??!
3 photos
Vax Steam Home Master VSTHM1600

Vax Steam Home Master VSTHM1600

3.0 from 34 reviews

Reviews

3.0

34 reviews
5
(7)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(12)
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    2.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Isabel C.

Isabel C.Perth, WA

Poor after service. Leaks.

published

VAX does not keep spare parts for this older model. Something wrong? Lost your money. You're better off renting a solution from Bunnings or similar. As the person in the previous review says, it does leak water from the main unit onto the floor, and hot steam comes out of the valve you're supposed to turn with your hands to graduate the pressure. A lot of work for 10 minutes steam... not worth it.

Purchased in December 2013.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Moo

MooNSW, 2567

  • 24 reviews
  • 9 likes

Removes tough stains, but leaves water stains

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
me im not hiding

me im not hidingHobart

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Portable injury unit. Beware.

published

Just took this to the dump. Told the guy not to resell it. Bought in January 2016. Used twice in old wooden house and was great. Next attempt at use was a week ago. Now out of warranty. Steam just started coming out of places you wouldn't expect and none out of the steam head includes water just running out of the main case near the back. Thought electric shock or burns were on the cards. Turned off at power and took to dump. I checked all instructions carefully. Think it might have needed more usr. Big waste of money.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Steam Cleaners

Find out how Vax Steam Home Master VSTHM1600 compares to other Steam Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maggie

Maggie

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Flimsy parts, broke on first use. Poor support.

published

Cheap and nasty parts, plastic part broke first time. Vax must know there is a design flaw causing extensions to break easily, but their support refuses to admit this and will waste your time. Any decent company would just send you the replacement part (which must surely cost them no more than $2).

My advice: if purchasing, make sure you buy from somewhere with a good replacement policy.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Trent

TrentSydney

  • 2 reviews

Miracle Worker!

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Lisa

LisaCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst steam cleaner

published

I'm so disappointed with this steam cleaner. It is honestly a waste of space.
I've tried many times to use it, thinking maybe I was just using it wrong or something, but I can't get it to work.
It takes 5-10 minutes to heat up the water and then when you pull the trigger for 0.1 seconds it wants to heat up again and if you continue to try to use it, cold water is spit out. Not steam.
The water tank is really hard to fill because there's no indication of how full it is. So if you only need it for a small area, you have to empty it and then refill with the recommended amount of water. And to empty it, you literally have to pick it up and turn it upside down.
Yeh sure, it's one of the cheaper options, but it's not worth the money.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
sveto

svetoSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good steam cleaner for simple jobs

published

I am quite happy with this steam cleaner. I am using it to steam clean my carpet and bathroom. It did quite a good job in cleaning of grouts between the tiles, both floor and wall. It is important though, to use the little brush attachment and to scrub the dirt off. Steaming only won't do it.
Unlike the cheap one I had, this steam cleaner does heat up the steam quite fast. While steam cleaning a carpet, which takes a while and uses a lot of steam, I had to wait around one minute to reheat when the light goes off (roughly 2 square meters of carpet steamed).

Date PurchasedAug 2016
John

JohnGladstone

Failed first time it was used

published

After the first use the thermal cut out and heating element failed took it back to place of purchase and had to be sent away to be fixed. The repairer has been waiting two monts now for VAX to send him the parts.
Pathetic service and still waiting for it to be repaired.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Lozzmaritz

LozzmaritzAU

  • 2 reviews

So not worth it!

published

Purchased this last year and already looking for a new one. The hose twists and heats up to be so hot you can't untangle it. It's heavy and a pain to lug around and takes up heaps of room to store. The screw lid is hard to get on and off and in a whole is one of the biggest wastes of money I've spent

Steam Cleaners

Find out how Vax Steam Home Master VSTHM1600 compares to other Steam Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Happy Chappy

Happy ChappySouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes

So disappointing that I returned it the next day

published

I was excited at first to think how I was going to have a sparkling clean shower recess and shower screen and that a gadget would do it. Anyway it was absolutely useless. I am a mechanical engineer so I do know how to put things together and I always read operating manuals so I was using this device properly and yet it did not really do a thing apart from put out a lot of steam and noise. The soap scum and mould in the grout remained. Nothing I tried shifted it so I packed the product up and returned it to Bunnings for a refund. I have since used ajax powder and elbow grease and that worked. Save your time and money folks and avoid this device.

Steam is not hot

published

I thought this machine would steam to disinfect/clean things around the home. However after following all provided instructions from the manual (e.g. filled with the correct amount of water, recapped accordingly and waited for the orange light to turn green for usage), the steam produced was not hot at all, I was able to steam my hands and legs up close quite comfortably, let alone disinfect or clean anything. It was more like a cool mist (and not steam). I went back to Harvey Norman and showed the sales rep the problem. I was able to get my money back with no issues. Thank you Harvey Norman.
I hope this problem was a one off, otherwise the product does not reflect as advertised.

Ellejay

EllejaySydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 16 likes

Love this steam cleaner

published
sue potos

sue potosTHASSOU

Does the job BUT..........

published

The long stream pipe is great for doing the bath tiles without having to stand in the bath but it feels a bit wobbly. I always start the steam over a sink because of the drips. Got fed up of the pressure going down so quickly.The screw in water tank cap worried me as it turned without opening so I thought I had broken it also the pressure guage dial as there were no markers showing stop. Liked the safety stop button when I rested my hand from the trigger handle but TOO heavy to pick up to empty residue water, I don't want it to silt up.Did a good job better than any other product but not sue if I will buy it yet.

2 comments
sue potos
sue potos
sue potos
sue potos
alex2001

alex2001Perth, WA

  • 22 reviews
  • 35 likes

I found this pretty good

published

I never expected a miracle. But I found this ok at $170. with brush attachment in removed 6 years built up bathroom ground. It cleans floors ok. I used in on garage floor and not perfect but good.

Appears well made solid and good value.

Jon TW

Jon TWSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Dangerous when refilling!!!

published
Steam Cleaners

Find out how Vax Steam Home Master VSTHM1600 compares to other Steam Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Steam Cap very hard to remove and replace correctly ??

published
2 comments
vax_buyer
vax_buyer

Meant to say the stains in the carpet " aren't " getting sucked up so where's the dirt going apart from what ends up on the cleaning pad.

vax_buyer
vax_buyer

What a load of rubbish

published

Now before i buy anything i like to read reviews to make sure that the product is ok,which in this case i did and eventually bought this load of crap
Yes thats right the vax steam home master is a load of crap
tried to do the bathroom tiles,i think my scrubbing took more of the built up mould off that the steam action
tried to cleam some built up grim from bbq plates again nothing
tried to clean the floor,a normal mop would be just as fine
totally conned by advertising and fake reviews
avoid this machine at all costs.

k92836843

k92836843AU

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Only works for 2 minutes before reheat light comes on

published

Not sure why, but I left it to heat for the 12 minutes as per the manual, and the green light flicks to orange after a minute or two of use. Then takes a minute to heat back to green. Seems to work well once heated

1 comment
Vax
Vax A.Vax

The best present!!

published
Ozwitch

OzwitchWodonga

  • 14 reviews
  • 17 likes

Works as advertised, need to get the hang of it and then it's fine.

published
1 comment
Vax
Vax A.Vax
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Mark J

Mark Jasked

Hi Have a steam home master...trying to empty tank. holding it upside down and shaking it takes forever and always leaves something in the tank. Is there another valve to undo? which would make the job easier.
I have noticed a screw thread in the centre of where the hose fits could this be an aid to draining properly?

No answers
Bob M.

Bob M.asked

What year did this vac come out

No answers
Janet R

Janet Rasked

The water tank lid, won’t screw down and neither can I get to come off. Any ideas. There is water in the machine which I can’t drain. Help please?

2 answers
me im not hiding
me im not hiding

Wait until it has completely cooled down and try again. Maybe leave overnight.

Janet R
Janet R

Thanks, in the end I fiddled with the rubber ring on the screw part of the water tank lid and managed to free it.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.