??!
3 photos
Vax Power 5 Pets VX28

Vax Power 5 Pets VX28

MPN: VAX-VX28
3.2 from 53 reviews

See the Best Barrel Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(18)
(10)
(5)
(6)
(14)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (3) · No (3)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (6)
  • Product is used:
    • Several times a week (3)
    • Daily (2)
    • Monthly (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (6)
  • Pet OwnerYes (5) · No (1)


Daniel

DanielSouthwest, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Great budget multi purpose vacuum

published

Seems to be a great multi purpose vacuum cleaner, we have pets and hardwood/carpet throughout our house
For what it cost seems like excellent value for money with the 6 different heads

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys Physical store for $159.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Becki M

Becki MFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Lasts long if you maintain it

published

Purchased in December 2015 at Target Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Linoleum and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Frustrated

FrustratedSouth East Queensland, QLD

-5 stars

published

Most frustrating vacuum cleaner I have ever used. Hose is ridiculously long and kinks easily. The vacuum is bagless but it refuses to throw debris into the main dirt chamber. Everything gets stuck in dirt cup so it loses suction after cleaning a single room. It has unreadable signage. The wheels are huge but it is like dragging a dead dog behind you. I'd give this -5 stars if I could. Cannot wait for it to die.

Purchased in January 2019 at Target for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
Mumma Lyn

Mumma LynCairns

  • 4 reviews

Good power, good vac, some little faults

published

Purchased in September 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers

Barb

Barb

  • 2 reviews

WASTE OF MONEY

published

Used for only vacuuming the car. Filters block all the time with minimal usage. Regular thermal cut out for overheating after around 3 - 5 minutes usage and lastly the post motor HEPA filter keeps blowing off. More of a dust spreader than remover.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Monthly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers

Mr C

Mr CSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Current best vacuum for your buck

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Target for $119.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Marishka

MarishkaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good vacuum

published

I purchased this vacuum from Target about 4 months ago. Very impressed. I already have dyson, and bought this Vax like a main vacuum cleaner. Never had any problem with overheating. I think some people have , because they put the power dial to maximum. Clean tiles and carpets very good. Easy to use and clean container. Lightweight and compact design. Long cord about 6 metres. Really strong suction, large bin. 5 different tools to use. Easy to clean the dirt container, don't need paper bags. I do not have any pets, only a messy baby. Anyway, the vacuum does its job. I love this vacuum. No cons for now.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Reggie

ReggieGeorge Town

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best vacumm if you have pets

published

This vacumm is so easy to use and works wonders. Have no issues moving around the house with the vacumm and it's so easy to keep clean. With several cats in our household there is always fur on the carpet and this vacumm is fantastic lifting it all up. Can't recommend it enough.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Trlai1

Trlai1AU

  • 2 reviews

Get a turbo head

published

When i first used this vacuum it was impossible to push. Once I purchased a turbo head for it, it became so light weight and smooth to use. I have two cats and it picks up an amazing amount of hair. Easy to manoeuvre. Good value considering it’s a cheap vac, although it does need a turbo head but they are cheap to purchase.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Carly

CarlyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 21 reviews

Worst vacuum.

published

Side filter and cover pop off every use - little plastic connector things have melted. Overheats and turns off a lot... sometimes after 30 seconds! Takes like an hour to cool down. The clip that holds the stick in during storage broke after a few weeks. Sucks well for about one or 2 uses but as soon as it even needs a hint of cleaning sucking will be useless. Complete junk - not fit for purpose. Wish I had have put this money toward a better vacuum.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Nick P

Nick PSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Do not waste your money!

published

This vacuum is terrible, worst I’ve owned by a long shot! Very noisy, lost its suction, overheats after vacuuming just one room, tips over all the time, even the tube from the vacuum head to the vacuum itself clogs up! This is the most poorly designed vacuum cleaner ever! Vax you should be ashamed. I want my money back!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

MAM

MAMBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

strong motor

published

This vacuum is stable and surprisingly light for carting around and doing the house. I did not think it would be so strong. In a household with two cats we use it every day and it works a treat. So strong we have to use the power adjustment to turn it down.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Worst thing i ever bought

published

I warn you do not buy this!!!Lost suction after few uses. Hard to use and clean wheels fall off and hard to put back. vaccum cylinder hard to take apart to clean filters. Will not fit back after several attempt. Worst purchase i ever made
This vaccum mechanisms failes all the time
Please do not buy this.
Vax needs to rework this product!

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Noisey unreliable

published

The first one shorted and burnt out after 20 minutes of noisy use. Waited a week for the new Vax it lasted 10 min in airconditioned house before overheating and stopping.
The under belly was so hot I could not touch it even though filters were new and clean...... buy a broom

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Worst ever vaccum

published

This is not a cleaner it is a dust spreader as it explodes dust from the wheels as well as overheating and stopping all the time.
The filter does not fit properly you have to empty it every 5 minuites and is hard to unclogg as hair gets stuck in the innervtube and you cut your fingers trying to pull it out.
Waste of money

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Tracy

Tracy

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dont waste your money

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Renee J.

Renee J.

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best vacuum cleaner I've ever had.

published

This thing picks up stuff that my Dyson has left behind. The Dyson was in for repair so I bought this one to do the job in the meantime. The Dyson is now up for sale. The key to this little beast is to clean the filter every time the canister is emptied. I have to keep emptying the canister because it picks up so much dirt that other cleaners have left behind. I have two cats and a dog and it does a great job cleaning up after them. It's good on all surfaces.
Cleaning the filter each time you empty the canister is a must, otherwise it will not perform.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Laura

LauraSydney

  • 2 reviews

Terrible vacuum and dreadful support team

published

Overheats! It cuts out when it overheats and am unable to fix this. The support team are unhelpful and would not publish my question when asked via their website. So disappointed and am off to buy a Dyson now! Really can't believe they don't value their customers. Won't be buying another Vax products in the future.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Peter D

Peter DPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

It Works

published

If you want the Vax to work correctly, you MUST clean the filter regularly, and that means after every 2nd clean. If you don't, its performance drops off dramatically. It's light and does the job well, though the suction tube kinks easily. Good value for money, the turbo-head is the go.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Awful, never buy one ...

published

We bought a Vax pet vacuum over a year ago and its terrible. Its suction is not great (we do have a dog/hair) but the thing is so noisy. I have looked over it but cannot find the issue. I can hear my wife on it from 100m down the street. Its going to cause hearing loss its that deafening. Invest in a product other than this one.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Bill R.

Bill R.asked

What type of filter is used in VX28 please?

No answers

Bill R.

Bill R.asked

What of filter is used?

No answers

Janette Thomson

Janette Thomsonasked

Where can you buy a large Power Head and how much please?

1 answer
Reggie
Reggie

Hi. I received one with the vacuum cleaner. I purchased mine at Target for $149. I think they are the same price at Harvey Norman. Not sure how much directly through Vax. Sorry that's all I can help with.


Get an answer from our members and Vax representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.