!

Purchased in November 2020 at Coles for $4.50.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Craig
CraigSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not sure why they made an awesome crunchy thick chip and changed it to the same as every other chip

published

They used to be sooo good and thick and crunchy. Now just the same as any other chip. They may have become saltier too. I dont know why they changed it. Now no point of difference and very similar now to redrock deli, kettle ( who also made some negative changes) and smiths thins.

Purchased in January 2021 at Woolworths Physical store for $2.25.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AG P.
AG P.Canberra 2600, ACT
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

There is no taste

published

Lightly salted aka no salt and no flavour. These are by far the most tasteless chips I've come across. An they're positioning them as premium, no chance, would return if I could.

Purchased in December 2020 at Coles Supermarkets for $4.50.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Deirdre C.
Deirdre C.Hunter Region, NSW

Loved the cheese and onion crisps before they were crinkle cut - the crunch is great now, but now they are tasteless!

published

Tasteless now they are crinkle cut. Please go back to crisps.

Purchased in November 2020 at Woolworths Physical store for $3.50.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

No to Crinkle Cut!!

published

Why have you changed to the crinkle cut chip? I don’t understand. They are not good!!! If it ain’t broke... PLEASE BRING BACK THE NORMAL CHIPS!!!

Purchased in October 2020 at Coles for $4.50.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Don’t you dare change your chips to Crinkle Cut!

published

Please keep your chips the same as Crinkle do not suffice and do not taste as good!

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.