??!
3 photos
Vax Power 5 Pets VX28

Vax Power 5 Pets VX28

MPN: VAX-VX28
3.2 from 57 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.2

57 reviews
5
(19)
4
(11)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(16)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    3.1 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (10)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (10)
  • Pet OwnerYes (7) · No (3)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (4) · No (6)
Previous
Next
Seeds

SeedsRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Not impressed. Not even one star.

published

I have polished timber flooring with rugs. For starters, the vacuum head put nasty scratches in my polished timber floor. (Since then I have used the head off another cleaner.) No matter that I empty the container, clean the filters after almost every use, the machine overheats & cuts out often. Plus the shroud covering the rear filter on the wheel pops off even though I attach it securely. The hose twists easily & the machine tips over. Also the machine is so noisy! Especially when I vacuum in the bathroom with tile floor. Will not be buying this brand again.

Purchased in June 2018 at Target for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
Davo

DavoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Poorly designed machine

published

Purchased in June 2019 for A$300.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Nick

NickSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Impressive for the $$.

published

1/5th price of a Dyson that works for 20 mins, not enough time to clean a 3 bdrm house. Can't beat mains power vacuum that doesn't need hours to recharge.

Purchased in January 2020 at Target Australia for A$119.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Vax Power 5 Pets VX28 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nightingale

Nightingale

  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

Quality Product

published

We needed a quick solution for a vacuum other than the heavy old reliable vax we have. This Vax vacuuum has suction power that totally amazed me and the dirt and dust that it collects is amazing. The 3lt barrel is plenty big enough with barrel easy to clean and wash with water. Extremely happy with this vacuum it is such good quality for the price paid. Very easy to move around the home.

Purchased in March 2020 for A$169.99.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Daniel

DanielSouthwest, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great budget multi purpose vacuum

published

Seems to be a great multi purpose vacuum cleaner, we have pets and hardwood/carpet throughout our house
For what it cost seems like excellent value for money with the 6 different heads

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys Physical store for A$159.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Becki M

Becki MFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Lasts long if you maintain it

published

Purchased in December 2015 at Target Australia.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Linoleum and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Frustrated

FrustratedSouth East Queensland, QLD

-5 stars

published

Most frustrating vacuum cleaner I have ever used. Hose is ridiculously long and kinks easily. The vacuum is bagless but it refuses to throw debris into the main dirt chamber. Everything gets stuck in dirt cup so it loses suction after cleaning a single room. It has unreadable signage. The wheels are huge but it is like dragging a dead dog behind you. I'd give this -5 stars if I could. Cannot wait for it to die.

Purchased in January 2019 at Target for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
Mumma Lyn

Mumma LynCairns

  • 5 reviews

Good power, good vac, some little faults

published

Purchased in September 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
Barb

Barb

  • 2 reviews

WASTE OF MONEY

published

Used for only vacuuming the car. Filters block all the time with minimal usage. Regular thermal cut out for overheating after around 3 - 5 minutes usage and lastly the post motor HEPA filter keeps blowing off. More of a dust spreader than remover.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Monthly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Vax Power 5 Pets VX28 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mr C

Mr CSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Current best vacuum for your buck

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Target for A$119.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Marishka

MarishkaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good vacuum

published

I purchased this vacuum from Target about 4 months ago. Very impressed. I already have dyson, and bought this Vax like a main vacuum cleaner. Never had any problem with overheating. I think some people have , because they put the power dial to maximum. Clean tiles and carpets very good. Easy to use and clean container. Lightweight and compact design. Long cord about 6 metres. Really strong suction, large bin. 5 different tools to use. Easy to clean the dirt container, don't need paper bags. I do not have any pets, only a messy baby. Anyway, the vacuum does its job. I love this vacuum. No cons for now.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Reggie

ReggieGeorge Town

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best vacumm if you have pets

published

This vacumm is so easy to use and works wonders. Have no issues moving around the house with the vacumm and it's so easy to keep clean. With several cats in our household there is always fur on the carpet and this vacumm is fantastic lifting it all up. Can't recommend it enough.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Trlai1

Trlai1AU

  • 2 reviews

Get a turbo head

published

When i first used this vacuum it was impossible to push. Once I purchased a turbo head for it, it became so light weight and smooth to use. I have two cats and it picks up an amazing amount of hair. Easy to manoeuvre. Good value considering it’s a cheap vac, although it does need a turbo head but they are cheap to purchase.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Carly

CarlySouthwest, VIC

  • 24 reviews
  • 5 likes

Worst vacuum.

published

Side filter and cover pop off every use - little plastic connector things have melted. Overheats and turns off a lot... sometimes after 30 seconds! Takes like an hour to cool down. The clip that holds the stick in during storage broke after a few weeks. Sucks well for about one or 2 uses but as soon as it even needs a hint of cleaning sucking will be useless. Complete junk - not fit for purpose. Wish I had have put this money toward a better vacuum.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Nick P

Nick PSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Do not waste your money!

published

This vacuum is terrible, worst I’ve owned by a long shot! Very noisy, lost its suction, overheats after vacuuming just one room, tips over all the time, even the tube from the vacuum head to the vacuum itself clogs up! This is the most poorly designed vacuum cleaner ever! Vax you should be ashamed. I want my money back!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Vax Power 5 Pets VX28 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MAM

MAMBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

strong motor

published

This vacuum is stable and surprisingly light for carting around and doing the house. I did not think it would be so strong. In a household with two cats we use it every day and it works a treat. So strong we have to use the power adjustment to turn it down.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Worst thing i ever bought

published

I warn you do not buy this!!!Lost suction after few uses. Hard to use and clean wheels fall off and hard to put back. vaccum cylinder hard to take apart to clean filters. Will not fit back after several attempt. Worst purchase i ever made
This vaccum mechanisms failes all the time
Please do not buy this.
Vax needs to rework this product!

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Noisey unreliable

published

The first one shorted and burnt out after 20 minutes of noisy use. Waited a week for the new Vax it lasted 10 min in airconditioned house before overheating and stopping.
The under belly was so hot I could not touch it even though filters were new and clean...... buy a broom

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Worst ever vaccum

published

This is not a cleaner it is a dust spreader as it explodes dust from the wheels as well as overheating and stopping all the time.
The filter does not fit properly you have to empty it every 5 minuites and is hard to unclogg as hair gets stuck in the innervtube and you cut your fingers trying to pull it out.
Waste of money

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Tracy

Tracy

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dont waste your money

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Cathy

Cathyasked

My Vacuum gets warm from where the Antibacterial HEPA media post-motor filter when using it , it blows hot air, i cleaned all filters, what else would it be

1 answer
Nick
Nick

I clean both the canister filter and the one behind the wheel. Check that there's no blockage in the hose. Some hot air can be expected if the vacuum is used continuously over 20 mins.

Bill R.

Bill R.asked

What type of filter is used in VX28 please?

No answers
Bill R.

Bill R.asked

What of filter is used?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.